$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
405 reviews
Amazing Stay

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we stayed for a week. The food was surprisingly good.... See full review

  • The honeymooners Jul 2014
  • Aug 4, 2014
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4628 -77.9383
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Sangster Airport (MBJ) - 7 Miles W.
Area description
Nestled on its own private peninsula and only 15 minutes drive from the Montego Bay Airport, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa is cradled by exquisite white sand beaches. While convenient to all the shopping, clubbing and nightlife of Montego Bay, this new, all-inclusive getaway offers all the privacy and seclusion of an island retreat.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (405)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 405
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oral D
Business
Brooklyn New York
Jun 11, 2014

I WAS PROFILED

I had the worst experience ever in my life at this resort and would not wish this on my enemies. I was sitting on a beach chair by the pool bar and a male friend of mine sat beside me on the same chair. The Security Manager approached me, surrounded by many other guests and told me that it is alleged that me and my male friend were seen kissing and that was offensive to other guests etc. I was so distraught because of this blatant lie and my entire trip went terrible wrong. So a WARNING to future guests if you are seeing in the company of another male be aware you will be profiled. Of course I will be taking legal actions on all involved parties for ruining my paid vacation. Also DO NOT pay for the wifi cause it rarely work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah2483
Business
maryland
Jul 18, 2013

Will be returning soon!!!

I celebrated my 30th birthday here with some girlfriends, and absolutely loved every minute of it. The receptionists were great, very friendly and helpful. One of the managers went out of her way to help me find a restauraunt int he town that had a specific food i was craving. Arnese, the excursions rep was FANTASTIC very helpful, and professional, and made you feel like you were best friends. The wait staff were terrific, and were very friendly. I thouroughly enjoyed the nightly entertainment, especially when the Silver Birds Steal band performed. A true Highlight of the stay. I visited in June, ad now plan on returning in Novemeber, but for more of a family vacation.. The resort has a kids club, during the day, and also offers babysitting at night...$10/hr after 10pm. I highly recommend this resort to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Jaital for the airport shuttles, $10 per person one way. Use the hotel shuttles to margaritaville and pier 1. they are free. Manytourists are extorted by the cab drivers, especialy when you have been drinking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom traveller
Business
Ontario, Canada
Apr 14, 2013

Good family getaway

The staff were fantastic. Food was great. Good variety. Entertainment good. The hotel is a clean but could use a little updating. Would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Lo
Business
New York City
Apr 2, 2013

Great deal & wonderful staff !!!

I had a wonderful time at Sunset Beach, the entertainment is great & the employees in the entire hotel are so nice and helpful. I really enjoyed the daily Reggae Zumba activity by the main pool. The food is delicious & the waiters really make you feel like queens/ kings, especially Anthony. Thank you Anthony! I'll definitely go back to Sunset Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doreen S
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Dec 3, 2012

thanksgiving get away

first of all, if you want a quiet get away, don't go there, very family oriented and many kids. The food was ok, staff wasn't overly friendly, but what upset me the most is the lack of a long beach, it had small beaches but when I went in the ocean, I got a splinter one day and then stung by a jellyfish the next. The pool water was very cold. Drinks were delicious. Definitely not my first choice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Awesome
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Nov 26, 2012

Great getaway

The staff, especially the entertainment and bell boys were very friendly. The view from my room was also great! I did not like the fact that the restaurants needed to be booked ahead of time to get in. Also, it was very difficult to get tours arranged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella Got Her Groove Bak
Business
White Plains, NY
Nov 4, 2012

Great getaway

This was a relatively short stay for me. The location (close to airport), amenities, and hospitality were just what I needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sweet devotion
Business
London England
Oct 18, 2012

Perfect for the family

Good entertainment, good food, family friendly, beautiful weather and friendly staff. Ideal place to relax and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Supermel
Business
New York
Oct 14, 2012

ok

Experirnce could have been better. Does not offer free wifi as advertised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trravelerr
Business
Texas, USA
Oct 13, 2012

Great value

I traveled single. - Resort is rather large, and a short tour would have helped navigate - Staff is friendly; but assumes you know your way around. So, when asking directions, they come out a bit short. - Food on the buffet is tasty; not awesome. Specialty outlets are so-so. The service at these outlets was great. Food presentation is very nice. Taste = mediocre. - The beach area is not that big. But, it is kept clean. - Location is a very short drive from Sangster International airport. It was the 2nd stop, on a shared ride. - A 4" water pipe broke during my stay. We lost water supply for a whole day(one side of the resort). Though the supply was restored the same day, the communication about how/where to take a shower..etc was very poor. There was a letter of apology from the management, left at my room door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are adventurous, take the Chukka Adventure with Chukka Tours. It was AWESOME!!!! The BEST money I spent while in Jamaica. Tours with "Jamaica Tours" was marginal. They are NOT organized, and I spent extra time at each pick up, so they could get their act together. Price was ok. Go to Negril beach!!!! It is BEAUTIFUL and the sunset is breathtaking!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top