$804 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
240 reviews
Wedding/Vacation

Went for a wedding...it was very nice! Everything was what I was hoping it would be. Staff was very... See full review

  • Ashley
  • Feb 20, 2015
5 night romantic getaway

this is my second time staying it this resort. The staff is excellent and over the top friendly and... See full review

  • Jen F
  • Feb 15, 2015
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
papa2011
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Vacation

great experience. I would go back. Food was GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 31, 2011

Beautiful resort and friendly people!

We wanted this vacation to be completely relaxing and indulgent, and it was exactly that! We only left the resort one day to visit the Appleton Estate and the black river falls... Appleton was really neat, but I would not recommend Black River Falls (there are no falls, its just a pontoon boat ride down a river). I would recommend booking any excersions through the private driver service rather than booking through the hotel. The drivers are really nice and knowledgeable, and you can go on your own schedule rather than wait for the whole group. The resort property is gorgeous and the rooms and beds are very nice. The food is just ok.. but this is what is expected at an all inclusive. The fresh jerk chicken cart and fresh fruit cart were the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order the dirty banana drinks and mexican dessert shots!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Good First Experience

This was our first experience with SECRETS, all inclusive, adults-only resort. I was happy with the location, food, weather, and service. I was unhappy with the excuses, isolation, cost of "non-included" services, and minor facility repair items. For example the shower drain backed-up in a 1-year old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car in Jamaica. Driving is dangerous, signs are unclear, and rental companies charge you $10.00 per day for tires/rim insurance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davnik
Business
Carsonville Pa
Aug 29, 2011

R & R for Real

This was truly a vacation that cannot be put into words. If you have never been to Jamaica...it's what you need to experience. It really set the bar high for the next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At this resort, you have a full range of cuisine to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Plains, MD
Aug 8, 2011

Secrets St. James

The hotel and staff were wonderful. I truly enjoyed my stay at Secrets. The room was spacious and very clean. The hotel offered 24 hour room service which was included with the all inclusive package. My only suggestion would be to increase the night time activities. The hotel is more laid back and caters to couples and those looking to relax, which is great. I enjoyed it, however it would have been nice if activities, especially the night club stayed open a little later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Union, NJ
Aug 7, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, but bad food!!!

My husband and I went to St James for a wedding/vacation last week and it was simply beautiful! We loved our room, amenities and the beautiful surroundings. The hotel had many things to offer, the daily activities and 7+ pools to choose from, endless cocktails served everywhere even on the beach, fresh hot jerk chicken cart, fresh coconut water and pineapple, shaved ice drinks...YUM!!! the nightly activities, dance good music YA MAN JUST AMAZING!!!! the only draw back was the food...it was sooooo disappointing! they had many restaurants to choose from, but very one was nothing special...being that we were on vacation and in JAMAICA...the food was just BLAH! We made sure we had a good breakfast, and survived on Jerk Chicken all day, untill dinner and we would actually visit 2 restaurants to get the best dishes we liked...lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bloomfield, Missouri
Aug 6, 2011

great relaxing getaway

we never even left the resort..but it was way mellow too..perfect place if u just wanna relax..once night came it was pretty quiet..food was great..took a while sometimes but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bremen, OH
Jul 29, 2011

It was OK

Great location for the resort, doesn't get anymore beautiful. Rooms are beautiful. Hotel is clean. St. James swim-up bar always too busy, take detours to other bars when you can. People did not seem like they expected tips. Did the flight of the white witch zip-line--very fun and close to resort. Expect to pay $30 one way to/from town---too expensive for 1.5 miles!! Went to Margaritaville during the day to swim. It was super fun and you didn't have to pay to get in or really even buy drinks--we bought 1 each for an afternoon of fun. Night-time clubs need to open just an hour earlier. Food was just OK, drinks were good and made well. Like everyone says, the food and drinks taste just slightly different than in the US. It was a very good time, but we did not feel super pampered, nor was the experience ultra-luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Just expect to pay $30 to or from town, only 1.5 miles, too expensive, that stinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 26, 2011

Amazing sites and atmosphere

Relaxing and very enjoyable vacation. I would definitely recommend this resort. No negatives and probably one of the best vacations I have taken. Will go back in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jul 20, 2011

Everything was great!

We went to Jamaica for our honeymoon, and had a wonderful time. The staff, room, resort was all wonderful. I really didn't have any problems with anything during our stay. I see many reviews of people upset with dinner taking an hour or so... you're on vacation, in Jamaica. Sit back, enjoy the sunset and have a few drinks, no problems. The drive from the airport is really short, so you can start your fun right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top