Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
226 reviews
fantastic. real paradise

Need to be included . All the other is perfect... See full review

  • shlomi
  • Sep 12, 2014
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nitabug
Tuscaloosa, Al
Feb 18, 2013

Winter getaway

Resort is nice,but have stayed at cheaper resorts that are just as nice or nicer. We had a problem with our electricity, it would go off and we would have to trip the breaker to get it back on.My husband or my self would have to stand at the breaker box and keep it flipped so the other one could see to get ready in the bathroom. It took three days to fix that problem and for the next two day the sensor button that controlled the lights flashed on and off and beeped every few seconds. Very hard to sleep with that going on directly in front of your bed. Complained two or three times daily ,but never got that issue resolved. Also one night it took about 2 hours to have our dinner served, even though the restaurant was not crowded. Eating choices are limited as there is not buffet at night and if you don't catch it just right you may have to wait in line to be seated to eat. The non motorized free water sports that are supposed to be free turned out to have fees attached to them and everyone expects a tip so be prepared to shell out tips to everyone. I think we would have been better off to have booked at a cheaper resort and saved a little money as the extra fees and tips really added up and this trip turned out to be quite expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doca
Pottsville, PA, USA
Feb 3, 2013

Secrets St. James Montego Bay

This was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in in the Caribbean. The staff was among the friendliest and most accommodating. I would return here in a heart beat. We stayed at the Preferred Club at the resort and would highly recommend it. What I liked best was we only had to have reservations for the Japanese restaurant , all the other restaurants (Italian, French, Jamaican, Seafood,) you could just walk up to and be seated within a short period of time. A lot of the other all inclusive resorts need to have reservations made ahead of time to eat there. Some are impossible to get into, this was not. The beach and pool always had chairs available and that was a plus. The resort is only about a 15-20 min ride from the airport. I recommend this resort very highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raymondalex
Indiana
Jan 31, 2013

AWESOME 6 NIGHTS

Our room with a very cozy king bed and especially the room location with a corner balcony, the all included room service, all the friendly and informative hotel staff, 9 restaurants to choose from (all with outside seating), the excellent weather, the beautiful flowers, the roaming peacocks, the few cats that roamed in the bushes next to a few outside tables at night, the birds in the outside cages, the beautiful beach and beach amenities all made this a very awesome stay for us. We're in our 60's and enjoyed the adult only stay. The only cons were we wish there had been better lighting in the bathroom and maybe a pharmacy in the complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Kevin in the Jamaica Tour section in the complex was very helpful in selecting tours and being honest about what he thought would be best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VacationerX2
Illinois
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect Relaxation

We just returned from our second trip to this resort. We went last year with a group of friends, this year my boyfriend and I went alone. Whether you have a group or you are going alone, there is plenty to do here. The hotel is extremely clean, it's located very close to the airport, staff is friendly and accomodating, beaches are beautiful and private. For an all inclusive, you can't get any better. There are agents on site to sign up for off-site activities, many different restaurants. Snorkeling is offered 3 times daily. Wonderful hotel, definitely recommend to anyone looking to have a relaxing stress free vacation . Absolutely will be returning here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1Bigcat
Dallas, Tx
Jan 20, 2013

Great Time

Staff extremely attentive, we had a great time and will extend our stay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VItor Bocci
Mexico City
Jan 2, 2013

Fantastic

I already travelled to many places and hotels around the world but this hotel that we choose for our Honeymoon was definitely the best option. I strongly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelli and Marc
Michigan, USA
Dec 21, 2012

Disappointing

I would not recommend this resort as a destination – unfortunately the attitude of a few key hotel staff – mainly the restaurant staff over shadowed the entire experience. Even after discussing these issues with the higher up management we continued to experience the same lack of equitable treatment and poor attitude. Most of the other staff were very accommodating and pleasant – too bad they all tried so hard and our lasting impression was the more than disappointing dinner dining experiences. The restaurant management was incredibly bad. They changed their policies regarding dress requirements without updating all of their literature. The enforcement of the policy was less than equitable – they turned us away for the men in the group wearing sandals with their pants when there were men in the restaurant with shorts and flip flops. They also screwed up the restaurant reservation on the night of the wedding (reason we were there), they confirmed the reservation twice - and when we showed up at the appointed time - they had no clue and asked if we were sure we had the correct date - ah yeah - we were all dressed in wedding attire with a bride and groom- think we had the right night! They also have a $200 up charge to seat 10 people together at a table – for the buffet? that is just ridiculous!! There was no additional work by the staff, there was plenty of room and tables – and these same 10 people would be dinning at the restaurant anyway. At another dinner after we had been told they would fix the issue and allow us to all sit together - they didn't, so we split up into two groups and yet we continued to be disappointed with the service – one table of 5 was completely done with dinner – after dinner drinks and desserts and all – before the second table of 5 even got appetizers! We have stayed with this hotel brand in the past in Mexico and have a trip booked there again in 8 weeks – So it is not the brand it is the individuals operating at this specific resort. There was never a “I’m sorry, we will fix that right away” statement, it was always someone else’s fault. No accountability! The hotel facilities and beach were really great - Maybe they will get there act together?! Or don't go with a large group - take your wedding some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Harris
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 13, 2012

Beautiful island getaway

Our experience at the Secrets St. James was wonderful. We went to have a few days away from our hectic lives at home and had a very relaxing time. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The service was good and it was just the atmosphere we were looking for. The only negative comment I have is that the food is not good. It is edible, but it tastes like it all comes out of a can or was frozen. We only stayed 3 nights, so it didn't bother us that much. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Engagemooner
Bloomfield, NJ
Dec 11, 2012

Great hotel

This is a beautiful hotel with great ammenities and a friendly staff. My only complaint is that the food is a little sub-par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
columbusohio
columbus,ohio
Nov 8, 2012

Fabulous Honeymoon

This was our first time to Jamaica. The hotel was gorgeous! The staff could not have been friendlier. It was our honeymoon and they made it very special with rose petals and champagne. I would definitely recommend this resort for the ultimate in relaxation and beauty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frencj resteraunt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top