$397 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellin'Kaps
Business
Michigan
Mar 20, 2013

Excellent visit

Chose this all-inclusive due to number of restaurants and types of food available. We are not "meat & potatoes" type eaters and we were not disappointed...generally above average for all-inclusive resort #nice salads, relatively abundant fresh fruit, grouper, snapper, shrimp, pork, chicken, steak, etc.#. Only disappointment was limited beer selection and I couldn't really "get into" the red stripe. A few of the bars offered bottled heineken. Top shelf liquor available...some of the rum drinks they made were excellent - try a Jamaican Smile. The house red wine was ok, my wife didn't mind it...I thought it tasted like plum juice with an aftertaste of dirt..we are not wine snobs but ended up buying a few bottles along the way...it was nice eating dinner and walking to entertainment at piano bar #w/ bottle of wine in tow#. Room was not ready at 3PM check-in...which is noted in several other reviews. If you booked from an online travel site, bring a copy of the itinerary...this caught us off guard and we had to log into our email and print it before check in. We had drinks and went to lunch #scallops, shrimp, and other nice things at the anitpasto bar# so didn't mind waiting the hour to get room... Beach and pool areas very nice...best spots are taken by 730am'ish. Men bring a pair of casual pants and shoes for dinners at most of the restaurants...several folks turned away wearing shorts and flip flops...pretty awkward. Shopping tour offered was not worth it...we wanted local artist stuff...didn't find much of this in hip strip or other touristy stores they brought us to #unless you want coffee, run, tshirts, shot glasses#...there is a wood carver at the resort with nice stuff - it is worth the little extra money to buy from him if you are into this stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

men bring khakis, a few collared shirts, and the old pair of docksiders for dinner...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GroupTraveler6
Business
Maryland
Apr 14, 2013

Good, but not blown away

We spent a week at Secrets St James with 4 friends, and overall had a great time. The room, comfort, food, and activities were all what you'd expect--very good (if you're a diver, ask for a room in building 3, it's a short walk to the dive shop). Where we were a little disappointed (and we can't speak for our co-travelers), was with the staff. We didn't feel completely welcome or at home with them. Some were excellent--engaging and friendly. Many others made us feel like they were just going through the motions (even with extra tips for service). We felt more like customers than guests, which disappointing following experiences at other resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your tepenyaki (habachi) reservation early if you're interested...they fill up quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Winer
Business
Vineland, NJ
May 9, 2013

30th wedding anniversary

The staff was extremely friendly. Few minor problems with the room: alarm clock didn't work, the outside patio light never worked nor did the light over the little desk to read. There was only a curtain separating the room from the bathroom, weird and no privacy. The maid service was wonderful; new sheets and towels every day. The outside bar did not have "top shelf" liquor, you had to go inside to the lobby bars for that and the wine was absolultey the worst, since I am a big red wine drinker. You had to purchase bottles, which were expensive. At times, they never had fresh lemons or limes cut up. The food was average, which we knew that before hand. Plenty of activities to keep you busy or if you wanted to do nothing and relax was just as nice. The grounds were keep immaculate. Great place overall and we would go back again. Private gated community as well, very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat between 6 - 7pm before the rush. really never had to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie24
Business
Michigan
Jun 19, 2013

Relaxing, Fun Vacation

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of it! A lot of reviews complain about the resort's sales pitch being a nuissance, but we were never even approached about anything. We stayed in the St. James part of the hotel and really did not see many perks to upgrading to prefferred. I would recommend asking for a higher floor as we were on the 2nd floor and did not have much of a view. Here's a review on different aspects of our stay: Location: The resort is maybe a 15 minute ride from the airport, which makes it very convenient. The resort is divided into 4 buildings and arranged as listed: Preferred St. James, St. James, Wild Orchid, Prefferred Wild Orchid. The two resorts are really just one resort. The restaurants and activities are between the buildings of Wild Orchid and Prefferred Wild Orchid. Therefore, it's a little more walking if you stay in the St. James portion of the resort. There are pools associated with each building as well, but you are free to go other the other resort pool. Rooms: The rooms are very new and very clean. The bathroom has little privacy, so be sure you are quite comfortable with whoever you room with. Food: Overall, we enjoyed the food. The breakfast is a buffet every morning with many options, including made to order omelets. Lunch can be had at the two pool side restaurants or the buffet. We found the buffet to be the best of these options. The pool side restaurants give smaller portions and not a lot of variety. We ordered room service (included in your all-inclusive) for lunch one day and found that to be average as well. The desserts at this resort leave something to be desired. We were not impressed with any dessert that we had. The only thing we thoroughly enjoyed was the soft-serve ice cream machine near the shops and games center. Activities: The staff here does a nice job of giving you activiites all day long. Each night during turn-down service the resort leaves a list of activities for the next day. It typicallly included a bike tour twice a day (sign up early as the sometimes fill up) activities by the pool and a show or live band in the evenings. The water activities are decent, and offered from 8-4 each day. We only left the resort once to visit Dunn's River Falls, but they do have different excursions that you can pick from once you are there. Service: We had terrific service 90% of the time we were there. You are checked on every half hour or so at the pool/beach to get drinks and restaurant servers did a decent job at meal time. The workers do not expect tips, but definitely accept them when you give a few bucks. The maids do a very nice job of cleaning your room and restocking your minibar (mostly just cans of pop and bottles of water). Other: Wifi can be had at a daily rate of $15. There are other options such as weekly or even 3 or 4 days. We had it for 1 day, but found it to be a little slow and unreliable. If you bring an iPad, it's easiest to set up your wifi at the business center next to the shops. The grounds, pool and beach are absolutely beautiful and well kept. We were very impressed with that aspect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time Honeymooner
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jul 17, 2013

Honeymoon

Went here on my honeymoon for 5 nights. We had a fabulous time. We did a lot of off resort tours but even if you stay only on the resort there are lots of things to do and enjoy. The drinks were fantastic and the staff is always very happy to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a dinner at Himitsu. You can always eat there but the center grills are reserved and most definitely a must do experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aklew
Business
Montego Bay Jamaica
Aug 16, 2013

Review

Room was dirty when we arrived, like hair in sink, dirt on floor, maybe it was due to them rushing to get rooms cleaned. Room cleanliness improved the next day. Liked that our bed was turned down at night. Location was lovely, food great and a great variety of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.....
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2013

Great place to vacation

Good location. Very polite and helpful staff. Good food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Private dining well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New GA Bride
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 22, 2013

Perfect Wedding Destination

My husband and I were married at Secrets St. James and had a wonderful time. The resort offered several dining locations, but by far the best was pool side for surf and turf!! The staff was polite and met all our requests. Our room was decorated for our honeymoon and we had breakfast in bed. I would definitely go back!!!! Yaaa Mon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you take everything with you that you will need....the gift shop is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ananymous Traveler
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 30, 2010

New hotel, but fun

Hotel was a fun experience, hotel staff were mostly friendly, had a small problem at check-in, but resolved quickly, food was pretty good too. The best part of the hotel was the fact that they had good quality liquor in most of the bars. The only bad part was the landscaping, I enjoy lushly landscaped grounds and most of the plants are new and dying, otherwise a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Apr 11, 2010

Brand-y New

Secrets Wild Orchid is brand new. I was fortunate to be guest in their second full week. The staff was exteremely friendly and helpful. The food, although not fully set by cuisine, was very good. Chef [...] makes a mean filet! Once they move on from infancy, Sercrets will warrant the five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top