$453 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
162 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alby T
Business
NJ
Jun 3, 2013

Great Couples Getaway

Who: We went with a group of 4 couples. Location: The resort was easy to navigate. Water: Beach was excellent. Pool was a little warm for my liking but I think that's because there is a swim up bar. Staff: The staff could be a lot nicer. We even had an incident where a waitress snapped her fingers at one of us. We told the Bar Manager but he did nothing about it. Food: Restaurants were terrible do not waste your time but the buffet was AMAZING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Both Margaritaville and Ricks Cafe have FREE shuttle from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpd168
Business
Washington, DC
May 30, 2013

Riu Palace Negril

This was my first time in Jamaica and I was very happy staying at the Riu Palace in Negril. It's only an hour and a half from Mobay airport, and you get to see the real Jamaican towns along the way. The resort was great and the beach at Riu Palace was awesome. I overheard a few people complaining that they had to switch rooms several times due to one problem or the other, but my room was fine and I had no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TBB3
Business
Russellville, KY
Apr 3, 2013

Great Resort

1/3 of the staff are just too rude to be working in public. But, the 2/3 of the staff that are nice almost make up for it. The grounds were kept very well and the beach was fantastic. The food was good. The restaurants that you had to have reservations for were booked 2 days in advance and when you only stay 4 days that's not good. We did book a boat trip there at the resort and did not get the big boat we were promised, but it was still a great trip and I would book it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corry and Adhry
Business
Kenilworth, NJ
Mar 19, 2013

Great stay, Great people!!

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much! The food was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and clean, the treatment we recieved was wonderful!!! The only two things I would change if I could would be a bigger pool and better entertainment. Other than that this was a great vacation stay!!! We will definitely return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Packer fan 2011
Business
WI
Mar 3, 2013

Very nice Negril Resort

On arrival our room was ready and we were take to it. The second floor room with an ocean view in building 5 was great. The housekeepers kept the room very clean. Just ask for anything and they will take care of it. The mini frig was well stock. Leave a note for what you want left in it and it's done. The beach was impressive. Very clean and well kept, as was all of the property. The staff and bartender always had a smile and were willing to take care of you. We only ate at the buffet, our choice, and it met all of our needs. The Jerk Hut for lunch had good food daily. Room service was a plus with late night nachos. Have stayed at Riu Montego Bay and it was nice, but Riu Palace Tropical Bay was much better. Looking forward to going back again soon. Stayed on Seven Mile beach before but liked the beach here better. Calm, clean and clear. Walked to Riu Negril, a 15 min. short walk. I liked our hotel better. The vendors on the beach are nice and will barter with you. If your not interested just say no thank you and they will leave you alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FieldIsAPain
Business
Maine
Feb 20, 2013

Nice Accomadations + Great Food = Perfect Vacation!

The Rui Palace is a very beautiful and very clean place to stay. The food options were plentiful and VERY good. Staff was professional, polite and very sincere! Had a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is almost two hours from the airport and three hours from Dunn Falls. Plan an extra day for travel time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bill d w
Business
easton,pa
Jan 26, 2013

nice hotel

we loved the Riu, the food is good, the beach is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bill d w
Business
easton,pa
Jan 2, 2013

great vacation

This is my review of the Riu Palace Tropical Bay in Negril, Jamaica. We stayed for a week Dec 1-8. While I don’t think I will return, it is through no fault of the resort. Upon entering the lobby, one is immediately struck by the massive, ornate, wood construction. Everywhere you look in the resort and grounds in general were beautiful and well kept. Check in was painless, I had emailed ahead of time, and the hotel honored my request for a certain building and floor. (Building 3, 3rd floor oceanfront). Andrew and Michael at the front desk were very helpful. We previously stayed sat the Riu Palace de Las Americas in Cancun and loved it! The food at the RPTB, although good, was a step below Cancun. We ate at Krystals once, the Italian twice and the Steak House twice. The steak house with surf and turf was my favorite, with the Italian second and Krystals a disappointing third. We never had a problem with reservations probably because we like to eat late, and the 9:00 seating was always available. The buffets were more than adequate, always something that we liked, and there was always one or two good desserts. The ice cream, however, left a little to be desired. The jerk chicken hut was a big plus every afternoon. Every day I said I wasn’t going to get off the beach just for lunch, but somehow I didn’t miss a day without the chicken. Breakfast was very good, with made to order omelets, eggs cooked to order and a wide variety of accessories. Sitting outside, looking at the Caribbean and eating breakfast was one of the big highlights of the trip; it doesn’t get any better than that! The beach was as advertised, spacious and spotless. We never had any trouble getting beach chairs. We are beach people and this beach didn’t disappoint except that I love the waves, which the bay didn’t have. That’s probably the main reason I will try another destination on our next vacation. The room was also done with the same dark wood as the lobby. The AC worked fine as did the TV. The fridge kept the Red Stripe nice and cold. They have free WIFI in the rooms which was a big plus. There was entertainment each night, some nights better than others, and no, Michael Jackson was nowhere to be found. The steel drum show was excellent with each cast member doing a solo dance routine at the end. Very talented young men and women! Was everything perfect? No, there were minor issues during the week, but Michael took care of each one in a timely manner. I can’t really think of anything to complain about, it was a nice, relaxing week at the Riu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anto63
Business
Cincinnati OH
Nov 25, 2012

Overall great !

Overall, the experience was great ! Great location and value. The food was not so good as in other RIU Palace that we have experienced like in Plaia del Carmen. The stuff was very good generally speaking, but not all of them. Great place for family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Time Square in Negril to by cigar !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AllInclusiveRIUFan
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 10, 2012

Enjoyable trip - perfect temps/weather!

Have been to the Aruba, Cabo, and now Jamaica RIU Palace. Of the three, Aruba and Jamaica are literally neck and neck as the best vacation experiences we've enjoyed. Beach in Jamaica is hands down the best. Beach in Cabo the absolute worst. Aruba is right there with Jamaica, but there were never enough lounges are shady areas - if you weren't up early and ran out to "reserve" a spot, you were screwed. *Plenty* of lounges and shady spots in Jamaica. Arbua is in the best location - you can literally walk from the resort into town and back safely and easily. Jamaica is in the best part, Negril, but the location is almost too remote - the cost, time and difficulties in traveling anywhere outside of the resort eats up your vacation time - we wanted to do Dunn's River Falls but it's THREE hours away - one way! We settled for YS Falls, but even that was 1 1/2 hours away as is the airport... Not to mention, they way they drive there is NOT for the faint of heart. Staff and the people of Jamaica are extremely friendly and accommodating. Food was rather disappointing and mediocre - far too "Americanized" - we had hoped to see more local food options. Aruba and even Cabo were much better in this regard. All said and done, Aruba is probably our overall favorite with Jamaica a very close second. We would go again for sure. As for Cabo... bad beach, annoying and overly agressive local beach vendors, and the hotel itself was insect infested and I believe led to both my wife and I becoming extremely ill when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top