$460 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
232 reviews
Excellent Honeymoon

worth every penny! incredible room. very romantic. See full review

  • 505050
  • Dec 1, 2014
great vacation! nothing to but relax

everything was perfect, amenities out of this world. best were the jamaican rum punches. All in all... See full review

  • selmo
  • Nov 25, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BronxStylist
Business
Arlington, TN
Jul 18, 2012

Horrible

I was a paid customer and was LOCKED of my room the entire stay there. .Therefore I didn't get the vacation I paid for and want my stay returned to me !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pedro borbon
Business
Illinois
May 25, 2012

less than expected

Allin all have a hard time believing this place is rated as high as it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fredro97
Business
Indiana
Oct 17, 2012

Very Disappointed

Resort itself is nice. We felt that some of the staff was kind of money hungry. We spent a lot of money tipping that we've never had to do at other resorts. And if we didn't tip we got treated very differently. We found out that ALL INCLUSIVE isn't really true either. You have to pay for most of the water sports. So make sure to bring extra cash!! A LOT of it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't shop at the little stores at the resort. A quick call and a five minute drive and you're downtown with hundreds of local shops. Local people are friendly and appreciative. They'll bargain as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oldcarguy
Business
minneasota
Feb 19, 2013

not what we expected

not an ocean view,things missing in room or not working,hour wait for food,food ok to poor,200$ a day for up grade,if you want to brag how much you spent this is for you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oldcarguy
Business
mpls,mn
Feb 26, 2013

not like we thought luxury would be

cracked walls,pealing paint,things not working,hour waite for dinners,food was pretty,not great.half the resort for vip only, offerd@twice the price.bring alot of ones & 5s all staff expecs tips or no service.all resterant staff were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RaeVic
Business
Illinois
Apr 14, 2010

Everything Was A Secret

The resort was not ready to be open and should never have opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Long waits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 5, 2011

not a good experience

Front Desk to us was very disappointing. they were not helpful at all. There was one lie after another. Never got to meet the manager till the time we left, we requested at least four times a day (different times) and the answer to every time was... he is in the meeting... he is not in.... he is off today... and so on. Food was also disappointing for Vegetarians even though there were 7 restaurant on the property. you have to notify each restaurant on every meal with 24-48 hrs notice that we are vegetarians and that too we hope they have something for us. I mean how hard is to fix a veg meal for 2 people when you dnt even care what they make as long as it's Veg. They Definitely need better management skills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go to Dunns River Falls in Ocho Rios - its excellent. You have to climb the falls . so much fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
May 8, 2010

When in Jamaica...

We travel to the Caribbean to spend time relaxing on the beach and to that end, Secrets St. James did not disappoint. The staff on the beach and at the beach bars were extremely friendly and helpful. The beach was wonderful. We chose Secrets based on their overall reputation, but this resort was crudely thrown together. The construction is shoddy. To us it looked like they were basically going to have to do all the finish work again. Showering flooded the toilet stall through a crack in shower tile. It looked like they furnished the room, then painted it (paint speckles). We had bare wires instead of a fixture in one spot. They installed a balcony light while we were at dinner. The list goes on. Our overall opinion is that the resort was too pretentious for us. All of the public seating is upright and stuffy. The rooms have no island feel-- they are drab, colorless, and uninviting. All of the character and vacation feel comes from the staff in spite of their surroundings. Again, this is our opinion, we are sure this will be a 5-star resort someday, but it isn't our cup of tea. We drink coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NewHoneymoonPlease
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 11, 2010

Go anywhere else...

We traveled to Jamaica for our honeymoon and though we did read the lack-luster reviews we thought it is warm, Jamaica and it can't be that bad - its new and at least it will be clean...well, we were extremely disappointed in the whole trip. [...] Our room had paint splatters all over, the shower leaked, the ceiling outside of our room collapsed from the rain and for our entire stay it was not so much as noticed by the staff...after about 5 hours of wet drywall sitting in the hall they did clean that up. Our room flooded from the hall way because of the gab under the door - their fix was to push a towel up against the door each time it rained (which was everyday). The food was pretty - but bland and always over cooked - after a while you just went to eat to eat, but there was just no enjoyment in it because it just did not taste good! We were just disappointed overall. They treat you so great when you check in, and then once you are checked in it is hard to get the staff to notice that you are even there. I think they are so sick of off the complaints that they just avoid eye contact with guests - it was just a lack luster trip. The phones don't work in the rooms, the internet doesn't work and isn't available yet, the rooms look like they just hurried to finish and open so paint splatters on the glass doors, floor, etc...I would just stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 16, 2010

Secrets St. James

Secrets St. James: great location, nice room, some very nice staff members. Great choice if you just want to hang out, have drinks and a good lunch. FORGET dinner. There are not nearly enough restaurants for a resort this size. The shortest wait we had was an hour. AN HOUR. Two nights we walked away and ordered room service after waiting two + hours to be seated. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hire a driver to take you to The Tree House Hotel in Negril. Most gorgeous beach ever and fun beachfront bar/restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top