$537 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Po Box 33077 Norman Manley Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
215 reviews
romantic getaway

clean beach, no seaweed clean pool clean room, no bugs, minimal mosquitoes even at night not... See full review

  • Roman M.
  • Jan 26, 2015
great anniversary trip

this place is awesome - beautiful beaches, good food , friendly staff…. a great place to go if you... See full review

  • Yaq A.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Couples resorts were pioneering the concept of all-inclusive, romantic Jamaican holidays as far back as 1978, and the Couples Swept Away Resort Hotel is an idyllic adults-only venue. Starlight shines down on intimate Caribbean dinners on velvet sands, while oceanfront verandas offer cinematically romantic settings. The 10-acre fitness complex is heaven for those who take their health regimen seriously. After a strenuous workout, book a spa treatment for two and lie side by side for Swedish massages, body scrubs or seaweed wraps.
Key facts
  • 312 luxury guest suites
  • Restaurants:  The Palms, Patois Patio, Lemon Grass, Feathers, Cabana Grill, Seagrape Cafe, Beach dining
  • 8 bars, serving exclusive cocktails such as the 'Couples Mojito'
  • Jacuzzis, steam room, and spa
  • 4 swimming pools, including 270-square-foot lap pool
  • 10-acre sports and fitness complex
  • On-site activities include waterskiing, beach volleyball and paddle boarding
Neighborhood
Couples Swept Away is set on the purest white sands of Negril's Seven Mile Beach, boasting romantic seclusion and lavish facilities. The resort is situation right on the beachfront roughly halfway between the vibrant town of Negril to the south - known for its raw, rugged cliffs overlooking snorkel-friendly waters - and the serene, picturesque Orange Bay to the north. Guests can take an eye-opening harbor trip in a glass-bottomed boat, or enjoy a magical sunset cruise. Watersports are popular with honeymooners, and on-site equipment is available - including sea kayaks, sailboats, masks and flippers.
Hints and tips
See more of the island by asking about the five off-site excursions offered at the resort, which include a shopping shuttle that takes in some of Jamaica's biggest shopping malls.

Or hitch a ride to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville just down the coast, where you can dine on fresh seafood and gigantic cocktails.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive Rooms

Great House Verandah Suites
Rooms with a partial view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air-conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. The 24 suites are conveniently located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the Great House within steps of Feathers, Patois Patio, Cabana Grill, Aura Nightclub, piano bar, shops, conference rooms, internet cafe, gaming room, pool and swim-up bar and beach.
Beachfront Verandah Suites
Rooms with a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Each block 12 suites which are located along the beach path on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor.
Beach Front Suites
Rooms with view of the Caribbean Sea (may be obstructed by lush vegetation) All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, balcony/terrace with rocking chair. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Located along the beach path, 1st or 2nd floor, each villa has 4 Suites. Please note the Beach Front Suites romantic ambience is complimented by NOT having televisions.
Ocean Verandah Suites
Rooms with a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Stocked mini-bar. Nightly turndown service. Each block has 12 suites which are located on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor
Atrium Suites
Rooms with a view of lush tropical gardens. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, balcony/terrace with hammock. Nightly turndown service. , Located in the center of the property, 1st or 2nd floor, each villa has 4 Suites. Please note the Atrium Suites romantic ambience is complimented by NOT having televisions.
Garden Verandah Suites
Rooms with a view of lush tropical gardens. All rooms air conditioned with ceiling fan, King Bed, private shower, telephone, Digital Cable LCD TV, iPod/MP3 Docking Station, blow dryer, safety deposit box, stocked mini-bar. Verandah with sofa chairs & table. Nightly turndown service. Each block has 12 suites which are located on 1st, 2nd & 3rd floor.
Premier Beachfront Suite
Classic Caribbean-style rooms with view of the Sea. There is no TV in the room to detract from the serenity of your island getaway. Suites have a beautiful large wrap-around terrace or balcony view
Great House Ocean Suites
Large suites with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. Luxurious bathrooms with separate shower and tub, and captivating view. The exterior verandahs feature a chaise lounge. Located in the Great House building.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle

Dining

Feathers - Dinner
A divine dining diversion. Negril's finest award winning gourmet restaurant offers continental cuisine with a distinctly Caribbean flair. Required Dress Code for ladies is "semi-formal". For gentlemen: collar shirt, long pants, dress shoes / closed shoes. Reservations required
Sea Grape Caf - Lunch
A delicious meal awaits you at this seaside caf. Whether you're a strict vegetarian or just in search of an excellent natural dish, this is the place for you. Fresh fruits, vegetable juices, pita pocket sandwiches, healthy appetizers and more are available every day. Open up to 6:00 p.m.
Cabana Grill - Late Night
Open from 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. Cabana Grill offers a variety of mouthwatering sandwiches, salads, jerk chicken and just about everyone's favorite casual food choices.
The Patois Patio - Breakfast
Enjoy a sumptuous a la carte breakfast overlooking the ocean.
Patois Patio - Dinner
A casual yet invigorating dining experience .This tropical setting offers a most unusual combination of Caribbean and Latin flavored dishes for dinner.
Continental Breakfast in Bed
Enjoy the luxury of a breakfast in bed or on your private verandah balcony between 6:30 a.m. and 10:00 a.m.
Lemon Grass - Dinner
An authentic a la carte Thai Dining Experience overlooking the main pool and the Caribbean shores while dining under the stars. Dress code casual elegance, no flip-flops or beach slippers. Reservations required.
The Palms - Breakfast
Open-air dining with a continental breakfast spread is offered for early risers beginning at 5:30 a.m. From 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. A full breakfast is served, with an array of fresh tropical fruits and juices, cereals, pastries, delicious hot dishes and made-to-order items. Dress is casual, though beach cover-up and footwear are required.
The Palms - Dinner
Encounter the gentle kiss of a Caribbean breeze as you dine in this tropical setting. Our hosts will seat you and our wait staff will take your choices from an enticing menu. No reservations required. Dinner dress code is casual elegance, no flip-flops or beach slippers. Innovative meals, featuring an array of tempting international and local dishes, are offered.
The Palms - Lunch
Self-serve your plates from our wide array of international and local dishes and desserts. Select a table of your choosing and your beverages will be served by our staff. Dress is casual, though beach cover-up and footwear are required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NevergoingbacktoCSA
Business
PA
Dec 19, 2013

“Campylobacteriosis"

...Stay at your own risk, you have been warned!!!” I got "Camplybacteriosis" from the resort and was sick for several weeks. I had to send 3 emails over 2 weeks before they even had the courtesy to respond. We went back and forth with a few emails. Couples response was that they checked their records at the Nurses' Station and have not received any similar report of this nature...... So I guess that means it did not happen and I am a liar? All they wanted was to know my name, I told them I would be happy to provide that along with anything else they needed....all I asked was that they at least told me what they would be willing to do to help resolve this and than I would be happy to provide them with my name and any other documentation they needed. Nothing like, thanks for bringing this to our attention so we can make sure it never happens again to someone.......not even a sorry that you got sick!!! My wife and spent 5 nights at this resort in March 2013. Our last night was "Lobster Night" at the Palms, I had lobster. 2:00 AM that night I awoke to become violently ill ...vomiting and diarrhea. We returned home Sunday...# I felt ok the next day and I felt fine the next few days. Thursday night I woke with a fever. Friday I began to have diarrhea. I spent Saturday, Sunday and Monday in bed. # fever, severe diarrhea, severe stomach cramps, and headache. I missed work Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday....I had nonstop diarrhea, fever and overall sickness. Diarrhea and stomach cramping continued for several days. The next Monday I went to my doctor. He thought I might have a "travel" bug but sent me for lab work and testing just to be safe. The following morning......Our State Department of Health # government agency# called me in the morning to tell me I was infected with Campylobacteriosis, a bacteria usually caused by under cooked chicken or seafood. I was informed it usually takes 2-10 days after you eat before you get sick # It was 5 days after Lobster night, and we had been eating Couple's food 4 days before that night as well# I had severe diarrhea for 10+ days. It has taken me almost 4 weeks just to feel normal again and regain my strength. I am 100% positive that I was infected by one of couples restaurants. I contacted couples #1 so they can correct this issue with their foodservice and #2 I thought it was fair to give them an opportunity to address it with me before I post my brutally honest story on the web. We did not have a good stay at Couples. This was our second trip. We got stuck in a middle room surrounded by 9 other rooms. We must have heard the doors slam close 30 times every night from 10-2am. Our room was 30 feet from Patios restaurant......it was loud all night. My wife and I both slept horribly and that in itself ruined our trip. Besides the food poising we were both extremely disappointed in several other items and will not be back, the place has really gone downhill and you can read many of the same complaints in other reviews so I won't waste time. We left the resort # without knowing I would be sick for the next month# feeling it had gone down hill and we both said maybe 2 out of 5 stars. Than I got sick after it brewed in my system for a couples days. It's one thing that I got sick....it's another thing the complete lack of responsibility the resort wants to take! After going around and around with couples...I gave them my name and travel info so they could "investigate". 3 months went by with no response. "After I contacted them again, they told me they did not have any other complaints"....so therefore it must not have happened?. TRULEY PATHETIC!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Obayb
Business
Michigan
Dec 9, 2013

Doesn't get any better than this!

Wonderful experience in every way, accommodations, beach, food, drink, staff, entertainment. Got married while there and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to make a trip to the cliffs and see all that it has to offer. There are really some great restaurant/bars with spectacular views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpod
Business
Green Bay, Wi
Oct 13, 2013

First Vacation Away from babies

The location is fabulous. The beach is beautiful! The sand is super soft. The rooms definitely need updating. They are slowly doing so. We had to listen to a jack hammer one day off and on for a few hours. The rooms have lots of tropical bugs, rusty baths, and chipped flooring. The beds are comfortable. The view from.our beach front verandah room was awesome. The food was decent. Breakfast was the best. Feathers was great. The rest were the typical all inclusive meal. The cabana grill needs more workers. So does the beach front bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan RED
Business
Neptune City, New Jersey
Aug 25, 2013

Value Is Virtually Unbeatable

The resort itself is very laid back and feels very natural with foliage everywhere, the beach pristine, food and drink were top notch, and the staff was very helpful. I can't recommend it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to skip the room-service breakfast and head down to the Palms restaurant in the mornings, the selection is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooner from Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 20, 2013

Spectacular Honeymoon Destination

My new husband and I loved this resort. It was our first resort vacation and won't be our last. At Couple's Swept Away you can relax and enjoy yourself. The staff is very friendly, everything (Food/drink/most activities) is included and there is no tipping allowed so you don't have to keep your wallet and small money handy at every moment (for example when you are swimming up to the swim up bar). The food at all restaurants is Very Good. The beach is clean and freshly raked each morning, there are security guards to see that you are safe (I always felt safe). The water was crystal clear blue and 80 degrees during our stay! AMAZING!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Read through the scheduled activites and optional events and be sure to check out as much as you want, all activities were great here were some I did: basket making, hat making, Catamaran ride, glass bottom boat tour, stand-up paddle boarding, snorkling, welcome tour, bon-fire on the beach, live music each night at 9pm in Palms Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GVGV
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 14, 2013

Relaxing getaway

The resort was nice, the rooms private. We didn't have wifi in our room which was difficult because our small children were home and we couldn't easily check on them. I also run a small business and had a few issues come up that took me awhile to find out about because of lack of wifi. The people at the spa could have been friendlier and some staff seemed put out by having to answer our questions. The bartenders were fun and the wait staff accommodating. Everyone seemed to be in bed by 10 or 11 each night which was fine with us but kinda strange for a vacation, I guess it was because it was couples only. Loved the floaty beach chair mats and the guys serenading us on the beach. Would probably go back but try a different Couples resort to see how they compare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Find O'Shane the bartender, he makes awesome shots for rainy afternoons and brings entertainment to the bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamaica forever
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 12, 2013

Awesome!!

Loved it!!! Exceptional!! Felt pampered!! Beach bar was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamaica forever
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 12, 2013

Heaven

Heaven on earth!!! Loved every second.. Staff is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brody22
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 1, 2013

Policy Change Needed at Couples

My wife and I are 31 years old and have been fortunate enough to travel quite a bit in that time. We’ve stayed in a number of resorts in a number of countries from Mexico to Puerto Rico. When writing these reviews, we keep one very important thing in mind; that each country is different and each experience should be judged independently of the others. What you’ll find here is an honest review of our accommodations. First, the beach was adequate. The sand was hard and a bit uncomfortable. With that said, the water and beach overall were less than we expected based on previous reviews, but were still very much enjoyable. Our room was nice, Couples has a format unlike any other resort we’ve been to. If you’ll notice on Google Earth, there are about 24 bungalow style buildings housing four rooms in each. The room itself was screened in, with shutters. I was concerned that it was going to be uncomfortably hot, but the air conditioning unit did its job well. It was as cold as ice for a week. The room exceeded our expectations and I can say that my wife and I had a very quiet relaxing time just as Couples promises. Here is the problem. Service was atrocious. It was probably the worst service I’ve ever had. It is important to disclose that I’m typically a very easy going guy. I always discard reviews I read that criticize service levels because there is always more to the story; or the person writing the review is just the complaining type. That isn’t me. The service was so bad that I feel like I have to mention it. We wouldn’t go back. The first thing my wife and I did when we arrived was to go to the beach bar, naturally. We expected a welcoming experience. We didn’t get one. In fact, I asked the bartender to make me half pina colada and half strawberry daiquiri. I’ve know this drink to be called a Miami Vice and/or a lava flow, depending on where you are, so I asked her to make half and half as to avoid any confusion. When I asked, she didn’t even acknowledge my order she just turned away and started mixing the drink; no friendly smile, no conversation…nothing. When she brought the drink back, she wouldn’t make eye contact with me and said as clear as day, “It’s called a Miami Vice…maybe you should remember that next time”, before setting the drink down and turning her back to my wife and I. She didn’t even offer to make my wife a drink, I had to get her attention and ask. I let it go. I thought maybe she was having a bad day. I wasn’t going to let it ruin mine. I can tell you this much, in my week there, I never felt like anything more than an inconvenience. The service level never improved. Whether it was the spa, the dining halls, or the beach bar, one thing was clear, they weren’t interested in providing an enjoyable customer experience. It was awful. Then I found out that there was a very strict no tip policy at the resort. I was told that Couples feels like everyone receives the same level of service with this policy and that there are other ways to reward the employees like mentioning their name in follow up questionnaires. I can’t help but think…would my experience have been different if I were able to tip? I believe so. I urge Couples to rethink this policy; it doesn’t work. The American dollar goes a long way in Jamaica and I believe my experience would’ve been much better had I been allowed to leverage that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bring an insulated mug. It'll keep your drinks cool...you'll be happy you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Couples Swept Away - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmy007
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 24, 2013

Great Anniversary Trip

We had a wonderful visit. The room was fantastic, the grounds were beautiful, and the beach is one of the best I have ever been to. The pools are nothing special and my wife's bathing suit got bleached the one time we visited the pool bar. The staff was amazing and there were plentiful activities! We mostly enjoyed the beach, drinks at the bar, and the amazing food. I would definitely visit again and highly recommend the beachfront rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top