$422 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
414 reviews
Great Family Trip

The staff was very accommodating, the property is beautiful and well kept. We were never hungry or... See full review

  • Zarena B.
  • Feb 27, 2015
Sunset Beach

Great experience. Food was amazing, plentiful, and unlimited if you bought the inclusive package.... See full review

  • ryan l.
  • Feb 11, 2015
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.
Policies and Fees
The property recently opened three new restaurants including Chef's Table, Sunset Cafe serving light treats and the Pirates Galley serving Tex-Mex Cuisines which will open in March 2015. Both Sunset Cafe and The Pirates Galley are included in the all-inclusive package.  The dining experience at Chef's Table is at $60 USD per person. A minimum of 10 people are required for this experience available on Sunday, Wednesdays and Fridays each week. Reservations can be made through the hotel concierge staff sbrguestservices@sunsetresortsjm.com.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.
Sunset Cafe
fresh and classy. The ideal location for late night snack or afternoon breaks for a tantalizing treat. The Sunset Cafe is open daily 11:00am to 7:00pm and 11:00pm to 7:00am. Choose from a variety of options: soups, sandwiches, salads, fruits, ice creams, jell-o and pastries, ice tea, ice coffee, lemonade, fruit punch, coffee and variety of teas. The dress code is resort casual and no reservations are required.
The Pirates Galley
offering a la carte dinner several nights of the week featuring Tex-Mex Cuisine including favourites; rice and beans, burritos, chips and salsa. No Dinner reservations will be required and dress code is resort casual.
Chef's Table
a surcharge restaurant; where our guest joins our award winning Chef's on the beach; cooking scrumptious cuisines centre stage where music, ambiance and scrumptious delights are in harmony. Tasty shrimp appetizers, grilled lobster and mouthwatering tenderloin steak are just some of the highlights. The menu showcases a six course with wine pairing, ticki torches sets the ambiance, rhythmic Caribbean music with white glove service. The Chef's Table dining experience may be purchased at US$60.00 per person to as an add-on to regular all-inclusive vacation packages. A minimum of 10 persons is required for this experience available on Sunday, Wednesdays and Fridays each week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (414)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexisJenkins
Business
Upstate, NY
Jul 18, 2009

Great for first time visit

This was our first time to Jamaica. For me and my boyfriend and another couple we had a great time (all in our 20s). The hotel overall seemed somewhat outdated, mainly in the rooms, but we hardly spent time in our rooms so it didn't really matter. The views are amazing, the water is crystal clear and the people are very friendly and helpful. We asked many times about things to do around the island and different places to eat and the workers did not hesitate to talk to us and help us out. The food was ok, after late night hours its hard to find food which was disappointing (I DO NOT recommend ordering pizza late night from outside the resort!). The drinks were great for an all-inclusive package you really can't complain, but Wray and Nephew is dangerous! Red Stripe is the only beer at the resort, which was not a problem for us in Jamaica! We went on the Cool Runnings party boat to Dunns River Falls which is pricey but I HIGHLY recommend it, as well as the ATV Safari and Downtown shopping excursions. For our first time it was a great experience and a great value. If you are looking for a high-class fancy resort, this is not for you... If you are looking for a good time for a good price and can make the best of it no matter if the bathroom is a little outdated, you should have NO problem here, I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lapina
Business
New York
Jul 18, 2009

Great Hotel!!

This hotel is great!! The food is good the buffet and also the restaurant, the people who work in there are the most friendly people in the world. Is good for having a relaxing romantic time but is kind of far away for the city area so we had to take taxis or tours for going out and it was kind of expensive. Because there is anything for a walking distance from the resort. But everything was great!! .. We were very happy to choose tht hotel. Way to go!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

All the good night clubs have a free suttle from the hotel everynight round trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mish
Business
Pa
Jul 17, 2009

Great time

This was my second time staying at this resort. The staff there are wonderful and you could not ask for better service . They are always ready to take care of you with a smile on Their faces. The pools and the beaches are well taken care of and are very clean. The rooms could use a updating but are clean. If you are looking for a getaway this is the place. I know that I will be returning there soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel will arrange a shopping trip for you if you ask at guest sevices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
georgia guy
Business
georgia
Jul 13, 2009

3 night stay

I thougt for the money the place was very nice most of the staff were frendly the place was very clean the rooms were also clean the only thing i did not care for was teh food not very good but all in all it was a very nice place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Jul 13, 2009

Mo bay stay and getaway

All in all the stay was pleasant there were a few issues that I didn't foresee when booking. One was check in is not until 3, the hotel strictly enforces that, so after a 7 hour flight to jamaica when I wanted to go into my room and relax I couldn't, had to wait til 3 with my 7 month old son he wasn't happy either. So we had to wait in their open air lobby. Not exactly a good start to our vacation. Second Orbitz uses JTL as a transport company and they force you to use their company to do excursions I would use the hotel as an excursion company, not JTL, they are not organized at all. Plus the hotel was cheaper for the same excursions. Other than that food was great, service was great and the pool and accomodations were good. Was a bit disappointed with the rooms in general but not too bad. Didn't make that much use of the beach, but was good when I was there. All in all it was a positive experience, not sure if I would go to the same resort again, but it being the only family oriented resort in Mo Bay don't have much choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 13, 2009

Average hotel

Unfriendly staff, check-in was slow and rude. Wait staff and others were not welcoming. Only a few of the bartenders were actually friendly. Our group consisted of 8-10 of us, a friendly and easy-going group. Reservations for the actual restaurants were tough to get, and the food was absolutely terrible. We tried each of the three "reservation only" restaurants that were sit down, semi-fancy (we felt it necessary to dress up) but it was a huge letdown. I'm really not one to criticize food at all, but when the fast food grill that has burgers/sandwiches is the best thing to eat onsite, you have some problems. Most of the tropical drinks were watered down, and used a fairly weak rum. It wasn't until I started ordering non-tropical drinks til I finally felt I was getting some actual alcohol in my drink. My room was nice, I got a lucky view of the bay and ocean. It was cleaned everyday and I was very happy with that aspect of the trip. Overall I was happy with Jamaica. I would definitely stay someplace else next time. The noisy afternoons of loud, annoying DJs yelling over loudspeakers about some "fun" competitions at the main pool was less than desired (even for us 20-30 year old party goers.....all we wanted to do was get away from it and get some relaxing time).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chester, sc
Jul 13, 2009

jamaica trip

we had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hearts
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 12, 2009

Internet does not do this place justice

Hotel staff and the general manager absolutely excellent. Had problems with orbitz and the general manager was excellent was extremely helpful. Allowed me to use his phone to contact orbitz, and assisted in straightning things out. orbitz another story, recommend this hotel for families, couples as well as the single travelor, in my case. Felt perfectly safe and not awkward, Also able to travel outside the resort if you choose. Staff was wonderful, food great, east wing quite and clean. Hotel had lively entertainment and activities for quests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 10, 2009

Overall Good for the Price

I was very surpirsed with the size of the resort. Rooms were ok but we got the standard room so I don't know what the other rooms looked like. The pools were great and never over crowded. Beach was kind of small and you had to get up very early to get a good spot. Staff was super friendly. Drinks weren't skimped at all and if you wanted more alcohol in your drink they were happy to do so. There was a mix of singles, couples and families. I went during the off season so the lounge, Tamarind, was very quiet every night. Food was good for resort food. Buffet was much better than restaurants. Overall I loved Jamaica and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 8, 2009

great trip

This was our frst time to do an all-inclusive - it was wonderful. You could not beat it for the price. I would go back in a heartbeat. Great food, great staff, great accomodation.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top