$437 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamaica forever
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 12, 2013

Heaven

Heaven on earth!!! Loved every second.. Staff is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brody22
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 1, 2013

Policy Change Needed at Couples

My wife and I are 31 years old and have been fortunate enough to travel quite a bit in that time. We’ve stayed in a number of resorts in a number of countries from Mexico to Puerto Rico. When writing these reviews, we keep one very important thing in mind; that each country is different and each experience should be judged independently of the others. What you’ll find here is an honest review of our accommodations. First, the beach was adequate. The sand was hard and a bit uncomfortable. With that said, the water and beach overall were less than we expected based on previous reviews, but were still very much enjoyable. Our room was nice, Couples has a format unlike any other resort we’ve been to. If you’ll notice on Google Earth, there are about 24 bungalow style buildings housing four rooms in each. The room itself was screened in, with shutters. I was concerned that it was going to be uncomfortably hot, but the air conditioning unit did its job well. It was as cold as ice for a week. The room exceeded our expectations and I can say that my wife and I had a very quiet relaxing time just as Couples promises. Here is the problem. Service was atrocious. It was probably the worst service I’ve ever had. It is important to disclose that I’m typically a very easy going guy. I always discard reviews I read that criticize service levels because there is always more to the story; or the person writing the review is just the complaining type. That isn’t me. The service was so bad that I feel like I have to mention it. We wouldn’t go back. The first thing my wife and I did when we arrived was to go to the beach bar, naturally. We expected a welcoming experience. We didn’t get one. In fact, I asked the bartender to make me half pina colada and half strawberry daiquiri. I’ve know this drink to be called a Miami Vice and/or a lava flow, depending on where you are, so I asked her to make half and half as to avoid any confusion. When I asked, she didn’t even acknowledge my order she just turned away and started mixing the drink; no friendly smile, no conversation…nothing. When she brought the drink back, she wouldn’t make eye contact with me and said as clear as day, “It’s called a Miami Vice…maybe you should remember that next time”, before setting the drink down and turning her back to my wife and I. She didn’t even offer to make my wife a drink, I had to get her attention and ask. I let it go. I thought maybe she was having a bad day. I wasn’t going to let it ruin mine. I can tell you this much, in my week there, I never felt like anything more than an inconvenience. The service level never improved. Whether it was the spa, the dining halls, or the beach bar, one thing was clear, they weren’t interested in providing an enjoyable customer experience. It was awful. Then I found out that there was a very strict no tip policy at the resort. I was told that Couples feels like everyone receives the same level of service with this policy and that there are other ways to reward the employees like mentioning their name in follow up questionnaires. I can’t help but think…would my experience have been different if I were able to tip? I believe so. I urge Couples to rethink this policy; it doesn’t work. The American dollar goes a long way in Jamaica and I believe my experience would’ve been much better had I been allowed to leverage that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bring an insulated mug. It'll keep your drinks cool...you'll be happy you did.

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmy007
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 24, 2013

Great Anniversary Trip

We had a wonderful visit. The room was fantastic, the grounds were beautiful, and the beach is one of the best I have ever been to. The pools are nothing special and my wife's bathing suit got bleached the one time we visited the pool bar. The staff was amazing and there were plentiful activities! We mostly enjoyed the beach, drinks at the bar, and the amazing food. I would definitely visit again and highly recommend the beachfront rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovita
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 28, 2013

Pretty good...:)

Resort - not grand as we hoped, but the grounds were well groomed with an abundance of lush tropical foliage throughout. Located on the beach, which was absolutely gorgeous, and very walkable to other resorts/hotels, shops/vendors, restaurants and activities. Our room - was rather dark, but clean and quaint. The bed was NOT comfortable. Achy bodies do not make for a good vacation. We hated, hated, HATED that our Garden Veranda was close to the road! Cars, trucks and motorcycles zoomed back and forth honking horns all times of the day and night really irked us!! Food - We only ate at Patois, the Palms and the poolside grill. We did not care for Patois, but really enjoyed the others two restaurants all week. We would have really appreciated more breakfast protein choices other than eggs and pork (neither of which I can eat). Entertainment - We caught the nightly entertainment 2 nights and enjoyed both, especially the steel drums/dancers. One night there was a "bonfire on the beach" with live romantic music. It turned out to be a "bon on the beach". The staff could not get the bonfire to catch on. Still, the ambiance was nice and the live music was enjoyable. Bars - we had two favorite bars...partly because of quality of the drinks and other guests that hung out there, but mostly the personality of the bartenders (Ricardo by the swim up pool, Peter on the beach). Activities - we were displeased with the inability to participate in many of the "value added package" activities, because they were offered on a limited basis (ie. shuttle to Margaritaville only on Wed at 5pm) or already full for the week (Scuba). We did do the Catamaran cruise. We booked on arrival day (Monday). First availability was Friday. Just barely made it because our departure was Saturday. Other - It would be very helpful if the staff had encouraged and helped us sign up for activities at Orientation. By the time we asked around and found our way to various sign up locations, many activities were already full for the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
madsabbat
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 25, 2013

Fabulous experience

Fabulous experience. We had a marvelous time. My husband was active form morning to night with scuba, sailing and tennis and I had great relaxing time on the beach with friends. Food was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kfed
Business
Hagerstown, MD, USA
Feb 24, 2013

Great time in negril

We stayed for 8 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable but basic. Not a bad thing though. It was a more carribean feel. The big thing for us was the food. All delicious. Thats what sets this resort apart from others we have been to. Location was beautiful. Dive staff was great. Unlimited diving included! No one really swam in the pools and they were small. The staff was very friendly. It was truely a 5 star rating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

They dont have any bananas at the resort

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A8JBrooks
Business
Round Rock, Texas
Feb 15, 2013

Our 3rd trip

My husband and I first visited CSA for our honeymoon, and have returned to celebrate two anniversaries so far! We fell in love with the amazingly friendly staff, the delicious food, and all the amenities. This resort has a lot to offer to keep you busy, or it can be the perfect place to relax on a beach for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Short 12-15 minute plan rides are offered from the Montego Bay airport to the Negril airport (2 miles from the resort); it saves a long bus ride to the resort!

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TerriM
Business
Canada
Feb 15, 2013

CSA

Absolutely beautiful resort on the best part of the 7 mile beach. The rooms are very nice with fantastic veranda's and the tree frogs put you to sleep each night. Good food and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

one love bus bar crawl with Lenbert . it was fabulous and great way to see Negril Cliff side.

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chatt Travelers
Business
TN
Feb 14, 2013

Something for everyone!

The resort offers such a wide variety of experiences it would be hard to beat. You can just rleax on 7 mile beach, or fill your day with either pool side or fitness activites. The beach and location are amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food was outstanding for resort food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skimomma
Business
Colorado
Jan 31, 2013

All around terrific time

CSA exceeded our expectations for a relaxing and romantic getaway to celebrate 30 years of marriage. The site is gorgeous. Our room had a view of the ocean and we slept on the 3rd floor with the doors open all night, every night, falling asleep to the sound of waves and waking to a beautiful sunrise. The water fun is endless: we scuba dived, paddle boarded, kayaked, snorkeled and wind surfed. Instruction and safety were great. Food and drink was super! We can't wait to go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top