Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
232 reviews
Excellent Honeymoon

worth every penny! incredible room. very romantic. See full review

  • 505050
  • Dec 1, 2014
great vacation! nothing to but relax

everything was perfect, amenities out of this world. best were the jamaican rum punches. All in all... See full review

  • selmo
  • Nov 25, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrishFish
Business
New Jersey
Sep 4, 2012

Secrets St. James

This was our second time to this resort - the property is breath-taking, hence our choice to return rather than go to a different Secrets. The food is 4 stars, some of the other Secrets I'd give 5 stars, but the service and overall RELAX feeling is superior to any of the other places we've been/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you want a more quiet experience, stay at St. James. If you want to be right on top of the action, stay at Wild Orchid. The walk from St. James to Wild Orchid is literally three minutes of beautiful beaches. Both times, we stayed at St. James in preferred club because we couldn't hear any night-life noise. If we were in preferred Orchid, we'd have heard it and would have been annoyed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couples vacation
Business
Secrets Wild Orchids, Montego Bay
Sep 4, 2012

get away

The room air conditioning was controlled by a motion detector so at night the room became very hot as there was no motion in the room. Also when you were out during the day and returned it was hot. The other issue was if you had an issue the front desk had you contact maintenance instead of them taking caring of the issue. Also, they used your vacation time to sell you a vacation club product and promised you items but never came through with the items. Beware of the selling of upgrades not always a good thing. We bought the Mobay VIP club but arrived at the airport just in time to get on the plane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian N
Business
Crestview, Florida
Sep 3, 2012

Best all inclusive resort in Montego Bay

Secrets St James Montego Bay Jamaica has it all. Great food, great rooms, friendly employees, and great location. From the moment my wife and I arrived at Secret St James we were in welcomed into a fabulous resort with the ultimate in luxury. All you can eat, drink, and a great place to relax. We celebrated my wife's birthday and our anniversary why at secrets. Best vacation ever and we will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother spending money paying absorbent prices for souvenirs at the resort because the airport has a way better selection. The only exception to this is the handmade crafts sold by the beach. For the best deal you will need to negotiate the final price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cadillac lasting luxury
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2012

Secrets is a well kep Secret.

This Adult All inclusive Spa/Resort far exceeded my expectation and I do require the best. Recommeded for both Singles and Couples. The Staff did an excellent job of making each guest feel special and welcome. I can not wait to go again! The rooms are luxurious as well as kept clean and neat!!!!!( past the white glove text clean). Package your bags and leave your worries, The Staff is more than happy to assit with any situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Recommend Horseback riding, Tubbing, Dunns Fall, and Zipline.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All Inclusive Only
Business
Georgia
Aug 21, 2012

Relaxing Vacation

After reading multiple reviews we decided to try Secrets for a 5 night getaway. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. After a delay in our flight, we arrived a little late around 8pm but checkout was smooth with no wait. We were upgraded to the Wild Orchid side which was nice but I saw no difference from St James other than it being about 20 yards closer to the restaurants. No one ever mentioned anything about taking a tour and joining a vacation club as others have mentioned.Building and grounds were really nice and kept. Employees were all really friendly and helpful. Had a 2nd floor room with a great view of the ocean and pool area. Room was ok size wise but the bathroom area was a little small compared to others we have stayed in. Separate shower and potty area behind glass doors so privacy was not an issue. Tub and sink area separated by a curtain from bedroom but no problems there. Shower and toilet areas were a little small but no issue. Restaurants were good but not what i would call great compared to others. Breakfast was the least tasty but maybe because it was a buffet. Others were really good and no waits or reservations to get in. Sample the chicken man cart on the beach and pool area every day. Was extremely good. Also the barefoot grill on the st james beach side was really good....burgers, dogs, fries, nachos, and the beef and chicken patties. Go to try those patties...were really good. Pool area was extremely nice and bartenders walking around taking your orders all day...sometimes even noticing you were out and bringing it before you ordered. Couldn't have asked for better service there. Spent a lot of time in the lobby bar. Excellent service and all and anything you wanted. This was a great trip and well worth the money. Resort wasn't crowded and we moved around easily. Would definitely return. The worst part of our trip was going through customs and immigration in the Miami Airport. It was the biggest mess I ever saw. I will do Atlanta, Charlotte, or Orlando next time. Never again Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont fly through Miami unless you absolutely have to,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmorton
Business
middletown DE
Aug 20, 2012

relaxing

This was by far one of the relaxing vacations I have ever had! From the moment we checked in to the day we left everything was taken care of by the friendly and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All the food and staff at all the restaurants were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floridana
Business
Florida
Aug 19, 2012

My experience

The hotel is very good, but the staff at the desk service is not at all efficient, the rest of staff is perfect, the restaurants very good and the food is excellent. The beach is spectacular and the pools too. The bar service is very good. It is necessary bilingual staff, because nobody speak Spanish and some people need this service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous Reviewer 2
Business
Vermont
Aug 13, 2012

Nice vacation getaway

Nice hotel with good food. Definitely not a 5 star resort by any means. Rooms could be much cleaner and better maintained. The resort layout is fantastic with the restaurants and nightly entertainment located in the same area. The resort credits are a joke since you need to spend money to use them. Everything you could use the credits for (spa, wine, romantic dinner) is way overpriced. We didn't even use any of them. Although I enjoyed my trip, I would not return as there are better resorts I have visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCK's Grandmom
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 12, 2012

Stray cat's

The hotel was nice, the the wild life "stray cat's" were a bit much for me. I am very allergic to cat's and thus have a cat phobia. My idea of a luxurious vacation does NOT include cats!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A wonderful time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sad to be leaving
Business
New York
Aug 12, 2012

happy honeymooners

Staff was wonderfully accomodating. Beautiful beach & secluded location. Room was beautiful and had a great view. The shower leaked despite efforts by maintenance to fix it and the refigerator didn't work at all. Small casino and nighly entertainment, but mostly a quiet nightlife. Great food for every meal. The best food I've had at an all-inclusive and free room service 24 hours a day! Massage at the spa was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top