$463 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 21, 2011

Fair, unbiased, accurate Couples Review

Being an avid traveler and approaching my wedding day, I asked my (future) wife to let me plan the honeymoon. I had already taken her on several great trips in Florida, Hawaii, etc. In fact, we have never been disappointed in a single trip we've gone on together. She didn't hesitate to give me complete control over the task. I set us up for 9 days and 8 nights at Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. The travel sites and reviews left me feeling like this was a can't miss 10 out of 10 for a honeymoon destination. I'm sad to say that I couldn't have been more wrong. We really only needed two factors to have a good week- a beautiful, relaxing beach, and a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable room to enjoy our first week as a married couple in the afternoon/evenings. While the beach was beautiful to the eye, it was a public beach that was littered with vendors constantly asking you to buy their goods/services. When we tried to take relaxing dips in the ocean, we were harassed by the wake from vendors on jetskis constantly riding along the area that had to be roped off to keep them at a distance while they screamed "jetski's, parasailing!". I don't mean easing by every so often and asking one time and taking no for an answer, I mean 3-4 competing companies CONSTANTLY screaming and driving by 10 feet away going 40+ mph making obnoxious high waves where we tried to relax on floats. That was the beach, but I'm realistic enough to know that no one owns the beach sand or public waters, so I cut Couples some slack there. However, they'll get no sympathy for the room- They rented out a room to us FOR OUR HONEYMOON that was right next door to a room that they were remodeling all week long... Forget the often complained about road noise that everyone mentions when reviewing this place- which by the way is absolutely true, the resort is right along the main highway and it is customary that everyone passing a car honks their horns in Jamaica, and that honking continues throughout the night, and during morning rush hour it is impossible to sleep through the traffic sounds, even with the air conditioner, which is actually quiet and doesn't provide background noise- forget that you'll spend your "relaxing vacation" being woken up at 6 am every morning by that noise- forget the discomfort of the rock hard mattress that didn't even have a box spring- just a hard mattress on wooden slats- even if I COULD forget ALL that- I got to listen to hammering, jackhammering, and tile saws CONSTANTLY. When my brand new wife and I would try to enjoy intimate evenings for our honeymoon- the mood would be ruined and we would be distracted and infuriated by saws and hammering a mere 10 feet away from our bed. Why would anyone sell a room bordering a construction zone? I can't mention pricing or else my review would not be included (which I'm sure CSA would love), so I can't tell you how much money I paid to live in a construction zone for a once in a lifetime week of honeymoon, but I can tell you that I couldn't be anymore disappointed... but I had to be even more disappointed- because when I called the front desk to complain about the construction noise, I was transferred to the operator, who then said she would have to contact management, who she would have call me back. I was never called back by anyone, and the construction continued until the moment we left. The resort had average food at best. In fact, I would have rather had fast food than what they offered. I got a stomach illness while there. The beach was crowded and constantly interrupted by vendors. The reservation system for dining and watersports made it inconvenient to try to take advantage of either service. Beach towels were often unavailable. The maids leave the doors to the rooms wide open when they clean the room, allowing mosquitos to come in and feast on you all night (my wife and I looked like we had smallpox by the time we returned, and we didn't even hang out out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The snorkeling, scuba diving, and fitness facilities are good extras with the all-inclusive package. The beach and sunsets at the resort have natural beauty, but are impossible to enjoy due to constant annoyance from vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharon frequent traveler
Business
Palm city
Feb 4, 2015

Just ok

This hotel is just ok. Very overrated. Food was not good. Service in restaurants was slow. Rooms in front of resort are on a busy road and extremely noisy. Beds are hard and uncomfortable. Entertainment staff cancel events without notice. Very disappointing experience for the price. 3 star experience at best. Negril beach is beautiful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharon frequent traveler
Business
Palm city
Feb 4, 2015

Anniversary

Overrated hotel. Bad food and bad customer service. Noisy rooms. Uncomfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Massage girls next door are good and cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radio girl
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Caution when booking

Be sure to pay extra for the upgraded rooms at this resort. We did not and were informed when we arrived at the resort that our room would be next to the very loud road. This is not a little noise it is the kind of noise at times that will wake you up from a deep sleep as it is like an airplane had crashed into the room. The beach, food, and service are fantastic and the rooms on the beach or close to it are fine. The resort has an old side and modern side. Be sure to stay on the modern side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NDCountry Girl
Business
North Dakota
Jan 19, 2012

Okay Vacation

Hotel staff was not very attentive or friendly. The beach is a not a private beach which allowed vendors to walk along trying to sell you things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buffoldguy
Business
Owatonna MN
Jan 27, 2013

Good fun

The food was disappointing. Small portions in the not so fancy restarauns. Typical buffet food at the buffets. Overall, not really a variety for a weeks stay. We felt as though we were eating the same things everyday. Otherwise, the trip was good. We would consider visiting the place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Order three if everything in the not so fancy restaraunts. Plan on being there a while, the service was slow a both of them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Jul 22, 2011

[...]

People working were nice. Have stayed in much better rooms.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 9, 2009

Not sure what everyone's raving about...

Here's a brief summary of our trip: - Nice beach - Couples Negril was better than Couples Swept Away - except for the beach...we'd know because we switched after the first night - Outdated rooms; the whole place needed a makeover - Basic ammenities - The two nice restaurants were very enjoyable - Otabete and Lychee - If you're easy to please this place is great, but if you expect a very nice bed, bathroom, and modern features throughout then this isn't the place for you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sweet Home, Ore.
Dec 23, 2010

Not worth the price!!

Couples Swept away was not at all what we had hoped for.There were a few things that we liked:The lounge at the airport was nice, the trip from the airport was good. Check in was fast & easy. When we got to our room things went down hill fast.The mini bar was not stocked, no robes, the shower did not work right.After we finally had a hot shower they stocked the bar and brought us our robes( they were nice). Now we needed to find something to eat.The snack bar by the swim up bar/pool was first choice. should have walked to the other end of property, the food was lousy.Now it was time to make reservations for dinner, not alot of choices of time slots. 8:45pm to 9:15pm .little late for my likeing. The food choices were minimal.The service was fair. We noticed if you are a returning guest they seem to treat you better. Room service in the morning was great.The bar service & choices of drinks were good.If you are staying here on a Monday your choices for food & bar is limited.they close down one resteraunt& bar for a private party that is for returning guest. That means you walk to the other end of property.Everyone else is their,vary busy.Not a fun time!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
escarvajal[@]
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2010

CSA Review - May 2010

We had a Garden Suite which means no TV (not a big deal), just never had a room w/o a TV before. Rooms were nice, but Garden Suite rooms are right along the road so you hear all the cars passing by. Plenty of activities, bars, restaurants,etc... One of the best sunsets you can view! Rained every afternoon like clock-work, heavy rains so never did the catamaran cruise. Just seemed like there were more activities in Montego Bay than Negril, plus Negril is a 1.5 drive from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top