$332 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just a basic traveler
Business
Louisville, KY
Dec 22, 2013

Nicest Staff!!!

We have stayed at other all-inclusives, including other Riu's, and this was a nice place but not exactly what we expected. It is a little bit smaller of a resort, which is fine but just a little different than others. The king size bed was just two smaller beds pushed together, so sleepy was a little awkward at times astir beds would pull apart. I will say that the staff at this resort was just great. They are the nicest and friendliest people out there. Many will know your name by the end of your stay, or at least attempt to. This resort is also located on one of the nicest beaches I have seen. The water was a comfortable temperature and crystal clear. I would also recommend not using ScubaCaribe as the group to purchase excursions through. They were not very organize or comparable to others. I would visit this resort again if I return to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexzig
Business
New jersey
Dec 15, 2013

Jamaica trip

We had a great time .Food was great, service and interment also was good. We will recommend this resort to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeffrodiziac
Business
corona,california
Dec 15, 2013

personal oasis

My experiance at riu palace tropical bay,negril was pretty awsome! I arrived to negril from LA kinda late,about 10 pm and right from then on I was treated like royalty.Whatever you need,want they will do their best to get you.the hotel rooms were nice olny complait was a little bit of foul odor like moister in room idk not too bad.hotel buffett was one best I have ever had,pool is awsome , bars great entertainment from the morning on they provide it.From morning arobics in the water ,criket on the beach , beach volley ball to live reggae and live dance shows on the stage at night .Oveall definettly go to negil an stay at riu tropical bay awsome flat out awsome place oh yea do the ys falls climb and sunset cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Black river / ys falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Really unimpressed
Business
Toronto, Canada
Dec 5, 2013

Messed up reservation/booking

when we arrived, we were told that both our junior suite-oceanfront rooms were not available for 2 nights of the 7 nights of our reservation. the hotel was overbooked and we had to move to the sister hotel and a down-grade. after hours of arguing that we would not move, the hotel management was not able to do anything about our situation. apparently, depending on how the reservation was booked, we suspected as an Orb1T booking, we were going to be victims of the system. compensation was an upgraded suite with a Jacuzzi tub for when we returned for the remainder of the stay. appalling treatment of sister of the bride and parents of the bride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyHappy
Business
Canada
Nov 27, 2013

Best vacation yet

Wouldn't change anything at all! Only thing i can think of would be to put some washrooms near the pool and beach area. Great food, excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JMMW
Business
SC
Oct 26, 2013

Great time,one of the best beaches in Negril!!!!

Great staff!!! The only thing all week that was a issue (but not a huge deal) NO LIMES FOR DRINKS FOR 4 days. The Riu palace is a great place to stay..... Would and have recommended to my friends : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Gal70
Business
New York
Oct 22, 2013

Girls getaway

The rooms need to be updated because three people stayed in this room and the sofa bed was horrible. Rusted and dirty, Bbds are small and the room had a mildew order. Buffet needs to incorporate more of the island's traditional meals and restaurants need to give a bigger portion in the meals. One night we were starving because the food portion was so small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Timesquare Shopping Mall. They have lots of souvenirs for a price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CristiandOana
Business
New York,NY
Oct 3, 2013

Excellent

Very good food,excellent service,Oceanfront room has the best view. Only thing they need to improve is the room service menu,other than that absolutely great. Also keep in mind that August,September ,October is raining season in Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jrhok66
Business
Cape cod
Oct 1, 2013

Unbelievable time!

The staff was great, friendly! The food was delicious! The beach was amazing! The nightly shows were really good! We went on a cruise to ricks cafe from scuba caribe on site. Boat called wild thing, it was a blast! And zippin/tubing with Chukka and that was a great experience as well! Can't wait to go back next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Time square, short money to get there and lots of shops! Also, don't exchange ur money at airport! You get a better rate at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
urbagurba
Business
tampa , fla
Sep 26, 2013

an honest review by a seasoned traveler

if you are used to 5 star beaches, or sandals resorts, look elsewhere. you'er probably stuck up and pampered. however- if you want a resort thats a solid 4 star. this is it. we arrived ,and immediately received cocktails with appletons rum.. as its a long ride from sangster.. ask your driver to stop for beers, or some jerk on the way. room was ready, our bags were transferred, and we we're asked if there was anything else we needed. folks who work here do a real good job of taking care of you. i'm bad with names, but all the bartenders and maids do a real good job of making your stay pleasant. all you folks who put this resort down need to chill. pool could use a little work, but was clean every day. plenty of chairs as it was the off season. drinks being made with appleton, not call brands. beach area was a solid 8.5. sand is nice, beach clean. the vendors don't bother you much. there is alot of ganja here and there, but jus say no mon.. food was up to riu's standards- an 8. deserts were very good. the jerk hut on the beach is a must for lunch. propery itself is well kept, rooms were cleaned every day extra towels if needed. turn down service every night. the a/c works fine if you turn on the main switch and shut the patio door. don't listen to these other boneheads. ac works fine. rooms are a 9. king size beds are 2 doubles put together. they are very firm., but not uncomfortable. we have used at lease 7 all inclusives in the last 5 yrs- it ranks up there....it is a short ride into negril, think about sharing a minivan or a cab. 2 musts are the office of nature which is to the right of the propery on the beach. fresh caught lobsters cooked open, with red stripe totally awesome. and you MUST do the one love pub crawl with lenbert. you can google both of these... all in all our week was fantastic. once again- if you're an average traveler, and not all pompous and arrogant- this resort is irie, mon....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

one love pub crawl is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top