$397 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rory50
Business
Indianapolis,In
Jun 27, 2013

Yea Mon

This being our 3rd trip in two years it just don't get any better than this!! Secrets all three times and I'm ready for the fourth! Resort is perfect, people are so friendly, and the staff are ready for anything you can throw at them. Only thing was the room was cleaned every two days which isn't that big of deal but when you are at the beech all day you like to come back to a nice clean room. We will be going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrie24
Business
Michigan
Jun 19, 2013

Relaxing, Fun Vacation

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute of it! A lot of reviews complain about the resort's sales pitch being a nuissance, but we were never even approached about anything. We stayed in the St. James part of the hotel and really did not see many perks to upgrading to prefferred. I would recommend asking for a higher floor as we were on the 2nd floor and did not have much of a view. Here's a review on different aspects of our stay: Location: The resort is maybe a 15 minute ride from the airport, which makes it very convenient. The resort is divided into 4 buildings and arranged as listed: Preferred St. James, St. James, Wild Orchid, Prefferred Wild Orchid. The two resorts are really just one resort. The restaurants and activities are between the buildings of Wild Orchid and Prefferred Wild Orchid. Therefore, it's a little more walking if you stay in the St. James portion of the resort. There are pools associated with each building as well, but you are free to go other the other resort pool. Rooms: The rooms are very new and very clean. The bathroom has little privacy, so be sure you are quite comfortable with whoever you room with. Food: Overall, we enjoyed the food. The breakfast is a buffet every morning with many options, including made to order omelets. Lunch can be had at the two pool side restaurants or the buffet. We found the buffet to be the best of these options. The pool side restaurants give smaller portions and not a lot of variety. We ordered room service (included in your all-inclusive) for lunch one day and found that to be average as well. The desserts at this resort leave something to be desired. We were not impressed with any dessert that we had. The only thing we thoroughly enjoyed was the soft-serve ice cream machine near the shops and games center. Activities: The staff here does a nice job of giving you activiites all day long. Each night during turn-down service the resort leaves a list of activities for the next day. It typicallly included a bike tour twice a day (sign up early as the sometimes fill up) activities by the pool and a show or live band in the evenings. The water activities are decent, and offered from 8-4 each day. We only left the resort once to visit Dunn's River Falls, but they do have different excursions that you can pick from once you are there. Service: We had terrific service 90% of the time we were there. You are checked on every half hour or so at the pool/beach to get drinks and restaurant servers did a decent job at meal time. The workers do not expect tips, but definitely accept them when you give a few bucks. The maids do a very nice job of cleaning your room and restocking your minibar (mostly just cans of pop and bottles of water). Other: Wifi can be had at a daily rate of $15. There are other options such as weekly or even 3 or 4 days. We had it for 1 day, but found it to be a little slow and unreliable. If you bring an iPad, it's easiest to set up your wifi at the business center next to the shops. The grounds, pool and beach are absolutely beautiful and well kept. We were very impressed with that aspect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Over 40
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Jun 18, 2013

Best All Inclusive I've visited

Ideal Caribbean beach. Reef just off the beach. Clear blue water, white sand, the occasional stingray and starfish cruising by as you swim. Great food! Jerk chicken and patties everyday at the beach or pool. Take your own snorkel gear because they only offer guided trips with their equipment. There is snorkeling right off the beach. Service was great. Had a piano bar and a disco that opened late. Stayed at the resort the whole time and had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debby B
Business
Va
May 24, 2013

Could not have found a more beautiful and well maintained place

Secrets was absolutely the most phenomenal place. The staff was wonderful And so friendly. The good was great. The resort was immaculate. Going back next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Winer
Business
Vineland, NJ
May 9, 2013

30th wedding anniversary

The staff was extremely friendly. Few minor problems with the room: alarm clock didn't work, the outside patio light never worked nor did the light over the little desk to read. There was only a curtain separating the room from the bathroom, weird and no privacy. The maid service was wonderful; new sheets and towels every day. The outside bar did not have "top shelf" liquor, you had to go inside to the lobby bars for that and the wine was absolultey the worst, since I am a big red wine drinker. You had to purchase bottles, which were expensive. At times, they never had fresh lemons or limes cut up. The food was average, which we knew that before hand. Plenty of activities to keep you busy or if you wanted to do nothing and relax was just as nice. The grounds were keep immaculate. Great place overall and we would go back again. Private gated community as well, very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat between 6 - 7pm before the rush. really never had to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arpy PA
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 8, 2013

Fantastic experience

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation. The hotel and beaches were beautiful. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canopy zip-lining excursion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Island Timer
Business
Fishers, IN
May 5, 2013

Jamaica double date

Had a great time at Wild Orchid! We had never been to an all inclusive and it was more than expected. the food was very good, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. There are complaints about the staff expecting tips, but we never witnessed this. It is my belief that if employees in the service industry provide good service, they should be tipped. Barefoot grill was a cool hangout day and night. The trip was a well deserved, relaxing trip for the 4 adults. The variety of restaurants met our expectations. The resort was reported to be full and we never had to wait in any lines or felt crowded at any of the events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the Preferred Club and the sales pitch and start enjoying your vacation immediately.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GottaRam99
Business
Scranton, PA
May 5, 2013

Nice Resort, great staff

Secrets St. James was a very nice resort, but I didn't feel it was over the top like I expected. I had stayed at other Secrets Resorts before and I had extremely high expectations. I was slightly disappointed with no Wireless access even in public areas. I like to check in with family on trips, and the only online access was for an additional cost. The mini bar was also a bit disappointing, there were no options in the mini bar, 1 beer (Not even Red Stripe), no liquors, soda and water. The fridge also was not cold at all. I travel yearly and this was surprising. I have spent less money in other places and had much better in room mini bars. The resort itself was great, very clean and the staff was excellent. The pools were very clean and very nice. bars were great and drink selection was good. All the food was very good as well, but at times it seems like they were a bit understaffed and things took a it long. The spa was excellent as well. i had never been to a spa before but decided to give it a try. i was very pleased with the entire experience, and the hot rock massage was wonderful. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed my stay here, but it was not the best resort I have ever stayed in, maybe I had unfair explications coming in. I expected a bit more for the price range this resort fell into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Jefe de Huntington
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Apr 29, 2013

Great Vacation

We went for our honeymoon and it was nice, safe and very easy. They have top shelf liquor (Grey Goose, etc.), 4 different pool areas (2 are "preferred guests only" which you have to pay a bit more for, but if you enjoy private and quiet pool areas than it is totally worth it), 2 swim up bars, a nice staff, nightly and daily entertainment, and a large selection of dining. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to tip for drinks, food, bag service, etc., bring a hundred dollars in one's... It is impossible to get small bills on the resort, but we wanted to tip the workers so we had to keep asking for change everywhere as the ATM spits out $50's...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kerri Lynn
Business
Hempstead, NY
Apr 22, 2013

Awesome

As a couple looking to get away, my boyfriend and i just picked an all inclusive that looked decent. Secrets definitely exceeded all of my expectations. The food, people and service were all absolutely excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top