$305 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2014

Unexpected Disappointing Stay!

The hotel did not live up to the RIU Palace hype. The place was run down, mold on the roofs, landscaping in need of upgrades, had to wait hours for towels at the pool, grafitti on statues in the pools, broken machines in the gym. We were terribly disappointed as we paid a 'premium" to stay at the RIU Palace. Defnitely not a 4 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
resort lovers 85
Business
Boston, Ma
Mar 8, 2014

perfect hidden beach gem.

Hotel was well maintained and clean. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Beach was perfect and couldn't be better. Many food options in buffet and always serving fresh tropical fruits. Pool space was lacking. Pool would have been better if it was heated since the pool water was still cold during our travel. The non-motorized water sport activities equipment were clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and very helpful to get you to the activity you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't book round trip transport to and from hotel via the bus that stops at every hotel along the way. We used the travel provided by Jamaica Tours company. The bus was expensive overall per person and time consuming. Look around and book for private transfer or just take a taxi. It would cost less money and save a lot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anet0
Business
Delafield, WI
Mar 6, 2014

Nice, with a couple of misses

STAFF was super friendly and energetic. FOOD was best I've ever had at an all inclusive :) and it was easy to get into the specialty restaurants. CHAIRS at the beach or pool were plentiful and easy to get, well maintained, clean. Easy bathroom access from beach or pool:) DRINKS were made with as little or much alcohol as you wanted. They were happy to adjust and make exactly what you wanted :) ENTERTAINMENT was fun at the pools and hit/miss at the main stage. Steel band was fabulous!!! Others not so much, left early on a couple of nites. WATER SUPPLY was bad...one day scalding, the next ice cold. When showering, the temp with vary so much it was difficult to shower :( TUB access was difficult, not good for elderly :( AGE-Expected a younger crowd...the largest portion of guests were 60+. But, there were not a lot of young children or the spring break crowds. PORTER: No option to check luggage when waiting for buses to leave. They just expected you to leave it unattended in the lobby :( Would return - if I wanted a really laid back visit. Won't take my 20 something kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three Dives - roadside shack with FABULOUS grilled lobster and chicken. Best food we had on the entire visit. Outdoor picnic tables and cold beers. Beautiful views off the cliffs. Awesome prices. Best Deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BikerBlue
Business
Hill City, SD
Feb 22, 2014

Vacation of a lifetime

Our experience at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay was nothing but fantastic. The meals were outstanding and the selection was amazing. The facility was very well maintained and very clean. Drinks were available at any time, the service was impeccable, and the entire staff was very professional, courteous, friendly. Everything exceeded our expectations. We really enjoyed the nightly entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations well in advance for the restaurants because they fill quickly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray G Bristol RI
Business
Bristol, RI
Feb 20, 2014

AWESOME SIMPLY AWESOME

THis by far was the BEST experience we have ever had on vacation, and we vacation frequently. The hotel was the BEST. There was no scimping on anything and if we asked for anything we received it. The word no is not in their vocably. The location on Blody Bay was perferct. The room was fantastic, we had and ocean front junior suite with an fantastci view, the sunsets were spectacular. The room was clean and any thing we needed, like and extra towel, we received.The food was very, very high quality, even top shelf liquor. The staf was very considerate of our needs, they couldn't do enough for us and very friendly. The only improvement the hotel needs to make is better nightly entertainment. We had purchased the ground transportation and didn't read the voucher carefully to note that it was through Jamaica Tours. Once we were directed to their desk things went somoothly and we were direcetd to our bus for the trip to Negril. Negril is about an hour and a half away from Montego Bay, so the ride there is long. But it is worth it!!! The trip back to the airport was got us there is plenty of time. Jamaica Tours offered a number of tours but we just decided to relax and enjoy the beach, sand, water, sun and scenery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upon arriving in Jamaica make sure your Jamaician Cusoms form is COMPLETELY filled out and if you pruchase ground transportation make sure you got o Jamaica Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charming Charlie
Business
Nebraska
Feb 4, 2014

Best Beach Ever

The beach in Negril is the best out there. The water is crystal clear and calm. The sunsets are the best. The staff at the RIU is very personable and helpful. The buffet has a wide selection of food to choose from. The only down fall is they need a bathroom close to the pool and beach. Planning to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke W
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 4, 2014

Nice resort

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. The hotel was very accomodating when our flight was cancelled and we were unable to arrive until the following day. The hotel was nice-one pool, a nice beach. We never had issues getting chairs. Few children which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danno44n
Business
Baltimore
Jan 31, 2014

great trip

Besides the long ride from the airport to negril you cannot go wrong with this hotel. The staff is very friendly and attentive, perfect location, and lots of activities offered both on and off site. I was a Mexico fan through and through, until this trip. I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 19, 2014

Sadly Disappointed!

We've stayed at RIU's before, specifically the Palace, but this time our experience did not live up to expectations. Here's why: no face towels in rooms for two days, no pool or beach towels on 3 seperate occasions,(once we waited 3 hours#, buildings are run down, need paint, facia is rotting and there appeared to be moss and or mold on roofs of buildings. In fitness center, 3 of 8 eliptical machines were broken our entire visit, the grounds were messy. Ran out of ingredients for omelets on two occasions, ran out of ingredients for drinks #on the menu) and two several occasions, pillows were as flat as pancakes, rust on shower rods, floors still dirty after maids cleaned, missing tiles in the swimming pool and there was grafetti on one of the stautes in the pool. I've stayed at RIU Palace hotels before in Cabo and it was a solid '4' even leaning to a '5'. RIU Palace Negril was a weak '3'. On the plus side, the food was good and the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The nightly entertainment was very good. We paid a premium to stay at the 'Palace' vs the regular RIU, but definitely did not get the value. Unless they make major changes, I wont be staying at this facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ballet fan
Business
bloomington, ind
Jan 10, 2014

family vacation

We have been to this hotel around 5 times, most recently with our entire family for Christmas break. Great beach, very relaxing, great staff. Probably not worth as many stars as claimed but still a very comfortable and relaxing place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top