$438 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
225 reviews
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Fantastic escape

We had our 40th birthday celebration amongst friends and we were so happy we chose this place. The... See full review

  • Chopper23
  • Apr 28, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jan 3, 2011

Beautiful location

Very nice location, new beautiful facility. Waiting staff need to be more attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jan 2, 2011

Perfect vacation place

We wanted to have a relaxed, laid back vacation and it could not have been better. The resort is located just by the beach. you can dip into the sea or the swimming pools. Warm water swimming pools by the bar were amazing. Many choices for food. One thing they forgot to tell us when we bought the package is that some of the restaurants at the resort have a dress code- collared shirts for men! so don't forget to pack at least one shirt in your bag. The rooms were clean and neat with a jacuzzi inside. Staff was very friendly. The overall experience was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Broke Traveller
Austin
Dec 29, 2010

First Adults Only Resort

Very friendly and helpful staff from beginning to end. Location in Montego Bay requires a taxi to go downtown at night, the hotel security is was great. Drinks were top shelf off the beach, while laying on the beach the best pina colada with dark rum will be brought to you. Food is available 24 hours a day through room service but the evening dinner was always a treat. If possible, try to be there earlier in the evening (around 630) to ensure the full menu is available. Also consider being seated outside if the entertainment pavillion has local talent playing that evening. The beach in Nigril is far superior to Mo Bay with the sand and water, but the crowd flocks to Nigril so we found it to be a nice day trip. Enjoyed the week trip, travelled 3 days around the island. I look forward to going back and probably will be going back to the same vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You may have to wait for the connection from the airport to the resort. Usually no longer than 2-3 hours but it may cost less to take a taxi, plus you will beat the crowd to check in.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
asheville, nc
Dec 28, 2010

It was okay....

We wanted a quiet place to just laze and not worry about anything and this fit the bill. For a vegetarian like me, it was difficult to find much to eat. The hotel looks like it was finished in a hurry. Do not waste too much money to get the "preferred" rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

There are about 7 different restaurants but they fail to mention that the menu at each restaurant remains the same everyday!There are very few options on the menu so if you plan to stay longer than 3-4 days you will probably be eating the same food again! Breakfast is great.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
daniela raz
chicago,IL
Dec 27, 2010

beautiful location

Amazing, beautiful location! The most beautiful resort and surroundings ever! Both St. James and Wild Orchid have beautiful beaches( many, not just one, hand created to look like small lagoons; absolutely beautiful!)You can walk along those beaches and take amazing pictures(They have plenty of romantic spots)! The beach chairs and the palapas were plenty on each beach;we read reviews before we went there, and I just want to say that nothing that we read was true!(some people are never going to be satisfied,even if they stay at the White House)! Just go there, enjoy the romantic atmosphere and gorgeous views and you wont be disappointed! Staff is very very nice, helpful and friendly, without expecting any tips!(unlike Mexico or Dominican Republic where everybody was asking for tips!)You have to go there to see what am I talking about. Amazing1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apatt
Atlanta, GA
Dec 27, 2010

Lovely Resort

Secrets St. James/Wild Orchid is amazing. I was a bit nervous after reading the reviews but thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms are beautiful - mainly for couples unless you don't mind being a little open. The view from the 5th floor was great. Food was decent. I'm a bit of a foodie, so I wasn't thrilled with everything but my main reason for this vacation was to relax and enjoy the serenity so the food wasn't a big deal. Believe me...I was full everyday, but make sure you go to Oceana (dinner), Bordeaux, and Hitmitsu is pretty good too. I had no problems finding places to sit by the pools and beach like others mentioned. The drinks were a bit watered down, but I found that once you find the right bartender, keep him/her! Also, when not being specific (asking for whatever the bartender suggests) I ended up with better drinks. Service was quick, workers were extremely polite. Overall, great Christmas-time stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

You MUST get some jerk chicken from the guy with the jerk chicken cart at lunch time. You can't miss him because he screams "jerky jerky jerky jerky" and there are crowds around him. So delicious. Get some fresh coconut juice while you're at it from the guy cutting coconuts.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Dec 27, 2010

Excellent Stay

My husband and I went for our honeymoon and stayed at the St. James. We didn't stay under the prefered club, waste of money in my opinion. Everyone has a great view of the ocean and treated the same in everything you do at the hotel. The staff there is the best! Get the Jerk Chicken! Best meal of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a bus that takes you down to the hip strip at night. Don't pay to take a taxi, its free with the bus.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
masc
Denver, CO
Dec 26, 2010

Awesome hotel, food ok

The hotel and property are great and new. Secrets does a really great job on presentation, thier follow through could use some improvement. The food is not the great, i would recommend the dinner buffet and the Jamaican resturant. The staff was really nice and overall, we enjoyed our stay, The beaches are nice and they claim you can have access to any beach and pool, however, they will kick you out if you are not at your hotels beach/pool. Dont let that get in your way, either say you leave and dont or just pack up and move to a different location. PLEASE ASK QUESTIONS ABOUT EVERYTHING. When booking tours they tend to leave out important details (15 bucks needed for lunch, 10 for special water sandals and bring some money to tip, each tour will have multiple guides it seems).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would book a taxi, go into town to find one or ask anyone who works there, to go on the tour of you choice. Find another couple and it will be cheaper and more on your schedule. All tours strech a 20 min activity to a three hour event. I guess thats the Jamaican way. EVERYTHING is negotionable, always cut thier initial price in atleast half to begin negotiations.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ROZI
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 13, 2010

the best i have ever been

hotel is gougers. service is the best. didn't want to leave it. big choice of food and very delicious. but is better to go with ur couple thats why is perfect for honeymoon very romantic. i recommended to all my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ankeny, Iowa
Dec 8, 2010

Our Honeymoon in Jamaica

The hotel was very nice. We had to laugh because we had read previous reviews that talk about how awful the construction was, and we noticed this in our room, but I can't imagine how someone would let this ruin their trip. I can deal with a little bit of plaster on some tile, it's not the end of the world. The decorating of this hotel was awesome, very modern and swank. The construction was iffy at times, but we had a good laugh about it. I feel like Jamaicans are a lot more laid back then Americans so they're ok with these little 'mistakes'The food was ok, we ate at the seaside grill the first day and never went back. It was pretty bad, so I thought every place would be bad, but that was not the case. The breakfast at the World Cafe every morning was one of the highlights of my day, it was SO GOOD! So much to choose from! Our favorite dinner place was Oceana. Shoud Out to [...], she was the best server EVER. We went there several times. The setting was amazing and the food was also AWESOME.Pools were all very nice. We spent a lot of time poolside with all of the great drinks that were offered. My favorite was the Jamaican Smile. The swim up bar was nice. It seems like nobody was every swimming in the pools, but just laying beside them which I can't understand since the pools were SO nice.Some people complained about walking from St. James to the places to eat. This blew my mind when I got there and saw how short the distance actually was. I'm not sure how these people manage daily life if they can't survive a 1\4 mile walk to dinner.The beach was also nice, plenty of chairs, though the beach was a little rocky, not that this is the fault of the staff by any means. They were out there every day picking up seaweed and moss and rocks so they were doing what they could.The staff was our favorite part of the trip. Everyone was BEYOND nice. My husband and I are from the midwest, and thought we were home to some of the kindest people here, but I think Jamaica one upped us.We took 2 tours while there, a montego bay shopping tour as well as a zip line tour. Both were very much worth it. The zip line tour is for sure only for people that are adventerous though because even just the trip to the place TO zip line was a little scary. The shopping was great though, I'm glad we took a guided tour rather than went by ourselves. You can get some really good deals at the craft market, but its kind of an annoying place to shop because every single person tries to pull you into their shop.Overall a great honeymoon. We spent 7 days there and really had a good time. I don't think we would go back just because there are so many other places in the world to see, but if someone is looking into it, ignore all of the 'bad' reviews. Americans are just spoiled and picky. You'll have a great time if you let yourself, wherever you go really. Don't let an uneven drywall seam destroy your Jamaican vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was our favorite. It was a quiet romantic spot with GREAT food. Right by the pool with a view of the ocean, couldn't get any better.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search