$305 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
167 reviews
AWESOME TRIP!

BEST RIU IN JAMAICA! loved it because it had the best food and the best beach overall and the... See full review

  • Crystal D.
  • Aug 18, 2015
Awesome trip

This was the best place I could book. I will surely be going back! Soon! See full review

  • Ashley L.
  • Jun 3, 2015
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

General

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive, Jamaica

Location

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Dining
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Rooms
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Highlights

Room service is available 24-hours a day and includes chef-prepared Italian, Japanese, fusion or Negril cuisines from the four facility restaurants. The resort also features a poolside grill and steakhouse for those who want to soak in the sun. There are two adjoining swimming pools where guests can indulge in a complimentary scuba diving lesson. Children have a special pool and a playground on the beach. Parasols, lounge chairs and towels grace the poolside areas. The fitness center boasts a sauna and whirlpool. It offers messages and spa treatments as well. Game rooms are equipped with slot machines. Guests can take advantage of tennis and volleyball courts. Hotel staff can outfit guests with the necessary equipment and instruction for body boarding, kayaking, sailing, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. Local off-site activities include the thermal springs at the Hall Plantation, the Negril Hills Golf Course and the Roaring River Caves.

Policies
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$426
4.4 / 5 178 reviews
★★★★★
$437
4.5 / 5 212 reviews
★★★★
$468
4.2 / 5 66 reviews
★★★★
$187
3.8 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$141
4.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★★
$281
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★
$128
4.7 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$125
3.9 / 5 28 reviews

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reserve with confidence.
Couples
Bucks, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Fantastic Vacation

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. The food at the restaurants was a good or better than you would expect to receive in any fine dining restaurant. Even the food at the buffet was exceptional. I have been to all inclusive resort hotels in the past and this hotel rates far and above the rest. This is my first experience at a RIU Hotel and I would highly recommend this facility. In fact, I am going to seek out a RIU in the future. No more surprises for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nataliia V.
Couples
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

beautiful place for honeymoon

We stay at Riu palace tropical bay for our honeymoon, location is awesome, hotel is very nice, food is delicious, but customer service needs to be improved.All waitresses, bartenders are not very friendly! Rooms are clean, beach is very clear too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crystal D.
Family
N/A
Aug 18, 2015

AWESOME TRIP!

BEST RIU IN JAMAICA! loved it because it had the best food and the best beach overall and the employees went above and beyond! only negative is that there are no elevators, so it was difficult for my mom who walks with a cane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neel P.
Family
FAIR LAWN
Aug 6, 2015

Family trip

It was a good time we went with five of us and we all had a blast. The beach was perfect and the food was amazing !!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanne S.
Family
N/A
Jul 30, 2015

Family trip

Lacked daily activities, needs to be more lively with music... When I've stayed at other RUIs I feel they were more interactive and fun. Feel like most staff were kind of rude or not very friendly. But the few that were made up for it. Staff just goes in the room without knocking assuming people aren't in there! Happened like 3 times and we were only there 5 days. The buffet is delicious. Not bad but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abnormal Mark.
Family
cotton
Jun 24, 2015

Buffett Buffett Buffett.

The resort was incredibly clean. Staff were very courteous. I did have problems getting drinks during an evening show. The waitress took our order and never came back. I flagged down a manager who came over and sent someone else to get our drinks who came with them about 20 minutes later. This was the only bad experience I had at this resort. The Buffett was well above average and the service there was outstanding. We did the onsite scuba introduction coarse that ended up later in the day being 40 feet down on a reef. Awesome!! I went on the trip with my 18 year old daughter. My daughter especially loved the scuba diving. Now we are working on our deep see PADI certification. We also took the catamaran trip to Ricks Café. This was an awesome trip well worth the money. the sights on the way there were amazing. We stopped and did some snorkeling. Then we went to Rick's and did some cliff jumping. Notice I did not say diving. The cliff jumping was plenty for my daughter an I. The only thing I did not like is that there was no shuttle to the sister resort a mile away. After dark it is not safe to walk the beach back and forth so we paid for a cab. I must have been asked 500 times if I wanted some weed by beach peddlers, cabbies and every local. This did peak my daughters interest so we toured a pot plantation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley L.
Couples
Des Moines
Jun 3, 2015

Awesome trip

This was the best place I could book. I will surely be going back! Soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caglar U.
Couples
New York
May 29, 2015

Thanks RIU

One of the best hotel chains. We spent last three vacations at RIU and were always pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brianna
Couples
N/A
May 26, 2015

Jamaica April 2015 Trip

Had a great time on this trip. Hotel itself could use some updating such as new paint on the building and updating room decor. Hotel has several buildings, ours was further back, closer to a road, so it did get loud at night sometimes from the cars. The food was great. We ate at the buffet, japenese restaurant, and fusion restaurant. Specialty restaurants do have smaller portions, but are a 4-course meal so I was surprisingly very full afterwards. Buffet had different theme nights such has international, Jamaican, etc. Hotel staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. Very large beach area that was nicely maintained. Water was very clear. I recommend bringing lots of sunscreen and aloe as you will pay a hefty price for it at the hotel gift shop. Entertainment was okay - we enjoyed the steel drums and Michael Jackson night most. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angela H.
Couples
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Did not meet expectations

We just (2 girls) returned from this hotel in negril, and it was not what we had expected. The staff was not as friendly as we had read in previous reviews. (Except for wanting to hit on us) The room we had was near the main dining room and was very loud making it hard to get quality rest. The beach was a dream, and probably the most beautiful place I've kever been to. I expected a higher level one professionalism from the staff. I was pretty disappointed y many aspects of this hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexzig
Friends
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

We had a great time.

It well worth money we spend. Great location friendly staff and exceptionally good food. Nice no problem experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top