$397 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VacationerX2
Illinois
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect Relaxation

We just returned from our second trip to this resort. We went last year with a group of friends, this year my boyfriend and I went alone. Whether you have a group or you are going alone, there is plenty to do here. The hotel is extremely clean, it's located very close to the airport, staff is friendly and accomodating, beaches are beautiful and private. For an all inclusive, you can't get any better. There are agents on site to sign up for off-site activities, many different restaurants. Snorkeling is offered 3 times daily. Wonderful hotel, definitely recommend to anyone looking to have a relaxing stress free vacation . Absolutely will be returning here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.H. from Iowa
Business
marshalltown Iowa
Mar 16, 2013

Great Resort

We were very impressed with this resort. We were at the wild orchid side and it was less crowded. We asked for a king size bed and third or fourth floor for the view. We did get the king bed but first floor. We were upgraded to premium club but only after a presentation. The room was clean and housekeeping came everyday. Room service was great especially getting pots of coffee to our room every am. Dont take the shuttle bus ride to montego bay. They take you only to souviner shops they want. The resort was very nice. Ill go again. D.H. Ia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giners
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 8, 2013

Wonderful

We went on vacation the end of February 2013 and had a fantastic experience at Secrets St James. The staff was very friendly. Beautiful scenic grounds and a great beach. The view of the beach and ocean was great to look out on, and each had a balcony. The restaurants were very good, we had above average food the entire time, and there are many options. The restaurants are located on the Wild Orchid side of the 2 sister properties. This was fine with us because we like walking around the grounds. Pools were nice, the swim up bar is the best! We spent time both on the beach and in the pool. On the St James side of the beach there is some incline so the chairs become uncomfortable after a few hours. But again, the pool is another option. Loads of activities - which are optional. I went to the Jerk cooking class and it was nice to learn how they make the fantastic Jerk chicken. As most have mentioned, the Jerk chicken cart is fantastic! The one thing I did not like was the pressure to attend the "repeat member" breakfast. We wanted to relax - so, we did decline to attend on several occasions. We would return to this resort in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris312
Business
New York, New York
Mar 8, 2013

Relaxing week away

My boyfriend and I were looking to get away from cold New England in the winter and decided upon Jamaica. After much research we decided to book at Secrets St.James and we were not disappointed! The resort was beautiful from the moment we stepped off the bus. The staff is extremely friendly and there for your every need. We didn't have the best weather the entire trip but we still had an amazing time and were never bored between the restaurants, bars, casino, shops, and daily entertainment there was always something going on. My only complaint would be that we did have to wake up early to ensure we got seats by the pool, but even this wasn't a big deal. We booked an excursion to Mystic Mountain and had an absolute blast. The only thing I would keep in mind that we were unaware of when booking this excursion is that it is an almost 2 hour bus ride from the resort. You stop at other resorts along the way to pick up other people. It was kind of nice to see some of the other resorts and both my boyfriend and I agreed ours looked the nicest from what we saw. We were offered to add the Dunn's River Falls excursion to our package for an additional $20. I highly recommend doing this after driving all the way out there the two places are literally right next to each other and we were not disappointed with climbing the falls. Even though Secrets St.James and Secrets Wild Orchid are technically two separate resorts it did not feel this way at all. Everything is very close and easy to walk to between the two and you get the added luxury of using both resort's amenities. I highly recommend this resort and would definitely go back here myself in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort offers about 8 places to eat for dinner. All of them are no reservations so you can just walk up and be seated (except hibatchi...you do need a reservation for this and usually 2 days out or it fills up). Dinner is technically from 6pm-10pm however we found on a couple nights were we tried to eat around 8:45 or 9 and all the restaurants were full and wouldn't seat us because they closed in an hour. Just something to keep in mind so you're not disappointed and left to eat at the buffett.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secrets Big Boss
Business
Ottawa, ON.
Mar 4, 2013

Secrets St. James Has it All

Location is great to quickly start your vacation, only 15-20 min. from the airport. Food and service is 5 star. Ammenities are great. Evening events are always entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay EMT
Business
Chicago
Mar 4, 2013

Mobay at its finest!!

This was my first experience with both Jamaica and Secrets Resorts. All I can say is that this was the best vacation I have ever taken in my life!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oldcarguy
Business
mpls,mn
Feb 26, 2013

not like we thought luxury would be

cracked walls,pealing paint,things not working,hour waite for dinners,food was pretty,not great.half the resort for vip only, offerd@twice the price.bring alot of ones & 5s all staff expecs tips or no service.all resterant staff were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happiest feet
Business
NYC
Feb 20, 2013

All inclusive resort

Overall nice however buffet quality food. Also most rooms on lower floors not ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Jerk chicken on the beach was the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oldcarguy
Business
minneasota
Feb 19, 2013

not what we expected

not an ocean view,things missing in room or not working,hour wait for food,food ok to poor,200$ a day for up grade,if you want to brag how much you spent this is for you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Jacob
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Feb 19, 2013

Great weekend getaway

I had Monday off for President's day so I took the previous Thursday and Friday off to have a long weekend away. The resort was great. The staff is very happy and friendly. Some of the bars serve top shelf liquor, but all the bars have tasty drinks, esp if you like fruity rum drinks. For the restaurants, i recommend the French one. For lunch, stick to the jerk chicken guy that goes up and down the beach.. it tastes really good and keeps lunch light.. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate with my plans and it was cloudy and rainy most of Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. I heard there are a lot of great excursions to take, but i just stayed on the resort while there. Typically i do 1 or 2 excursions while on vacation, but then i'm normally at a place for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitabug
Business
Tuscaloosa, Al
Feb 18, 2013

Winter getaway

Resort is nice,but have stayed at cheaper resorts that are just as nice or nicer. We had a problem with our electricity, it would go off and we would have to trip the breaker to get it back on.My husband or my self would have to stand at the breaker box and keep it flipped so the other one could see to get ready in the bathroom. It took three days to fix that problem and for the next two day the sensor button that controlled the lights flashed on and off and beeped every few seconds. Very hard to sleep with that going on directly in front of your bed. Complained two or three times daily ,but never got that issue resolved. Also one night it took about 2 hours to have our dinner served, even though the restaurant was not crowded. Eating choices are limited as there is not buffet at night and if you don't catch it just right you may have to wait in line to be seated to eat. The non motorized free water sports that are supposed to be free turned out to have fees attached to them and everyone expects a tip so be prepared to shell out tips to everyone. I think we would have been better off to have booked at a cheaper resort and saved a little money as the extra fees and tips really added up and this trip turned out to be quite expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top