$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
402 reviews
Amazing Stay

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we stayed for a week. The food was surprisingly good.... See full review

  • The honeymooners Jul 2014
  • Aug 4, 2014
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4628 -77.9383
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Sangster Airport (MBJ) - 7 Miles W.
Area description
Nestled on its own private peninsula and only 15 minutes drive from the Montego Bay Airport, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa is cradled by exquisite white sand beaches. While convenient to all the shopping, clubbing and nightlife of Montego Bay, this new, all-inclusive getaway offers all the privacy and seclusion of an island retreat.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (402)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wiggins Family
Mobile, Alabama
Jul 1, 2009

Great Value; Great Time

Forget the reviews. The only ones that write bad review can't be satisfied by anyone. It was a great value for the money. Five star? No, but a great 3-4 star. Every thing was clean and they upgraded us to ocean front without asking. These rooms are not suites the are hotel rooms, very clean with nice balconies. The furniture was a little dated but the beds were comfortable and the A/C was cold. Don't labor too much about the reservations for dinner. All the food was very good. We made reservations right after we checked in and had no problems getting the time slot we wanted. Our kids (21 and 23 stayed in the room next to us and had no complaints at all. The red stripe draft got a little old after about 4 days, but you could have any mixed drink you wanted. The buffet was pretty darn good. I heard some reviews say they had the same old stuff every day. I thought the food was above average and was changed up quiet a bit. The staff could not have been nicer and met our every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The catamaran/ snorkeling was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iga311
new york city,ny
Jun 29, 2009

excellent!

it was beautiful, many pools, activities, friendly staff and hospitable environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
Jun 22, 2009

great place overall, return 3x

play tennis,swimming in pools and ocean,read,drink,eat and eat and eat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

as soon as check in make restaurant reservations for dinner(in hotel) if you plan 3-4 day getaway. great Italian Rest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunset Beach Resort and Spa is Great!!!
Chicago, IL to Montego Bay
Jun 22, 2009

Nice Hotel Stay

This hotel is great and inexpensive. There were so many activities to do on the resort. We went snorkling, kayaking, played miniature golf, water volleyball, and tennis. The hotel offered a conveinent shuttle bus for only $8 to the shopping strip. Also provided free shuttle to the nightclubs and back. We did have a problem with the balcony door, but maintaince came up to fix it. Housekeeping took a long time to bring our towels also. Other than those minor issues, the hotel was great. The hotel had 3 restuarants, buffet, and beach grill. The food was ok. Staff was friendly. The spa was excellent. Nadine, our massage therapist, did an excellent full body massage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia,Pa
Jun 20, 2009

A great time at Sunset Beach Resort

My experience at Sunset Beach was the best time that I have ever had going to a Resort. I would go there over and over again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
jackson, tn
Jun 6, 2009

Great price for the stay

The hotel catered to any need/problem I encountered, that's what I really remembered about my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

plenty to eat at the resort, but if you want more the distance is not a far travel to get there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Deerfield Beach, Fl
Jun 5, 2009

A really nice resort

The water park was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL.
Jun 2, 2009

Commitment to Service

The overall experience was good. The hotel staff is professional and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The clubs are great and full of energy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamaica once a year
New York
May 26, 2009

Very nice!

The hotel was nice, the activities were decent, the bar was excellent, but the food was too "touristy". If I wanted burgers and chicken nuggets, I would have gone to McDonalds....not Jamaica. That's about the only thing I would change; the type of food. It was not representative of the culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Imanni
Brooklyn, NY
May 26, 2009

No problem Man!

Staff always friendly. Plenty of events schedule therefore you don't have to leave the resort. This is my second time at sunset resort and I have recommend it to all I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for the Italian resturant upon arrival, it books up fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search