$501 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
209 reviews
Awesome experience!

What a great place!!! We would absolutely go back. Great service. The drive from the airport is the... See full review

  • MJCCoolio
  • Oct 5, 2014
FANTASTIC ANNIVERSARY

FANTASTIC TRIP.THE FOOD WAS GREAT,BEST BEACH I HAVE EVER BEEN TO See full review

  • KAY N DAN
  • Jul 21, 2014
Couples resorts were pioneering the concept of all-inclusive, romantic Jamaican holidays as far back as 1978, and the Couples Swept Away Resort Hotel is an idyllic adults-only venue. Starlight shines down on intimate Caribbean dinners on velvet sands, while oceanfront verandas offer cinematically romantic settings. The 10-acre fitness complex is heaven for those who take their health regimen seriously. After a strenuous workout, book a spa treatment for two and lie side by side for Swedish massages, body scrubs or seaweed wraps.
Key facts
  • 312 luxury guest suites
  • Restaurants:  The Palms, Patois Patio, Lemon Grass, Feathers, Cabana Grill, Seagrape Cafe, Beach dining
  • 8 bars, serving exclusive cocktails such as the 'Couples Mojito'
  • Jacuzzis, steam room, and spa
  • 4 swimming pools, including 270-square-foot lap pool
  • 10-acre sports and fitness complex
  • On-site activities include waterskiing, beach volleyball and paddle boarding
Neighborhood
Couples Swept Away is set on the purest white sands of Negril's Seven Mile Beach, boasting romantic seclusion and lavish facilities. The resort is situation right on the beachfront roughly halfway between the vibrant town of Negril to the south - known for its raw, rugged cliffs overlooking snorkel-friendly waters - and the serene, picturesque Orange Bay to the north. Guests can take an eye-opening harbor trip in a glass-bottomed boat, or enjoy a magical sunset cruise. Watersports are popular with honeymooners, and on-site equipment is available - including sea kayaks, sailboats, masks and flippers.
Hints and tips
See more of the island by asking about the five off-site excursions offered at the resort, which include a shopping shuttle that takes in some of Jamaica's biggest shopping malls.

Or hitch a ride to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville just down the coast, where you can dine on fresh seafood and gigantic cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.3097 -78.3384
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay (MBJ)
Area description
Couples Swept Away is located on the beautiful seven-mile beach in Negril, 60 miles from Montego Bay Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive Rooms

Great House Verandah Suites
Rooms with a partial view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air-conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. The 24 suites are conveniently located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Great House within steps of Feathers, Patois Patio, Cabana Grill, Aura Nightclub, piano bar, shops, conference rooms, internet cafe, gaming room, pool and swim-up bar and beach.
Beach Front Suites
Rooms with view of the Caribbean Sea (may be obstructed by lush vegetation) All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, balcony/terrace with rocking chair. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Located along the beach path, 1st or 2nd floor, each villa has 4 Suites. Please note the Beach Front Suites romantic ambience is complimented by NOT having televisions.
Ocean Verandah Suites
Rooms with a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Each block has 12 suites which are located on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor
Atrium Suites
Rooms with a view of lush tropical gardens. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, balcony/terrace with hammock. Nightly turndown service. , Located in the center of the property, 1st or 2nd floor, each villa has 4 Suites. Please note the Atrium Suites romantic ambience is complimented by NOT having televisions.
Garden Verandah Suites
Rooms with a view of lush tropical gardens. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Nightly turndown service. Each block has 12 suites which are located on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor.
Beachfront Verandah Suites
Rooms with a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Each block 12 suites which are located along the beach path on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor.
Premier Beachfront Suite
Classic Caribbean-style rooms with view of the Sea. There is no TV in the room to detract from the serenity of your island getaway. Suites have a beautiful large wrap-around terrace or balcony view
Great House Ocean Suites
Large suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. Luxurious bathrooms with separate shower and tub, and captivating view. The exterior verandahs feature a chaise lounge. Located in the Great House building.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle

Dining

Feathers - Dinner
A divine dining diversion. Negril's finest award winning gourmet restaurant offers continental cuisine with a distinctly Caribbean flair. Required Dress Code for ladies is "semi-formal". For gentlemen: collar shirt, long pants, dress shoes / closed shoes. Reservations required
Sea Grape Caf - Lunch
A delicious meal awaits you at this seaside caf. Whether you're a strict vegetarian or just in search of an excellent natural dish, this is the place for you. Fresh fruits, vegetable juices, pita pocket sandwiches, healthy appetizers and more are available every day. Open up to 6:00 p.m.
Cabana Grill - Late Night
Open from 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. Cabana Grill offers a variety of mouthwatering sandwiches, salads, jerk chicken and just about everyone's favorite casual food choices.
The Patois Patio - Breakfast
Enjoy a sumptuous a la carte breakfast overlooking the ocean.
Patois Patio - Dinner
A casual yet invigorating dining experience .This tropical setting offers a most unusual combination of Caribbean and Latin flavored dishes for dinner.
Continental Breakfast in Bed
Enjoy the luxury of a breakfast in bed or on your private verandah balcony between 6:30 a.m. and 10:00 a.m.
Lemon Grass - Dinner
An authentic a la carte Thai Dining Experience overlooking the main pool and the Caribbean shores while dining under the stars. Dress code casual elegance, no flip-flops or beach slippers. Reservations required.
The Palms - Breakfast
Open-air dining with a continental breakfast spread is offered for early risers beginning at 5:30 a.m. From 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. A full breakfast is served, with an array of fresh tropical fruits and juices, cereals, pastries, delicious hot dishes and made-to-order items. Dress is casual, though beach cover-up and footwear are required.
The Palms - Dinner
Encounter the gentle kiss of a Caribbean breeze as you dine in this tropical setting. Our hosts will seat you and our wait staff will take your choices from an enticing menu. No reservations required. Dinner dress code is casual elegance, no flip-flops or beach slippers. Innovative meals, featuring an array of tempting international and local dishes, are offered.
The Palms - Lunch
Self-serve your plates from our wide array of international and local dishes and desserts. Select a table of your choosing and your beverages will be served by our staff. Dress is casual, though beach cover-up and footwear are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeffSmead
Indiana, PA
Jan 24, 2013

Tips You Should Know

Rooms: We went with 4 other Couples in January and stayed in the Atrium Rooms. I highly recommend staying away from buildings 29 and 23. The noise from the Palms Restaurant ends late and starts early each day. All of the garden rooms have road noise except building 47. It is worth the small upgrade price for an Atrium Room (Only downside for some may be that there is no TV) . The resort was full so maid service was often after 4:00PM. Restaurants: Breakfast the Palms (Service at the Patois Restaurant was very slow. Lunch: Everyone loved the Seagrapes (Sushi and grilled Fish)and Cabana Grill (Jerk Pork and Chicken) though the Palms was great when they had Fresh Fish on the grill. Dinner: Book Feathers and Lemon Grass RIGHT AFTER CHECK IN. Both are great but do not book them on Lobster night or International Night (Go to the Palms). Patois also has a nice dinner Menu and I believe the best after-dinner bar. The Martini bar above the Palms had mixed reviews by the 8 of us. Some thought it was OK some thought it was bad. The Bands each night at the Palms were pretty good. They play until around 10:30 to 11:00PM There is so much included. The sports complex is very nice. Running track, Lap Pool, Work out area, Fabulous Tennis courts (Some had free lessons every day). Also the best smoothies were in this complex. We had one of the lifeguards take us out on a private catamaran cruise (Yes included), Kayaks, glass bottom boat, snorkeling at the reefs and so much more. We ate off site two times and went to Ricks) . Xtabi on the Cliffs (Call them they will pick you up 876-957-0121 Go just before sunset and stay for at least 1 1/2 hours). We also went to 3 Dives which is next door (Great Jerked Chicken). Ricks is also a must do (Tour desk it is $15.00 per person round trip). Transportation costs on your own are very expensive (Try to get the Restaurants to pick you up). Shopping and Massages: Facing the Ocean go to the far left and go off property (There are a number of shops that are very reasonable and they will negotiate the price with you. Bring bug spray or wipes. I hope this was helpful We are planing to Return Next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and Massages: Facing the Ocean go to the far left and go off property (There are a number of shops that are very reasonable and they will negotiate the price with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo
Jul 4, 2011

great place

Great beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 21, 2011

Fair, unbiased, accurate Couples Review

Being an avid traveler and approaching my wedding day, I asked my (future) wife to let me plan the honeymoon. I had already taken her on several great trips in Florida, Hawaii, etc. In fact, we have never been disappointed in a single trip we've gone on together. She didn't hesitate to give me complete control over the task. I set us up for 9 days and 8 nights at Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. The travel sites and reviews left me feeling like this was a can't miss 10 out of 10 for a honeymoon destination. I'm sad to say that I couldn't have been more wrong. We really only needed two factors to have a good week- a beautiful, relaxing beach, and a quiet, peaceful, and comfortable room to enjoy our first week as a married couple in the afternoon/evenings. While the beach was beautiful to the eye, it was a public beach that was littered with vendors constantly asking you to buy their goods/services. When we tried to take relaxing dips in the ocean, we were harassed by the wake from vendors on jetskis constantly riding along the area that had to be roped off to keep them at a distance while they screamed "jetski's, parasailing!". I don't mean easing by every so often and asking one time and taking no for an answer, I mean 3-4 competing companies CONSTANTLY screaming and driving by 10 feet away going 40+ mph making obnoxious high waves where we tried to relax on floats. That was the beach, but I'm realistic enough to know that no one owns the beach sand or public waters, so I cut Couples some slack there. However, they'll get no sympathy for the room- They rented out a room to us FOR OUR HONEYMOON that was right next door to a room that they were remodeling all week long... Forget the often complained about road noise that everyone mentions when reviewing this place- which by the way is absolutely true, the resort is right along the main highway and it is customary that everyone passing a car honks their horns in Jamaica, and that honking continues throughout the night, and during morning rush hour it is impossible to sleep through the traffic sounds, even with the air conditioner, which is actually quiet and doesn't provide background noise- forget that you'll spend your "relaxing vacation" being woken up at 6 am every morning by that noise- forget the discomfort of the rock hard mattress that didn't even have a box spring- just a hard mattress on wooden slats- even if I COULD forget ALL that- I got to listen to hammering, jackhammering, and tile saws CONSTANTLY. When my brand new wife and I would try to enjoy intimate evenings for our honeymoon- the mood would be ruined and we would be distracted and infuriated by saws and hammering a mere 10 feet away from our bed. Why would anyone sell a room bordering a construction zone? I can't mention pricing or else my review would not be included (which I'm sure CSA would love), so I can't tell you how much money I paid to live in a construction zone for a once in a lifetime week of honeymoon, but I can tell you that I couldn't be anymore disappointed... but I had to be even more disappointed- because when I called the front desk to complain about the construction noise, I was transferred to the operator, who then said she would have to contact management, who she would have call me back. I was never called back by anyone, and the construction continued until the moment we left. The resort had average food at best. In fact, I would have rather had fast food than what they offered. I got a stomach illness while there. The beach was crowded and constantly interrupted by vendors. The reservation system for dining and watersports made it inconvenient to try to take advantage of either service. Beach towels were often unavailable. The maids leave the doors to the rooms wide open when they clean the room, allowing mosquitos to come in and feast on you all night (my wife and I looked like we had smallpox by the time we returned, and we didn't even hang out out...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The snorkeling, scuba diving, and fitness facilities are good extras with the all-inclusive package. The beach and sunsets at the resort have natural beauty, but are impossible to enjoy due to constant annoyance from vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Wonderful vacation!

The drive to the resort is a little bit of a beating, but it's totally worth it! Lots of great activities, plenty of places to just relax, and great food options! Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the Hummingbird.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 6, 2011

Just Perfect

First time to Jamaica. I read the reviews on [...]and others before selecting Couples. They mostly said the same things...perfect.... and it was. The staff was very friendly, food o.k., rooms beatiful, entertainment good, clean property... the best is that we felt safe because of a security presence on the beach who pushed away the annoying and sometimes agressive vendors. The best part was the beach. plenty of room, clean & well maintaned. best stretch. I'm going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2011

So great!

This location is awesome, a bit of a ride after the plane flight, but once there, you are taken care of! wow, so much fun, we took our honeymoon there and just got back, it was a great time. Service is top quality, there tends to be a bit of competition for dinner and trips and such, but just make sure you find out when and where to sign up and you should be good. don't expect to do everything offered, the scuba was hard to get into, but we didn't go just to scuba dive. lots of great places to eat and relax. we had a wonderful time. would go again without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
May 19, 2011

Excellent Vacation Week

This vacation was definitely relaxing. Having stayed at couples Negril the previous year I must say that the experience was very pleasant. The swept away property is much larger and very well kept. The drive from Montego Bay was not bad and the shuttle service was reliable. We received champagne upon arrival at the resort which was very nice. Checking into our room was a little bit of a problem since [...]had not transferred funding to the parent company and I had to pay out-of-pocket for the first night ( they corrected this the following day). the restaurants on facility were very nice. The fancier restaurants where you had to make reservations offered portions that were light but definitely more appropriate than what you would get in the US! the open bars were appropriately placed by the pool and adjacent to the beach. It was nice to get nachos and cheese at midnight when needed. in terms of activities there are plenty of water sports to take advantage of. There was no line for the canoes or paddle boats. the catamaran cruise in the evening was definitely a highlight. It is also possible to go scuba diving, and I participated in both the day and night trip. It is quite a surreal experience to go diving at night with only a few flashlights illuminating the path. Across the street is the complex with day spa, full gym, and Olympic size pool - and it is not crowded since most of the resort people did not venture there. in terms of entertainment you can easily go by the piano bar to watch aspiring karaoke artists. the highlight was definitely the steel drum band they had towards the middle of the week. although the activities and facilities were nice, having our room situated at one end of the resort made us seem like we were in left field. I would recommend getting a room towards the center of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paying money to go to Margaritaville is a rip-off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
May 10, 2011

Great anniversary vacation!!

We were first booked with Sandals but I was in a dept.store and was told couples swept away was far better-so we changed. Was the best advise!!We had a wonderful time-great food relaxing atmosphere,beautiful beach-friendly staff.We will go back to this exact place again.(gave us a personal 42nd cake in our room the last night)Couldn't think of a thing they could change to make it any better. People we met have been over and over. Thanks swept away for showing us such a great time.:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Better Me Than My Wife
Business
Nebraska
May 3, 2011

OK For What It Is

The beach is beautiful and the security to keep hawkers to a minimum is a benefit. Activities are limited, although the sports center is very nice but not highly promoted. Comparably at the bottom of the 12 - 15 previous island trips - but it may be the best Nigrel has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Only one area to shop with about 15 stores - otherwise nothing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilled-n-Negril
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 11, 2011

good times

Although the room could have offered a little more refinement, we had everything we needed to have a great and relaxing time. Overall, the resort is very picturesque. The activities were great and the recreational facilties are exceptional. The food was good; especially at Patois Patio (one of the main restaurants). The staff is friendly and the off-site activities are well-coordinated. We rode ATVs and horses, went on a sunset cruise, swam through the cliffs of Western Negril, took a couple's massage class and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stressed New York City Beach Lover
Business
New York, New York
Apr 7, 2011

Ideal Resort for All Couples

This resort was one of the best that we have stayed at and we have travelled a great deal to the Caribbean, Europe and within the U.S. The only reason that I did not give it 5 stars was because they did not provide slippers in the room, and this I know, seems petty but I find that slippers are such a nice touch, especially on a tile floor! We were only at the resort 4 nights and we found that the majority of guests were there for at least a week so we stayed on the low key tip. [Of note, most guests keep returning to the resort on an annual basis]. Others did the included sunset cruise, snorkeling and glass bottom boat as well as other fitness classes, tennis lessons, etc. As for dining, you can indulge or eat light, healthy and vegetarian. Each restaurant was fantastic (varied menu with fresh ingredients combined creatively), the staff were personable, friendly and accomodating. As for the spa and fitness center, they are definitely worth crossing the street to visit. I could go on and on but the moral of the story is any traveler would likely enjoy the resort! The beach speaks for itself (amazing) and the guests at the resort are friendly with each other and the staff so that if you choose to be sociable, you get the feeling as if you are part of a "village" or small town. Based on our conversations, each of the rooms has its pluses so it doesn't really matter which room you choose. [We upgraded to an ocean verandah and enjoyed the view although since we were in the great house right opposite the pool, the balcony was not too calm.-- the hotel makes up for this by providing a jacuzzi tub in these suites, which was a great touch!]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There are so many options that it is really worth getting acquainted witht the options when you arrive...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top