$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Riu Negril All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Norman Manley Blvd., Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Negril All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NH John
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 23, 2014

Great Location

The Riu negril is in a great location. It's on a great shallow bay, with a fish sanctuary at the farthest end.Though it's not a coral reef, it makes for some great snorkeling for the young and old. The food and nightly entertainment where great, though the party doesn't start till around 9pm. Its within 10 minute ride to seven mile beech and 20 minute ride to Rick's Cafe (cliff divers). Highly recommend the area of Negril.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rick's cafe and cliff diving and awesome sun sets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Incredibles
Business
Brampton, Ontario
Mar 15, 2014

Beautiful Beach Great Hotel

We had a good time at the Riu Negril, would recommend this resort to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L from Chicago
Business
Chicago
Mar 2, 2014

Average

The hotel was a little dated. But, the beach was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Fogy
Business
Southern KS
Feb 17, 2014

Small things

The staff and the other guests were very friendly and happy with where they were and what they were doing. Someone should tell them they need a new fabric softener for their towels, and personally I can't read and drink coffee without a microwave to reheat the coffee, that could well be a personal problem. The 90 minutes of wifi a day that is free can either be a nuisance or a godsend. You have enough time to get to get caught up, but you can't kill the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Gourmet restaurant, if you want to eat here you need long trousers and full collared shirt. It isn't necessary the other restaurants are excellent, but if you want dress for dinner you need reservations, and it is included in the all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Bamboo
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 9, 2014

RIU Negril

My wife and I booked one RIU Negril and other family members booked the other RIU Negril. Listings were not real clear for our family get together. The RIU staff worked with us to get all of us in same motel. The restaurants we were able to get into were fab. We could not get into the steak house because of back to back weddings. Stocking of room fridge was hit or miss. Beach, pools, sailing, entertainment were all great. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith36
Business
Plymouth
Feb 3, 2014

Perfect for the price

The resort was great and had a huge beach area. Staff was excellent and very friendly. Food was good but would have been nice if the hours for the buffet were extended. Very impressed that the rooms had beers in the fridge and liquor bottle dispensers on the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chelle ann
Business
Missouri
Jan 31, 2014

winter escape

Employees were very courteous, helpful, and kind. The buffet dining was very good, both in quality and variety. Activities were always available...beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find a less expensive way to get there from airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VAVisitorToNegril
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 30, 2014

Great trip not ruined by the crummy resort.

If you're a group of 23 year old friends who just want to drink a lot, don't care what you're drinking, and have no intentions of meeting anyone... this is your place! If you're a group of women in their late 40s who think 50 Shades is soooooo sultry, and you want to get a tan before your 30th high school reunion... this is your place! Everyone else may want to look a bit further.... Location - Ok, it's perfect. Absolutely perfect. 2 inch waves, clear blue water, bright sun, beautiful beach. If you care about absolutely nothing else, you can find a corner under some tree away from the loud obnoxious guests and have a fantastic time. There's some impressive coral within the swimming area which makes for amazing snorkeling but dangerous swimming. It's paradise, plain and simple. Food - DO NOT. DO, FREAKING, NOT. DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT drink the wine. Or go to the 'gourmet restaurant' Sir Andrew. I would describe the horror that was that meal, but this site limits the number of characters. DO NOT DO IT. The buffets are fine, with lunch being the weakest link. You have to search through the stack to find a dish that's clean, and you may pull a bug or two out of your salad, but it's a third world country, get over it. The other resteraunt, Steak House, serves up a surprisingly good, albeit 6 ounce ribeye. 6 oz ribeye... That's more like a rib-pupil. Bars - Do you love Red Stripe? You'll hate it by the end of the trip. There's no other beer, and Red Stripe tastes like butt. All of the bars, even the pool one, smell faintly of toenail infection. It's horrid. You can't sit at the bar for any period of time because of the smell and the wasps, but you can take your drinks and enjoy the beautiful beach. The other drinks are low-end liquor, very low end. You can order three margaritas from three different bars and none of them taste the same, nor do they taste like margaritas. But if you drink enough, you'll get where you need to be. Rooms - Actually pretty nice. Nothing special, but decent. There's a minibar that they restock every other day. Extras - Go on a snorkeling trip. Amazing reef. Book it through the actual legitimate dive place located on the resort grounds. So so so so worth it. DO NOT go if you mind local vendors bothering you every 2 minutes to buy keychains, cigarettes, cigars, weed, braids, jetskis, etc etc etc etc. It goes on and on and is exhausting. They usually go away after a quick "no thanks," but some are more obnoxiously persistent. There's a show every night whose quality varies as much as everything else. Staff - Range from completely disinterested to moderately engaged. No one really offensive, but you can tell by their bleak performance that their leadership is uninspiring. Overall, this is an hourly motel sitting on luxury property. We had a great time, but that was in no part due to the resort. If you have an extremely tight budget, or very low expectations, Riu Negril is absolutely worth it. But if you spend a bit more, you can probably find something much better. I'm glad we went, but won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT OH MY GOD DO NOT GO TO SIR ANDREW. I know you don't know me, but trust me. OH THE HORROR.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stmarysineden
Business
Eden, WI
Jan 22, 2014

Large wedding success!

We had 92 people attend my son's wedding at this hotel. The gentleman that married them did a great job and did not rush the ceremony at all. The ceremony was at one end of the resort, on the beach far away from the rest of the guests. Chilled champagne was waiting for all the guests immediately after the ceremony. Food at the wedding - amazing!!! Service - amazing as well. Wouldn't have changed a thing! The rest of the week was great too. Food in the main dinning area was good. If you stay, I highly recommend making reservations at the Steak house which is included, but requires reservations 2 days in advance. Be at the sign up area by 7:45am to guarantee a spot 2 days before you want to dine there. It fills up fast! Beach could use some maintenance - but I am comparing it to Breezes at Runaway Bay where it was perfectly raked daily with no pebbles at all. Entertainment crew was great! Pool bar and bar above it - great! If you stay, try to get a room in building one - or it is a long walk to the pools, entertainment and dinning room. Be sure to stop for lunch at the jerk chicken hut on the beach - best chicken ever!!! Some people got small bites from tiny little bugs, but I did not get any nor saw the bugs. Lastly, take either a catamaran ride or bus (both at extra cost) to Rick's Cafe - worth the trip. Wear your swim suits - you can jump from 45 feet into the water off the amazing rocks there. Food/drink is expensive there, so eat before you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve dinning at the steak house at least once during your stay. Food & service is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donald S
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 17, 2014

Needs an Upgrade - Especially the Rooms !

We've traveled to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico - but this was the first time in Jamaica. And for the price this place is badly in need of an upgrade. Some tips to enjoy the experience 1) The Rooms : Definitely run down. With 20 inch TV's from the 1970's, relatively UN-comfortable beds, and small. We asked for two Queen beds but were given a King Size single bed. After complaining - we were moved the next day. Also for an 8 day stay our mini bar was never re-stocked with water or beer. We complained and even then they averaged only once every three days. 2) Booking the Resort Restaurants : They make every effort to shut you out of the three restaurants. You need to book two days in advance and there was a line forming at 7:30 AM in the morning. We complained and got it. But other than Sir Andrew the others are pretty mediocre especially the Italian one. The buffet really depends on when you get there - if you reach later than 6:30 for dinner they do not re-fill and most of the stuff is cleared. They only serve the house wine - which is pretty bad. But the Jamican food can be good and a real life saver. 3) Service " Pleasant but really pretty Yeh Man...you definitely need to complain to get good service 4) Mosquitoes : They don't seem to treat the lawn and folks at the pool were really badly bitten. So please take along some repellant and anti-septic to deal with this. 5) Taxis and Conveyance : It really makes sense to call the cab stands directly - if you go through the hotel they charge about 20 to 25% more. Overall though the staff was friendly, the Jamaican food great, and the entertainment was truly excellent. But the place really needs a major upgrade especially the rooms. In terms of the overall resort think Best Western as opposed to Marriott or Westin. Given the pricing though - a much worse value than what you would get for the same price in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to get into one of the three specialty restaurants you are definitely going to need to be aggressive and complain. They do everything to tell you they are fully reserved and have no seating. Though you pay for them as part of your stay. Overall my advice at this hotel is to complaint if you want to get good service - including having your minibar stocked - which again is part of the charges you pay for. Also take along mosquito repellant !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top