$453 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
161 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NelsonNYC
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Family Vacation

Hotel was very classy, upscale and clean. Food was great for all meals. Great beach and entertainment was excellent. Will definelately go back and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can hassle 30 min of jetski for only $40. They ask for 65 so talk them down. Also take day trip to sunset at Rick's cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanna Get Away
Business
SO Cal
Aug 13, 2011

Recent stay - okay

My husband and I recently vacationed in Negril Jamaica at the RIU Tropical Bay Resort. It was a very nice vacation overall. The beach was beautiful as well as the ocean. The food was not so great, making reservations at the restraurants were difficult as you had to wake up early to make reservations for the next two days. We were unable to get reservations so we had to eat at the buffet every night and it was not good. We were able to find a few menu items that were okay but did not get a full belly one night. The staff was great, they were very friendly and helpful. The entertainment was not so exciting. The pool was a lot smaller than the pictures. The rooms were nice. Great value vacation overall. Watch out for mosquito's we got bit so many times it was uncomfortable. We went zip lining which we highly reccomend as it was breath taking. We also took a trip to Rick's Cafe because you get to cliff jump and some good food and drinks. Next trip we would like to try a different hotel along 7 mile beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to wake up early every other day to make reservations for the restaurants because the buffet is not good. Males remember to bring a pair of long pants and shoes or else you will not be able to dine at two of the restaurants which are the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
returning to Jamaica
Business
Western Kentucky, murray ky
Jul 11, 2011

great place to stay

Excellent place to stay. The only problem is the proximity to the road with the road noise but if you get lucky and ask and are moved away from the road noise then you are fine. It pays to get ocean view at this or any other hotel in Negril as all hotels are adjacent to the road. Service was excellent with twice a day house keeping services and good food. Free drinks but don't expect high grade brands. The dinner reservation system is exclusive to the area with two nights in advance reservations which you have to be up and in line at 8:00 am on specific day. The buffet was great but I want to eat at a restaurant when I am travelling. All restaurants were great at this resort and activities were great for adults. Younger adults <30 may not enjoy the activities as much. There were upgrades to the fitness center which I appreciated from elepticals to a multi weigth machine. Overall I will give it an A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Very entertaining with nightly shows

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Jul 5, 2011

NOTHING but worries, Mon!

To be fair, let's start with the (very few) positives: 1. GREAT beach, easily the nicest of the five all-inclusives I have stayed at. Something magical about wading in the placid Caribbean at 630pm while watching the sunset in Bloody Bay is an experience I will not soon forget. 2. Most of the staff is very, very friendly, and will go out of their way, unexpectedly, to ask you how you are doing and welcome you to Jamaica. The bartenders also do an excellent job, with the pool bar guys staying a little extra even while closing to make sure your drinks are full. 3. Great food and world class service at the Krystal. I'd provide reviews of the OTHER restaurants here, but that leads to one of many, many glaring flaws with this resort: -Unreasonable dinner reservation appointment window. Namely every second day from 8-10:30am. Yes, on your vacation, you have to get up at 8 and stand in line in order to hopefully get a reservation at one of the three tiny restaurants here---and you might not score a table until the next night. No exceptions, unless you are willing to go though a labyrinth of red tape. To be fair, the Krystal was full the night we managed (with some begging the day before ) to get a seat, but be warned that it is very, very hard to get a seat at one the restaurants here. We have never experienced this much of a hassle at any other resort. And this was not even the busy season. What if you can't get a seat on one of the restaurants? There's always the All-Inclusive Buffet, right? Think again . . . . -All inclusive dinner buffet is mediocre, to put it kindly, consisting of undercooked pasta, dried "jerk" chicken, grisly steak, and other culinary horrors. Every once in a while the cooks would score with their turkey dishes or some of their lunch dishes, but overall, the buffet here is third rate. Thankfully, toothpicks are in abundance here. -Good luck with the towels. The first night, our room was not ready in time, but 30 minutes later it was, with a promise that towels would be delivered later. After three phone calls the towels finally showed up about 5 hours later. Then there is the pool towels--easily the most aggravating thing I have ever dealt with at an all-inclusive. Each guest gets 2 pool towel cards upon check-in, one card per towel, Then, you turn in your wet towels for new ones. One night we left our towels at the pool and went for a swim in the Caribbean, only upon returning to our pool chairs to discover our towels were taken by the towel boys. The next day, without the prized towel cards, I asked for new towels and explained the situation to the towel boy, and he cut me off and refused to give me fresh towels, and had the gall to tell me I had to go to the front desk and pay $20 for a new towel card! At an AIR??? And trust me, these towels were no $20 towels. (Meanwhile, 20 feet away, drunkards were dancing on the pool bar, fighting each other, dropping F bombs in front of small children, and not being removed, but I was a scofflaw for asking for a towel). Now, I get that there is only a set amount of towels to go around. But just like with the restaurant reservations, this was NOT in the busy season, and I have NEVER had a problem getting pool towels at an AIR before. Just HERE. -Mini bar. Minor complaint here, but we paid for it, and it just added to the list of minor annoyances. Our mini bar was not restocked on a regular basis. One night I called the front desk to ask if the refrigerator could be restocked, and the woman explained the people that do that left already. MY problem? Yet another excuse. She promised to work with the food service people to get the mini bar restocked. Never happened. I know these are all nitpicking things, but it's the small things, the details, that make or break an all-inclusive resort. And when it's one distraction after another, they pile up into one tremendously awful experience. Instead of hearing "YES!" it was one excuse after another from variou...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Wait until you get back to the Montego Bay airport to shop for souveniers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.parker
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 30, 2011

Key word All Inclusive

I had so much fun it was a 45 min ride from the airport to the resort but all and all I just looked out the window trying to get a feel of there country, Once you reside at the riu You have all access to the other Riu, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Maryland
Jun 24, 2011

Nothing Special....Simply OK

My husband and I stayed at the RIU Tropical Bay from June 20, 2011 through June 23, 2011. It was recommended to us by a friend and while it was beautiful, clean and well kept, the level of service was lacking. Pros included: * gorgeous beach with plenty of beach chairs * great pool and pool bar. * great decor and well manicured lawns. * lively and energetic shows * patio for each room. Cons included: * 1.5 hour distance from airport. * housekeeping did not restock toiletries and bar. * room service forgot orders and neglected to deliver when reminded. * reservation system for restaurants was tedious (had to reserve in person 2 days beforehand). * staff was not always courteous. * food at Japanese restaurant was mediocore at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go with the dinner buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chill' Mom
Business
San Francisco CA
Jun 22, 2011

Didn't want to leave...

My daughter and I loved the hotel, it was pristine, incredible service and the best beach area of all the hotels. Staff were freindly and fun, plenty to do, or not do, whichever your preference. Would definitley go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miss peggy
Business
pa
Jun 10, 2011

just having fun

sun,fun ,rain and lots of cheer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PonyGirl66
Business
Concord, NH
Jun 2, 2011

Last Minute Get-Away

We booked last minute to get away. This place seemed like the best deal. Weather was ok - had a day and half of rain/clouds. Even though tips were included in the price of the trip, it felt that you needed to leave a tip after every meal or every time you ordered a drink - did not like that. Also, one of our tours was canceled and they did not tell us until we went to find out why the bus was slate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany B Traveling
Business
Houston, Tx
May 22, 2011

Not All It's Cracked Up to Be

We took a cab from the airport. It was the same price as the shuttles. Since there were four of us it was $25 per person one way. The cab driver gave us his card and he gave us a discount for the ride back to the airport for $90. I don't recommend booking a shuttle, because it will take you longer to reach the hotel, and a cab cost the same amount. We arrived at the resort on a Friday around 3:00pm. The hotel staff was extremely nice, and drinks were brought to us immediately while we were checking in. After reading reviews online about how difficult it was to get reservations at the onsite restaurants, I asked the front desk about reservations for that evening. She called and we were told that the restaurants were full, but she helped us make reservations for Saturday night at the Steakhouse. Starved we went to eat lunch at the lunch buffet, where we started to ask the waiters about dinner reservations and how that process worked. After slipping the waiter a $10 bill, we were able to magically get reservations for that evening. Overall the food at all of the restaurants were below average to average. Our last trip we went to in Puerto Vallarta at an all inclusive, was gourmet, meaning for lunch and dinner you order from a menu with multiple pages to choose from. You could order as much food as you wanted when you wanted to. At this resort, breakfast and lunch are buffet, with the best lunch meals that we ate were offered at the Jerk Chicken shack, which I highly recommend. It is also annoying that you have to get up to book your dinner reservations at 8:00am and stand in line every two days. Dinner was disappointing. Everyone gets the same appetizer, you get to select one of the 3 to 4 entrées, and one of the 2-3 desserts. Did I mention that the menus are the same every night at the restaurants, so if you go back, you can expect the same selection. As a foodie, that was the most disappointing thing about the trip. The room service menu/food was disgusting; the selection was a joke, and I know you can get better food at a fast food restaurant. The rooms that my husband and I stayed in, and my best friend and her husband stayed in were average at best. They were stuffy and smelled very damp and moldy. The atmosphere of the hotel was nice, and the beaches were beautiful. Also they had a nice selection of liquor, but a below average selection of wine. We enjoyed the free and included water activities, like kayaking and paddle boats. We booked a $45 per person excursion to go snorkel and go to Rick's Cafe, which we booked through the water activities hut on the resort. Avoid the people set up near the front desk that supposedly help you book your activities, they were very rude and pushy. The hotel doesn't have a concierge desk, which bummed me out, because I have always gone to them as a great resource. The best food that we had by far was when we went to the Rock House Restaurant, about a 20 minute cab ride, $60 ride there and back for four people. Authentic Jamaican food, with the best seafood I've ever had. I would say that it would be worth it to book with another resort and spend a couple hundred more dollars to get better food. If you're on a tight budget, the atmosphere of the resort is spot on, and you'll have an overall good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best food that we had by far was when we went to the Rock House Restaurant, about a 20 minute cab ride, $60 ride there and back for four people. Authentic Jamaican food, with the best seafood I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top