$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
350 reviews
Honeymoon

This entire vacation was awesome. We didn't want to leave. See full review

  • Steph
  • Jul 20, 2015
Perfect family friendly resort.

Staff was very nice. You can book all your trips through the hotel. Food and entertainment we're... See full review

  • Steven R.
  • Jul 14, 2015
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.
General
Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, Jamaica
Location
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Dining
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Rooms
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Highlights
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Fees
The property recently opened three new restaurants including Chef's Table, Sunset Cafe serving light treats and the Pirates Galley serving Tex-Mex Cuisines which will open in March 2015. Both Sunset Cafe and The Pirates Galley are included in the all-inclusive package.  The dining experience at Chef's Table is at $60 USD per person. A minimum of 10 people are required for this experience available on Sunday, Wednesdays and Fridays each week. Reservations can be made through the hotel concierge staff sbrguestservices@sunsetresortsjm.com.
Policies
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.
Sunset Cafe
fresh and classy. The ideal location for late night snack or afternoon breaks for a tantalizing treat. The Sunset Cafe is open daily 11:00am to 7:00pm and 11:00pm to 7:00am. Choose from a variety of options: soups, sandwiches, salads, fruits, ice creams, jell-o and pastries, ice tea, ice coffee, lemonade, fruit punch, coffee and variety of teas. The dress code is resort casual and no reservations are required.
The Pirates Galley
offering a la carte dinner several nights of the week featuring Tex-Mex Cuisine including favourites; rice and beans, burritos, chips and salsa. No Dinner reservations will be required and dress code is resort casual.
Chef's Table
a surcharge restaurant; where our guest joins our award winning Chef's on the beach; cooking scrumptious cuisines centre stage where music, ambiance and scrumptious delights are in harmony. Tasty shrimp appetizers, grilled lobster and mouthwatering tenderloin steak are just some of the highlights. The menu showcases a six course with wine pairing, ticki torches sets the ambiance, rhythmic Caribbean music with white glove service. The Chef's Table dining experience may be purchased at US$60.00 per person to as an add-on to regular all-inclusive vacation packages. A minimum of 10 persons is required for this experience available on Sunday, Wednesdays and Fridays each week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosenberg family
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 20, 2014

Wonderful family resort - do not need to worry about anything!

We just got back from a week vacation over spring break with our 6-year old. I was a little concerned by some of the mixed reviews I had read before we left, but the resort was wonderful! I do not understand the negative comments. We had an oceanfront room in tower B, for a very reasonable price compared to comparable resorts - the room was updated, very clean and nice, and had a fantastic view. The food was very good for buffets (choices in a la carte restaurants looked pretty limited so we did not try that). On several nights there were special themes - a gala beach party, manager reception, pirate party, etc. There were a lot of activities for adults and kids - my daughter loved Club Mongoose and the counselors were great. There was a kids tennis clinic 3 times/week and adult tennis clinics every day- all of this was included. My daughter took private tennis lessons as well for $20/hour with the best tennis pro we have ever encountered, Tony - it was incredible. The service was wonderful and the facilities were very nice as well - beautiful location overlooking the water from the entire property, several different pools including lazy river and waterslides. There was a mini golf course, snorkeling, life size checkers and chess, many different bars, etc. Unless you are extremely difficult or picky, I do not see how you could go wrong with Sunset Beach Resort. A terrific value and a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
markgator
Business
fl
Dec 9, 2011

awesome vacation

This is my 6th Jamaica visit & my wifes 1st. We had the best time and we will return to the same place next year. The staff, the food, the water sport options were great. The tour options from the resort were easy to book and very enjoyable. Two thumbs up from both of us. Play Cinnamon Hill Golf Course!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Asian, Italian & Caribbean themed restaurants were very good

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suzee
Business
Manitoba, Canada
Dec 12, 2011

AWESOME VACATION

This was one of the best vacations we have had. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and very entertaining. We liked the food in the buffet, there was always alot to choose from. We liked the pools, the lazy river and waterslides. Entertainment was great. The rooms were very clean as was the hotel and the grounds. Booze was not watered down, sunny skies, great weather, beautiful people, great time to be had. Will go back again. Will recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Ask the desk to get a hold of jumpp. He took us out shopping and sightseeing. He will take you anywhere you want to go $10.00 us and he is you bodyguard, tour guide, He was great.

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb and Leroy
Business
Aiken, South Carolina
Dec 20, 2011

Fantastic getaway!

Never a dull moment. Fun activities provided daily. Provided a variety of food choices. A very clean facility with an awesome ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is very good.

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jlmlmlkobjll
Business
Windgap, Pennsylvania
Jan 10, 2012

Fantastic family vacation

The staff was great very helpful we felt guilty because they did everything ....The food was great actually it was one of our best vacation ... We will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maieve
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Feb 3, 2012

FANTASTIC for everything! with friends, honeymoon and family.

I love sunset beach resort.. everybody is so friendly and nice.. they always smile and the food was great! t'was fast service especially the booze! the resort is close to everything like activities, we are the last to pick up and first to drop off.. so you don't have to wait that long.. at night it was fun because they have activities for everybody like games and they have like mini concerts too! it's like a big family. shopping and clubs are close too! i will definitely coming back! love it! i don't know what else to say.. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yannier
Business
Reading, PA, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Wonderful Weekend

We were there for a destination wedding and we had a blast. The service was great and the food was amazing. The personnel was extremely friendly and they really contributed in making us feel at home. The restaurants, buffet and grill were perfect and the bars were everywhere. I never had so much Rum Punch in my life. The pools were great and we are already planning to go back in the summer with the kids who we are sure are going to enjoy the water park. I have recommended it to everyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Jamaican Food Rest was amazing, and so was the Italian.

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy jack of all trades
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 19, 2012

My first Jamaican getaway with a new love

This was my first outing in montegobay I finanally met my girlfriend of 4 months lives in stjames and soon to be my wife in the future I had a room with a ocean view connected to the beach took a lot of pictures on the week of valentines day the nights were nice the service was great people were friendly Iam coming back this July for my girfriends birthday the service was very nice Iam working on a next visit and will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Being on the plane gives you the view of sunset beach as soon as you reach Jamaica I considered it my second home my new second family is there

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marijke
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

great for all ages

Great food, plenty of activities, beautiful grounds and rooms. Food is excellent. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They keep the resort and beach very clean. Had a lot of fun. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for restaurants in advance. They are very popular, have excellent food and service and fill up fast.

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marijke
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Perfect resort for all ages

I would definitely go back again. The resort was amazing. I've never seen anything so beautiful. The food and service was excellent. We did take a couple of excursions but there is so much to do on the resort, you don't have to leave if you don't want to. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the Italian and Asian restaurants when you get there. They are very popular and have amazing food.

Back to menu Return to top