$444 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitabug
Couples
Tuscaloosa, Al
Feb 18, 2013

Winter getaway

Resort is nice,but have stayed at cheaper resorts that are just as nice or nicer. We had a problem with our electricity, it would go off and we would have to trip the breaker to get it back on.My husband or my self would have to stand at the breaker box and keep it flipped so the other one could see to get ready in the bathroom. It took three days to fix that problem and for the next two day the sensor button that controlled the lights flashed on and off and beeped every few seconds. Very hard to sleep with that going on directly in front of your bed. Complained two or three times daily ,but never got that issue resolved. Also one night it took about 2 hours to have our dinner served, even though the restaurant was not crowded. Eating choices are limited as there is not buffet at night and if you don't catch it just right you may have to wait in line to be seated to eat. The non motorized free water sports that are supposed to be free turned out to have fees attached to them and everyone expects a tip so be prepared to shell out tips to everyone. I think we would have been better off to have booked at a cheaper resort and saved a little money as the extra fees and tips really added up and this trip turned out to be quite expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raymondalex
Couples
Indiana
Jan 31, 2013

AWESOME 6 NIGHTS

Our room with a very cozy king bed and especially the room location with a corner balcony, the all included room service, all the friendly and informative hotel staff, 9 restaurants to choose from (all with outside seating), the excellent weather, the beautiful flowers, the roaming peacocks, the few cats that roamed in the bushes next to a few outside tables at night, the birds in the outside cages, the beautiful beach and beach amenities all made this a very awesome stay for us. We're in our 60's and enjoyed the adult only stay. The only cons were we wish there had been better lighting in the bathroom and maybe a pharmacy in the complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kevin in the Jamaica Tour section in the complex was very helpful in selecting tours and being honest about what he thought would be best.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1Bigcat
Couples
Dallas, Tx
Jan 20, 2013

Great Time

Staff extremely attentive, we had a great time and will extend our stay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VItor Bocci
Couples
Mexico City
Jan 2, 2013

Fantastic

I already travelled to many places and hotels around the world but this hotel that we choose for our Honeymoon was definitely the best option. I strongly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelli and Marc
Family
Michigan, USA
Dec 21, 2012

Disappointing

I would not recommend this resort as a destination – unfortunately the attitude of a few key hotel staff – mainly the restaurant staff over shadowed the entire experience. Even after discussing these issues with the higher up management we continued to experience the same lack of equitable treatment and poor attitude. Most of the other staff were very accommodating and pleasant – too bad they all tried so hard and our lasting impression was the more than disappointing dinner dining experiences. The restaurant management was incredibly bad. They changed their policies regarding dress requirements without updating all of their literature. The enforcement of the policy was less than equitable – they turned us away for the men in the group wearing sandals with their pants when there were men in the restaurant with shorts and flip flops. They also screwed up the restaurant reservation on the night of the wedding (reason we were there), they confirmed the reservation twice - and when we showed up at the appointed time - they had no clue and asked if we were sure we had the correct date - ah yeah - we were all dressed in wedding attire with a bride and groom- think we had the right night! They also have a $200 up charge to seat 10 people together at a table – for the buffet? that is just ridiculous!! There was no additional work by the staff, there was plenty of room and tables – and these same 10 people would be dinning at the restaurant anyway. At another dinner after we had been told they would fix the issue and allow us to all sit together - they didn't, so we split up into two groups and yet we continued to be disappointed with the service – one table of 5 was completely done with dinner – after dinner drinks and desserts and all – before the second table of 5 even got appetizers! We have stayed with this hotel brand in the past in Mexico and have a trip booked there again in 8 weeks – So it is not the brand it is the individuals operating at this specific resort. There was never a “I’m sorry, we will fix that right away” statement, it was always someone else’s fault. No accountability! The hotel facilities and beach were really great - Maybe they will get there act together?! Or don't go with a large group - take your wedding some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Harris
Couples
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 13, 2012

Beautiful island getaway

Our experience at the Secrets St. James was wonderful. We went to have a few days away from our hectic lives at home and had a very relaxing time. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The service was good and it was just the atmosphere we were looking for. The only negative comment I have is that the food is not good. It is edible, but it tastes like it all comes out of a can or was frozen. We only stayed 3 nights, so it didn't bother us that much. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Engagemooner
Couples
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 11, 2012

Great hotel

This is a beautiful hotel with great ammenities and a friendly staff. My only complaint is that the food is a little sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StevenH
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 8, 2012

Beautiful resort, mediocre staff

My new bride and I recently spent a week at Secrets St. James for our honeymoon. The resort itself was beautiful and the dining options were above average with excellent, friendly staff. Our room was fairly spacious and the beds could not have been more comfortable (we averaged 10+ hours of sleep a night). Overall, the experience was very good. The only downfalls were the staff at the bars (not friendly, somewhat pushy) and interruptions by room staff. They have a "privacy light" and on more than one occasion, we were interrupted while the light was on. I would recommend staying here if you're looking for a relaxing, couples only retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
columbusohio
Couples
columbus,ohio
Nov 8, 2012

Fabulous Honeymoon

This was our first time to Jamaica. The hotel was gorgeous! The staff could not have been friendlier. It was our honeymoon and they made it very special with rose petals and champagne. I would definitely recommend this resort for the ultimate in relaxation and beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frencj resteraunt

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachelvaca
Friends
Leesburg, Virginia
Oct 31, 2012

Secrets Montego Bay

Let me start off by saying the hotel was beautiful, the property was amazing and the staff was beyond friendly. Our room was on the first floor with 2 double beds. Staying as a couple we weren't thrilled about the beds or the lack of privacy on the first floor. But in the end it really didn't matter. Being on the first floor made it east to get to everything and was a great meeting spot. We went snorkeling in the bay right there on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bioluminescent Bay. See it while it's still there.

Back to menu Return to top