$332 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2014

Unexpected Disappointing Stay!

The hotel did not live up to the RIU Palace hype. The place was run down, mold on the roofs, landscaping in need of upgrades, had to wait hours for towels at the pool, grafitti on statues in the pools, broken machines in the gym. We were terribly disappointed as we paid a 'premium" to stay at the RIU Palace. Defnitely not a 4 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
resort lovers 85
Business
Boston, Ma
Mar 8, 2014

perfect hidden beach gem.

Hotel was well maintained and clean. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Beach was perfect and couldn't be better. Many food options in buffet and always serving fresh tropical fruits. Pool space was lacking. Pool would have been better if it was heated since the pool water was still cold during our travel. The non-motorized water sport activities equipment were clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and very helpful to get you to the activity you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't book round trip transport to and from hotel via the bus that stops at every hotel along the way. We used the travel provided by Jamaica Tours company. The bus was expensive overall per person and time consuming. Look around and book for private transfer or just take a taxi. It would cost less money and save a lot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anet0
Business
Delafield, WI
Mar 6, 2014

Nice, with a couple of misses

STAFF was super friendly and energetic. FOOD was best I've ever had at an all inclusive :) and it was easy to get into the specialty restaurants. CHAIRS at the beach or pool were plentiful and easy to get, well maintained, clean. Easy bathroom access from beach or pool:) DRINKS were made with as little or much alcohol as you wanted. They were happy to adjust and make exactly what you wanted :) ENTERTAINMENT was fun at the pools and hit/miss at the main stage. Steel band was fabulous!!! Others not so much, left early on a couple of nites. WATER SUPPLY was bad...one day scalding, the next ice cold. When showering, the temp with vary so much it was difficult to shower :( TUB access was difficult, not good for elderly :( AGE-Expected a younger crowd...the largest portion of guests were 60+. But, there were not a lot of young children or the spring break crowds. PORTER: No option to check luggage when waiting for buses to leave. They just expected you to leave it unattended in the lobby :( Would return - if I wanted a really laid back visit. Won't take my 20 something kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three Dives - roadside shack with FABULOUS grilled lobster and chicken. Best food we had on the entire visit. Outdoor picnic tables and cold beers. Beautiful views off the cliffs. Awesome prices. Best Deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BikerBlue
Business
Hill City, SD
Feb 22, 2014

Vacation of a lifetime

Our experience at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay was nothing but fantastic. The meals were outstanding and the selection was amazing. The facility was very well maintained and very clean. Drinks were available at any time, the service was impeccable, and the entire staff was very professional, courteous, friendly. Everything exceeded our expectations. We really enjoyed the nightly entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations well in advance for the restaurants because they fill quickly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray G Bristol RI
Business
Bristol, RI
Feb 20, 2014

AWESOME SIMPLY AWESOME

THis by far was the BEST experience we have ever had on vacation, and we vacation frequently. The hotel was the BEST. There was no scimping on anything and if we asked for anything we received it. The word no is not in their vocably. The location on Blody Bay was perferct. The room was fantastic, we had and ocean front junior suite with an fantastci view, the sunsets were spectacular. The room was clean and any thing we needed, like and extra towel, we received.The food was very, very high quality, even top shelf liquor. The staf was very considerate of our needs, they couldn't do enough for us and very friendly. The only improvement the hotel needs to make is better nightly entertainment. We had purchased the ground transportation and didn't read the voucher carefully to note that it was through Jamaica Tours. Once we were directed to their desk things went somoothly and we were direcetd to our bus for the trip to Negril. Negril is about an hour and a half away from Montego Bay, so the ride there is long. But it is worth it!!! The trip back to the airport was got us there is plenty of time. Jamaica Tours offered a number of tours but we just decided to relax and enjoy the beach, sand, water, sun and scenery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upon arriving in Jamaica make sure your Jamaician Cusoms form is COMPLETELY filled out and if you pruchase ground transportation make sure you got o Jamaica Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke W
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 4, 2014

Nice resort

We stayed here for a friend's wedding. The hotel was very accomodating when our flight was cancelled and we were unable to arrive until the following day. The hotel was nice-one pool, a nice beach. We never had issues getting chairs. Few children which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charming Charlie
Business
Nebraska
Feb 4, 2014

Best Beach Ever

The beach in Negril is the best out there. The water is crystal clear and calm. The sunsets are the best. The staff at the RIU is very personable and helpful. The buffet has a wide selection of food to choose from. The only down fall is they need a bathroom close to the pool and beach. Planning to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danno44n
Business
Baltimore
Jan 31, 2014

great trip

Besides the long ride from the airport to negril you cannot go wrong with this hotel. The staff is very friendly and attentive, perfect location, and lots of activities offered both on and off site. I was a Mexico fan through and through, until this trip. I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 19, 2014

Sadly Disappointed!

We've stayed at RIU's before, specifically the Palace, but this time our experience did not live up to expectations. Here's why: no face towels in rooms for two days, no pool or beach towels on 3 seperate occasions,(once we waited 3 hours#, buildings are run down, need paint, facia is rotting and there appeared to be moss and or mold on roofs of buildings. In fitness center, 3 of 8 eliptical machines were broken our entire visit, the grounds were messy. Ran out of ingredients for omelets on two occasions, ran out of ingredients for drinks #on the menu) and two several occasions, pillows were as flat as pancakes, rust on shower rods, floors still dirty after maids cleaned, missing tiles in the swimming pool and there was grafetti on one of the stautes in the pool. I've stayed at RIU Palace hotels before in Cabo and it was a solid '4' even leaning to a '5'. RIU Palace Negril was a weak '3'. On the plus side, the food was good and the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The nightly entertainment was very good. We paid a premium to stay at the 'Palace' vs the regular RIU, but definitely did not get the value. Unless they make major changes, I wont be staying at this facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ballet fan
Business
bloomington, ind
Jan 10, 2014

family vacation

We have been to this hotel around 5 times, most recently with our entire family for Christmas break. Great beach, very relaxing, great staff. Probably not worth as many stars as claimed but still a very comfortable and relaxing place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top