$465 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jymmc
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 21, 2012

Never left the hotel, food was mediocare, drinks were watered down, staff was horrible.

The pictures are accurate it is a gorgeous resort with great views however we never left the property due to the surrounding areas. If you don't OKAY food and watered down drinks then stay here. Don't expect a friendly staff and YOU WILL TIP if you want service. They encourage it amoungst their staff so do not think that it isn't included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margaret Shims
Business
Upstate NY
Mar 25, 2013

Bring your tip money

If you tip you get good service. If you do not tip forget it. I have been all over the islands and this was the first hotel where tipping was almost mandatory and expected. It is ok but good to note. Check-IN is unorganized and time consuming...they give you a drink and make you sit for hours. Really, I'm serious. It is too bad because it could be a fantastic place. There were a lot of nice people but unfortunately it was counter balanced with several UNFRIENDLY and unhelpful people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

snorkeling is NOT right off shore. you can take group trips 3x a day. Misleading. you can bring your own gear or buy it there.

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington, MI
Jan 3, 2011

A resort with a lot of potential

Overall an enjoyable experience. The resort was very nice and offered a great selection of restaurants and services to chose from. All the food was excellent. The facility seemed under-staffed to me. Difficult to get attention when needed; had to do a lot of waiting for just about everything. They advertise premium alcohol, but everything was middle shelf. Also the outside/poolside bars all closed up by 6:00PM!!!! The entertainment was also very good, there was something for everyone. I'd personally try someplace different before I went back, but if you'd been to other resorts, it's worth checking this one out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Unless your just in it for the exercise, don't do the resort's bicycle tours!!! They go nowhere worth sightseeing and the bikes are all in major dis-repair. However, if you're looking to burn off a few calories, it's not a bad way to do it!

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
United States
Apr 13, 2010

Pros and Cons

Pros · Everything is new, clean and fresh. · Architecture and design very appealing · Evening entertainment was good. · Security · Quality of the food Cons · Staff are friendly but their conduct reflects guest comfort is not top priority. · 10pm turndown service let doors slam behind – 5am collection of room service dishes also performed in an extremely noisy and and inconsiderate manner. · Preferred unlimited luxury meant only 2 bath towels per day, which get removed around noon by the cleaning maid and replaced about 6PM by another person. Need to bring in beach towels just to shower for dinner. · Inside construction sloppy. Example: shower leaked into bath because of inadequate caulking job. · Internet access cumbersome and restricted access. · Photos and marketing indicate swim out suites, pools and bars are connected. They are not. They are walled off under the bridges preventing passage. · Resort ran out of a variety of staples such as bananas and top shelf liquors but provided excuses instead of going out and purchasing what was needed. Overall this resort met 85% of the experience we had at other Secrets and in certain areas exceeded expectations. We were also lucky enough to book the portion of the hotel that was complete. Many people arrived only to find out their reservation could not be honored, the resort was overbooked and rooms were downgraded or unavailable. I suspect Secrets management will adjust pricing in the future to recover from sub-par reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Jan 3, 2011

Okay Stay.

The hotel is very nice, the beach is small but plenty of chairs to lounge on all day. The food service was very poor, the food. If you need to eat, go to the buffet that serves breakfeast and lunch and that was okay as well. Reminded me of a Cruise ship buffet. Make sure if you want to sleep in to put a "Do Not Disturb" light on or hang on door, housekeeping will wake you up at 9am. I had to leave a day early due to weather, the hotel would not refund my money, they gave me a credit to use in the future. I would go back. The people in Jamiaca are so nice. Zip-Line was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring small bills. Great for tipping. There are many people helping you with your bags, bringing room service and maid service.

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nini
Business
Aurora, IL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

A break for us

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. If you request towels, a blow dreyer, or anything it does take a long time to receive. You always have to call twice for your request. The food was not all that great. There are not a lot of choices or variety and the dishes are small at the restaurants. We did enjoy the buffet, because of the variety, compared to the other restaurants. There are no bugs they spray alot... you can smell the bug spray sometimes but they say it is not harmful to you. The beach was rocky. I would not pay for the preferred club unless you need the internet, which you can pay for out of pocket. Overall it was a relaxing vacation. The people were nice and the shows were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the resturants are close to Wild Orchard side. You have to walk from St. James side but its not very far.

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jul 27, 2010

For the most part, good; but bad as well

Tried to relax and we did. However, running out of towels, toilet paper, room service, privacy, bugs/spiders in drawers and on floor, leaky toilet, staff would refer you to someone else who in turn would refer you right back to the other. You became tired of asking/requesting. 2 out of 3 elevators were almost constantly out of order so we took the stairs, and again, being offered numerous drugs when strolling around property was not acceptable. I will not show this on a review for others to see, as I'm embarrassed that I paid what I did and had to deal w/these issues. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't hesitate to try all restaurants/bars to find what suits you and your guest(s) the best

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Lover
Business
Oklahoma
Oct 2, 2011

Beautiful Ocean!

We LOVED: The ocean - so calm and warm, absolutely beautiful; The pools - great water temps, and plenty of room. We LIKED: The food - for an all inclusive, it wasn't bad, and there were alot of different places to choose from; jerked chicken cart in the afternoon was the BEST! Needs IMPROVEMENT: Cleanliness - rooms were not very clean & didn't smell very good; hallways not very clean; no place to rinse your feet off when coming from beach to pool or hotel, so there was sand all over the place. Wait staff/bartenders not very friendly; they did not seem to like their jobs very much! Construction going on, so not very peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Jerk chicken cart between beach and pool area showed up between about 11:30-1:30 every day - was GREAT! Probably the best food we had. Enjoyed the shaved ice cart too - with a shot of rum!

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeachBabe30
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2010

WOW!

Well... when you first enter they are really friendly and give offer a "cold towel" as well as serve some liquor. That was nice. Takes a bit to get your key for the room. Rooms are nice... just make sure to ask for "ocean front" or else you'll get a pool front view.. and thats if you are lucky.lol The big thing I didn't like about the hotel is mosquitoes! Brings tons of insect repellent everything- drink the stuff if you have to!! These Jamaican mosquitoes are no joke! Food portions are small...so double up on the first order (food takes a while to arrive to your table). Over all pool was great. Beach was fabulous. activities are great.. you do all non-motorized things for free. Drinks have cute names. Chocotinis are dangerous!! All in all not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gretna,NE
Jun 27, 2011

Beautiful, with a few growing pains

This is a beautiful hotel with overall great service, but still could use some improvements. Housekeeping service is a bit irregular, somedays they were knocking early, others didn't show up until after 4:00pm. Nights were a bit noisy with service carts rolling down the hallways all hours. Food was good, but many of the dishes were a bit luke warm (including salads meant to be cold and hot dishes meant to be hot). The pools were beautiful, beaches nice, overall clean. Drink service was very good and a great variety. We did have a wonderful time. One glitch with an excursion to swim with the dolphins. It was booked on the wrong day. After waiting for an hour for a bus, checked in with the tourist desk, and the lady there bent over backwards to make up for the inconvenience. Not only did she have a car brought to privately transport us to and from, but upgraded the tour. Made for wonderful day. The White Witch canopy zip line tour was a lot of fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top