Riu Negril All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Norman Manley Blvd., Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Negril All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Battle Creek, Michigan
Nov 16, 2009

Beach, Pool, Tour packages and Club Life

The staff at the Riu Negril (Club Riu) was amazing. Never saw anything but a smile on their faces...we stayed one day at Sandals for a friends wedding and could not believe how much Better our staff at the Riu was! We were very happy with the buffets, gorgeous foods, very personable staff and night shows. The pool and beach both closed at 6pm and the shows did not begin until 9pm ish. We would have really like something else to do such as ping pong or pool or other organized activities in that time. There were (for a fee) tours available only at that time. Overall, very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Curtis, NE
Nov 1, 2009

Disappointed

The first room we had not only smelled very musty but it had a nasty odor to it so they moved us to another room and it smelled just as bad. Also, we took friends with us and their room smelled nasty too. They also asked to be moved and the next room smelled just as bad. There was mold on the walls which is a very unhealthy environment. We never had wash clothes in the room even though we reminded them daily. And there was no soap or shampoo in the room. All the other RIU Resorts we stayed in replenished our mini bar every other day. This RIU said we had to request that they do it. Very lacking in their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you have your own snorkel equipment, bring it along. That way you do not have to check it in after only 1 hour of usage.

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frequent traveler to negril.
Business
philadelphia, pa
Oct 1, 2009

had a wonderful short stay

great. My boyfriend lives in negril so i took him for his birthday . Could check in till 3:00 that sucked since it was just a 1 day all inclusive celebration for his birthday. Check in could have been earlier. Oh and the lady bartender kept flirting with my man. Guess thats the problem with having a cutie for a boyfrien.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha WI
Sep 9, 2009

I loved the Riu all inclusive in Negril

I loved everything about the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HAPPINESS MON
Business
NEW YORK, NY
Aug 3, 2009

RIU SECOND TIME

WOW, 2ND TIME WAS JUST AS GRAND AS THE FIRST AND MORE..BECAUSE WE KNEW EXACTLY WHAT WE WAS GETTING AND MORE....YEP RELAXED, ATE, DRANK, WATER SPORTS AND NIGHTLY ENTERTAINTMENT...LAST YEAR WAS RIU ALSO (CANCUN)...BUT NEGRIL SECOND TIME AROUND WOW

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

BUY THE BOOZE AT THE AIRPORT

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TERRY C.
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Aug 1, 2009

RIU NEGRIL

THE BEACH

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stonington,CT
Jul 31, 2009

Just what we were looking for!

My wife and I were just looking for a little R & R. For the most part this facility was able to provide that. There were times that the music at the pool was so loud that you couldn't even talk with your spouse, never mind read a book! So we just relocated to the beach. Most of the staff were very friendly & helpful. However...The young ladies at the front desk need to have a better understanding on how to provide better customer service. They really made me seem like I was interupting their day of chit-chat more than once! This type of behavior with newly arriving guests will crush a first impression of a resort like this. Anyway..............we definately enjoyed overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make resevations early

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Jul 26, 2009

Rooms felt like Sauna.....HOT

Everyone was great but the Rooms were so hot you could not sleep. Mgmt claimed the Chiller Unit could not accommodate the the Rooms, but that was BS because they had the Air Conditioner on a timer that would go off pretty much same time every night and day. Unfortunately our Building went off about 12am and didn't come on until 6am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 26, 2009

What I expected

I have stayed with the RIU before in other countries and this one is just what I expected. Same food, same room setup and same friendly staff. Can't complain about the trip other than that it rained a couple of days while we were there but that's not the hotels fault. The staff is very friendly and eager to help and please, the scuba caribe shack on the beach did not have as great of service as the hotel did though :-(The beach was nice but it was not as great as I had anticipated...I've been to Negril before and I don't remember it being the way it was this time. I was on 7 mile beach last time however and this resort is if at all on it at the very end of the strip. The specialty restaurants at the hotel are good...reservations are made @ 8am sharp! Get there at 745 or 750 or you may not get the exact reservation you want. The Jerk Hut on the beach is great! Also @ night the welcome bar has a bartender who sings and he is amazing! He will sing around 9 or so, his name is "Paul AKA Singer."If you want to go out on some of the trips that are offered and don't want to spend the expensive price on the tour guide trips then down on the beach if looking at the water to your left there are some locals, ask for a guy named [...]. When first going in that direction it may seem a bit skiddish but they are nice just say no to what they ask you and they will leave you alone but ask for [...]. HE IS GREAT!! Some other travelers introduced us to him and said he would take us wherever we wanted to go for 1/2 the price and he took care of us! For example the hotel tour to YS Falls/Black River was around $80 but [...] took 4 of us to YS falls for $30 per person then waited for us in his car (very clean by the way) while we went in and the entrance fee is $15 so instead of paying $80 we payed $45. He also took us to Ricks and shopping, he is great to have around because he will look out for you and no one will try to take advantage of him!I was worried because I had heard that the hotel was having several break-ins but luckily we didn't have any problems. We asked for a room in block 1 or 2 (which I recommend!) and we got a room in block 2 on the 3rd floor so break-ins would have been difficult. Block 3 and 4 are very far from everything so the walk is long and I hear that is where the break-ins occured.I would recommend this hotel and if you have stayed with the RIU before then you already know what to expect. The only negative I can give is that the beach is not as great as I would have wanted, it wasn't bad by any means but there were just sand fleas and some pebbly areas of beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...] ON THE BEACH!

Review of Riu Negril All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissapointed Guest
Business
Frisco Colorado
Jul 19, 2009

RIU Club Negril

The food was terrible, except for the Jerk Hut, but other than that bugs on the food. Plus simple things like hamburgers and hot dogs they couldn't do right. There were roaches in the rooms and the bed was uncomfortable. The drinks were weak unless you tipped but my tip was already included in the package. Plus the resort beach has people harrasing you all day to buy stuff from them. I dont mind someone trying to make money but it is just harrasment. On the upside the people working for the Resort were very nice and the shows at night were very good. Improve the food and make the beach a little more private and then this place would be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Jamaica tours had a all day trip to YS Falls and a Black River tour and The Appelton Rum factory tour and tasting. Very Very fun. Worth the money..

Back to menu Return to top