$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
411 reviews
Amazing Stay

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we stayed for a week. The food was surprisingly good.... See full review

  • The honeymooners Jul 2014
  • Aug 4, 2014
An amazing time in an amazing place!

Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay in this resort. Our kids had such a wonderful time at... See full review

  • Mr Maroon
  • Jun 29, 2014
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (411)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
411 out of 411
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisAlly
NY
Sep 10, 2012

great place to honeymoon and wed

my stay was very relaxing and comfortable, great atmosphere and staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the hipstrip is safe and much cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiJetsetters
Business
Florida
May 11, 2014

Excellent

Great staff, great food, will go back again ! Had a really relaxing time with friends ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosenberg family
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 20, 2014

Wonderful family resort - do not need to worry about anything!

We just got back from a week vacation over spring break with our 6-year old. I was a little concerned by some of the mixed reviews I had read before we left, but the resort was wonderful! I do not understand the negative comments. We had an oceanfront room in tower B, for a very reasonable price compared to comparable resorts - the room was updated, very clean and nice, and had a fantastic view. The food was very good for buffets (choices in a la carte restaurants looked pretty limited so we did not try that). On several nights there were special themes - a gala beach party, manager reception, pirate party, etc. There were a lot of activities for adults and kids - my daughter loved Club Mongoose and the counselors were great. There was a kids tennis clinic 3 times/week and adult tennis clinics every day- all of this was included. My daughter took private tennis lessons as well for $20/hour with the best tennis pro we have ever encountered, Tony - it was incredible. The service was wonderful and the facilities were very nice as well - beautiful location overlooking the water from the entire property, several different pools including lazy river and waterslides. There was a mini golf course, snorkeling, life size checkers and chess, many different bars, etc. Unless you are extremely difficult or picky, I do not see how you could go wrong with Sunset Beach Resort. A terrific value and a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It's a Fletcher thing
Business
Ontario - Canada
Apr 14, 2014

9 days of sun and fun

Lots of things to do and the food was amazing - always a variety and the staff were overly heplful and VERY friendly. Enjoyed it - the only thing missing was a night life - get some tunes on the outer restaurant near the swim up and have a great party! would be a perfect location - the DISCO was disgusting - terrible smell - we tried 2 nights to go in and it was not good. We did enjoy the entertainment tho - you can see that the staff enjoys their jobs.... also wish the volleyball court was on soft sand - maybe near the rental boats? We enjoy our beach volleyball and didnt get to play due to the rocks :( THX tho for a great 9 days - made for some great memories and some good pictures

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go ZIP lining!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springbreaker27
Business
long island, Ny
Mar 25, 2014

best springbreak

Ive stayed here before. But this time it was even better i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danhardt
Business
Orwigsburg, Pa.
Feb 12, 2014

Scuba diving!

Had a fantastic time. Went scuba diving, para sailing and kayaking. Kelly water sports is very professional. Can't wait for my third visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Scuba diving is a must. It's only $110. You watch a 20 minute video, practice in the pool for as long as it takes you. Then off to the sea :D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1906
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Dec 16, 2013

Good place if you are looking for somewhere to take your family

I did not know so many children would be there.the rooms were ok, nothing to brag about. The food was excellent. The do not have top shelf alcohol. That was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendells
Business
Bronx, NY
Oct 17, 2013

Repeat offender with pleasure

I was at this hotel 10 years ago I enjoyed it so much I brought my younger sister who has never been to Jamaica, and we both had a blast. My only complaint is no internet in the rooms they need to step that part up. And we got stuck on the elevators twice but in there defense it did storm that day and they got us out within a few minutes. The food, the staff and the restaurants were all great and the food was to die for oh ok I guess I mentioned that part but it was great. Would recommend to anyone heading to Montego Bay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
handy granny
Business
Northwest PA
Oct 4, 2013

Great family value

This was a return trip to sunset Beach resort, and again we loved it! We were meeting friends there that also had a 5 year old. Our 3 kids had a great time! Between the 2 beaches, pools and kidz Klub the little ones were constantly entertained. The soft serve ice cream machine was also a treat. Staff was always cheerful and pleasant. A variety in restaurants made a change from the buffet. Evening shows were good and were suitable for the whole family. We will return to enjoy another time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

take sand toys for young ones

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daddy546
Business
Denver, Colorado
Oct 3, 2013

Father Daughter Getaway

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. A bit noisy at night, actually until 2:00 a.m. - You could hear the bass beat of the music they were playing in your room and that was a bit annoying. My daughter was stung by a jelly fish and had a bit of an allergic reaction. We visited the nursing station at the hotel. The nurse was very nice, but didn't seem to be able to do much. I know this was not the first jelly fish sting the hotel has every seen, but the nurses didn't seem to be able to help much. Swimming pools were great! But, stay out of the ocean water - jelly fish!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Rent a car. It is not as difficult to drive in Jamaica as you might think. You can see more and do more and is much cheaper than doing the tours and riding a bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CassondraF.
Business
Hempstead, NY
Sep 9, 2013

customer service horrible!!!!!!@ Resort

I came with two 16yr old that was bored!!!!!! Not enough activities for teenagers. And why the parents have to sign for Everything and they charge adult prices for them.The food was ok. Most of the women workers had attitudes. The men were very pleasant and helpful, specially Mr. Newton in the dining room. Me and My friend brought and extra person on the stay checked in the same day My friend paid 240. for a 26yr old I paid 300.a16yr WHY???? RESORT POLICY 100 A NIGHT. And manager was No Help at All!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top