Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$349
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 3, 2016 Check-out: Mar 6, 2016

Very relaxing

Would recommend Sun, Feb 26, 2012
The hotel is about an hour and a half ride from the airport. Check in was fast and easy. There were A LOT of mosquitoes in and around our room. I have a lot of bug bites as a result. That was really the only negative of this hotel. There were not a lot of kids so we were really able to relax. The staff is really the best part of this hotel. They were attentive and friendly. I would definitely return to this hotel

Shopping hint

Buy souvenirs on the ride up from the hotel. They will be much cheaper than at the airport or the resort.

| New York, NY Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

I will be back

Would recommend Sat, Feb 11, 2012
We had a great time here, the Beach is the best part of the whole place. It is also the best beach on the entire strip of the resorts in Bloody Bay. Having to make reservations for dinner was a little frustrating especially since the restraunts were not even full. The food was good but not great, i would eat at the buffet there are more options and it is more relaxed and enjoyable attmosphere. but overall the place is beautifull and we are allready trying to figure out next years trip.

Shopping hint

Don't waste your time on shopping trips they all sell the same stuff, and it is right on the beach with in walking distance of the hotel, so you can do it in you bathing suit and with a drink in your hand.

| Vermont, USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

LOVED EVERY MINUTE!!

Would recommend Thu, Feb 9, 2012
My husband and I went with a group of 10 of us. We had a fabulous time. We have stayed at other RIU Palace's before. This one is a little smaller than the others but it never felt crowded. The pools are great & the beach at the RIU palace is the best beach on bloody bay. We walked from one end of the bay to the other to check out the beaches & other hotels. We really felt we were at the best resort with the best beach. The staff was amazing. The entertainment staff was fabulous & make quick friends with the guests at the hotel. They are true professionals and even remember your name. O'Ryan was such a great help finding a cab to Rick's & showed us a great time. Sage from room service was also top notch. The pool bar staff was very fun and friendly as well. If there was one small complaint it would be making reservations for dinner. They take them on Tuesday, Thursday & I think Saturday mornings at 9am. You have to stand in line to make your reservation & the line gets very long. If you know what you want when you make reservations it makes the line move much quicker. We had a little problem with the safe the morning we were supposed to leave and our passports, money & valuables were all locked up putting me into pure panic. We called the front desk & a manager was there within 10 minutes to open the safe. I have seen some negative reviews, but I truly believe a vacation is what you make of it. We did not have one negative experience. We went to have a great time & we did. The food was fabulous & everyone in our group could not say that enough and the staff was also fabulous. We did not enoucounter any problems with mosquitos either. A few of us got a few sand flea bites, but nothing to make a big deal about. By the end of our stay, we knew most of the staff by name & they knew us as well. I would return to this hotel in a minute. This resort is not really geared toward children. We have 2 children but did not take them on this trip. There were some young kids there and this resort is really not the place for them. It is Jamaica after all and their laws for drug use are very "loose." There were never any problems, but the smell is unmistakable & you can smell it around the resort and on the beach. People are mostly relaxing around the pool with drinks & I know personally I did not love having kids jumping in the pool splashing around us. Luckily we only experienced that on our last day there, but if you are considering taking your children, you may want to look for another resort that is a little more family oriented. I wish I was still there!

| Cleveland, OH Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great trip

Would recommend Thu, Jan 19, 2012
Beach is beautiful and clean, food is excellent. Staff are friendly. Our only disappointment was that our room was not ready for check in when we arrived at 3. Had to wait an hour and half.

| Toronto, ON, Canada Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Treated like a queen

Would recommend Fri, Jan 13, 2012
Loved this hotel. I stayed over New Year's Eve and had a great time at the party. We ate lobster and they celebrated with a band, large ice sculptures, champagne and hats with horns. The food was delicious, the beach is grand, but it just takes time to get there. My only complaint is that the bed was a bit hard.

Time saver

Take a shuttle to the location. The roads are kind of iffy to drive yourself.

| Los Angeles, CA, USA Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great stay

Would recommend Sat, Dec 17, 2011
Good entertainment, food was good. Would definitely return.

Shopping hint

Souvenirs are cheaper at the Craft Market in Montego Bay or Negril than at the hotel

| West Palm Beach, FL, USA Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Incredible Anniversary

Would recommend Wed, Dec 14, 2011
My wife and I have been to Jamaica at least fifteen times. This was by far the best time that we've had. The experience was absolutely amazing. The place was very clean and neat at all times from the rooms to the grounds! There was plenty of activities that kept us active when we chose. The entire staff was overly friendly, The food was great! (not the place to be if on a diet!) I am dfinitely going back next year, thinking about bringing my group of twenty! OUTSTANDING!!

Dining

Be sure to bring long pants if planning on formal dinner reservations. There is a dress code they didn't tell me about and I had to skip my reservation! Wasn't that big a deal, it was an after thought more than anything.

| Greensboro, NC, USA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Vacation

Would recommend Wed, Dec 14, 2011
From the first step in the hotel we felt very comfortable. We arrived early, so our room was not yet ready, the staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, entertained, and well looked after until we could get into our room. During the next ten days we were continually awed by the service and attitudes of all the staff. exceptional mention must be awarded to the entertainment staff.... fantastic shows! Very professionally choreography, stage design, costumes, and performing. Throughout our stay, this hotel was top of the line for us. We will go back.

Attractions

Mayfield Falls - do not miss this adventure. The natural mineral pools give you the most amazing massage and relaxation that you could imagine You'll feel and look 15 years younger (if you are over 40).

| Calgary, AB, Canada Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Paradise indeed!

Would recommend Tue, Dec 13, 2011
Our stay at the RIU was once again amazing. The service was top-notch as was the food and amenities. Our room was beautiful and clean. The food was incredible as were the food choices! The overall RIU experience was once again incredible. I look forward to returning.

Shopping hint

The vendors along the beach were all very kind but their aggressiveness when trying to sell goods can be rather annoying.

| Syracuse, NY, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Another great vacation at Riu Palace Negril

Would recommend Sun, Dec 4, 2011
We just returned from a weeklong vacation at Riu Palace Negril from 11/25 to 12/2. This was our second time at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We traveled with our two kids and my in-laws and found that the beach is one of the best in the Caribbean (compare to Riu Palace and Hyatt in Aruba, Secrets in Punta Cana DR). The water was shallow, clear and calm most of the time although we got two days of waves. The resort is compact and everything is nearby. We stayed in Building 1 in the ocean front rooms on the second floor. The building is only steps away from the beach. Rooms have nice balconies although the ocean view is somewhat abstracted with the trees. We did not spend much time in the room or on the balcony, but we enjoyed falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. One thing that we did not like is that mattresses were too firm. The house keeping cleaned the room twice a day and followed requests for extra towels. Daily tips probably helped. The food was decent for an all inclusive place. We are not big fans of the fried stuff, but always managed to find something we all liked. We noticed that variety was better around Thanksgiving and diminished toward the end of our stay. For breakfast we liked smoked salmon with toasted bagels and cream cheese (although we only found salmon the first four days), hot oatmeal and porridge worked well for kids. Typical omelets, meat, potatoes, yogurts, fresh fruits, pastries were plentiful and tasty. At lunch time we liked the soups, jerk chicken, fish, fresh salads, fruits and deserts. The dinners at the buffet were nice with many choices and even lobsters one night. As a general observation, the best selection is within first hour or two and diminishes after that, do not hesitate to ask if you do not see something that you like, and tips will go a long way… We fine dined at Krystal and Steak House and liked them both as a nice change from the buffet. We ordered drinks at the restaurants – try the Canadian Club whiskey in the cognac glass – it is excellent.

Entertainment hint

Circus performance was excellent.

| New Jersey Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5