$333 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
185 reviews
Fantastic Hotel and Great Location

We booked a jr. suite ocean front and got upgraded to an oceanfront suite which was an amazing... See full review

  • EM311
  • Mar 2, 2015
Husband Wife getaway

We have stayed here for the 4th time. While it is an hour+ drive to and from airport, we feel it is... See full review

  • mark b.
  • Feb 13, 2015

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
seadogkess
New York, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Great Trip. Going Back Soon. No Problem

Just returned from seven days at the RPTB. We had a wonderful time. The beach was beautiful. Clean beach, blue water NO PROBLEM. Food was very good. The buffet was great, especially the night they had lobsters. The other restaurants were very good. We ate in all four (our least favorite was the steak house) Krystal and the Japanese were our favorite. The breakfast buffet was great. The jerk chicken hut was fantastic for lunch, however the other lunch buffet choices were also very good and changed daily. The drinks were top shelf, very available and as strong as you wanted them. Beer was Red Stripe light and regular (Presidente was put in the mini bar in the room). The staff is extremely friendly and hardworking. The grounds and the rooms were very clean. Someone was always cleaning, landscaping etc. Overall this was a wonderful resort and we will be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brianna
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Jamaica April 2015 Trip

Had a great time on this trip. Hotel itself could use some updating such as new paint on the building and updating room decor. Hotel has several buildings, ours was further back, closer to a road, so it did get loud at night sometimes from the cars. The food was great. We ate at the buffet, japenese restaurant, and fusion restaurant. Specialty restaurants do have smaller portions, but are a 4-course meal so I was surprisingly very full afterwards. Buffet had different theme nights such has international, Jamaican, etc. Hotel staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. Very large beach area that was nicely maintained. Water was very clear. I recommend bringing lots of sunscreen and aloe as you will pay a hefty price for it at the hotel gift shop. Entertainment was okay - we enjoyed the steel drums and Michael Jackson night most. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angela H.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Did not meet expectations

We just (2 girls) returned from this hotel in negril, and it was not what we had expected. The staff was not as friendly as we had read in previous reviews. (Except for wanting to hit on us) The room we had was near the main dining room and was very loud making it hard to get quality rest. The beach was a dream, and probably the most beautiful place I've kever been to. I expected a higher level one professionalism from the staff. I was pretty disappointed y many aspects of this hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexzig
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

We had a great time.

It well worth money we spend. Great location friendly staff and exceptionally good food. Nice no problem experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EM311
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Fantastic Hotel and Great Location

We booked a jr. suite ocean front and got upgraded to an oceanfront suite which was an amazing room. The room had a sitting area along with a king size bed and a jacuzzi tub. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and did a great job cleaning the room as did the staff stocking the minibar and fridge. The restaurants offered a great selection of many types of food. The krystal fusion was a favorite along with the japanese restaurant the only drawback being the need for reservations and the limitations of making only two at a time. The buffet restaurant was excellent for both lunch and dinner and offered a wonderful variety of food and desserts. There were a lot of fun games and activities offered at both the beach and pool as well as Bingo at the outdoor bar in the afternoons. The evening entertainment was enjoyable and offered a nice outdoor setting with drinks served to watch a variety of different nightly shows. The beach is beautiful- warm and turquoise and calm and is perfect for walking along the entire bay where you will be able to shop from the local vendors selling their wares on the beach. An excursion to the local "shopping mall" is a nice afternoon trip to pick up some souveniers and is a short ride from the hotel. The hotel staff are very accomodating in providing transportation or discussing possible excursions. This is a great hotel and a perfect location for a very fun and relaxing vacation. I would be happy to return on another trip to this hotel or perhaps the Riu Negril as I have had great experiences staying at Riu hotels also in the Bahamas and would recommend this hotel and location of Bloody Bay Negril for a fabulous beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mark b.
Business
Kiel
Feb 13, 2015

Husband Wife getaway

We have stayed here for the 4th time. While it is an hour+ drive to and from airport, we feel it is worth the drive. Our room was ready and clean with a greeting on the door. We booked Oceanside room and were greeted with beautiful sunsets. Andrew, at the desk, helped us book a cab, which was a huge van, for the 2 of us. When we arrived, we asked for him and Thanked him for his assistance. He was VERY pleasant and said to find him if we had any other questions. Next day, I could not book reservations for their specialty dinners, other than Japanese. I asked if he could possibly help with Italian and Steakhouse, with flexability of dates. Next day we had both dinners booked. Andrew handled all our needs professionally and pleasantly. Nadine, "Momma" Miss Theresa and Marisha at the pool bar were also extremely helpful AND fun to be around. Small to medium tips go along way, as well as a meaningful Thank You. We are looking forward to next years travel. No excursions this trip, as we have done most on past trips. If one does Rick's café jump, as I did at 60+, hit the water vertical

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khanh N.
Business
Anaheim
Feb 13, 2015

Good for family vacation

This hotel was amazing, it is huge. The staff is wonderful very friendly the food was amazing everyday specially the BBQ by the pool the drinks are really good, the nightly entertainment was good also and the free Wi-Fi worked really well even on the beach. This hotel was overall just awesome will definitely come back loved it."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom at best
Business
Fargo
Feb 10, 2015

Romance

Had a good vacation with my husband of 8 years. Well needed time alone and very appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom at best
Business
Fargo
Feb 10, 2015

Getaway

Beautiful beach and very clear waters. Very well balanced vacation for couples or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeMar
Business
Carmel
Feb 4, 2015

Nice Family Vacation

This hotel did meet my expectations. Good food, nice location, beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler
Business
Torrance
Feb 4, 2015

It was just excellent

The quality of the beach and sea water just so good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top