$397 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arpy PA
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 8, 2013

Fantastic experience

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation. The hotel and beaches were beautiful. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canopy zip-lining excursion

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island Timer
Business
Fishers, IN
May 5, 2013

Jamaica double date

Had a great time at Wild Orchid! We had never been to an all inclusive and it was more than expected. the food was very good, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. There are complaints about the staff expecting tips, but we never witnessed this. It is my belief that if employees in the service industry provide good service, they should be tipped. Barefoot grill was a cool hangout day and night. The trip was a well deserved, relaxing trip for the 4 adults. The variety of restaurants met our expectations. The resort was reported to be full and we never had to wait in any lines or felt crowded at any of the events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the Preferred Club and the sales pitch and start enjoying your vacation immediately.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GottaRam99
Business
Scranton, PA
May 5, 2013

Nice Resort, great staff

Secrets St. James was a very nice resort, but I didn't feel it was over the top like I expected. I had stayed at other Secrets Resorts before and I had extremely high expectations. I was slightly disappointed with no Wireless access even in public areas. I like to check in with family on trips, and the only online access was for an additional cost. The mini bar was also a bit disappointing, there were no options in the mini bar, 1 beer (Not even Red Stripe), no liquors, soda and water. The fridge also was not cold at all. I travel yearly and this was surprising. I have spent less money in other places and had much better in room mini bars. The resort itself was great, very clean and the staff was excellent. The pools were very clean and very nice. bars were great and drink selection was good. All the food was very good as well, but at times it seems like they were a bit understaffed and things took a it long. The spa was excellent as well. i had never been to a spa before but decided to give it a try. i was very pleased with the entire experience, and the hot rock massage was wonderful. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my stay here, but it was not the best resort I have ever stayed in, maybe I had unfair explications coming in. I expected a bit more for the price range this resort fell into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Jefe de Huntington
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Apr 29, 2013

Great Vacation

We went for our honeymoon and it was nice, safe and very easy. They have top shelf liquor (Grey Goose, etc.), 4 different pool areas (2 are "preferred guests only" which you have to pay a bit more for, but if you enjoy private and quiet pool areas than it is totally worth it), 2 swim up bars, a nice staff, nightly and daily entertainment, and a large selection of dining. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to tip for drinks, food, bag service, etc., bring a hundred dollars in one's... It is impossible to get small bills on the resort, but we wanted to tip the workers so we had to keep asking for change everywhere as the ATM spits out $50's...

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerri Lynn
Business
Hempstead, NY
Apr 22, 2013

Awesome

As a couple looking to get away, my boyfriend and i just picked an all inclusive that looked decent. Secrets definitely exceeded all of my expectations. The food, people and service were all absolutely excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GroupTraveler6
Business
Maryland
Apr 14, 2013

Good, but not blown away

We spent a week at Secrets St James with 4 friends, and overall had a great time. The room, comfort, food, and activities were all what you'd expect--very good (if you're a diver, ask for a room in building 3, it's a short walk to the dive shop). Where we were a little disappointed (and we can't speak for our co-travelers), was with the staff. We didn't feel completely welcome or at home with them. Some were excellent--engaging and friendly. Many others made us feel like they were just going through the motions (even with extra tips for service). We felt more like customers than guests, which disappointing following experiences at other resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your tepenyaki (habachi) reservation early if you're interested...they fill up quick.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happy couple1986
Business
atlantic city, nj
Apr 4, 2013

relaxing getaway

the only issue we have with this resort is the beach lounge chairs...you don't want back pain and sore behinds when you're reading on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Dee
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2013

Perfect

Great vacation. Staff, food, drinks, and rooms were all fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of great food and bars on site. No need to ever leave the resort.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hopefully Soon
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 21, 2013

Winter Get away

The food at this resort was just ok. I have visited other resorts (that are rated lower) and the food was much better. The breakfast buffet area is too small...many days you were waiting a long time to get stuff and constantly bumping into people. I would expect all the rooms to have liquor, only the "preferred" rooms. The preferred rooms had terrible views compared to my non preferred view. I was happy with the room and the cleaning and night service of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The stuff was cheaper at the airport vs. going shopping in town (even after negotiating).

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellin'Kaps
Business
Michigan
Mar 20, 2013

Excellent visit

Chose this all-inclusive due to number of restaurants and types of food available. We are not "meat & potatoes" type eaters and we were not disappointed...generally above average for all-inclusive resort #nice salads, relatively abundant fresh fruit, grouper, snapper, shrimp, pork, chicken, steak, etc.#. Only disappointment was limited beer selection and I couldn't really "get into" the red stripe. A few of the bars offered bottled heineken. Top shelf liquor available...some of the rum drinks they made were excellent - try a Jamaican Smile. The house red wine was ok, my wife didn't mind it...I thought it tasted like plum juice with an aftertaste of dirt..we are not wine snobs but ended up buying a few bottles along the way...it was nice eating dinner and walking to entertainment at piano bar #w/ bottle of wine in tow#. Room was not ready at 3PM check-in...which is noted in several other reviews. If you booked from an online travel site, bring a copy of the itinerary...this caught us off guard and we had to log into our email and print it before check in. We had drinks and went to lunch #scallops, shrimp, and other nice things at the anitpasto bar# so didn't mind waiting the hour to get room... Beach and pool areas very nice...best spots are taken by 730am'ish. Men bring a pair of casual pants and shoes for dinners at most of the restaurants...several folks turned away wearing shorts and flip flops...pretty awkward. Shopping tour offered was not worth it...we wanted local artist stuff...didn't find much of this in hip strip or other touristy stores they brought us to #unless you want coffee, run, tshirts, shot glasses#...there is a wood carver at the resort with nice stuff - it is worth the little extra money to buy from him if you are into this stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

men bring khakis, a few collared shirts, and the old pair of docksiders for dinner...

Back to menu Return to top