$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
401 reviews
Amazing Stay

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we stayed for a week. The food was surprisingly good.... See full review

  • The honeymooners Jul 2014
  • Aug 4, 2014
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4628 -77.9383
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Sangster Airport (MBJ) - 7 Miles W.
Area description
Nestled on its own private peninsula and only 15 minutes drive from the Montego Bay Airport, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa is cradled by exquisite white sand beaches. While convenient to all the shopping, clubbing and nightlife of Montego Bay, this new, all-inclusive getaway offers all the privacy and seclusion of an island retreat.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Accidental Vacationer
Chicago
Dec 4, 2012

What a place!

I missed the departure date for a cruise with my family due to my job and happened upon this resort because it was close to the cruise port. I thought it would be a boring and lonely vacation for the three days of waiting before the cruise ship arrived in Jamaica, but it turned out be an enjoyable experience. Samantha from entertainment generously gave me a tour of the resort when I first arrived. Nicole at the front desk was very helpful and Street at the water activities booth was very knowledgeable about the best times to get into the water. During lunchtime, I chatted with Davian from food service and we talked about Jamaica’s famous fruits, including the mango. At the time, there was no mango at the buffet table so he went into the kitchen to bring me a plate, saying that I should not miss this delicious fruit while in Jamaica. Every afternoon, I returned to a flawless room. Valerie from Housekeeping did such a good job, I couldn’t even find one grain of sand in my room. Desmine from Gardening was also very kind. General Manager Leon Golding was incredibly generous with his time as he answered my questions about the resort and the surrounding area. The only downside about this great resort is that you have to spend more than two days to experience everything because it is SO big. Finally, the price you pay for the value you get is exceptional and I couldn’t recommend this place more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doreen S
Fort Lauderdale
Dec 3, 2012

thanksgiving get away

first of all, if you want a quiet get away, don't go there, very family oriented and many kids. The food was ok, staff wasn't overly friendly, but what upset me the most is the lack of a long beach, it had small beaches but when I went in the ocean, I got a splinter one day and then stung by a jellyfish the next. The pool water was very cold. Drinks were delicious. Definitely not my first choice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buddy13's family
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Dec 2, 2012

fantastic vacation destination

Had a fantastic time there with my family. Swimmiing in the ocean and relaxing on the beach. All the staff there was very helpful. There are too many things to list here that I enjoyed. I would recommend this resort very much. Had a great time and I am planning to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Awesome
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Nov 26, 2012

Great getaway

The staff, especially the entertainment and bell boys were very friendly. The view from my room was also great! I did not like the fact that the restaurants needed to be booked ahead of time to get in. Also, it was very difficult to get tours arranged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dinnovative
USA
Nov 26, 2012

Fantastic Place! Amazing sights and staff! Loved it.

Do not get confused reading negative reviews. This resort is WONDERFUL. We went with family and everyone, even the picky ones, had a great time. The food was very good, and the staff is so hospitable and caring. The scenery was beautiful, and there was always something for us to do- minigolf, parasailing, beach, pool, hot tub, games, restaurants, basketball, tennis and the water park! Enjoy your stay, and do GO...you will not regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
khstoudemire
North Carolina
Nov 26, 2012

Beautiful, wonderful, awesome!!

My family of four - including daughters aged 16 & 13 - absolutely loved Sunset Beach Resort! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with big smiles from all of the staff and welcomed immediately with a cold beverage. We arrived early (before 2:00pm) and check-in was quick and simple. Coswayne (the bell man with a great personality) took us to our rooms with no wait, walking us by all the important areas we needed to see with a quick tour. Within 15 minutes of arriving at the resort, we were on the beach, snorkeling and finding some of the most amazing starfish, urchins, etc. in the crystal clear water. We quickly found the beach bar (our favorite bar and bartender - Alarecia!). There were more than enough lounge chairs (operational!) on the beach so we never had to fight for one. Also, Sunset Beach provides beach towels (that are in fine shape) so that was a plus. The main pavilion was huge and open with a constant breeze and wonderful tropical atmosphere. The buffet was good at every meal offering so many options there would be no way to try them all. The sous chefs at breakfast were amazing - handling six omelets at a time with perfection (definitely try the hot sauce in your omelet!). The grill served the absolute best jerk chicken I've ever eaten. We also tried two of the a-la-carte restaurants - La Bella Vita and Byrons - both of which were excellent - food and service. The resort offered a lot of entertainment options and had a great house band that played each night with additional performers regularly for variety. The steel drum band performance was my family's favorite. They played mostly current popular songs, all with a great island flair and fun choreography. It was infectious. Everyone at the resort was easy to work with and with a quick "No Problem" were able to sort out any issue with a smile. The bars were plentiful and always made a great drink - very healthy pours! The only minor complaint we had were in regards to the large water craft - two were "available" but neither were in working order during any part of the week. (I think they just sit the Sunfisher and Hobi Cat sail boats on the beach for looks...) However they did have kayaks and paddle boats that were operable. It was also unusual that the A/C in our rooms was turned down to 60 degrees when we arrived - talk about freezing! (of course, a "no problem" and an extra blanket took care of that right away!) Our rooms were in the East side of the Beach Wing which was very quiet. The grounds were lush and well manicured. We all enjoyed the water slides (definitely the most crowded of the pools) and the swim up bar. We took advantage of the spa services - massages & mani/pedis - and Sharon did a wonderful job on both. We did a day shopping trip in Mo Bay and another day trip to Negril & Rick's Cafe - very worth doing. We hired a driver for both - Everton McPherson - who was not only a great driver (DON'T even think of renting a car in Jamaica unless you have a death wish!) but he had such a great personality and showed us so much more than we would have seen had we taken a "tour". We all agreed that it was the best vacation ever and we would DEFINITELY return to the Sunset Beach Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort has arrangements with some of the local restaurants and they will pick you up for dinner or nightlife and then return you to the resort. Actual cost of the food/nightlife itself not included in all-inclusive but definitely worth it if you want to try something "off resort" without paying a hefty taxi fee. ALSO definitely try the beef patties (also a $2 fee) that are sold on the cart each day from 12-5 at the resort - they're delicious, especially with hot sauce!

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guytano
queens, NY
Nov 22, 2012

priced right

my first time at a all inclusive. food selections get boring but you can always find something to eat. its not great but for the price its worth it. we had a good time and I would go back if I returned to jamaica . great for families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

theres a bus that picks you up at the hotel every night to take people to margaritaville

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grant Oakes
Business
Denver, Colorado
Nov 15, 2012

Great for families

The staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were very clean and lots of things to do. Only hiccup I encountered was the wifi was spotty at times, sometimes requiring a 30-45 minute wait to connect to the internet. Only other suggestion is for them to print a map of the facilites to pass out to guests so they can navigate the property better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Kelly Water Sports were great! I went SCUBA diving and they were just super!

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2nd time to Jamaica
Buffalo, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Girls Trip

A friend and I stayed at this resort for 10 days and we felt right at home! We were there for Hurricane Sandy and the hotel staff and management kept us informed and well taken care of the whole day and a half of the storm. They even moved people from other resorts to stay at Sunset Beach because they would be more safe staying there then where they were! The food and drinks are good, many different choices. Must try the Silk Road Asian A la carte restaurant!! I will stay here again on another trip to Jamaica!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop off of the "Hip Strip" for better bargaining deals. Be prepared to get haggled if you are shopping in the Montego Bay craft markets....

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stella Got Her Groove Bak
White Plains, NY
Nov 4, 2012

Great getaway

This was a relatively short stay for me. The location (close to airport), amenities, and hospitality were just what I needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search