$437 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skimomma
Couples
Colorado
Jan 31, 2013

All around terrific time

CSA exceeded our expectations for a relaxing and romantic getaway to celebrate 30 years of marriage. The site is gorgeous. Our room had a view of the ocean and we slept on the 3rd floor with the doors open all night, every night, falling asleep to the sound of waves and waking to a beautiful sunrise. The water fun is endless: we scuba dived, paddle boarded, kayaked, snorkeled and wind surfed. Instruction and safety were great. Food and drink was super! We can't wait to go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
broepke
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Hassle and Worry Free Jamaica Get Away!

First thing you might realize is that Negril is quite a bit away from the airport in Montego Bay. The worry free-ness starts when you get off the plan and enter the waiting area. Now granted a couple other resorts had this as well (2-3 that I noticed?) but overall this really was great. You just looked for the massive sign that said "Couples" where you were greeted by someone who took your bags and gave you a beer :) Not a bad start! This bus ride was long but the driver entertaining. That's when I started to realize that the people were going to be really friendly. And they were! Without a single exception. I think this stood out as the thing that made it really enjoyable for us. The staff was amazing. Everyone was smiling, said "good morning" when you passed them and never ever made you feel unwelcome. Exactly as it should be but as you might know, not always as it is. The resort is big and full of fun stuff to do. The highlights for entertainment were the "Palms" restaurant (main one) which had nightly entertainment. Things like a band that was really entertaining and fun to dance to and just be silly. Second was the Piano Bar. They have a guy that comes every night "Ultimate Chocolate" who as amazing. He can play just about any song you can sing and if he doesn't know it, just give him and hint and he'll figure it out! The food was pretty good overall. The highlight was the Thai restaurant "Lemon Grass" which had some of the best "Asian" food I've had in a while. I don't know if it was totally Thai food, but for sure the Asian theme was present in the curries and preparations. Next - The liquor. They REALLY REALLY had great stuff. Top shelf by almost any standards. This is a key differentiation for me. Many times you just get off brands but not here. Scotches, Whiskeys, Vodkas, Apéritifs and digestifs... whatever you wanted. All served up by really fun people. Be sure to check out the little "Martini Bar" which had some great drinks and really fun people mixing your drinks before dinner at the Palms or at Lemon Grass. Top all this off with an amazing (really amazing) beach. Tons of clear, warm water and sun and you have a pretty awesome vacation! I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best food in the place is at Lemon Grass!

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim in Kazoo
Couples
Kalamazoo
Dec 13, 2011

Great couples beach destination

This was our 6th trip to Couples Swept Away. We love the location (7-miles of beach to walk, beautiful sunsets), the food, the staff, and the 'all-inclusive' that even includes SCUBA. The resort was at 100% capacity this trip, but the beach, grounds, and restaurants didn't feel crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The snapper sandwhiches at Sea Grapes should not be missed.

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Harry
Couples
Pleasantville, N.Y.
Oct 6, 2011

Heaven on Earth

I'm a tennis player and this hotel was a great place for that. There were tennis clinics daily and pro to hit with at any time. The beach was incredible. The water nice and warm, pools galore, boats, water skiing, etc. I would go back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Join their Romantic Getaway points program and receive free gifts.

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan28
Couples
Boise, ID, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Yeah mon!!!

What a great way for a couple to go on vacation. It was our honeymoon and it could not have been better. This is a well run resort from top to bottom, looks beautiful, and has the best service I have ever experienced. Being a couples only resort you can escape the screaming children on the beach or at the pool, which makes everything that much more relaxing. My one and only gripe would be the ants on the beach like to bite you and leave little red bumps on your legs that itch like mad... But this is a VERY small SMALL detail when you compare to how great this resort is. take care of the ants and it gets a 10/10... but I'll have to go with a 9.9 instead :-) We'll be back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the lemon grass, it was the best food for us. But that is cheating because we are partial to thai food.

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug and Vicki
Couples
Loris, SC
Jul 31, 2011

Unbeatable Couples Getaway

It's a great place to just kick back, relax in paradise. Do not book any travel to and from the resort or outside activities until you get there, the resort will assist you in everyway, the ones we booked prior were unnecessary because the resort supplied there own transportation and most of the tours were more than an hour and a half 's drive one way from the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta GA
Jul 22, 2011

[...]

People working were nice. Have stayed in much better rooms.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rejuvenated Trucker
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 20, 2011

Couples swept away

This vacation was like a dream. All the staff from the airport to the hotel resort were fantastic. The service from beach side to room service was outstanding. My wife and I could not have dreamed of an better way to spend our hard earned time off, but in the way we did. We are definitely putting this hotel in our future plans for vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mississippi
Jul 10, 2011

Best Resort in Jamaica

Couples Swept Away is located in Negril, Jamaica. It is an all inclusive resort for couples. No kids allowed which is great because even though I love kids you just need a vacation from them as well. The resort could not have been any better. It had 9 bars and 6 places to eat. The staff is happy and extremely nice. The resort is very tropical and beautiful. All beach activities are included so there is plenty to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to buy your souvenirs from Destiny's gift shop which is about a 2 minute walk off the resort. The gift shop on the resort is pricey. Destiny's was about half the price and she was very nice. You can always negotiate pricing.

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
st. louis, mo
Jul 4, 2011

great place

Great beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Columbia, SC
Jun 21, 2011

Fair, unbiased, accurate Couples Review

Being an avid traveler and approaching my wedding day, I asked my (future) wife to let me plan the honeymoon. I had already taken her on several great trips in Florida, Hawaii, etc. In fact, we have never been disappointed in a single trip we've gone on together. She didn't hesitate to give me complete control over the task. I set us up for 9 days and 8 nights at Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. The travel sites and reviews left me feeling like this was a can't miss 10 out of 10 for a honeymoon destination. I'm sad to say that I couldn't have been more wrong. We really only needed two factors to have a good week- a beautiful, relaxing beach, and a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable room to enjoy our first week as a married couple in the afternoon/evenings. While the beach was beautiful to the eye, it was a public beach that was littered with vendors constantly asking you to buy their goods/services. When we tried to take relaxing dips in the ocean, we were harassed by the wake from vendors on jetskis constantly riding along the area that had to be roped off to keep them at a distance while they screamed "jetski's, parasailing!". I don't mean easing by every so often and asking one time and taking no for an answer, I mean 3-4 competing companies CONSTANTLY screaming and driving by 10 feet away going 40+ mph making obnoxious high waves where we tried to relax on floats. That was the beach, but I'm realistic enough to know that no one owns the beach sand or public waters, so I cut Couples some slack there. However, they'll get no sympathy for the room- They rented out a room to us FOR OUR HONEYMOON that was right next door to a room that they were remodeling all week long... Forget the often complained about road noise that everyone mentions when reviewing this place- which by the way is absolutely true, the resort is right along the main highway and it is customary that everyone passing a car honks their horns in Jamaica, and that honking continues throughout the night, and during morning rush hour it is impossible to sleep through the traffic sounds, even with the air conditioner, which is actually quiet and doesn't provide background noise- forget that you'll spend your "relaxing vacation" being woken up at 6 am every morning by that noise- forget the discomfort of the rock hard mattress that didn't even have a box spring- just a hard mattress on wooden slats- even if I COULD forget ALL that- I got to listen to hammering, jackhammering, and tile saws CONSTANTLY. When my brand new wife and I would try to enjoy intimate evenings for our honeymoon- the mood would be ruined and we would be distracted and infuriated by saws and hammering a mere 10 feet away from our bed. Why would anyone sell a room bordering a construction zone? I can't mention pricing or else my review would not be included (which I'm sure CSA would love), so I can't tell you how much money I paid to live in a construction zone for a once in a lifetime week of honeymoon, but I can tell you that I couldn't be anymore disappointed... but I had to be even more disappointed- because when I called the front desk to complain about the construction noise, I was transferred to the operator, who then said she would have to contact management, who she would have call me back. I was never called back by anyone, and the construction continued until the moment we left. The resort had average food at best. In fact, I would have rather had fast food than what they offered. I got a stomach illness while there. The beach was crowded and constantly interrupted by vendors. The reservation system for dining and watersports made it inconvenient to try to take advantage of either service. Beach towels were often unavailable. The maids leave the doors to the rooms wide open when they clean the room, allowing mosquitos to come in and feast on you all night (my wife and I looked like we had smallpox by the time we returned, and we didn't even hang out out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The snorkeling, scuba diving, and fitness facilities are good extras with the all-inclusive package. The beach and sunsets at the resort have natural beauty, but are impossible to enjoy due to constant annoyance from vendors.

Back to menu Return to top