$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of P.O. Box 1168, Montego Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisAlly
Couples
NY
Sep 10, 2012

great place to honeymoon and wed

my stay was very relaxing and comfortable, great atmosphere and staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the hipstrip is safe and much cheaper

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanna C.
Family
N/A
Feb 17, 2015

Relaxing vacation

Would recommend this resort. Lots of activities right there- beach, 4 pools, lazy river, free kayaking and snorkeling. Great staff and clean. Great for a relaxing vacation. Beautiful views from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shannon n.
Friends
SPRINGFIELD
Feb 9, 2015

Been twice!

Great trip overall..again! I've been twice to the same resort and each time I was very pleased with the staff, basic amenities, and clean property and rooms. It's a small resort, but great for relaxing. And I mean, come on..you're in Jamaica!! :) Close to airport too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

relax and snorkel right out front..relaxing!!

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G2Mill
Couples
Garnet Valley
Jan 22, 2015

great trip

Hotel is a great value. Rooms are fine and clean, but food is below average even for Jamaica. That being said, can't beat it for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Pack a large Mug or cup for drinks, or purchase one in lobby.

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlene M.
Couples
West Haven
Jan 22, 2015

NICE PLACE

LOVED THE FOOD, STAFF WAS GREAT. DIDN'T NEED TO LEAVE THE HOTEL FOR ANYTHING, EVERYTHING AVAILABLE ON SITE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bianca T.
Family
Capitol Heights
Jan 5, 2015

Great first time in Jamaica

I think this place is a little pricey but they do serve a decent variety of foods daily, free nightly entertainment which is actually pretty good. They had a fire breathing show and a guy balancing tables on his head they lost me when some girl came out and turn her back to the crowd to shake her but in one of those freak dances im glad my kid was distracted during that part. They could've done a better job keeping the beach clean of the seaweed that washed up. Don't shop in their gift shop everything is at least 30 bucks including the bug spray which was some kind of oil not the regular off spray. *go shopping on your first day, buy an insulated cup (all inclusive hotels tend to use very small cups) and buy your own liquor while ur on the shopping trip (the drinks at the hotel are very watered down). Know that when u come out of the castle slid IT SAYS 5FT BUT IS ACTUALLY 6ft DEEP! I literally al lasted drowned. The life gaurs was hanging out in the castle enjoying the shade and his cell phone. I would go back but only on a serious deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coaine R.
Couples
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

lover's getaway

I returned to this hotel after my lasy visit in 2007. it was just as good as it was then. Staff is super friendly and courteous. Entertainment was good and I particularly liked the beach party which had guests dancing the night away. Very good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nerine t.
Family
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Getaway weekend

Great value. Excellent staff. A quality option in the shadow of a luxury neighbor but definitely holding it's own. I would rate the hotel overall 3.5. But the staff is definitely a 5. Exemplifies why Montego Bay is known as The Friendly City and the tourism capital of Jamaica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zinag
Couples
Ludlow, Ma
Nov 21, 2014

Great anniversary getaway

Good drinks and good food, staff was very nice and courteous. Would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Satisfied Vacation Mom
Family
Memphis, Tennessee
Oct 9, 2014

Four Day Vacay

This hotel was average, and I probably will explore other options when planning future trips to Jamaica. I will list some likes and dislikes. Likes: it was nice being greeted with a cool tasty punch when checking in. Our bags were promptly taken to our rooms. We had a nice view of the Caribbean from our balcony (complimentary upgrade) . We thoroughly enjoyed the onsite paddle boats and kayaks which we took advantage of daily. There was always plenty of seating available in front of the water. There were plenty of pools to enjoy with doughnut floats provided. Our teenage sons enjoyed the two water slides. We enjoyed the main buffet as it had a variety if food choices at each meal. When the buffet wasn't open, the grill was available for tasty treats. Dislikes: I had read online reviews about the resort being outdated and I see now that they were all true. Upon first entering the lobby, it appears that the hotel has a more modern flair. Upon leaving the lobby to head to the elevator, it becomes obvious that the lobby has received more attention than other areas. The elevators are slow. Upon reaching our floor, I noticed that there were no security cameras in view which concerned me. There were also no ice machines/vending machines around. We were disappointed with the rooms: the doors would not close securely, it was difficult to keep the ac on a comfort temperature (either too hot or too cold), there was no microwave or refrigerator in the room, and no comfortable seating other than the bed. These are minimal things that have been available to us at other resorts. There also was no room service which we knew about ahead of time. The bathroom was very outdated; we had trouble getting hot water for the shower, reported it, it was not fixed. The teen center also was never open when my sons would go and check. Because I enjoyed staying in a hotel that was literally right besides the water and loved the entertainment, I truly did have a relaxing vacation. My husband on the other hand was bothered more by the things that I mentioned in the "dislikes" section. So, if you are one of those people who must have those things in order to enjoy yourself, than this hotel is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
081966
Couples
Whitby Ontario
Sep 17, 2014

Vacation

Staff was very courteous, pleasant and helpful overall excellent. We were upgraded to a better room. The maids did an awesome job. We were treated like family. The food was great most time. I would recommend that they prepare more low sodium meals. The entertainment can be improved by having a larger variety. It was a bit monotonous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the hip strip.

Back to menu Return to top