$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
405 reviews
Amazing Stay

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we stayed for a week. The food was surprisingly good.... See full review

  • The honeymooners Jul 2014
  • Aug 4, 2014
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (405)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Supermel
Business
New York
Oct 14, 2012

ok

Experirnce could have been better. Does not offer free wifi as advertised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trravelerr
Business
Texas, USA
Oct 13, 2012

Great value

I traveled single. - Resort is rather large, and a short tour would have helped navigate - Staff is friendly; but assumes you know your way around. So, when asking directions, they come out a bit short. - Food on the buffet is tasty; not awesome. Specialty outlets are so-so. The service at these outlets was great. Food presentation is very nice. Taste = mediocre. - The beach area is not that big. But, it is kept clean. - Location is a very short drive from Sangster International airport. It was the 2nd stop, on a shared ride. - A 4" water pipe broke during my stay. We lost water supply for a whole day(one side of the resort). Though the supply was restored the same day, the communication about how/where to take a shower..etc was very poor. There was a letter of apology from the management, left at my room door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are adventurous, take the Chukka Adventure with Chukka Tours. It was AWESOME!!!! The BEST money I spent while in Jamaica. Tours with "Jamaica Tours" was marginal. They are NOT organized, and I spent extra time at each pick up, so they could get their act together. Price was ok. Go to Negril beach!!!! It is BEAUTIFUL and the sunset is breathtaking!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady London.
Business
London
Oct 12, 2012

Money well spent

Over all the experience was good the hotel had a calm homely feel. The only down point is that there was not much in the way of choice when it came to food. (Which I can understand when it comes to wastage.) As the week before we stayed at another hotel which had so much different choices of food but there wastage must have been great. What they did have however was nice. If tour traveling with children then this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yeidy22
Business
New York
Oct 2, 2012

Its ok for the price

The resort needs a bit of upgrading to do when it comes to the towers which provides the guest with their rooms. They look old and look like a building. Also needs a outside paint job. The restaurant should have more of a variety in their menu. Lounge chair in the beach area need some serious upgrading, they were either broken or on the verge of breaking. Some staff do not seem too friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food could be better. Only food i liked was italian

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crissyy luv
Business
Miami
Sep 27, 2012

great stay

Staff was excellent Stacy was outstanding help me with all my concerns wish I could have stayed longer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goggles
Business
harlow england
Sep 23, 2012

good family getaway

good experiance would definatly come back better hotel than i thought, the only negative is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lela
Business
hastings on hudson, ny
Sep 19, 2012

it was cool!

We cannot afford a Half moon- or RIU just yet, so Sunset beach hotel was a great alternative to the more upscale resort. Initially the service seemed rather slow, and I've had a more friendlier staff experience. However, the food, the entertainment, the amount of things to do on the resort grounds were amazing. We never left once, and we never had to! I actually love this resort and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisAlly
Business
NY
Sep 10, 2012

great place to honeymoon and wed

my stay was very relaxing and comfortable, great atmosphere and staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the hipstrip is safe and much cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATL Sunshine
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 1, 2012

Reasonable hotel

The hotel was in a good location. the beach was really nice and the sunset view was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RebeccaR2012
Business
NY
Aug 30, 2012

Great Family Vacation !!

To Be very Honest I was very Leary in going To the SUNSET BEACH RESORT AND WATER PARK AFTER READING SOME OF THE REVIEWS. I am just wondering if this is the same Place other reviewers went. We were there 8/21/12-8/28/12 Just got back. We are from NY. We had a wonderful Family vacation, It was 4 of us , 2 children ages 12 & 16 .. Fun Fun Fun!! WaterSlides, 4 Pools, Beach , Entertainments all Day, Great Entertainments at Night. Tuesday & Thursday Buffet Dinner are the best Must Have. Tuesday Night Steel Band Night VERY TALENTED TEENAGERS. Highly Recomended Italian and Asian Restaurant , you have to Make Reservation which is not a PROJECT information desk is very Nice,Friendly and Helpful Be Nice to OTHERS AND THEY WILL BE EXTREMLY NICE TO YOU. We did not eat at the Caribbean Restaurant because of time. Bar and Grill great Jerk Chicken and Fish Sandwich. I am not a Drinker but the 7 bars was never crowed , Fast Service if you want someting to drink. Rooms were kept very clean, Great Houskeeping staff, Ck in was Great. Our Room had an Amazing Ocean View. We had a 1 bedroom suite but Regular Ocean View Rooms had the same Amazing View like ours. We did Dunns River Climb Lots of Fun, Rick's Cafe is BreathTakingly Classy !!! Highly Recomended,The Most Beautiful Sunset you will ever See and if you like to jump in the water from a clift Here is the Place for you :) Over All Jamaica is very Beautiful ! If you are Not STUCK UP and You are open Minded and want to have a Good Time for Less $$$ Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park is The Place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rick's Cafe And Dunns River Falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top