$463 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 21, 2011

Fair, unbiased, accurate Couples Review

Being an avid traveler and approaching my wedding day, I asked my (future) wife to let me plan the honeymoon. I had already taken her on several great trips in Florida, Hawaii, etc. In fact, we have never been disappointed in a single trip we've gone on together. She didn't hesitate to give me complete control over the task. I set us up for 9 days and 8 nights at Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. The travel sites and reviews left me feeling like this was a can't miss 10 out of 10 for a honeymoon destination. I'm sad to say that I couldn't have been more wrong. We really only needed two factors to have a good week- a beautiful, relaxing beach, and a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable room to enjoy our first week as a married couple in the afternoon/evenings. While the beach was beautiful to the eye, it was a public beach that was littered with vendors constantly asking you to buy their goods/services. When we tried to take relaxing dips in the ocean, we were harassed by the wake from vendors on jetskis constantly riding along the area that had to be roped off to keep them at a distance while they screamed "jetski's, parasailing!". I don't mean easing by every so often and asking one time and taking no for an answer, I mean 3-4 competing companies CONSTANTLY screaming and driving by 10 feet away going 40+ mph making obnoxious high waves where we tried to relax on floats. That was the beach, but I'm realistic enough to know that no one owns the beach sand or public waters, so I cut Couples some slack there. However, they'll get no sympathy for the room- They rented out a room to us FOR OUR HONEYMOON that was right next door to a room that they were remodeling all week long... Forget the often complained about road noise that everyone mentions when reviewing this place- which by the way is absolutely true, the resort is right along the main highway and it is customary that everyone passing a car honks their horns in Jamaica, and that honking continues throughout the night, and during morning rush hour it is impossible to sleep through the traffic sounds, even with the air conditioner, which is actually quiet and doesn't provide background noise- forget that you'll spend your "relaxing vacation" being woken up at 6 am every morning by that noise- forget the discomfort of the rock hard mattress that didn't even have a box spring- just a hard mattress on wooden slats- even if I COULD forget ALL that- I got to listen to hammering, jackhammering, and tile saws CONSTANTLY. When my brand new wife and I would try to enjoy intimate evenings for our honeymoon- the mood would be ruined and we would be distracted and infuriated by saws and hammering a mere 10 feet away from our bed. Why would anyone sell a room bordering a construction zone? I can't mention pricing or else my review would not be included (which I'm sure CSA would love), so I can't tell you how much money I paid to live in a construction zone for a once in a lifetime week of honeymoon, but I can tell you that I couldn't be anymore disappointed... but I had to be even more disappointed- because when I called the front desk to complain about the construction noise, I was transferred to the operator, who then said she would have to contact management, who she would have call me back. I was never called back by anyone, and the construction continued until the moment we left. The resort had average food at best. In fact, I would have rather had fast food than what they offered. I got a stomach illness while there. The beach was crowded and constantly interrupted by vendors. The reservation system for dining and watersports made it inconvenient to try to take advantage of either service. Beach towels were often unavailable. The maids leave the doors to the rooms wide open when they clean the room, allowing mosquitos to come in and feast on you all night (my wife and I looked like we had smallpox by the time we returned, and we didn't even hang out out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The snorkeling, scuba diving, and fitness facilities are good extras with the all-inclusive package. The beach and sunsets at the resort have natural beauty, but are impossible to enjoy due to constant annoyance from vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Wonderful vacation!

The drive to the resort is a little bit of a beating, but it's totally worth it! Lots of great activities, plenty of places to just relax, and great food options! Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the Hummingbird.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 6, 2011

Just Perfect

First time to Jamaica. I read the reviews on [...]and others before selecting Couples. They mostly said the same things...perfect.... and it was. The staff was very friendly, food o.k., rooms beatiful, entertainment good, clean property... the best is that we felt safe because of a security presence on the beach who pushed away the annoying and sometimes agressive vendors. The best part was the beach. plenty of room, clean & well maintaned. best stretch. I'm going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2011

So great!

This location is awesome, a bit of a ride after the plane flight, but once there, you are taken care of! wow, so much fun, we took our honeymoon there and just got back, it was a great time. Service is top quality, there tends to be a bit of competition for dinner and trips and such, but just make sure you find out when and where to sign up and you should be good. don't expect to do everything offered, the scuba was hard to get into, but we didn't go just to scuba dive. lots of great places to eat and relax. we had a wonderful time. would go again without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
May 19, 2011

Excellent Vacation Week

This vacation was definitely relaxing. Having stayed at couples Negril the previous year I must say that the experience was very pleasant. The swept away property is much larger and very well kept. The drive from Montego Bay was not bad and the shuttle service was reliable. We received champagne upon arrival at the resort which was very nice. Checking into our room was a little bit of a problem since [...]had not transferred funding to the parent company and I had to pay out-of-pocket for the first night ( they corrected this the following day). the restaurants on facility were very nice. The fancier restaurants where you had to make reservations offered portions that were light but definitely more appropriate than what you would get in the US! the open bars were appropriately placed by the pool and adjacent to the beach. It was nice to get nachos and cheese at midnight when needed. in terms of activities there are plenty of water sports to take advantage of. There was no line for the canoes or paddle boats. the catamaran cruise in the evening was definitely a highlight. It is also possible to go scuba diving, and I participated in both the day and night trip. It is quite a surreal experience to go diving at night with only a few flashlights illuminating the path. Across the street is the complex with day spa, full gym, and Olympic size pool - and it is not crowded since most of the resort people did not venture there. in terms of entertainment you can easily go by the piano bar to watch aspiring karaoke artists. the highlight was definitely the steel drum band they had towards the middle of the week. although the activities and facilities were nice, having our room situated at one end of the resort made us seem like we were in left field. I would recommend getting a room towards the center of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paying money to go to Margaritaville is a rip-off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
May 10, 2011

Great anniversary vacation!!

We were first booked with Sandals but I was in a dept.store and was told couples swept away was far better-so we changed. Was the best advise!!We had a wonderful time-great food relaxing atmosphere,beautiful beach-friendly staff.We will go back to this exact place again.(gave us a personal 42nd cake in our room the last night)Couldn't think of a thing they could change to make it any better. People we met have been over and over. Thanks swept away for showing us such a great time.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Better Me Than My Wife
Business
Nebraska
May 3, 2011

OK For What It Is

The beach is beautiful and the security to keep hawkers to a minimum is a benefit. Activities are limited, although the sports center is very nice but not highly promoted. Comparably at the bottom of the 12 - 15 previous island trips - but it may be the best Nigrel has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Only one area to shop with about 15 stores - otherwise nothing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilled-n-Negril
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2011

good times

Although the room could have offered a little more refinement, we had everything we needed to have a great and relaxing time. Overall, the resort is very picturesque. The activities were great and the recreational facilties are exceptional. The food was good; especially at Patois Patio (one of the main restaurants). The staff is friendly and the off-site activities are well-coordinated. We rode ATVs and horses, went on a sunset cruise, swam through the cliffs of Western Negril, took a couple's massage class and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stressed New York City Beach Lover
Business
New York, New York
Apr 7, 2011

Ideal Resort for All Couples

This resort was one of the best that we have stayed at and we have travelled a great deal to the Caribbean, Europe and within the U.S. The only reason that I did not give it 5 stars was because they did not provide slippers in the room, and this I know, seems petty but I find that slippers are such a nice touch, especially on a tile floor! We were only at the resort 4 nights and we found that the majority of guests were there for at least a week so we stayed on the low key tip. [Of note, most guests keep returning to the resort on an annual basis]. Others did the included sunset cruise, snorkeling and glass bottom boat as well as other fitness classes, tennis lessons, etc. As for dining, you can indulge or eat light, healthy and vegetarian. Each restaurant was fantastic (varied menu with fresh ingredients combined creatively), the staff were personable, friendly and accomodating. As for the spa and fitness center, they are definitely worth crossing the street to visit. I could go on and on but the moral of the story is any traveler would likely enjoy the resort! The beach speaks for itself (amazing) and the guests at the resort are friendly with each other and the staff so that if you choose to be sociable, you get the feeling as if you are part of a "village" or small town. Based on our conversations, each of the rooms has its pluses so it doesn't really matter which room you choose. [We upgraded to an ocean verandah and enjoyed the view although since we were in the great house right opposite the pool, the balcony was not too calm.-- the hotel makes up for this by providing a jacuzzi tub in these suites, which was a great touch!]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There are so many options that it is really worth getting acquainted witht the options when you arrive...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 30, 2011

Beautiful Negril

After exiting Customs we were happily greeted by an attentive bartender in the private waiting area. Operations were efficient and comfortable. They take care of your bags and load them on the vans when they are ready (have a few dollars ready to tip the airport bag handlers, bartender and van driver, but don't worry, this is the last time you will be asked for a tip the rest of the trip). The ride is beautiful and informative (the driver is like a tour guide). We were disappointed for a second upon arrival because the resort is not much to look at from the street entrance. We were not disappointed for long, or again the rest of our trip. Check-in is not super quick, but nothing really is in Jamaica, it all about relaxation and easy going. Compared with our trip to a fancy all-inclusive place in Cancun, the food at couples was outstanding. The staff was friendly and fun (as in mexico) and the beach and ocean were perfect. Street vendors will walk along the beach to sell you things, but they are not allowed to approach you unless you ask them to (resort security is on constant patrol). We had no problems with security, we even left our kindle at the beach a few times during lunch (wouldn't recommend though) In short, I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations at Feathers at least once during your trip. This is a restaurant I would pay pretty good money for. Also, as with all all-inclusives, make sure to request top-shelf liquor by name in all your drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top