$460 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
231 reviews
fantastic. real paradise

Need to be included . All the other is perfect... See full review

  • shlomi
  • Sep 12, 2014
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VacationerX2
Illinois
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect Relaxation

We just returned from our second trip to this resort. We went last year with a group of friends, this year my boyfriend and I went alone. Whether you have a group or you are going alone, there is plenty to do here. The hotel is extremely clean, it's located very close to the airport, staff is friendly and accomodating, beaches are beautiful and private. For an all inclusive, you can't get any better. There are agents on site to sign up for off-site activities, many different restaurants. Snorkeling is offered 3 times daily. Wonderful hotel, definitely recommend to anyone looking to have a relaxing stress free vacation . Absolutely will be returning here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Harris
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 13, 2012

Beautiful island getaway

Our experience at the Secrets St. James was wonderful. We went to have a few days away from our hectic lives at home and had a very relaxing time. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The service was good and it was just the atmosphere we were looking for. The only negative comment I have is that the food is not good. It is edible, but it tastes like it all comes out of a can or was frozen. We only stayed 3 nights, so it didn't bother us that much. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Engagemooner
Business
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 11, 2012

Great hotel

This is a beautiful hotel with great ammenities and a friendly staff. My only complaint is that the food is a little sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StevenH
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 8, 2012

Beautiful resort, mediocre staff

My new bride and I recently spent a week at Secrets St. James for our honeymoon. The resort itself was beautiful and the dining options were above average with excellent, friendly staff. Our room was fairly spacious and the beds could not have been more comfortable (we averaged 10+ hours of sleep a night). Overall, the experience was very good. The only downfalls were the staff at the bars (not friendly, somewhat pushy) and interruptions by room staff. They have a "privacy light" and on more than one occasion, we were interrupted while the light was on. I would recommend staying here if you're looking for a relaxing, couples only retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
columbusohio
Business
columbus,ohio
Nov 8, 2012

Fabulous Honeymoon

This was our first time to Jamaica. The hotel was gorgeous! The staff could not have been friendlier. It was our honeymoon and they made it very special with rose petals and champagne. I would definitely recommend this resort for the ultimate in relaxation and beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frencj resteraunt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachelvaca
Business
Leesburg, Virginia
Oct 31, 2012

Secrets Montego Bay

Let me start off by saying the hotel was beautiful, the property was amazing and the staff was beyond friendly. Our room was on the first floor with 2 double beds. Staying as a couple we weren't thrilled about the beds or the lack of privacy on the first floor. But in the end it really didn't matter. Being on the first floor made it east to get to everything and was a great meeting spot. We went snorkeling in the bay right there on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bioluminescent Bay. See it while it's still there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twin video
Business
boynton beach , florida
Oct 31, 2012

Beautiful

Hotel was great, food good. great staff. and very friendly and helpful. they out did them selves when t sandy was coming. felt very safe. Nothing to do with Secrets, but the airline Caribean was not east to get in touch with. befor and aduring sandy , wanted to know if flight was cancelled or delayed. could not get in touch with them. the hotel management took over for me and made the calls all day. an let us know the status. very nice of them. all in all i would go back to secrets in a minute

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashton michelle
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Oct 30, 2012

Great place to get ENGAGED!

It was a great experience. This was our second time staying at secrets because it is so nice! Staff is awesome! Rooms are beautiful. Nice beach and pools! We got engaged there and were even considering going back to have our wedding at Secrets. One of the best in Jamaica, by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at all the formal restaurants. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooners from NY
Business
Upstate, New York
Oct 27, 2012

Great experience!

My husband and I had a great time at Secret's St. James for our honeymoon. The location was fantastic, close to airport and nicely secluded. The grounds were beautifully manicured and staff worked on maintaining it daily. Plenty of pools, beach areas, restaurants and entertainment for everyone. Staff was very attentive and always pleasant. Beach and pool experiences were always enjoyable, fun and relaxing. You could join in at the fun around the pool bars and with the entertainment team or you could relax and order drinks from the beach wait staff. Jerk chicken and fresh fruit on the beach were delicious. Plenty of food options at the five different dinner restaurants and a very plentiful breakfast buffet. We were at the resort during Hurricane Sandy and still enjoyed our stay. Staff was very accommodating and kept us well informed of hotel policy and procedures during hurricanes. We always felt well informed in all ways regarding what to do and expect during the storm. They also opened up the ballrooms for all guests to have a safe place to still have fun during the storm. Having no children at the resort was also nice. Alcohol was plentiful but we never encountered any problems with people being too drunk or disrespectful. I felt that the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly during our stay but I am also a clean freak. I think that would be my only small complaint. We will be going back, no doubt! Thank you Secrets St. James for a great honeymoon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your shopping at the airport before you board your plan....it's cheaper and there are a ton more options!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MacyLynn
Business
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Oct 23, 2012

Amazing vacation!

We just returned from 5 nights at Secrets Saint James in Montego Bay, and we already can't wait to go back! The resort is amazing and it is literally only a 15 minute drive from the airport. As soon as we got there we were checked in and taken to our room. We booked an ocean front suite and got so much more than we paid for! Our room was on the first floor, and the ocean was literally right out our patio. We woke up every morning to the most beautiful view! We thought about upgrading to the preferred club right before we left home, but we were not sad at all that we didn't go through with it. The room was HUGE! The bath tub in the room is so romantic and the shower was awesome! The room was cleaned everyday and our mini bar was always restocked. The bed was so comfortable. We are typically really picky about beds and this one far exceeded our expectations! The only complaint we had about the room is we could never get it as cold as we liked it. Keep in mind though my husband and I like to sleep in a room that is meat locker cold. It was never uncomfortable just not as cool as we usually like it. Now to the dining and entertainment... EXCELLENT! The food was out of this world! The breakfast buffet was by far the best we have ever had, and the ommlettes were delicious! We ate most of our lunches at the buffet and it was also fantastic! I loved the build your own sandwich station. Everything always tasted fresh regardless if we went at the beginning of breakfast/lunch or right before they were closing to get ready for dinner. That impressed me the most. Dinner was even better! Our favorite was El Patio! The fajitas were the best I have ever had and the salsa is so good. We also loved the Blue Mountain which was Jamaican cuisine, and Himitsu which was Japanese. Like I said, we never had a bad meal. The entertainment was awesome! While we were there they showed a movie every night, had a beach party (SO FUN), a bonfire, and different live singers and competitions. During the day there was always something going on as well. King Julian from the entertainment staff will not allow you to have a bad time! We loved him! The pool bar at Manatese was our favorite hang out spot and was the center of where all the entertainment and fun went down. Be sure to go see Martino and Josiah at the pool bar! They were so much fun and made the best drinks I have ever tasted, which could get you in trouble later! Lol! We seriously do not have a single bad thing to say about this resort. We have been to Jamaica three times. We've stayed at Sandals in Ocho Rios, and Couples Negril in Negril, and although we loved both of those resorts, Secrets is our new favorite! We will definitely be returning as soon as we can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller Will
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Decent

We stayed at Secrets St. James for 4 days and 3 nights. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told told to get food so they can prepare the room for us. Check-in is at 3pm but we arrived at 4pm. Why wasn't the room already prepared? Once at the room, I realize the room was not very clean. the maid must have rushed the cleaning since we had already arrived. The chairs and couch in the room had ashes from the ash tray all over so we did not use the chairs or couch the whole time. Wasnt the room supposed to be smoke free? Why was there an ash try in the room? There were many mosquitos in the room. We spent the first night of our stay swatting the mosquitos so that we could get a decent nights sleep. We swatted about 10 of them. Almost all the restaurants were next to each other and located at Secrets Wild Orchid. Not sure why they advertise these 2 Hotels as separate hotels but they are the same and pretty much connected. There was only 1 outdoor restaurant at Secrets St. James but going to Wild Orchid where all the restaurants are was only a 2 minute walk. We had a horrible time at the Bourdeaux Restaurant. We went there at 7:30 pm but since that was peak time, we had to wait 45minutes for a seat which was fine since we were able to sit at a different bar and watch a live band. Service was extremely slow. We did not get our entrees until 1.5 hrs after we had ordered them. It seems everyone in the restaurant was complaining about the slow service. The restaurant hours were from 6 to 10 pm but by the time we got our entrees it was 10pm and the restaurant turned off the Air Conditioning at 10 making the dining experience very uncomfortable. When ordering desert, the waitress took our order but took 30 minutes before telling us it was unavailable. This type of service is unacceptable. The ammenities available at the beach was excellent. You can do snorking, sailing, and kayaking for free. Plus there were glass bottom boat trips and other things which we did not do but I think they were included for free as well. Overall, other than the items I mentioned, the hotel was pretty decent, though I expected a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top