$424 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mussels
Business
buffalo ny
Dec 19, 2010

secrets wild orchid montego bay

beautiful facilities and room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

french restaurant was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elrico
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 15, 2010

Secrets Wild Orchid

My wife and I booked a long weekend and were traveling with another couple. The whole check-in process is disjointed, with arriving travelers ushered into a room with several check-in desks but no clear lines or process. We had immediate problems at check-in as the desk clerk informed us that the hotel was oversold. While he had a room at the Wild Orchid for our traveling companions, he said the only other room availabe was at the Secrets St. James, and wanted to move my wife and I there. Although the two properties are adjacent, we reserved a room at the Wild Orchid, and we wanted to be near the other couple we were traveling with. We told the clerk he needed to either move our friends over to the St James also, or find another room at the Wild Orchid for us and honor our original pre-paid reservation. After much deliberation, we were told that the clerk was going to bump the reservation of another traveler that hadn't checked in yet. He told us that priority is given to longer reservations, and specifically to some Europeans who come and stay several weeks at a time, but he was going to "break the rules" for us and give us the room. Regardless, we finally received the rooms we were waiting for, both in the Wild Orchid, and on the same floor. All the while we were expected to be grateful for simply receiving the rooms we had reserved and paid for months ago. Numerous other travelers we spoke to received the same song and dance, and had their parties spread all around both resorts, so be prepared. After the rocky start, we were pleased that the rooms were very nice; well appointed, with ocean view and a small, stocked mini-bar refrigerator. The beverages were re-stocked daily. We requested other beer options, but the mini-bar guy had only Red Stripe, and we didn't push the issue hard. Drinks were good sized and generally pretty well made. Liquor for mixed drinks wasn't bottom of the barrel, but wasn't top shelf either, although some higher quality options were available upon request. House wines were marginal at best, and wine for purchased was expensive for pretty basic stuff. Food was fair to good, with our best meal at the Hibachi grill in the Asian restaurant; it's the only restaurant where you need a reservation, and it's difficult to secure a reservation there, so do this early. Best bet was the local fare, not surprisingly, and we enjoyed the Jerk Chicken served in the restaurants, and especially from the Jerk Chicken cart that was paraded along the beach during the afternoon. Simple and delicious. Overall, a nice stay, but the reservations/check-in process leaves a lot to be desired, and definitely got us off on the wrong foot for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We found that a later dining schedule suited our group best. We lingered at the beach and relaxed until after the start of meal time in the restaurants. After showering and changing for dinner, we hit the restaurants after 8:30PM and had only minimal wait for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raven Fans
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 5, 2010

Pretty Nice

The overall look and upkeep of the hotel was beautiful. Service was good. Food seems to be the same at all Secrets chains. Long waits at resteraunts if you are not preferred. Entertainment needs to be kicked up a notch compaired to similar resorts. Beach very rocky and hurt! Drinks were EXCELLENT, they spared no expense. Bring lots of single bills for tips. Great location, perfect distance from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Summerville SC
Dec 3, 2010

One week getaway

The hotel is new and therefore has glitches that still need to be worked out. It appears that service personnel need to own a particular problem and follow up without the guest having to make repeated inquiries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pay phones provided on the grounds for collect calls to the US were a joke. The operator informed me that the numbers of family members I wanted to call did not accept collect calls (untrue, by the way). However, I was given the option of using a credit or debit card for exorbitant rate charges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.Reed
Business
State College, PA
Jun 28, 2011

Honeymoon at a great price!

Our hotel experience was great, everyone was friendly and great to work with!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan all of your excursions for one full day to save your resort time....the ride to all of these things is almost 2 hours so it saves you 4 hours of traveling time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
g8rphan19
Business
Chicago
Jul 1, 2011

Honeymoon

We were at secrets wild orchid for 10 days and had a very nice time. One down fall about montego bay is the lack of beach...resort was very clean and met a lot of great people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to downtown montego bay for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well-Traveled Couple
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 16, 2011

Will Return!!!

This trip was strictly for relaxation for us and we really loved this facility! It is clean and safe. The rooms are moderately spacious and it appears that most of them have an ocean view, ours did! The beach is pristine and the pools clean. They have great beachside/poolside service. The staff was gracious and helpful. Room service was always delivered within the hour. The gym was not as comfortable as I would have liked. The spa experience was a little bazaar - they wanted us to arrive an hour early and escorted us through a"hydrotherapy" session. That part was uncomfortable because the guide never really left our sides and didn't want us to skip any part. I usually go to the spa and get to relax before my massage. I would advise telling them you DO NOT want a hydrotherapy session prior to any other service you get. The actual massage was wonderful and the spa facility is large and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited most of the restaurants on site. The food was okay but better than most all-inclusives I've visited. I recommend the Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsNewlywed
Business
nj
Nov 13, 2010

Excellent Honeymoon!

We stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid Oct 20-28. I am a very picky person...especially when it comes to Hotels. This resort exceeded my expectations and I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. We ate at all of the restaurants: our favorites had to be Blue Mountain and the Hibachi for dinner..The breakfast at the world cafe is the BEST!!! our least place to dine was the mexican El Patio.Since we've been to Jamaica before and done just about all the excursions on our previous trip, our honeymoon was filled with a lot of sun and relaxation at the resort, which is exactly what we needed.....Although it rained every day (1 hour @ the most during the afternoon) WE Had A BLAST!Hotel staff was very friendly, especially [...] the bartender. Drinks were great especially at the swim up bar. We met alot of interesting and friendly ppl there and cant wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phil,pa
Nov 18, 2010

Good Place

Had a really good time.Just to get away and relax on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland TX
Jul 17, 2011

Great accomodations...not so great food

We actually got our room very quickly, though many guests were kept waiting. The room was beautiful and the grounds/beach/pool/views were phenomenal! Our 'Do Not Disturb' light did not work and housekeeping came pretty late in the afternoon every day, but overall everything was great. All-inclusive seems to mean 'drink as much as possible' so we were pretty tame compared to some of the guests. The food was bland (except the jerk chicken which was over-sauced) and the humidity made the salt shakers clogged. Not impressed with the food. Service was great, drinks were good (and plentiful), and our bed was the most comfortable I've slept in at any hotel. Tours were easy to book at the resort, but they were very scripted and controlled by the guides. We had a GREAT time, just didn't like the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top