$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Riu Negril All Inclusive

3 stars
Norman Manley Blvd., Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
241 reviews
Family getaway

Our whole family (2 adults, 3 teenagers and 2 children) had a wonderful vacation at the RIU Negril.... See full review

  • White Rasta Mama
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great well rounded resort

Daily beach volleyball; great snorkeling in Fish Sactuary right off beach; 1.5 miles of white beach... See full review

  • Moose and Diane
  • Jul 25, 2014
Riu Negril is an all-inclusive resort destination designed for couples and families, and set on the sparkling sands of Negril beach in Jamaica. Dance to island grooves at the Pacha nightclub; dive into one of two freshwater swimming pools; and take part in non-stop activities that include table tennis, volleyball, windsurfing, sailing and kayaking. Guests who simply want to relax can tan on the soft beaches before stepping into the Renova Spa for manicures, facials, massages and wraps. Riu Negril even has a Jerk station serving up local Jamaican cuisine six days a week.
Key facts
  • 420 guest rooms, all with balcony or terrace
  • Restaurants:  Sir Andrew gourmet restaurant, Shadows grill and steakhouse, Luigi Italian restaurant, plus buffets and snacks
  • 5 bars, including 3 poolside bars
  • 3 swimming pools and 75-square-foot kids pool
  • RiuLand Kids' Club and children's playground
  • Renova Spa, sauna, salon and whirlpool bath
  • Gymnasium
  • Small kiosks and gift shops
  • Business facilities: Internet room (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The location of the Riu Negril is fascinating, being situated between Bloody Bay and Orange Bay in one of Negril's most secluded areas. Vistas feature the Caribbean Sea and Booby Cay, an isle known for its influx of birds and wildlife. Close by, the Rhodes Hall Plantation offers horseback rides along the beachfront - and it's also home to Jamaica's largest crocodile population. Visit nearby Green Island for a glimpse into Jamaican history; this village, now something of a ghost town, was once one of the most prosperous places on the island, particularly in terms of sugar cane production.
Hints and tips
If you're hungry for a snack at 2am, or looking for a nightcap before hitting the hay, the all-inclusive services at the Riu Negril are open 24 hours, so night owls can make the most of the midnight oil.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.3554 -78.3375
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport(MBJ)
Area description
Located 48 miles from Montego Bay Airport. Riu Negril is an ideal vacation choice to delight the senses of couples, singles and families.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Negril All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Riu Negril All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Garden View
Features two double beds or one king size bed, ceiling fan, air-conditioning, satellite TV, direct dial phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm rado, in room safe, and bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Most feature either a balcony or terrace.
Double Room ROH
This guest room includes two double beds or one king size bed, ceiling fan, air-conditioning, satellite TV, direct dial phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), clock/alarm radio, in room safe, and bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Most feature either a balcony or terrace.
Ocean View
This guest room includes two double beds or one king size bed, ceiling fan, air-conditioning, satellite TV, direct dial phone, mini bar & liquor dispenser (restockable), alarm/clock radio, in room safe, and bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Most rooms feature either a balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sir Andrew
A la carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner (reservations required).
Welcome
Lobby bar.
Coliseum
Lounge bar.
Shadows
Pool snack bar and restaurant, with dinner served as a Grill steakhouse in the evenings. Reservations required for dinner.
Luigi
Italian theme restaurant serving pizza, pasta and salads for lunch.
The Plaza
Pool bar.
Shadows
Swim up bar.
Green Island Restaurant
Main restaurant with non-smoking area and terrace, serving international and local specialties, buffet style dinning and show cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room facilities for groups up to 80 persons

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Negril All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donald S
Chicago, IL
Jan 17, 2014

Needs an Upgrade - Especially the Rooms !

We've traveled to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico - but this was the first time in Jamaica. And for the price this place is badly in need of an upgrade. Some tips to enjoy the experience 1) The Rooms : Definitely run down. With 20 inch TV's from the 1970's, relatively UN-comfortable beds, and small. We asked for two Queen beds but were given a King Size single bed. After complaining - we were moved the next day. Also for an 8 day stay our mini bar was never re-stocked with water or beer. We complained and even then they averaged only once every three days. 2) Booking the Resort Restaurants : They make every effort to shut you out of the three restaurants. You need to book two days in advance and there was a line forming at 7:30 AM in the morning. We complained and got it. But other than Sir Andrew the others are pretty mediocre especially the Italian one. The buffet really depends on when you get there - if you reach later than 6:30 for dinner they do not re-fill and most of the stuff is cleared. They only serve the house wine - which is pretty bad. But the Jamican food can be good and a real life saver. 3) Service " Pleasant but really pretty Yeh Man...you definitely need to complain to get good service 4) Mosquitoes : They don't seem to treat the lawn and folks at the pool were really badly bitten. So please take along some repellant and anti-septic to deal with this. 5) Taxis and Conveyance : It really makes sense to call the cab stands directly - if you go through the hotel they charge about 20 to 25% more. Overall though the staff was friendly, the Jamaican food great, and the entertainment was truly excellent. But the place really needs a major upgrade especially the rooms. In terms of the overall resort think Best Western as opposed to Marriott or Westin. Given the pricing though - a much worse value than what you would get for the same price in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to get into one of the three specialty restaurants you are definitely going to need to be aggressive and complain. They do everything to tell you they are fully reserved and have no seating. Though you pay for them as part of your stay. Overall my advice at this hotel is to complaint if you want to get good service - including having your minibar stocked - which again is part of the charges you pay for. Also take along mosquito repellant !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamaica first timer
Wisconsin
Jan 12, 2014

Great White sand beach. Very friendly staff.

The hotel was nice. Definitely the best stretch of beach that we experienced while in Jamaica. The rooms could use a few updates but overall they were as expected. Night time shows and food could use a little help, but the friendliness of the staff definitely made up for it. For the price, this hotel would definitely be top on my list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you plan to book multiple excursions there are travel agent guides in the lobby and they will give you a discount. Also, the YS falls is over an hour closer drive to negril than dunn river falls and was a great experience for us. There is a nice walkway up to each set of falls and a rope swing into the falls if your adventurous. Zip line tour for extra.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Daddy
Kansas
Dec 30, 2013

Great Time with the Family!

Great winter warm up destination. Things to do if you want to....plenty of beach to get away from it all if you want. Resort was 100% capacity....but did not feel like it. Talked to the management (very people friendly) renovation coming early August but will be open for next Christmas....More Than READY TO GO BACK!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of all the things the Hotel has to offer that are included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
honesty101
canada
Nov 27, 2013

why is this a 5 star hotel on Riu's website????

this hotel doesnt even compared to a real 5 star. no room service, stocking of goods every 2 days. I even got clothing stolen from my room. bad bad experience... the retsaurants were always packed, food was bad!!!... will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
123rtyujn
Denver
Nov 15, 2013

Riu Experience

It was ok. Nothing to write home about. It was not impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fab 50
florida
Oct 28, 2013

50th b day

It was ok. A bit smaller than I expected. Overall the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charlie travelman
Long Island, NY
Oct 28, 2013

short weekend getaway

very good resort, always wanted to go there, very relaxing, bartenders keep drinks coming, shout out to the entertainment staff, they do a great job keeping the guests entertained all day and at night,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caribbean gal49
Ohio
Oct 10, 2013

Nice but not a 5 star

I don't want to disrespect this hotel but I will be honest as what I liked or disliked may make a difference to someone considering this place. The food was decent....I have been to many resorts where I would lose weight as the food was so bad but here wasn't the case. I wouldn't say it was outstanding but it was good. The jerk chicken and rice they served everyday at the beach was phenomenal!!!! entertainment staff was great but the male waiters at the steakhouse restaurant were not friendly and at times, actually rude ..the drinks at the bar were good but there were never any waiters coming to you at the pool or beach so if you wanted a drink you had to either go,to the swim up bar in the pool or to a little stand at the beach. Sometimes you could get a drink immediately if there was no one in line but usually it would take 5 to 15 minutes . The pillows In the room are cheap and flat and I had to call 4 times the first day to request additional pillows (no one came) and FIVE times the next day.. Each time I called the front desk the woman would say "they are on their way" there were also days were they did not leave washcloths in our room....they claimed they had run out.. There are two small gift shops at the resort...nice things inside to buy such as swimsuits, cover ups, hats ect.....good prices but the girls in the shops were not friendly or helpful at all. Actually never even said "thank you" each time I purchased something. The rooms were nice--- nothing fancy ----but other than the cheap pillows, nothing to really complain about, My overall opinion is this:: if you are picky and want only the best this place may not be for you. However, it wasn't a dump and I was able to have a good time. The place was clean, the pool was nice and the beach area was decent. I'm not sure what we paid for the place (my husband paid for several people as we were there for a wedding) but I'm sure we got our money's worth. I just would. It consider this places 5 star....I would give it 3 stars. I hope this helped someone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mum Dee
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2013

Great family resort

This is a very good resort for families with children. Staff is super friendly, entertainment is great! Food was also amazing. The beach is great for children, there are many activities all day long. I would highly recommend it to any couple traveling with small kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jori k
Chicago
Aug 17, 2013

ROACHES ROACHES ROACHES ROACHES and THE FOOD IS HORRIBLE!!!

They have ROACHES in the dining room area, ROACHES in Your ROOMS. Old resort and needs updating, bathrooms are old with mildew between the tiles, cheap toilets, Internet lobby is a ripoff cause the charging plugs don't fit laptops or any other computer device so u have to charge in your room or get Internet in your room ($15 for 24 straight hours) the food was subpar. Breakfast was really good THAT'S ALL. No authentic Jamaican Food. Everything tasted like baked chicken and not jerk chicken. Music played by the live bands catered to the people on the resort and not the Jamaican environment. The PROS are very few. The people who work at the resort were really nice but THAT'S IT!!! Do NOT GO TO THIS RESORT. Not worth the cheap price or expensive price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat off the resort. I'm sure the way the roaches are running around they are not imli in your luggage, it will also b in the food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search