$397 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dive Buds
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 25, 2012

Best kept Secret

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of our stay; from room and selection of foods, to beach, entertainment and location in Montego Bay. The best kept secret was diving right from the resort, which they don't promote much. They have their own PADI shop and boat which takes you out to wall and coral diving in 10 minutes, with great visibility. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Friday is lobster night at World Cafe. The French restaurant, Bordeaux, was the best. Be sure to reserve a seating at the Teppanyaki table at Himitsu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iheartqueens
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

It just keeps getting better!

Last year a girlfriend and I upgraded to the St. James Preferred and this March my husband and I upgraded to the Wild Orchid Preferred from the St. James check-in. If they have rooms available it's only $80 per day to upgrade and I believe it's worth it. Our first room overlooked the restaurants and the bay and when we went on our balcony before dinner it smelled like fryers and food - since we own a restaurant and smell like food all the time we were a little annoyed. Then we tried to go to bed at 8:30pm, since we are usually night owls because of our profession - we end up doing the opposite on vacation, then the live music outside began, it probably only went until 9:30 but it was not pleasant for us. The next day they moved us as soon as they could to the other side of the building over looking the sea, it was like night and day, super quiet and comfortable! The staff always went out of their way to make us feel important and make us comfortable. Loved having the bar and food in the lobby and being close to everything. Had a much better experience at the spa this time: go early if you want to use the hydrotherapy circuit but just make sure you ask for instructions and are finished and ready for your massage on time because they don't come and get you until they are ready to take you up to the massage room. The food was great for an-all inclusive, I wouldn't try to compare them to my favorite French and Italian places in NY but we did enjoy the restaurants that we made it to in the 8 days we were there. Did the Hibachi twice, loved the Sea Side Grill for lunch - the Jamaican pizza was delicious! Will definitely go again, if not here, to another AMR property. Ive been to a few Dreams in Mexico. Love that this one is less than 15 minutes from the airport! These resorts rock: no wristbands, no towel cards, no making dinner reservations everyday (except for hibachi).... plus so much more than any other all-inclusive that I've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved rafting the Martha Brae River... we just wanted to do something relaxing, not too adventurous and not too far from the hotel. This was about a half hour drive and was a nice way to spend a morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica15
Business
Western Pennsylvania
Apr 22, 2012

Fabulous vacation for our 5th anniversary

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. They even included a champagne breakfast in bed since we were celebrating our anniversary. The food was awesome!! I loved the beach. If you are looking for rough waves, then you won't like Secrets' beach. But if you are looking for calm waves in a bay setting, then you will love Secrets. The pools / pool bars were awesome!! There was always a lounge chair for you whether you were at the pool or ocean. We were there 4 nights. We loved every minute of it and had no problems. We found it very convenient that it was so close to the airport. Many resorts in Jamaica are long, bumpy rides from the airport. Overall wonderful experience!!! We hope to return soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There was wonderful entertainment every evening at the outdoor stage and the piano bar was great too!! We met some very interesting people and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinktooth
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2012

Perfect

My husband and I spent 5 days in this piece of heaven! Right from the moment you step into the resort they treat you like royalty. They have 8 restaurants for dinner, 3 for lunch and 1 buffet style breakfast and don't forget the 24 hrs room service!! The staff goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Every room has a jacuzzi style bath tub and the rooms have canopy style romantic beds. Every night they have different live entertainment with the ocean in the backdrop and they have a night club inside the resort too!! I have convinced my co worker to get married there!! The sunsets are so romantic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They try to sell you unlimited vacation deal in which you spend breakfast and about 2 hrs with them and they give you a spa package of a fast track through immigration. In my personal opinion it wasn't worth our time. ( Something like time share)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon couple 28
Business
San Clemente, CA
May 7, 2012

The Most Romantic Trip of my Life!!!

I have never been treated this good anywhere. My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon here and the staff is remarkable. So friendly and fun! The most romantic vacation we have ever had! Can't wait to come back and visit time and time again. Best vacation ever. And the food was delicious which was a pleasant surprise. My only complaint was the room service was not great but the rest of it over compensated. The spa was delightful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashaaron
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 3, 2012

Great vacation

Overall this was a great vacation. The food was good and we never went hungry. The room was very nice and the view was amazing! Always had towels and chairs available no matter the time of day. We would return to secrets resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryan Latta
Business
Texas
Jun 28, 2012

The perfect escape

We had the most amazing time. This hotel is amazing! When we arrived we were offered cool towels and a drink. Check in was quick and the room far exceeded my expectations. The staff was so friendly. Donna at the pool bar was our favorite. This truly was our favorite vacation and we are already planning our next trip. This place is paradise. I highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunn's River Falls is a must. Breathtaking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Living Life Like It's Golden
Business
Auburn, AL
Jul 9, 2012

Great Couples Getaway

My boyfriend and I went to Jamaica for a relaxing vacation. We had a lot of events going on and it was a great time to wind down. This was our 2nd trip to Jamaica. We stayed at Grand Palladium 2 years ago, but Secrets blew them out the water. The staff was great...excellent check in experience all the way down to housekeeping and room service were superb. No reservations required for dinner except for the Hibachi which was by far the best restaurant. Overall, the food was good. Jerk chicken man was great for lunch. It was just a great vacation. We only left the resort once for an excursion to rick's cafe which was good. The food at boardwalk village and rick's were great and resonably priced to be away from the resort and full of tourists. I would recommend the full day rick's cafe excursion because you get 4 hours at the beach in negril to do motorized watersports including jet skis, parasailing,etc and eat...then a few quick stops to shop for about an hour then on to rick's where the guys diving off the cliffs is amazing. They do tend to beg a bit much when they could probably get a lot more tips if they did more diving and less begging. Back to the hotel...we had a few issues with the A/C in the room because it operates according to patio/balcony or front doors being closed but maintanence readily came out and helped us resolve the air issues. Room service was good for late night snacks. Breakfast was good at world cafe but the options get repetitive after a few days...the mobile coffee man (starbucks on wheels) at breakfast was nice. Overall we would definitely recommend secrets to anyone wanting to relax for honeymooners or whatever becuase the staff catered to your needs and the resort wasn't overly crowded with kids running around everywhere like Palladium. Spa treatment was nice as well. Just a great time! We will be staying at Secrets next time we visit Jamaica and anywhere else in the Carribbean that they are located!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a reservation for Hibachi...it was good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ECrothers
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 9, 2012

Amazing!!!!

Loved every minute of our stay here! Staff is above and beyond amazing! Very new - clean - amazing food- the day spa is incredible!! We didn't do any of the tours nor did we ever leave the resort- didn't need to leave- everything you could ever want is there :) Few things to know while traveling there - a few of the restaurants have dress codes for guys to wear dress shirts / polos... Etc.. My husband didn't think to pack these articles (vacation..less clothes... T shirts .. Etc was the style we packed for) And guys need to bring a pair of pants.. Who knew ? Lol! Although the do try to keep it nice and fancy they do not turn away people based on clothes / just obviously no bathing suits- was all in all AMAZING!! Staff is super great!! No kids resort was Awesome! Very romantic setting and will FOR SURE go back! ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat as much as you can... The food is amazing and the fish of the day is delicious everyday!! Also try to stay on the resort - not really recommended to travel out on your own-- with groups and travel through resort is ok - just avoid traveling by yourself - everything you need is there - really no reason to leave :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Supermons Wife
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Beyond expectations

My husband and I chose this resort for our 2 year anniversary vacation and am so glad we did. St. James was beautiful and very clean. The staff was very professional and friendly and eager to help. The room was just like the picture with an amazing view of the Caribbean sea and sunsets. The restaurants were amazing and we tried a new one every night. The beach was satisfying with plenty of loungers with tiki umbrellas. We tried many mixed drinks and were never disappointed. We enjoyed a couples moonlight and stars massage at the spa and was very gratifying. The spa was also very clean and modern decor. We are for sure going to come back to Secrets St. James in Jamiaca. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Jamaica prefers American money! We cashed in $200 for spending money at the airport and really couldn't use it anywhere. Everyone wanted to be paid with American funds. So we took a hit when we cashed it back in. I wish somebody would have warned us ahead of time. You will need no Jamaican currency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top