$582 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
209 reviews
Awesome experience!

What a great place!!! We would absolutely go back. Great service. The drive from the airport is the... See full review

  • MJCCoolio
  • Oct 5, 2014
FANTASTIC ANNIVERSARY

FANTASTIC TRIP.THE FOOD WAS GREAT,BEST BEACH I HAVE EVER BEEN TO See full review

  • KAY N DAN
  • Jul 21, 2014

Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green-on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens-open-air cafs, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion.

All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea.

Complimentary airport transfers to and from hotel are included in the room rate.

Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul.

Located on Negril's sparkling Seven Mile Beach

312 Caribbean-style suites

Six unique restaurants: The Palms - Open-Air, Beachside Dining Room Feathers - Gourmet restaurant Al Fresco Sea Grape Cafe Lemongrass Thai Restaurant Patios Patio Cabana Grill 10-acre sports & fitness complex The largest in the Caribbean (gym, aerobics studio, 25-meter lap pool, tennis center, jogging track, steam rooms and saunas) Eight bars, including Sports Bar & Piano Bar Shuttle to Margaritaville Shuttle to Pirates Cave Watersports & Scuba Glass-bottom boat tour Catamaran Cruise Unlimited Golf (transfers and green fees included. Caddy mandatory at a nominal charge)

Cancellation Policy: Please note that guests who cancel within 7 days of the arrival date will be charged a penalty equivalent to three night's rate.

All Inclusive includes: taxes, some activities, meals and drinks.


Save over $1,600 in value-added inclusions at Jamaica's original all-inclusive, couples-only resort. Catamaran cruises, golf, honeymoon package with massages, scuba diving, watersports, internet access, trips to Margaritaville, shopping excursions, and airport shuttle service, fine dining with no surcharge, premium brand drinks, nightly entertainment - all complimentary. * Smoking will no longer be permitted in any covered facilities, including rooms, restaurants and bars, bathrooms, etc. Essentially, smoking will now only be allowed outside of covered facilities. **All four Jamaica Couples Resorts ranked in the Top 25 resorts in the Caribbean in the 2013 Travel+Leisure World's Best. The is the 4th consecutive year that all four Jamaica resorts made the list and the 4th consecutive year as the top resorts in Jamaica.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive Rooms

Great House Verandah Suites
Rooms with a partial view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air-conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. The 24 suites are conveniently located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Great House within steps of Feathers, Patois Patio, Cabana Grill, Aura Nightclub, piano bar, shops, conference rooms, internet cafe, gaming room, pool and swim-up bar and beach.
Beach Front Suites
Rooms with view of the Caribbean Sea (may be obstructed by lush vegetation) All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, balcony/terrace with rocking chair. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Located along the beach path, 1st or 2nd floor, each villa has 4 Suites. Please note the Beach Front Suites romantic ambience is complimented by NOT having televisions.
Ocean Verandah Suites
Rooms with a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Each block has 12 suites which are located on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor
Atrium Suites
Rooms with a view of lush tropical gardens. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, balcony/terrace with hammock. Nightly turndown service. , Located in the center of the property, 1st or 2nd floor, each villa has 4 Suites. Please note the Atrium Suites romantic ambience is complimented by NOT having televisions.
Garden Verandah Suites
Rooms with a view of lush tropical gardens. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Nightly turndown service. Each block has 12 suites which are located on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor.
Beachfront Verandah Suites
Rooms with a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Each block 12 suites which are located along the beach path on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor.
Premier Beachfront Suite
Classic Caribbean-style rooms with view of the Sea. There is no TV in the room to detract from the serenity of your island getaway. Suites have a beautiful large wrap-around terrace or balcony view
Great House Ocean Suites
Large suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. Luxurious bathrooms with separate shower and tub, and captivating view. The exterior verandahs feature a chaise lounge. Located in the Great House building.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle

Dining

Feathers - Dinner
A divine dining diversion. Negril's finest award winning gourmet restaurant offers continental cuisine with a distinctly Caribbean flair. Required Dress Code for ladies is "semi-formal". For gentlemen: collar shirt, long pants, dress shoes / closed shoes. Reservations required
Sea Grape Caf - Lunch
A delicious meal awaits you at this seaside caf. Whether you're a strict vegetarian or just in search of an excellent natural dish, this is the place for you. Fresh fruits, vegetable juices, pita pocket sandwiches, healthy appetizers and more are available every day. Open up to 6:00 p.m.
Cabana Grill - Late Night
Open from 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. Cabana Grill offers a variety of mouthwatering sandwiches, salads, jerk chicken and just about everyone's favorite casual food choices.
The Patois Patio - Breakfast
Enjoy a sumptuous a la carte breakfast overlooking the ocean.
Patois Patio - Dinner
A casual yet invigorating dining experience .This tropical setting offers a most unusual combination of Caribbean and Latin flavored dishes for dinner.
Continental Breakfast in Bed
Enjoy the luxury of a breakfast in bed or on your private verandah balcony between 6:30 a.m. and 10:00 a.m.
Lemon Grass - Dinner
An authentic a la carte Thai Dining Experience overlooking the main pool and the Caribbean shores while dining under the stars. Dress code casual elegance, no flip-flops or beach slippers. Reservations required.
The Palms - Breakfast
Open-air dining with a continental breakfast spread is offered for early risers beginning at 5:30 a.m. From 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. A full breakfast is served, with an array of fresh tropical fruits and juices, cereals, pastries, delicious hot dishes and made-to-order items. Dress is casual, though beach cover-up and footwear are required.
The Palms - Dinner
Encounter the gentle kiss of a Caribbean breeze as you dine in this tropical setting. Our hosts will seat you and our wait staff will take your choices from an enticing menu. No reservations required. Dinner dress code is casual elegance, no flip-flops or beach slippers. Innovative meals, featuring an array of tempting international and local dishes, are offered.
The Palms - Lunch
Self-serve your plates from our wide array of international and local dishes and desserts. Select a table of your choosing and your beverages will be served by our staff. Dress is casual, though beach cover-up and footwear are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 209
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tishawright
Business
new york
Aug 16, 2012

THIEVES

I stayed at couples swept away in July of 2012 and on our last day an important item was stolen from our bag. When we made couples aware of the situation they asked us to file an incident report, which we did, after the incident was supposedly investigated, I contacted couples claims. Who stated that they will not take responsible for the theft because; although, the item was on there resort, we should not have trusted the staff with an important item. If you want to keep to enjoy a vocation without worrying about your things being stolen I suggest you not go to this resort, EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Planet Janet 70
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 28, 2012

Couples Swept Away is the worst resort I've ever visited in Jamaica

1. bad food - both of us got food poisoning 2. bad service 3. facilities were dirty and lacked proper maintenance 4. horrible coffee 5. many unsafe conditions 6. We were there during a Class 1 hurricane when many services were shut down. There seemed to be no backup plan in the case of inclement weather, and people sat around bored and angry. The employees were put to work with cleanup, etc. and left us to fend for ourselves. 7. not enough available bottled water 8. I could go on, but I'm not going to waste any more of my time on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NevergoingbacktoCSA
Business
PA
Dec 19, 2013

“Campylobacteriosis"

...Stay at your own risk, you have been warned!!!” I got "Camplybacteriosis" from the resort and was sick for several weeks. I had to send 3 emails over 2 weeks before they even had the courtesy to respond. We went back and forth with a few emails. Couples response was that they checked their records at the Nurses' Station and have not received any similar report of this nature...... So I guess that means it did not happen and I am a liar? All they wanted was to know my name, I told them I would be happy to provide that along with anything else they needed....all I asked was that they at least told me what they would be willing to do to help resolve this and than I would be happy to provide them with my name and any other documentation they needed. Nothing like, thanks for bringing this to our attention so we can make sure it never happens again to someone.......not even a sorry that you got sick!!! My wife and spent 5 nights at this resort in March 2013. Our last night was "Lobster Night" at the Palms, I had lobster. 2:00 AM that night I awoke to become violently ill ...vomiting and diarrhea. We returned home Sunday...# I felt ok the next day and I felt fine the next few days. Thursday night I woke with a fever. Friday I began to have diarrhea. I spent Saturday, Sunday and Monday in bed. # fever, severe diarrhea, severe stomach cramps, and headache. I missed work Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday....I had nonstop diarrhea, fever and overall sickness. Diarrhea and stomach cramping continued for several days. The next Monday I went to my doctor. He thought I might have a "travel" bug but sent me for lab work and testing just to be safe. The following morning......Our State Department of Health # government agency# called me in the morning to tell me I was infected with Campylobacteriosis, a bacteria usually caused by under cooked chicken or seafood. I was informed it usually takes 2-10 days after you eat before you get sick # It was 5 days after Lobster night, and we had been eating Couple's food 4 days before that night as well# I had severe diarrhea for 10+ days. It has taken me almost 4 weeks just to feel normal again and regain my strength. I am 100% positive that I was infected by one of couples restaurants. I contacted couples #1 so they can correct this issue with their foodservice and #2 I thought it was fair to give them an opportunity to address it with me before I post my brutally honest story on the web. We did not have a good stay at Couples. This was our second trip. We got stuck in a middle room surrounded by 9 other rooms. We must have heard the doors slam close 30 times every night from 10-2am. Our room was 30 feet from Patios restaurant......it was loud all night. My wife and I both slept horribly and that in itself ruined our trip. Besides the food poising we were both extremely disappointed in several other items and will not be back, the place has really gone downhill and you can read many of the same complaints in other reviews so I won't waste time. We left the resort # without knowing I would be sick for the next month# feeling it had gone down hill and we both said maybe 2 out of 5 stars. Than I got sick after it brewed in my system for a couples days. It's one thing that I got sick....it's another thing the complete lack of responsibility the resort wants to take! After going around and around with couples...I gave them my name and travel info so they could "investigate". 3 months went by with no response. "After I contacted them again, they told me they did not have any other complaints"....so therefore it must not have happened?. TRULEY PATHETIC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 30, 2009

Would never stay here again!

Our room was dated and musty smelling. The bed was hard as a rock and had to continuously fight with the bottom sheet coming up from the mattress. I don't really enjoy sleeping on a bare hotel mattress. At first when we got there the air conditioner didn't work until my husband climbed on a chair and pounded on the unit, then it kicked on. At first it blew out some black ashy stuff all over the room. After that it worked well, other than the fact it was mounted on the wall near the ceiling so it blew directly down on the bed creating a continuous draft. Tip: Don't leave any thing laying around your room like soda cans or food, you will soon find swarms of bugs all over it. We learned that lesson the first morning we woke up and found a soda can covered in little ant like bugs. The beach and pools were the best part of this place. Service at the beach bars and pool bars was great! All offered true top shelp liquors. The beach had ample lounge chairs with floating cushions that could be used to float in the ocean or pool. The only thing lacking was beach towels. Unless you hoard a bunch of towels when you get a chance, most likely you will not have any when you go down to pool/beach in the morning. They were not good at keeping the towel station stocked. The food by far was the worse thing about this resort. It was simply awful! Two out of the four restaurants offered basically the same menu items, so selection was bad too. Service, stunk as bad as the food. On one occasion both me and my husband got up at the same time to the buffet and when we returned they had taken away everything on our table, when I stopped a waiter and asked if we could have another set of silverware and napkins, he shook his head but never returned. BEWARE of bees in your drinks/food. One morning at breakfast my husband was served a soda with three dead bees floating in it. GROSS! When we told the waitress she apologized but didn't seem to be very concerned. Bottom line, if all you care about is a great beach and booze, stay here. If you also expect decent food, service and room then I would pass on Couples Swept Away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Watergirl
Business
Johnson Lake, Nebraska
Jan 17, 2012

Disappointed Couple

Please read this review before you book. I did read the reviews before I booked this trip and alot where good and a few where not. I just thought oh some people are not happy with anything, but I was wrong. This was our first time to Negril, we have stayed at other 5 star resorts in other country's. Our trip was Jan. 7 to Jan 14, 2012. The ride from the airport to the resort was long it took at least 1 1/2 hours. When we arrived at CSA and checked in we where advised that the room we booked, a beach front verandah was not available until the next day. After all day traveling this is not what you want to hear. The scheduling at CSA has problems, there were other guests with the same issues. The rooms need alot of work, not what i would call a 4 or 5 star. The beach was nice but not enough shade huts & chairs. The ones they did have poeple would pay staff to reserve them for their stay by putting towels on the chairs every day. Talking about towels, you had 2 beach towels in your room you had to keep track of your towels because at the end of your stay you have to get a reciept for them or be charged $15 a towel. You are not suppose to tip at this resort so the staff really could care less about the service they give! If you wanted a drink most of the time you have to go get it. The entertainment was not what I expected, one night out of 7 they had a really good show. One good thing about this resort is the food is good, most of it. The drinks seemed to be watered down unless you had a beer. Never saw anybody in the 2 small pools. The bus back to the airport barely got us there to make our flight. By the time we went through all the lines it was time to board. Had wanted to look at the airport for some things to take home to the kids but no time. We are not people that complain about things, but for what this resort cost we where not happy. If you want to be pampered this is not the place to go. We will not be going back to Jamaica. ):

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brody22
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 1, 2013

Policy Change Needed at Couples

My wife and I are 31 years old and have been fortunate enough to travel quite a bit in that time. We’ve stayed in a number of resorts in a number of countries from Mexico to Puerto Rico. When writing these reviews, we keep one very important thing in mind; that each country is different and each experience should be judged independently of the others. What you’ll find here is an honest review of our accommodations. First, the beach was adequate. The sand was hard and a bit uncomfortable. With that said, the water and beach overall were less than we expected based on previous reviews, but were still very much enjoyable. Our room was nice, Couples has a format unlike any other resort we’ve been to. If you’ll notice on Google Earth, there are about 24 bungalow style buildings housing four rooms in each. The room itself was screened in, with shutters. I was concerned that it was going to be uncomfortably hot, but the air conditioning unit did its job well. It was as cold as ice for a week. The room exceeded our expectations and I can say that my wife and I had a very quiet relaxing time just as Couples promises. Here is the problem. Service was atrocious. It was probably the worst service I’ve ever had. It is important to disclose that I’m typically a very easy going guy. I always discard reviews I read that criticize service levels because there is always more to the story; or the person writing the review is just the complaining type. That isn’t me. The service was so bad that I feel like I have to mention it. We wouldn’t go back. The first thing my wife and I did when we arrived was to go to the beach bar, naturally. We expected a welcoming experience. We didn’t get one. In fact, I asked the bartender to make me half pina colada and half strawberry daiquiri. I’ve know this drink to be called a Miami Vice and/or a lava flow, depending on where you are, so I asked her to make half and half as to avoid any confusion. When I asked, she didn’t even acknowledge my order she just turned away and started mixing the drink; no friendly smile, no conversation…nothing. When she brought the drink back, she wouldn’t make eye contact with me and said as clear as day, “It’s called a Miami Vice…maybe you should remember that next time”, before setting the drink down and turning her back to my wife and I. She didn’t even offer to make my wife a drink, I had to get her attention and ask. I let it go. I thought maybe she was having a bad day. I wasn’t going to let it ruin mine. I can tell you this much, in my week there, I never felt like anything more than an inconvenience. The service level never improved. Whether it was the spa, the dining halls, or the beach bar, one thing was clear, they weren’t interested in providing an enjoyable customer experience. It was awful. Then I found out that there was a very strict no tip policy at the resort. I was told that Couples feels like everyone receives the same level of service with this policy and that there are other ways to reward the employees like mentioning their name in follow up questionnaires. I can’t help but think…would my experience have been different if I were able to tip? I believe so. I urge Couples to rethink this policy; it doesn’t work. The American dollar goes a long way in Jamaica and I believe my experience would’ve been much better had I been allowed to leverage that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bring an insulated mug. It'll keep your drinks cool...you'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 21, 2011

Fair, unbiased, accurate Couples Review

Being an avid traveler and approaching my wedding day, I asked my (future) wife to let me plan the honeymoon. I had already taken her on several great trips in Florida, Hawaii, etc. In fact, we have never been disappointed in a single trip we've gone on together. She didn't hesitate to give me complete control over the task. I set us up for 9 days and 8 nights at Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. The travel sites and reviews left me feeling like this was a can't miss 10 out of 10 for a honeymoon destination. I'm sad to say that I couldn't have been more wrong. We really only needed two factors to have a good week- a beautiful, relaxing beach, and a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable room to enjoy our first week as a married couple in the afternoon/evenings. While the beach was beautiful to the eye, it was a public beach that was littered with vendors constantly asking you to buy their goods/services. When we tried to take relaxing dips in the ocean, we were harassed by the wake from vendors on jetskis constantly riding along the area that had to be roped off to keep them at a distance while they screamed "jetski's, parasailing!". I don't mean easing by every so often and asking one time and taking no for an answer, I mean 3-4 competing companies CONSTANTLY screaming and driving by 10 feet away going 40+ mph making obnoxious high waves where we tried to relax on floats. That was the beach, but I'm realistic enough to know that no one owns the beach sand or public waters, so I cut Couples some slack there. However, they'll get no sympathy for the room- They rented out a room to us FOR OUR HONEYMOON that was right next door to a room that they were remodeling all week long... Forget the often complained about road noise that everyone mentions when reviewing this place- which by the way is absolutely true, the resort is right along the main highway and it is customary that everyone passing a car honks their horns in Jamaica, and that honking continues throughout the night, and during morning rush hour it is impossible to sleep through the traffic sounds, even with the air conditioner, which is actually quiet and doesn't provide background noise- forget that you'll spend your "relaxing vacation" being woken up at 6 am every morning by that noise- forget the discomfort of the rock hard mattress that didn't even have a box spring- just a hard mattress on wooden slats- even if I COULD forget ALL that- I got to listen to hammering, jackhammering, and tile saws CONSTANTLY. When my brand new wife and I would try to enjoy intimate evenings for our honeymoon- the mood would be ruined and we would be distracted and infuriated by saws and hammering a mere 10 feet away from our bed. Why would anyone sell a room bordering a construction zone? I can't mention pricing or else my review would not be included (which I'm sure CSA would love), so I can't tell you how much money I paid to live in a construction zone for a once in a lifetime week of honeymoon, but I can tell you that I couldn't be anymore disappointed... but I had to be even more disappointed- because when I called the front desk to complain about the construction noise, I was transferred to the operator, who then said she would have to contact management, who she would have call me back. I was never called back by anyone, and the construction continued until the moment we left. The resort had average food at best. In fact, I would have rather had fast food than what they offered. I got a stomach illness while there. The beach was crowded and constantly interrupted by vendors. The reservation system for dining and watersports made it inconvenient to try to take advantage of either service. Beach towels were often unavailable. The maids leave the doors to the rooms wide open when they clean the room, allowing mosquitos to come in and feast on you all night (my wife and I looked like we had smallpox by the time we returned, and we didn't even hang out out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The snorkeling, scuba diving, and fitness facilities are good extras with the all-inclusive package. The beach and sunsets at the resort have natural beauty, but are impossible to enjoy due to constant annoyance from vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 8, 2010

A Far Cry from Luxury

I traveled to Couples Swept Away for my honeymoon. Upon arrival and throughout our trip it seemed nothing like the great reviews we had read; moreover, I am astounded that Travel & Leisure named it the 5th best hotel in the Caribbean. Although the beach was pristine and beautiful, and the food was very food-- both reasons I'm assuming the hotel is rated so highly-- the rooms were a far cry from luxury. I personally value a hotel where regardless of the setting, I enter a room and feel clean and relaxed. The room had an ant infestation the entire trip-- something that I do not blame the housekeeping for, but rather the porous room itself, which does not shut out the surrounding dry jungle. The bathroom was small with no bathtub, and hospital florescent lighting. There were little to no amenities in the bathrooms-- just shampoo, conditioner, and cream that's attached to the wall so as not to be moved. The bed was just that, a bed to sleep in, not to lie in or feel cozy or romantic in. The sheets and linens were stiff and rough. The balcony, given, was very large and nice with a full seating area and hammock. However, it was so hot that we could not really enjoy this feature comfortably. Also, unlike a Paradisus or other all-inclusives, room service is not available throughout the day and night, thus, we could not order a glass of wine or meal and relax out on the balcony. Overall, the grounds were not manicured. They were pretty, mind you, full of lots of vegetation, trees, and a few man-made ponds and fountains. But, the paths were dirty, leaves dry, and overall, just not very appealing to wander leisurely throughout. What's more, like all the resorts, it seemed, on Negril's beach, the hotel is literally on the road. So, wander a few hundred feet over and you hear cars rushing by and after a two hour drive through a very impoverished and broken-down nation, one does not feel particularly safe. The pools were small. And, although by the end of the trip we appreciated the pool areas very much, I prefer a more lagoon-style or infinity-edge pool available at other resorts. That said, again, the food was delicious and the beach was simply beautiful. Though, I would go somewhere else for these things, to a more plush, luxurious resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, FL
May 4, 2008

Was disappointed w/ 2nd trip around

First let me say-this was our 2nd trip to Couples Swept Away-(CSA) in less than a year. Our first visit there was roughly 8 months ago-(Sept.2007 and our most recent visit was from 04/28/08 to 05/04/08) so I hope this shows how much we loved and enjoyed our first vacation at CSA which had to be one of the best vacations we have ever taken anywhere. I do have to say due to a select few in particular the front desk personnel, our 2nd trip was a bit of disappointment and I had wished now that I had chosen a different vacation destination since we had an opportunity to go somewhere new for the proabably the same price we paid on our CSA return if not less instead of going back to the same place. But as they say in Jamaica, once you go, you'll know so I understand why Couples have so many repeaters and we were no exception to that and could not wait to go back to such a wonderful place. Please note the rest of the staff at CSA is top notch just so you know but the way front desk handled some things was enough to put a damper on a wonderful vacation. Also as another FYI- we had no front desk personnel issues whatsoever on our first vacation there last year but never had to deal with them other than to check in and out. CSA has Great food-(even for the pickiest eaters), staff-(except front desk personnel of course) activities offered, beautiful beach, spa facilities, great drinks, etc. all included are all top notch as well. One other issue I wanted to note was some bathroom mold-(bathtub/shower area in particular). Again, we never encountered this problem on our first trip-there was no mold in the bathroom we had on our first trip but on our 2nd trip there, we were in a different building and bathroom areas did have quite a bit of mold that surrounded the tub/shower areas. We were in 2 different rooms our 2nd time around which started the whole issues we had with the front desk personnel girls and both rooms they put us in had mold throughout the bathroom areas. Mold may not be a big deal to some and again I know the room we stayed in our first visit did not have any mold. I am only speaking of bathroom areas-rest of of the room did appear cleaned in the other areas. One other note that I am not happy with Couples about is that they have their own message board on their site which is a great and helpful tool for any future guests to get info & advice from other previous guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NDCountry Girl
Business
North Dakota
Jan 19, 2012

Okay Vacation

Hotel staff was not very attentive or friendly. The beach is a not a private beach which allowed vendors to walk along trying to sell you things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top