$397 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners from NY
Upstate, New York
Oct 27, 2012

Great experience!

My husband and I had a great time at Secret's St. James for our honeymoon. The location was fantastic, close to airport and nicely secluded. The grounds were beautifully manicured and staff worked on maintaining it daily. Plenty of pools, beach areas, restaurants and entertainment for everyone. Staff was very attentive and always pleasant. Beach and pool experiences were always enjoyable, fun and relaxing. You could join in at the fun around the pool bars and with the entertainment team or you could relax and order drinks from the beach wait staff. Jerk chicken and fresh fruit on the beach were delicious. Plenty of food options at the five different dinner restaurants and a very plentiful breakfast buffet. We were at the resort during Hurricane Sandy and still enjoyed our stay. Staff was very accommodating and kept us well informed of hotel policy and procedures during hurricanes. We always felt well informed in all ways regarding what to do and expect during the storm. They also opened up the ballrooms for all guests to have a safe place to still have fun during the storm. Having no children at the resort was also nice. Alcohol was plentiful but we never encountered any problems with people being too drunk or disrespectful. I felt that the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly during our stay but I am also a clean freak. I think that would be my only small complaint. We will be going back, no doubt! Thank you Secrets St. James for a great honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your shopping at the airport before you board your plan....it's cheaper and there are a ton more options!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachelvaca
Business
Leesburg, Virginia
Oct 31, 2012

Secrets Montego Bay

Let me start off by saying the hotel was beautiful, the property was amazing and the staff was beyond friendly. Our room was on the first floor with 2 double beds. Staying as a couple we weren't thrilled about the beds or the lack of privacy on the first floor. But in the end it really didn't matter. Being on the first floor made it east to get to everything and was a great meeting spot. We went snorkeling in the bay right there on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bioluminescent Bay. See it while it's still there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twin video
Business
boynton beach , florida
Oct 31, 2012

Beautiful

Hotel was great, food good. great staff. and very friendly and helpful. they out did them selves when t sandy was coming. felt very safe. Nothing to do with Secrets, but the airline Caribean was not east to get in touch with. befor and aduring sandy , wanted to know if flight was cancelled or delayed. could not get in touch with them. the hotel management took over for me and made the calls all day. an let us know the status. very nice of them. all in all i would go back to secrets in a minute

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashton michelle
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 30, 2012

Great place to get ENGAGED!

It was a great experience. This was our second time staying at secrets because it is so nice! Staff is awesome! Rooms are beautiful. Nice beach and pools! We got engaged there and were even considering going back to have our wedding at Secrets. One of the best in Jamaica, by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at all the formal restaurants. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners from NY
Business
Upstate, New York
Oct 27, 2012

Great experience!

My husband and I had a great time at Secret's St. James for our honeymoon. The location was fantastic, close to airport and nicely secluded. The grounds were beautifully manicured and staff worked on maintaining it daily. Plenty of pools, beach areas, restaurants and entertainment for everyone. Staff was very attentive and always pleasant. Beach and pool experiences were always enjoyable, fun and relaxing. You could join in at the fun around the pool bars and with the entertainment team or you could relax and order drinks from the beach wait staff. Jerk chicken and fresh fruit on the beach were delicious. Plenty of food options at the five different dinner restaurants and a very plentiful breakfast buffet. We were at the resort during Hurricane Sandy and still enjoyed our stay. Staff was very accommodating and kept us well informed of hotel policy and procedures during hurricanes. We always felt well informed in all ways regarding what to do and expect during the storm. They also opened up the ballrooms for all guests to have a safe place to still have fun during the storm. Having no children at the resort was also nice. Alcohol was plentiful but we never encountered any problems with people being too drunk or disrespectful. I felt that the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly during our stay but I am also a clean freak. I think that would be my only small complaint. We will be going back, no doubt! Thank you Secrets St. James for a great honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your shopping at the airport before you board your plan....it's cheaper and there are a ton more options!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MacyLynn
Business
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Oct 23, 2012

Amazing vacation!

We just returned from 5 nights at Secrets Saint James in Montego Bay, and we already can't wait to go back! The resort is amazing and it is literally only a 15 minute drive from the airport. As soon as we got there we were checked in and taken to our room. We booked an ocean front suite and got so much more than we paid for! Our room was on the first floor, and the ocean was literally right out our patio. We woke up every morning to the most beautiful view! We thought about upgrading to the preferred club right before we left home, but we were not sad at all that we didn't go through with it. The room was HUGE! The bath tub in the room is so romantic and the shower was awesome! The room was cleaned everyday and our mini bar was always restocked. The bed was so comfortable. We are typically really picky about beds and this one far exceeded our expectations! The only complaint we had about the room is we could never get it as cold as we liked it. Keep in mind though my husband and I like to sleep in a room that is meat locker cold. It was never uncomfortable just not as cool as we usually like it. Now to the dining and entertainment... EXCELLENT! The food was out of this world! The breakfast buffet was by far the best we have ever had, and the ommlettes were delicious! We ate most of our lunches at the buffet and it was also fantastic! I loved the build your own sandwich station. Everything always tasted fresh regardless if we went at the beginning of breakfast/lunch or right before they were closing to get ready for dinner. That impressed me the most. Dinner was even better! Our favorite was El Patio! The fajitas were the best I have ever had and the salsa is so good. We also loved the Blue Mountain which was Jamaican cuisine, and Himitsu which was Japanese. Like I said, we never had a bad meal. The entertainment was awesome! While we were there they showed a movie every night, had a beach party (SO FUN), a bonfire, and different live singers and competitions. During the day there was always something going on as well. King Julian from the entertainment staff will not allow you to have a bad time! We loved him! The pool bar at Manatese was our favorite hang out spot and was the center of where all the entertainment and fun went down. Be sure to go see Martino and Josiah at the pool bar! They were so much fun and made the best drinks I have ever tasted, which could get you in trouble later! Lol! We seriously do not have a single bad thing to say about this resort. We have been to Jamaica three times. We've stayed at Sandals in Ocho Rios, and Couples Negril in Negril, and although we loved both of those resorts, Secrets is our new favorite! We will definitely be returning as soon as we can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller Will
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Decent

We stayed at Secrets St. James for 4 days and 3 nights. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told told to get food so they can prepare the room for us. Check-in is at 3pm but we arrived at 4pm. Why wasn't the room already prepared? Once at the room, I realize the room was not very clean. the maid must have rushed the cleaning since we had already arrived. The chairs and couch in the room had ashes from the ash tray all over so we did not use the chairs or couch the whole time. Wasnt the room supposed to be smoke free? Why was there an ash try in the room? There were many mosquitos in the room. We spent the first night of our stay swatting the mosquitos so that we could get a decent nights sleep. We swatted about 10 of them. Almost all the restaurants were next to each other and located at Secrets Wild Orchid. Not sure why they advertise these 2 Hotels as separate hotels but they are the same and pretty much connected. There was only 1 outdoor restaurant at Secrets St. James but going to Wild Orchid where all the restaurants are was only a 2 minute walk. We had a horrible time at the Bourdeaux Restaurant. We went there at 7:30 pm but since that was peak time, we had to wait 45minutes for a seat which was fine since we were able to sit at a different bar and watch a live band. Service was extremely slow. We did not get our entrees until 1.5 hrs after we had ordered them. It seems everyone in the restaurant was complaining about the slow service. The restaurant hours were from 6 to 10 pm but by the time we got our entrees it was 10pm and the restaurant turned off the Air Conditioning at 10 making the dining experience very uncomfortable. When ordering desert, the waitress took our order but took 30 minutes before telling us it was unavailable. This type of service is unacceptable. The ammenities available at the beach was excellent. You can do snorking, sailing, and kayaking for free. Plus there were glass bottom boat trips and other things which we did not do but I think they were included for free as well. Overall, other than the items I mentioned, the hotel was pretty decent, though I expected a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duncan Vaca
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 19, 2012

The Vacation to beat

We had an amazing time. The staff was wonderful and the amenities were great. I would HIGHLY recommend this resort for anyone traveling to Montego Bay. There were plenty of events to keep you entertained if you decide to stay on campus. I am not one to repeat vacations, but I will make an exception for this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fredro97
Business
Indiana
Oct 17, 2012

Very Disappointed

Resort itself is nice. We felt that some of the staff was kind of money hungry. We spent a lot of money tipping that we've never had to do at other resorts. And if we didn't tip we got treated very differently. We found out that ALL INCLUSIVE isn't really true either. You have to pay for most of the water sports. So make sure to bring extra cash!! A LOT of it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't shop at the little stores at the resort. A quick call and a five minute drive and you're downtown with hundreds of local shops. Local people are friendly and appreciative. They'll bargain as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A 1 Caretaker
Business
Dubuque Iowa
Oct 10, 2012

taking a senior to St. James Secrets

Our trip was fabulous. I took my 84 yr. old mother with me. Even though the resort states that it is not handicapped accessible, and I did not tell them ahead of time that my mother needs a cane, we were put on the first floor, right by the outside door! The service, food, entertainment and host desk employees were first class. We plan on going back next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

read all of the daily print outs for the days activities. We did not, and missed some great opportunities! You do not need to leave the resort to have all you could desire!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clark20
Business
Middletown Ohio
Oct 8, 2012

Fantasic

This hotel was fantastic . They work round the clock to make you happy. Our room was beautiful had a great ocean view.It was on the fourth floor . Awesome view. Would definetly go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top