Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
612 reviews
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
very good

they make us feel at home THE SERCIVE WAS GOOD. THE POOL FOR THE BOYS AND FOR me was very good, the... See full review

  • mad man murdock
  • May 15, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4628 -77.9383
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Sangster Airport (MBJ) - 7 Miles W.
Area description
Nestled on its own private peninsula and only 15 minutes drive from the Montego Bay Airport, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa is cradled by exquisite white sand beaches. While convenient to all the shopping, clubbing and nightlife of Montego Bay, this new, all-inclusive getaway offers all the privacy and seclusion of an island retreat.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (612)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tropical Island Traveler
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 31, 2010

Not What I Expected

Swimming with the dolphins and attending the sumfest reggae festival were the best parts of our trip. We wanted to relax at the resort but ran into some unexpected issues. The beach at the resort was nice and most of the staff was very friendly. The room had little to no amenities. The nonsmoking room reeked of smoke. We even ran into cigarette ashes left from a previous guest. The railing on the balcony was riddled with rust. The toilet leaked leaving a puddle of water on the floor daily. One of the water sports staff members became very rude when we expressed concern about a small child that had gone far out into the ocean. The food was decent but our experience with the buffet food court took a turn for the worst when I saw a cockroach running around near the juice dispenser. When we returned home and opened the dirty laundry bag that had been sitting on the floor at the resort, we found a cockroach in the bag. We will not be staying at this resort again nor would we recommend it to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler77
Atlanta
May 1, 2013

Very Disappointed

This was my very first time to Jamaica, I was really excited about the trip when we arrived to the resort things were okay, but once we arrived to our room it was on the other side of the resort...a very long walk. Once we got into the room, we decided to walk around the resort have dinner and have some drinks, when we got back to the room the toliet was not working , we reported it several times, they came in to the room abt 4-5 times and tried to fix it. Finally the toliet was completely removed from room and was gone for about 2-3 hours. when the toliet was replaced the toliet still did not work. I then called several additional times and the manager was review the matter. The next morning, i went to speak with the guest relations manager, Ms Walters and she was extremely rude and stated she would not be compensating me and she would not be changing my room because the toliet worked. Then she threaten to have me removed from the resort after I paid my monies. The Operations/ hotel managers were involved and there was still never a compensation....the managers offered my fiance a meal at the resort retuarant ( which was free) and a free shuttle ride....I was so angry and ready to leave based on how the hotel manager handled the situation. Poor customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
O.h
Il
Aug 28, 2009

Don't go there!

Just came back yesterday from Jamaica. The hotel is horrible, no night life, drinks awfull, food is ok. Very unfriendly stuff, couldn't wait to go home. Would NOT recommend to anyone, safe your money and go to other hotel. I've been travel a lot and this is my worst vacation ever. Very disapoitned couse read only positive reviews before my treap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MzFlavor
PA
Jul 28, 2009

Hated It

This trip was for the budget traveler. The rooms were below the most affordable hotels like comfort inn budget hotels in the U.S. There was a constant Loud smell of "weed" in the halls and elevators. The guest were loud in the halls and my neighbors decided to breakup for two days by fighting, screamoing and yelling. The drinks were awful and tasted watered down. The female staff was nice but many had attitudes. The male staff was nice but many never knew the answers to your questions. The rooms were old with water stained furniture and rust in the bathrooms. The AC never got very cold and when it did it leaked heavily on the floor. They ran out of bath towels one day and some of my friends were unable to shower for dinner because of it. There are a number of water activities and several pools. The food was below average and cold even though it was in covered buffet dishes. The entire foyer/reception area is open. You can see from the front of the hotel to the ocean. There is no air conditioning on the main level. As soon as you open the elevator door to the lobby the heat hit you. This was my first trip to Jamaica and it will be my last. I have travel a great deal in Europe and totally different concept. The spa was way over priced, just as the picture packages. $12.95 for a 5x7 and $15 for 3 wallet sized photos. Bring your camara and print them yourself. The rating of the hotel should be downgraded and nothing could have made my stay better except staying at a hotel with a higher star rating. Better food and drinks would have made my stay better. This has to be number one on my list of worst trips. Save you money and get better accommodations if you want to go to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nebraska
Aug 15, 2009

Do not go there, you will be So Unhappy!

This had to be the worst trip i have ever taken!!! The beach is full of rocks. The staff is so RUDE!!! No entertainment at all boring night life.The food selection is horrible. You can only eat at the special restaurants 1 time. What do eat the rest of the time then cause the buffet was that bad!!!! We had to order out for Pizza!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the day trip to Negril and go to Rick's cafe!!! It was the high light of our whole trip!!! You will not be dissapointed the beach is beautiful!! No ROCKS !!!!

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kapster
New York, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Horrible experience

This was the absolute worst experience that I have had at a hotel. The staff were unfriendly and rude. The hotel room had many issues including a blockage in the toilet and the sink. When I called maintenance for assistance, I had to wait several hours. When they finally arrived, they made a mess trying to repair the toilet and the sink. I then had to request a change in my room. They moved me to a room with a balcony overlooking the lobby. Therefore, I was not able to open by drapes or sit on my balcony. The maid constantly left 2 towels and 2 towels in the room although there were four of us. I finally asked her if she could leave four towels and four washcloths. She told me that she could give us 4 towels but could not gurantee the washcloths. I did not dare ask her for any hand towels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando FL
Jul 18, 2010

Vacation 2010

Employees are 100% Very Clean If you stay for 7 Days you will eat the same for breakfast lunch and dinner no like punta cana in dominican republic or cancun in my last two years vacation the pool incliding the bar in the pool will close around 6 pm every day I will not recomend this hotel to my friends straight cats running around the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunset Downers!
Minerva, Oh
May 22, 2011

Worst Resort Ever!!!

Before I start my review I want to tell you what kind of people my Fiance and I are. We are both blue collar people who are both 26 years old with no children. We are not snooty or needy in any way, if we see a stain on the floor or a crack in the wall, this does not bother us. Now let me tell you that this Resort is overall the worst All-Inclusive we have ever seen/been to. The food was TERRIBLE, we actually lost weight the 2 days we were here... All the positive reviews on this resort have to be fake or written to mislead vacationers by the Sunset Staff/Owners. There were no activites or Event Staff, the volleyball net was gone and wasn't even there, the baskeball hoop was tore down, the outdoor pawn and checker boards were missing pieces... Like I said there was no event staff to have you do things throughout the day, there is a Waterpark which is very very run down and dirty. The pictures are VERY misleading, the Resort as a whole it very run down. When I spoke to a manager about all this he said, " If you are not happy there is a lot of off site Excursions you can do " meaning spend more money, wrong answer.[...] The Grand Palladium was only $50.00 more a night and was a complete night and day difference. The ONLY posisive thing I will said about Sunset is that the workers there were very kind and friendly and that the worker Najibee with Jamaica Tours was VERY helpful in transferring us over to Palladium. Trust me if you stay here at Sunset you will NOT be happy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

GO SOME PLACE ELSE!!!

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kapster
New York, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Horrible experience

This was the absolute worst experience that I have had at a hotel. The staff were unfriendly and rude. The hotel room had many issues including a blockage in the toilet and the sink. When I called maintenance for assistance, I had to wait several hours. When they finally arrived, they made a mess trying to repair the toilet and the sink. I then had to request a change in my room. They moved me to a room with a balcony overlooking the lobby. Therefore, I was not able to open by drapes or sit on my balcony. The maid constantly left 2 towels and 2 towels in the room although there were four of us. I finally asked her if she could leave four towels and four washcloths. She told me that she could give us 4 towels but could not gurantee the washcloths. I did not dare ask her for any hand towels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 22, 2009

Sunset Beach Resort

If your looking to stay at a place where you have no power for a couple of hours each day or no hot water for 2 days, and no air conditioning all night then this is a place to stay. We had no power for over 2 hours for one night and then no power for over 8 hours another day. We ended up having no air condition for one whole night. It was miserable. I don't recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top