$426 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Couples Negril - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Norman Manley Blvd PO Box 35, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JW5534
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Vacation

Great vacation, had a ton of fun in a beautiful location. Food was great, drinks were awesome. Staff was generally very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rick's Cafe is a must.

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Williamset
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 17, 2011

Fantastic Vacation Destination

My wife and I are in our late twenties and found Couples Negril to be a great destination for a relaxing, beach vacation. We had a corner room with a deluxe view of the garden and a sliver of the ocean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was furnished nicely. The minibar could be customized with any kind of alcohol you want at no additional cost. The variety of activities, entertainment, and watersport offerings available at no additional cost was fantastic. We found the food to be better than expected for an all inclusive destination. In other words, do not expect gourmet dining at every opportunity, but do expect plenty of good quality choices. The drink selection was great, but be aware the fruity drinks aren't as strong as you might expect (they might be made this way intentionally...). There is willing and able staff all over the resort. While most were extremely nice and very attentive, there were a few frustrating instances when staff appeared non-attentive or disorganized when asking for coffee refills or condiments not already on the table at dinner. Regardless, this is really being nit-picky as the service overall was very good. Lastly, the entertainment options were excellent. Many different water activities (sailing, paddleboats, snorkling, catamaran journey, etc) are very well done and offered at no additional cost. Some require signing up in advance, so be sure to do this soon after you arrive. Also, the evening entertainment organized by the resort was definitely worth hanging around for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Sign up for any water sport activities you want to do early. Also, attend one of the resorts orientations soon after arriving. It will save time when planning out the remainder of your stay.

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mdweber
Business
Burke, VA
Sep 25, 2011

First time to Couples Negril Great Experience

My wife and I booked a belated honeymoon to Couples Negril after researching countless resorts. We were very satisfied with this resort. The staff are very helpful and friendly. "No" is not in their vocabulary. The beach was great, very clean and not too crowded. Inclusive activities such as snorkeling and cruises were a lot of fun. Guards do a good job keeping the vendors roaming the beach to a minimum. The food was tasty. Only complaints were minor. For example, the fridge in our room was not stocked as expected every day. Birds tend to move in on the outdoor dining area and pick at plates that are left unattended. Overall, a good value. We would recommend the resort and consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Schedule a direct flight that arrives early the first day and take a later flight back on your final day to maximize your vacation time. You'll want every last hour possible!

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason R
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Very Relaxing, Great Drinks, Great Food, Pleasant Service

We enjoyed our stay at Couples Negril. We relaxed almost the entire time, played beach and pool volleyball, enjoyed the food and drinks very much, and the staff was very pleasant. A few things of note: 1.) We were told to "personalize" our mini-bar, but we never received any of the alcohol that we "signed up" for. That was disappointing, although that doesn't mean we couldn't get any alcohol, there was plenty, it just would have been nice to have a night cap sometimes. 2.) We purchased an extra "dinner on the beach" to celebrate our anniversary, but we felt that it was expensive for what we got. The food was the same as the nice restaurant that cost no more, and the only (noticeable) difference was that we were in a "tree house" in a somewhat secluded area near the beach. The night scuba came in during our dinner and there really was no regard for being quiet from them. Overall we'd not do that again. 3.) Third side note and I imagine that it's basically the same at any of the Jamaican resorts, but we were offered "extras" (mostly illegal) from passers by on the resort quite frequently - you learn to ignore them or say "no thank you" and they usually stop, but nonetheless, it did deter from the most pleasant experience possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fargo
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Great Adult All Inclusive

This place is all about making you happy. The staff and the services they provide are excellent. The food and drinks are great. The beach is beautiful. The place needs a "little" maintenance and fix up, but it does not detract from your stay in the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rascal
Business
Evansville, IN, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Weddingmoon!!

We had a wonderful time at Couples Negril. I was a first timer at an all inclusive resort, so it took me awhile to get use to it. I can't wait to go back! From our wedding, to the water activities, the food, and the entertainment, everything was perfect. The awesome staff made our trip more enjoyable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ and GM
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great for couples

It was a blast! Beautiful. Best beach sceen out of all of the resorts we saw. I would go back for sure. A lot of reviews say the rooms need updating but they were nice and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms could use a few more plugs. The staff was amazing! Could not ask for nicer people. THe drive to the hotel is a bit long but its a pretty drive and the driver was very entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebekka
Business
Schweiz
Aug 30, 2011

great beach, good food, unfriendly staff

Architectually well done, all rooms have ocean view. Nice rooms, rather big, quiet. Room fridge on arrival empy and not every day refilled. Food is really good, especially in the a la carte restaurants. Beach is beautiful, ocean great. Snorkeling average. Very negative: staff is very unfriendly, just can't be bothered for any requests. (Exeption: a la carte restaurants). Their informations (about the golf shuttle for example) are bored, false and lack any smile. Gives the whole stay a bad taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Lychee Restaurant has great sushi!

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindseyT
Business
Scranton, Pa
Aug 23, 2011

Wonderful Couples Resort!

Couples Negril was a great time! The food was AMAZING with many options!! A lot of activities provided throught the resort, such as, catamaran ride to caves, snorkeling, glass bottom boat, and scuba diving. The staff is so friendly and welcoming, we didnt want to leave. The only negative thing I can say is the rooms need a little updating. Our AC leaked and our toliet broke but they were prompt on fixing everything. The bathroom was quite small and there are vents as a window inside the shower. Other than that our trip was WONDERFUL!!! We will definitely be returning to Jamaica and plan on staying at another COUPLES resort!! (by the way, you can visit the other Couples Resorts either for free or a small fee, for the day and use there services)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

They offer a trip to Margharitaville, if you want to spend an arm and a leg for food and drinks then go but if you dont do not bother going. It is SUPER expensive once you get there!!

Review of Couples Negril - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farmer Bill
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Excellent relaxing vacation

This is my first review. My girlfriend and I just returned from a five-night stay at Couples Negril. The beach is amazing. It is on a two-mile, private stretch of Seven Mile beach (along with about three other all-inclusive hotels), and there are very few vendors on the beach. I don't know what the ramifications of harassing vacationers are, but every vendor immediately stopped asking questions once we said we weren't interested. We only saw about five total vendors all week (walking up and down the beach all day every day). Contrast this with the separate five-mile stretch of Seven Mile beach just around the bend from the Couples Negril beach area, where we heard stories about people being harassed every five minutes. The water is crystal clear and calm; the white sand beach is raked daily, and there is no litter on any stretch of the beach. It rained each day we were there - anywhere from 30 minutes to a few hours, but always in the afternoon. Sunrise to 1:30pm or so was perfectly clear and sunny every day. Water is warm (80 degrees or so), and the highs were in the 90s. The employees of the hotel and every other Jamaican we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. I was told that the experience is different if you stay on the other portion of 7-mile beach, but I can't speak to that. Couples Negril has Hobie cat sailboats, scuba diving, snorkeling, wakeboarding, skiing, ocean kayaking, and other water sports activities for free. It appeared that the other all-inclusives on this stretch of beach offered the same activities. The only water sports that cost extra are waverunners and parasailing (we didn't do either one, but saw plenty of people doing it). The free Catamaran cruise to Pirate's Cave was great - they bill it as a booze cruise, but there is no loud music...just a relaxing sailing trip in the late afternoon. The hotel is the perfect size - about eight total buildings containing rooms, each of which is three stories. They are separated into groups of four buildings, so I wasn't even aware that the other half existed while we were there. The layout of the property is great - essentially all of the common areas are between the two clusters of room buildings. There are no buildings taller than three stories on the property, which is what I've disliked about other all-inclusives in the past (high rises). The rooms themselves are nothing to write home about, but we didn't care at all. They were clean enough; we had a "deluxe ocean view" room, which had only an obstructed, partial view of the ocean. My recommendation: either stick with the garden room (because you spend so little time in the room anyway) or splurge for the beachfront room (those would be worth paying extra). The "ocean view" rooms are not worth the additional money, as they are not close to the ocean, and trees essentially block all of your ocean view. The pool scene seemed fun, but we spent very little time there - we preferred to sit in the beach chairs or hammocks on the beach. There were plenty of chairs to go around - some in more active areas near the beach volleyball court and others where very few people sat. The workout room was much better than I expected, although we typically went running on the beach in the mornings. The convenient store in the hotel (for bottled water and sunscreen, etc.) was overpriced as expected - a bottle of spray-on sunscreen was US$22. So make sure you bring all those types of supplies with you. Overall, the hotel - though a bit dated - was exactly what we had in mind, the food was good (not great, but all was edible), the beach was perfect, and the people were amazing. I'd definitely return to this resort. One other pointer - Lychee was our favorite restaurant. The one for which you have to make reservations was our third or fourth favorite (out of four).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

AirLink offers quick flights from Montego Bay airport to Negril (the airstrip is literally across the street from Couples Negril). For $93 per person, you can fly less than 2,000 feet above the shoreline and see the beautiful beaches surrounding the island from MBJ to Negril. (You also avoid the 1.5 hour bus ride to and from MBJ.) We only took the flight one way, and I highly recommend it.

Back to menu Return to top