$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
406 reviews
Amazing Stay

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we stayed for a week. The food was surprisingly good.... See full review

  • The honeymooners Jul 2014
  • Aug 4, 2014
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (406)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 406
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peaches Forever
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 22, 2013

Not too shabby

The hotel room was clean and the staff very friendly. Was a bit disappointed with the Jerk Chicken as it tasted more like something I could make at home from a cookbook. What really made our vacation a low was the fact that Internet was not free ( $15 a day per PC or Tablet ) as it has always been at any hotel we've stayed in. Unless they change this policy I'm not sure would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danhardt
Business
Orwigsburg, Pa.
Jun 22, 2013

Very friendly

Second time visiting Sunset Beaches. Love this hotel. The staff bends over backwards to please you. Just show them some respect ;D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Scuba diving with Kelly Water Sports.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loving Jamaica Amber
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
May 26, 2013

First Time in Jamaica

My friend and I stayed at this hotel. Please call prior to the trip to confirm the type of room you have reserved as we received the wrong room. The hotel was able to accommodate us the following day. Be sure to plan for your meals as there is no room service. You will however find some very nice staff at the hotel. The hotel provides resources for all types of excursions available in Jamaica. The night time entertainment is okay but overall I would come back to this hotel for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel provides a shopping excursion at an additional charge. You have limited time to shop in each location; please use your time wisely. Because time is limited, if you see an item you desire, please purchase it from the first location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
don s
Business
bliss,ny
May 13, 2013

great hotel

wonderful stay, would love to go back again . staff was great and the whole experience was just great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ricky G
Business
North Miami Beach, Florida
May 9, 2013

The Best Ever

This hotel was better than expected to be. The moment you arrive at the hotel the bag person takes your bags and goes to the bar and got us all drinks. The staff was nive and friendly, the rooms were clean and beautiful. We had a cabana right on the beach which was beautiful. The food selection was great starting with breakfeast which had more than 50 selections and were different everyday, lunch and dinner being the same. The resort had great drinks and great bartenders who always were happy to make a great strong drink. The resort has a few different restaurants which you need to make reservations in advance which were all great. The bottom line is if you were thinking about going here do not change your mind and GO!!! This was the best vacation I ever had in my life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out the Asian and Jamaican restaurant on site at the hotel, both were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLM31412
Business
Albany New York
May 5, 2013

Unforgettable

The name doesn't even begin to describe the amazing views at sunset beach. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping kept our room incredibly clean. the staff was so friendly and helpful. Food choices were great every night and restaurant service was above and beyond. i will be booking a trip back as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler77
Business
Atlanta
May 1, 2013

Very Disappointed

This was my very first time to Jamaica, I was really excited about the trip when we arrived to the resort things were okay, but once we arrived to our room it was on the other side of the resort...a very long walk. Once we got into the room, we decided to walk around the resort have dinner and have some drinks, when we got back to the room the toliet was not working , we reported it several times, they came in to the room abt 4-5 times and tried to fix it. Finally the toliet was completely removed from room and was gone for about 2-3 hours. when the toliet was replaced the toliet still did not work. I then called several additional times and the manager was review the matter. The next morning, i went to speak with the guest relations manager, Ms Walters and she was extremely rude and stated she would not be compensating me and she would not be changing my room because the toliet worked. Then she threaten to have me removed from the resort after I paid my monies. The Operations/ hotel managers were involved and there was still never a compensation....the managers offered my fiance a meal at the resort retuarant ( which was free) and a free shuttle ride....I was so angry and ready to leave based on how the hotel manager handled the situation. Poor customer Service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom traveller
Business
Ontario, Canada
Apr 14, 2013

Good family getaway

The staff were fantastic. Food was great. Good variety. Entertainment good. The hotel is a clean but could use a little updating. Would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShellToez
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 13, 2013

Much Needed Getaway at Great Price

It was an all inclusive girls trip (just 2 of us) to relax and regroup. The first night there, we had a room with 1 bed so we asked to be moved to a room with 2 which caused us to lose half a day the next day while we waited for a room. A bit of a pain but after that was resolved, the rest of the visit was great. The staff from the concierge to the bartenders were awesome. The festivities were "cute", food was pretty good and the spa services and beach was very relaxing. The rooms are a little dated but I didn't mind it. I definitely recommend trying one of the on-site restaurants and a day trip to Negril or elsewhere. Our onsite lady with JTL tours was the BEST! The only other thing I was confused about were the supposed included non-motorized sports; snorkeling cost which didn't make sense. And I wish they had free wi-fi. However, for my first visit to Jamaica, it was a pleasant one that has definitely made me want to return...sooner rather than later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Negril Sunset trip to Rick's Cafe and Margaritaville was beautiful. Would totally recommend this trip for shopping/entertainment/attraction purposes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.J..nyc
Business
ny
Apr 4, 2013

trip dates...march 26...to April 2 .2013

hotel was sold out for this Easter week...alot of families,kids..hotel is streched out...i would say hotel is nice..our kids got a little bored ...there was plenty of food...activities seem to have been lacking...but three younger your kids...they probably like it more...teenagers...not so much...rooms were fine...ac..tv..cable were good...the weather has alot to do with it...first 3days were cloudy...raining...then the sun came out...finally...next few days ...cloudy/ sunny...not the greatest of weather...hip strip...went to margarita ville...thurs is ladies night...sat night is said to be there best night there...place is on the water...hotel gives u free transport to club...and brings u back...10 bucks entrance...club was good...no problems there..music good...brings u back at about 2..3 am....about ten minute commute..place is ok..ommlette is on the money...tip him every day...he deserves it..the guy is cooking 5 to 6 people at a time...bar..was like other all inclusives....jim bean wisky..sky vodka...red stripe,tap beer...would i go there again?...maybe...but i prefer a place that u can walk out side and there are other bars/ clubs...casinos...etc...btw....casino here are only slots...no table games...no ...b.j...poker.....but then again...this trip was for the kids...place is decent...depends on the price...and weather.!!...hope review helped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top