$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah2483
Single
maryland
Jul 18, 2013

Will be returning soon!!!

I celebrated my 30th birthday here with some girlfriends, and absolutely loved every minute of it. The receptionists were great, very friendly and helpful. One of the managers went out of her way to help me find a restauraunt int he town that had a specific food i was craving. Arnese, the excursions rep was FANTASTIC very helpful, and professional, and made you feel like you were best friends. The wait staff were terrific, and were very friendly. I thouroughly enjoyed the nightly entertainment, especially when the Silver Birds Steal band performed. A true Highlight of the stay. I visited in June, ad now plan on returning in Novemeber, but for more of a family vacation.. The resort has a kids club, during the day, and also offers babysitting at night...$10/hr after 10pm. I highly recommend this resort to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Jaital for the airport shuttles, $10 per person one way. Use the hotel shuttles to margaritaville and pier 1. they are free. Manytourists are extorted by the cab drivers, especialy when you have been drinking!

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
icy101
Couples
Florida
Jun 29, 2013

Dirty hotel

I am sorry we stayed at this Sunset Beach and Spa.. We paid 100.00 to upgrade and it was still not good. The bathroom was dirty and there was not a chair to sit in.We booked a room with a king bed but they at the desk said more money we would have to pay m ore money . The drink at the bar was watered down .No good red stripe We had to buy outside. The orange juice was from concentrates.The money spent for the hotel was a lot for such a mediocre place Not worth it .The next time i go to JA i will not go near this place. The dining room staffs were nice but front desk staff was clueless on how to make guests happy on their vacation.I already told everyone how bad it was.ORB ITZ need to give us back 1/2 of our money. That was the worst hotel experience for us.There was also a bathroom in the lobby that was flooded and I told a staff who did not even care. The guest entertainment was sad too. Not even a club to dance.NOT GOOD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaches Forever
Friends
Denver, Colorado
Jun 22, 2013

Not too shabby

The hotel room was clean and the staff very friendly. Was a bit disappointed with the Jerk Chicken as it tasted more like something I could make at home from a cookbook. What really made our vacation a low was the fact that Internet was not free ( $15 a day per PC or Tablet ) as it has always been at any hotel we've stayed in. Unless they change this policy I'm not sure would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLM31412
Couples
Albany New York
May 5, 2013

Unforgettable

The name doesn't even begin to describe the amazing views at sunset beach. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping kept our room incredibly clean. the staff was so friendly and helpful. Food choices were great every night and restaurant service was above and beyond. i will be booking a trip back as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler77
Couples
Atlanta
May 1, 2013

Very Disappointed

This was my very first time to Jamaica, I was really excited about the trip when we arrived to the resort things were okay, but once we arrived to our room it was on the other side of the resort...a very long walk. Once we got into the room, we decided to walk around the resort have dinner and have some drinks, when we got back to the room the toliet was not working , we reported it several times, they came in to the room abt 4-5 times and tried to fix it. Finally the toliet was completely removed from room and was gone for about 2-3 hours. when the toliet was replaced the toliet still did not work. I then called several additional times and the manager was review the matter. The next morning, i went to speak with the guest relations manager, Ms Walters and she was extremely rude and stated she would not be compensating me and she would not be changing my room because the toliet worked. Then she threaten to have me removed from the resort after I paid my monies. The Operations/ hotel managers were involved and there was still never a compensation....the managers offered my fiance a meal at the resort retuarant ( which was free) and a free shuttle ride....I was so angry and ready to leave based on how the hotel manager handled the situation. Poor customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom traveller
Single
Ontario, Canada
Apr 14, 2013

Good family getaway

The staff were fantastic. Food was great. Good variety. Entertainment good. The hotel is a clean but could use a little updating. Would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShellToez
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Apr 13, 2013

Much Needed Getaway at Great Price

It was an all inclusive girls trip (just 2 of us) to relax and regroup. The first night there, we had a room with 1 bed so we asked to be moved to a room with 2 which caused us to lose half a day the next day while we waited for a room. A bit of a pain but after that was resolved, the rest of the visit was great. The staff from the concierge to the bartenders were awesome. The festivities were "cute", food was pretty good and the spa services and beach was very relaxing. The rooms are a little dated but I didn't mind it. I definitely recommend trying one of the on-site restaurants and a day trip to Negril or elsewhere. Our onsite lady with JTL tours was the BEST! The only other thing I was confused about were the supposed included non-motorized sports; snorkeling cost which didn't make sense. And I wish they had free wi-fi. However, for my first visit to Jamaica, it was a pleasant one that has definitely made me want to return...sooner rather than later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Negril Sunset trip to Rick's Cafe and Margaritaville was beautiful. Would totally recommend this trip for shopping/entertainment/attraction purposes.

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.J..nyc
Family
ny
Apr 4, 2013

trip dates...march 26...to April 2 .2013

hotel was sold out for this Easter week...alot of families,kids..hotel is streched out...i would say hotel is nice..our kids got a little bored ...there was plenty of food...activities seem to have been lacking...but three younger your kids...they probably like it more...teenagers...not so much...rooms were fine...ac..tv..cable were good...the weather has alot to do with it...first 3days were cloudy...raining...then the sun came out...finally...next few days ...cloudy/ sunny...not the greatest of weather...hip strip...went to margarita ville...thurs is ladies night...sat night is said to be there best night there...place is on the water...hotel gives u free transport to club...and brings u back...10 bucks entrance...club was good...no problems there..music good...brings u back at about 2..3 am....about ten minute commute..place is ok..ommlette is on the money...tip him every day...he deserves it..the guy is cooking 5 to 6 people at a time...bar..was like other all inclusives....jim bean wisky..sky vodka...red stripe,tap beer...would i go there again?...maybe...but i prefer a place that u can walk out side and there are other bars/ clubs...casinos...etc...btw....casino here are only slots...no table games...no ...b.j...poker.....but then again...this trip was for the kids...place is decent...depends on the price...and weather.!!...hope review helped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Lo
Single
New York City
Apr 2, 2013

Great deal & wonderful staff !!!

I had a wonderful time at Sunset Beach, the entertainment is great & the employees in the entire hotel are so nice and helpful. I really enjoyed the daily Reggae Zumba activity by the main pool. The food is delicious & the waiters really make you feel like queens/ kings, especially Anthony. Thank you Anthony! I'll definitely go back to Sunset Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The whole gang
Family
Long Island, NY
Apr 1, 2013

Relaxation time

Very nice hotel. Needs a little updating. Pools were great and so was the staff. They couldn't be nicer. Time to spend a little money fixing up the mini golf and getting some new equipment. Same for ping pong tables. Good music, and great for kids and families! Free wi-fi would have been nice too. They food was plentiful and pretty good. Don't pass up the restaurants which were very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top