Riu Negril All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Norman Manley Blvd., Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Negril All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Hamilton, ON Canada
Dec 7, 2009

Some easy fixes necessary

Beautiful hotel but some of the amenities were lacking. Very poor number of restroom facilities. Consequently not kept clean due to over use. Entertainment was not good most nights. Day time activities were marginal at best. Few and not well organized. Didn't even know some existed till mid way through stay. No music at pool area. Didn't feel very Jamaican or resort like. Dinner reservations for a la carte were very poorly handled. Hardly stood a chance to get to one. Not Good! That's a big part of all inclusive vacationing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NY,NY
Dec 3, 2009

Average

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Florida
Nov 27, 2009

The good and the bad

The food was good. The bathroom curtain was dirty and rub against your skin. Bathroom need to be updated. Housekeeping responded quickly. Enjoyed the tours. The bed is uncomfortable and worn out. Entertainment not as good as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It's cheaper to use the hotel's attraction. I took a tour with tour bus and it was expensive.

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Battle Creek, Michigan
Nov 16, 2009

Beach, Pool, Tour packages and Club Life

The staff at the Riu Negril (Club Riu) was amazing. Never saw anything but a smile on their faces...we stayed one day at Sandals for a friends wedding and could not believe how much Better our staff at the Riu was! We were very happy with the buffets, gorgeous foods, very personable staff and night shows. The pool and beach both closed at 6pm and the shows did not begin until 9pm ish. We would have really like something else to do such as ping pong or pool or other organized activities in that time. There were (for a fee) tours available only at that time. Overall, very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Curtis, NE
Nov 1, 2009

Disappointed

The first room we had not only smelled very musty but it had a nasty odor to it so they moved us to another room and it smelled just as bad. Also, we took friends with us and their room smelled nasty too. They also asked to be moved and the next room smelled just as bad. There was mold on the walls which is a very unhealthy environment. We never had wash clothes in the room even though we reminded them daily. And there was no soap or shampoo in the room. All the other RIU Resorts we stayed in replenished our mini bar every other day. This RIU said we had to request that they do it. Very lacking in their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you have your own snorkel equipment, bring it along. That way you do not have to check it in after only 1 hour of usage.

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent traveler to negril.
Couples
philadelphia, pa
Oct 1, 2009

had a wonderful short stay

great. My boyfriend lives in negril so i took him for his birthday . Could check in till 3:00 that sucked since it was just a 1 day all inclusive celebration for his birthday. Check in could have been earlier. Oh and the lady bartender kept flirting with my man. Guess thats the problem with having a cutie for a boyfrien.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kenosha WI
Sep 9, 2009

I loved the Riu all inclusive in Negril

I loved everything about the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HAPPINESS MON
Family
NEW YORK, NY
Aug 3, 2009

RIU SECOND TIME

WOW, 2ND TIME WAS JUST AS GRAND AS THE FIRST AND MORE..BECAUSE WE KNEW EXACTLY WHAT WE WAS GETTING AND MORE....YEP RELAXED, ATE, DRANK, WATER SPORTS AND NIGHTLY ENTERTAINTMENT...LAST YEAR WAS RIU ALSO (CANCUN)...BUT NEGRIL SECOND TIME AROUND WOW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

BUY THE BOOZE AT THE AIRPORT

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TERRY C.
Single
NEW YORK CITY
Aug 1, 2009

RIU NEGRIL

THE BEACH

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Stonington,CT
Jul 31, 2009

Just what we were looking for!

My wife and I were just looking for a little R & R. For the most part this facility was able to provide that. There were times that the music at the pool was so loud that you couldn't even talk with your spouse, never mind read a book! So we just relocated to the beach. Most of the staff were very friendly & helpful. However...The young ladies at the front desk need to have a better understanding on how to provide better customer service. They really made me seem like I was interupting their day of chit-chat more than once! This type of behavior with newly arriving guests will crush a first impression of a resort like this. Anyway..............we definately enjoyed overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make resevations early

Back to menu Return to top