$422 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
414 reviews
Great Family Trip

The staff was very accommodating, the property is beautiful and well kept. We were never hungry or... See full review

  • Zarena B.
  • Feb 27, 2015
Sunset Beach

Great experience. Food was amazing, plentiful, and unlimited if you bought the inclusive package.... See full review

  • ryan l.
  • Feb 11, 2015
At the Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark, you can enjoy an all-inclusive singles, couples, or family vacation under the Jamaican sun. Kids can splash around on the slides in the pirate-themed water park and search for bounty on the pirate ship, while adults will enjoy island-inspired spa treatments like the Blue Mountain coffee-ground body scrub. This Montego Bay retreat has on-site water sports such as sailboats, kayaking and snorkeling, plus tennis courts, a jogging track and games lounge, so that guests can enjoy an activity-filled break, or simply soak up quiet reflection by the sea.
Key facts
  • 306 guestrooms
  • Kids: Club Mongoose for younger children, Pirate Cove for teens
  • Restaurants: Banana Walk, La Bella Vita, Silk Road, Byrons, Sunset Beach Grill
  • Bars
  • On-site waterpark with slides reaching 40 feet high
  • Scuba diving, motorized water sports, volleyball and basketball (charges may apply for some sports)
  • Spa offering massages, facials and body treatments
Neighborhood
With its location right on the northern tip of the stunning Montego Bay peninsula, guests of the Sunset Beach are surrounded by white sands and translucent Caribbean waters, with the Caribbean Sea to the west, and the Montego River to the east. The true beauty of this peninsula is its near-proximity to a secluded desert island. Just a short jaunt will have you back to civilization, with shopping at the City Center Plaza, and history for the exploring at the remains of the 19th century Montego Bay Railway Station. Stay in the neighborhood for scuba diving and glass-bottom boats, plus a Summer Adventure Camp program for kids.
Hints and tips
Traveling with family? Opt for one of the suites in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers.Not only are these suites larger, they also feature giant balconies where any member of the family can escape to.
Policies and Fees
The property recently opened three new restaurants including Chef's Table, Sunset Cafe serving light treats and the Pirates Galley serving Tex-Mex Cuisines which will open in March 2015. Both Sunset Cafe and The Pirates Galley are included in the all-inclusive package.  The dining experience at Chef's Table is at $60 USD per person. A minimum of 10 people are required for this experience available on Sunday, Wednesdays and Fridays each week. Reservations can be made through the hotel concierge staff sbrguestservices@sunsetresortsjm.com.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive Rooms

Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Bay View Room
Bayview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers showcase panoramic views of the mountains, harbor and the city of Montego Bay, beautiful in the day and radiant at night. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanview Room
Oceanview Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers offer picturesque views of the Montego Bay Marine Park and the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.
Oceanfront Room
Savor your own Sunrise or Sunset in these Oceanfront Tower Rooms that directly face the beach for endless views of the Caribbean Sea. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. These rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. All oceanfront tower rooms interconnect and are perfect for families and groups.
Standard View Room
Standard Rooms in the Sunrise or Sunset Towers with views of the surrounding hills, tropical gardens, or the resort. Rooms have either a King bed or two Double beds with a private balcony. All rooms feature tile floors, tropical fabrics, dresser-desk, full bath with tub/shower combination, satellite TV, telephone with voice mail, in-room safe, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and coffee/tea service. Many rooms in this category connect.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa has one conference room which can accommodate 120 persons theatre style and 80 persons banquet style.

Dining

La Bella Vista
Two Seatings 6 pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. The resort's new Italian restaurant makes its debut offering a five course Italian menu. Dress Code: Dressy Resort wear.
Sunset Beach Bar & Grill
Open 10am-7pm and 10pm-1am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, and refreshing daiquiris.
Byron
Two seatings 6pm and 8pm. Reservations Required. Our completely new Caribbean Fusion restaurant with a laid-back atmosphere, great music and flavors of the region. Dress Code: Dressy Resort Wear.
Silk Road
Two seatings, 6pm and 8pm. Reservations required. Silk Road shines with sleek modern furnishings and a new, contemporary Asian menu. Dress code: Dressy Resort wear
Lounges & Bars
The resort boasts 6 bars including comfortable seating and cool cocktails in our popular lobby bar, Ortanique which opens 4pm - 11pm. The Sundowner Bar and Sundowner Swim-up Pool Bar - opens 10am-1am. Swim right up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, your favorite tropical concoctions, juices, and an assortment of beverages. Beach Bar opens 10am-5pm at the beach au naturel and at the main beach until 1am. The Tamarind is a complete evening experience with pool tables, dancing and complimented by a menu of tropical drinks and Red Stripe Beer. Open 6pm - 2am.
Banana Walk
Open 7-10am for Breakfast, 12:00-2:30pm for lunch and 6:30pm - 10pm for dinner. This seaside eatery has a sparkling new contemporary design with expansive buffet stations.
Sunset Cafe
fresh and classy. The ideal location for late night snack or afternoon breaks for a tantalizing treat. The Sunset Cafe is open daily 11:00am to 7:00pm and 11:00pm to 7:00am. Choose from a variety of options: soups, sandwiches, salads, fruits, ice creams, jell-o and pastries, ice tea, ice coffee, lemonade, fruit punch, coffee and variety of teas. The dress code is resort casual and no reservations are required.
The Pirates Galley
offering a la carte dinner several nights of the week featuring Tex-Mex Cuisine including favourites; rice and beans, burritos, chips and salsa. No Dinner reservations will be required and dress code is resort casual.
Chef's Table
a surcharge restaurant; where our guest joins our award winning Chef's on the beach; cooking scrumptious cuisines centre stage where music, ambiance and scrumptious delights are in harmony. Tasty shrimp appetizers, grilled lobster and mouthwatering tenderloin steak are just some of the highlights. The menu showcases a six course with wine pairing, ticki torches sets the ambiance, rhythmic Caribbean music with white glove service. The Chef's Table dining experience may be purchased at US$60.00 per person to as an add-on to regular all-inclusive vacation packages. A minimum of 10 persons is required for this experience available on Sunday, Wednesdays and Fridays each week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (414)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
His and Her vacation
Business
New York
Jun 24, 2014

The best vacation

We just came back from our 9 days of fun at this hotel. We had the best vacation ever. The only problem we had that there was no mini bar in the room but it was ok because of the unlimited drinks at the bars. We didn't go to the specialty restaurant because the buffet had good food everyday. The pool and beach was excellent and there is enough pools and chairs for everybody . The staff is the best I have seen at a resort we gave them tips to show our appreciation so bring a lot of singles. We went on the Negril all day excursion the trip was all day but you will have fun stopping at the beach and having lunch at Margaritaville and stopping at the famous Rae's Cafe and watching people dive off the cliff. The kids will have fun at the pools and the lazy river

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oral D
Business
Brooklyn New York
Jun 11, 2014

I WAS PROFILED

I had the worst experience ever in my life at this resort and would not wish this on my enemies. I was sitting on a beach chair by the pool bar and a male friend of mine sat beside me on the same chair. The Security Manager approached me, surrounded by many other guests and told me that it is alleged that me and my male friend were seen kissing and that was offensive to other guests etc. I was so distraught because of this blatant lie and my entire trip went terrible wrong. So a WARNING to future guests if you are seeing in the company of another male be aware you will be profiled. Of course I will be taking legal actions on all involved parties for ruining my paid vacation. Also DO NOT pay for the wifi cause it rarely work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bige nige
Business
Leicester, England
Jun 8, 2014

3* which felt like a 4* with some 5* staff

Very good experience of quality service. If this hotel had an overhaul on some of the decor and basic features it could easily be a 4* hotel, from management down to baggage handlers a very good experience..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Dont buy anything from the souvenir shop in the hotel, prices are pretty steep..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mad man murdock
Business
NEW YORK
May 15, 2014

very good

they make us feel at home THE SERCIVE WAS GOOD. THE POOL FOR THE BOYS AND FOR me was very good, the food also was good too. The rooms was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MiamiJetsetters
Business
Florida
May 11, 2014

Excellent

Great staff, great food, will go back again ! Had a really relaxing time with friends ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosenberg family
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 20, 2014

Wonderful family resort - do not need to worry about anything!

We just got back from a week vacation over spring break with our 6-year old. I was a little concerned by some of the mixed reviews I had read before we left, but the resort was wonderful! I do not understand the negative comments. We had an oceanfront room in tower B, for a very reasonable price compared to comparable resorts - the room was updated, very clean and nice, and had a fantastic view. The food was very good for buffets (choices in a la carte restaurants looked pretty limited so we did not try that). On several nights there were special themes - a gala beach party, manager reception, pirate party, etc. There were a lot of activities for adults and kids - my daughter loved Club Mongoose and the counselors were great. There was a kids tennis clinic 3 times/week and adult tennis clinics every day- all of this was included. My daughter took private tennis lessons as well for $20/hour with the best tennis pro we have ever encountered, Tony - it was incredible. The service was wonderful and the facilities were very nice as well - beautiful location overlooking the water from the entire property, several different pools including lazy river and waterslides. There was a mini golf course, snorkeling, life size checkers and chess, many different bars, etc. Unless you are extremely difficult or picky, I do not see how you could go wrong with Sunset Beach Resort. A terrific value and a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It's a Fletcher thing
Business
Ontario - Canada
Apr 14, 2014

9 days of sun and fun

Lots of things to do and the food was amazing - always a variety and the staff were overly heplful and VERY friendly. Enjoyed it - the only thing missing was a night life - get some tunes on the outer restaurant near the swim up and have a great party! would be a perfect location - the DISCO was disgusting - terrible smell - we tried 2 nights to go in and it was not good. We did enjoy the entertainment tho - you can see that the staff enjoys their jobs.... also wish the volleyball court was on soft sand - maybe near the rental boats? We enjoy our beach volleyball and didnt get to play due to the rocks :( THX tho for a great 9 days - made for some great memories and some good pictures

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go ZIP lining!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springbreaker27
Business
long island, Ny
Mar 25, 2014

best springbreak

Ive stayed here before. But this time it was even better i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danhardt
Business
Orwigsburg, Pa.
Feb 12, 2014

Scuba diving!

Had a fantastic time. Went scuba diving, para sailing and kayaking. Kelly water sports is very professional. Can't wait for my third visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Scuba diving is a must. It's only $110. You watch a 20 minute video, practice in the pool for as long as it takes you. Then off to the sea :D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1906
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Dec 16, 2013

Good place if you are looking for somewhere to take your family

I did not know so many children would be there.the rooms were ok, nothing to brag about. The food was excellent. The do not have top shelf alcohol. That was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top