$489 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
173 reviews
Husband Wife getaway

We have stayed here for the 4th time. While it is an hour+ drive to and from airport, we feel it is... See full review

  • mark b.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Romance

Had a good vacation with my husband of 8 years. Well needed time alone and very appreciated. See full review

  • Mom at best
  • Feb 10, 2015

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danno44n
Business
Baltimore
Jan 31, 2014

great trip

Besides the long ride from the airport to negril you cannot go wrong with this hotel. The staff is very friendly and attentive, perfect location, and lots of activities offered both on and off site. I was a Mexico fan through and through, until this trip. I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 19, 2014

Sadly Disappointed!

We've stayed at RIU's before, specifically the Palace, but this time our experience did not live up to expectations. Here's why: no face towels in rooms for two days, no pool or beach towels on 3 seperate occasions,(once we waited 3 hours#, buildings are run down, need paint, facia is rotting and there appeared to be moss and or mold on roofs of buildings. In fitness center, 3 of 8 eliptical machines were broken our entire visit, the grounds were messy. Ran out of ingredients for omelets on two occasions, ran out of ingredients for drinks #on the menu) and two several occasions, pillows were as flat as pancakes, rust on shower rods, floors still dirty after maids cleaned, missing tiles in the swimming pool and there was grafetti on one of the stautes in the pool. I've stayed at RIU Palace hotels before in Cabo and it was a solid '4' even leaning to a '5'. RIU Palace Negril was a weak '3'. On the plus side, the food was good and the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The nightly entertainment was very good. We paid a premium to stay at the 'Palace' vs the regular RIU, but definitely did not get the value. Unless they make major changes, I wont be staying at this facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ballet fan
Business
bloomington, ind
Jan 10, 2014

family vacation

We have been to this hotel around 5 times, most recently with our entire family for Christmas break. Great beach, very relaxing, great staff. Probably not worth as many stars as claimed but still a very comfortable and relaxing place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just a basic traveler
Business
Louisville, KY
Dec 22, 2013

Nicest Staff!!!

We have stayed at other all-inclusives, including other Riu's, and this was a nice place but not exactly what we expected. It is a little bit smaller of a resort, which is fine but just a little different than others. The king size bed was just two smaller beds pushed together, so sleepy was a little awkward at times astir beds would pull apart. I will say that the staff at this resort was just great. They are the nicest and friendliest people out there. Many will know your name by the end of your stay, or at least attempt to. This resort is also located on one of the nicest beaches I have seen. The water was a comfortable temperature and crystal clear. I would also recommend not using ScubaCaribe as the group to purchase excursions through. They were not very organize or comparable to others. I would visit this resort again if I return to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexzig
Business
New jersey
Dec 15, 2013

Jamaica trip

We had a great time .Food was great, service and interment also was good. We will recommend this resort to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeffrodiziac
Business
corona,california
Dec 15, 2013

personal oasis

My experiance at riu palace tropical bay,negril was pretty awsome! I arrived to negril from LA kinda late,about 10 pm and right from then on I was treated like royalty.Whatever you need,want they will do their best to get you.the hotel rooms were nice olny complait was a little bit of foul odor like moister in room idk not too bad.hotel buffett was one best I have ever had,pool is awsome , bars great entertainment from the morning on they provide it.From morning arobics in the water ,criket on the beach , beach volley ball to live reggae and live dance shows on the stage at night .Oveall definettly go to negil an stay at riu tropical bay awsome flat out awsome place oh yea do the ys falls climb and sunset cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Black river / ys falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Really unimpressed
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 5, 2013

Messed up reservation/booking

when we arrived, we were told that both our junior suite-oceanfront rooms were not available for 2 nights of the 7 nights of our reservation. the hotel was overbooked and we had to move to the sister hotel and a down-grade. after hours of arguing that we would not move, the hotel management was not able to do anything about our situation. apparently, depending on how the reservation was booked, we suspected as an Orb1T booking, we were going to be victims of the system. compensation was an upgraded suite with a Jacuzzi tub for when we returned for the remainder of the stay. appalling treatment of sister of the bride and parents of the bride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHappy
Business
Canada
Nov 27, 2013

Best vacation yet

Wouldn't change anything at all! Only thing i can think of would be to put some washrooms near the pool and beach area. Great food, excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMMW
Business
SC
Oct 26, 2013

Great time,one of the best beaches in Negril!!!!

Great staff!!! The only thing all week that was a issue (but not a huge deal) NO LIMES FOR DRINKS FOR 4 days. The Riu palace is a great place to stay..... Would and have recommended to my friends : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Gal70
Business
New York
Oct 22, 2013

Girls getaway

The rooms need to be updated because three people stayed in this room and the sofa bed was horrible. Rusted and dirty, Bbds are small and the room had a mildew order. Buffet needs to incorporate more of the island's traditional meals and restaurants need to give a bigger portion in the meals. One night we were starving because the food portion was so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Timesquare Shopping Mall. They have lots of souvenirs for a price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top