Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril (Jamaica), 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
13 reviews
great deal

It was clean, comfortable the staff was great and breakfast was delicious. It's very homey it's... See full review

  • Hot Ann
  • Jul 22, 2014
family

Everything and everyone was very nice. The only drawback was the loud music next door. See full review

  • heineken2
  • Mar 22, 2014
Unwind with true Jamaican hospitality in a private beachfront setting
The Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel brings every guest a sense of the natural beauty of Jamaica and the hospitality of its people. Gracious, personalized service and a stunning, one-acre setting will make this a vacation to remember. The hotel features only 30 rooms on a quiet stretch of beach, a plus for guests who do not wish to be bothered by late-night partiers. The Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel provides parking, direct beach access, air conditioning in all rooms, and two restaurants (one featuring Italian cuisine, and the other Jamaican and international fare). 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Beachside relaxation for singles, couples, or families; a full range of amenities available on-site or nearby
  • 30 air-conditioned rooms featuring a beachfront location, en-suite bathrooms, and personalized service
  • Wedding and Vow-Renewal packages available for the ultimate romantic Jamaican getaway
Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel Rooms
The Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel is a family-run establishment. The hotel offers superior and deluxe accommodations that feature air conditioning, en suite bathrooms, televisions, cable/satellite TV reception, and room service. Rooms are accessible for disabled visitors, and an Internet cafe is available on-site for those wishing to remain connected while away. The Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel features a broad range of amenities including private balconies, room service, and knowledgeable front-desk personnel who can recommend activities in nearby Ocho Rios. Mini refrigerators can be requested at the front desk. 
Things To Do:
  • Downtown Ocho Rios (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cool Runnings Catamaran tours (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Dunn's River Falls (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Mystic Mountain/Rainforest Bobsled (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Sandals Golf Club (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (3.5 mi/5.3 km)
  • Shaw Park Gardens and Waterfalls (5 mi/8 km)
  • Green Grotto Caves (15 mi/24 km)
  • Montego Bay/Sangster International Airport (60 mi/96 km)
Policies and fees
Please note that rates are based on double occupancy. For each additional person, a USD 30.00 fee per night will be collected at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Our deluxe rooms, which include a king bed and complimentary beach towels, are only a few steps from Negrils famous seven mile beach.
Superior
Our superior rooms, which include a queen bed or two double beds, have a garden view setting about a two minute walk from the beach. Complimentary beach towels and beach chairs are provided.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Faith57
Business
White Plains, NY
Aug 24, 2014

Poor Accomodation at Bar B Barn

The entrance door to the room is in a deplorable condition, the gap/opening between the door and the floor will allow animals the size of a cat, crab, rat or any other rodent to enter in the room. When we put the lights on moths, mosquitoes and other bugs were filling the room. Everything in the bathroom was RUSTY! the vanity around the sink is broken. the broken edge was catching my clothes. The lock box looked ancient. According to the front desk clerk, to use it additional fees are required. There was NO coffee pot or any sort of anything in the room.....NO ACCOMODATION. On top of the shelf as you enter the room there was some old clothes! the room smells musky! We were shown another room which was slightly bigger but looked the same. We did not stay there. we checked out same day few maybe an 1hour after arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hot Ann
Business
Bronx
Jul 22, 2014

great deal

It was clean, comfortable the staff was great and breakfast was delicious. It's very homey it's like ur home away from home. I would highly recommend this hotel to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is great night life any day of the week next to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heineken2
Business
deltona,FL
Mar 22, 2014

family

Everything and everyone was very nice. The only drawback was the loud music next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donna party girl
Business
jackson,kentucky
Nov 19, 2013

Great hotel

Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful....great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donna party girl
Business
jackson,kentucky
May 22, 2013

great place to stay

we had a very good time at the hotel....from sitting at the bar talking to the staff and other guests to laying on beach and relaxing......security took great care of us.....the staff did everything to accomodate.....very nice place...the food was excellent.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joy W
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Good Value- Great People

We came for our second stay at Bar B Barn because we love the beauty of the location and enjoy the people that work there. Hope is a fantastic server/bartender who makes you feel right at home. Cherise does a great job too, Our room was always very clean. The main concern we had was that they were operating with minimal staff as it the off season in Jamaica. This meant there was no security guard present during the day this time- this led to spending a lot of time being hassled to purchase everything from boat trips to ganga. After a week, it became pretty tiring. We would return but not likely on the off season because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the grocery store called the Hi Lo. There are 2- one is for tourists and one for locals. Go to the one for locals! The prices are better and you can get great deals on Blue Mountain Coffee and spices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancing Momma
Business
Indiana, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Ladies Only !

loved the location must request a fridge $ 5 a night. and no microwave. Location was excellent ! Staff awesome. One problem after I paid for a package deal they tried to make me pay for an extra person. Wasted to much time on tryiny to sort this out. i blame orbitz for not putting all this in writing as i requested. Used my $ phine to try and straighten out. Internet only works at office sometimes. I would go back if i have in writing everything from Orbitz Loved jamaica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the office of Nature fresh lobster tail on the grill. Donot be afriad . and dance all night long. Go to the lighthouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
boston, ma
Jul 12, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

It had a wonderful welcoming family run atmosphere and I was surprised breakfast was included in the hotel fee. The bar was enjoyable, the access to the beach nice and easy and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you talk with the locals, they can steer you to affordable recreational locations. Even the shuttle transport back to Mobay was arranged for me upon request by the hotel and it was very affordable at 30USD pp for a private shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sarocchia
Business
Memphis, Tn
Jun 2, 2011

Don't harass me... I am a local...

Hotel was located right on Negril' beautiful beach. Rooms were so and so, beds were awful, food was good and staff was awesome but the big downsize was that there was no security on the beach. Not because the place it's not safe but because of the constant harassment from the local beach sellers.. Literally you could not lay on the beach for more than five minutes and here we go... Somebody trying to sell yousomething! I have travelled quite a bit...even in more depressed areas but this was by far theworst. Maybe it was because being low season there were only a handful of turists and you would run into every seller on the beach. Definitely will go back to jamaica, it's a beautiful island but would probably choose a different location, less touristy..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bar-B-Barn Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma,
Feb 15, 2011

never again

the room was small,not enough towels or chairs for the beach. the hotel tried telling us we owed another 120 dollars until we showed our confirmation from [...].lhave been to negril 9 times and this is by far the worst place i have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top