$438 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
225 reviews
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Fantastic escape

We had our 40th birthday celebration amongst friends and we were so happy we chose this place. The... See full review

  • Chopper23
  • Apr 28, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tlatham96
atlanta,ga
Jun 7, 2011

romantic getaway

the resort was very nice and clean. while there we enjoyed the free water activities as well as the food and drinks. the staff was very friendly, but the food could have been a little better. we truly enjoyed the resort and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MO
Jun 5, 2011

Secrets St. James Montego Bay

My wife and I traveled to Jamaica for our fifth anniversary. This was our first trip to the Caribbean and our first all-inclusive. We had a great time at Secrets St. James and would definitely stay there again if we travel back to Jamaica. The beach at the resort was very beautiful and featured views of the sunset. The resort had plenty of chases and umbrellas near the beach and pool areas. The swim-up bar was a lot of fun, and the restaurants located near the pool areas were very convenient for lunch. The restaurants for dinner were good. We enjoyed the Caribbean-themed fare at Blue Mountain, the French dining at Bordeaux, and the hibachi grill at Himitsu (you do need to make advanced reservations once you get to the resort to sit at the hibachi part of Himitsu, but it does not cost any extra). We also enjoyed the piano bar, entertainment theater, and dance club for nighttime entertainment. The rooms were nice, and the bathroom-suite layout was excellent for our trip. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Overall, the resort had a nice laid-back feeling, which was perfect for us. It's definitely a good place for couples wanting to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make advanced reservations for the hibachi grill at Himitsu. The food was good, and the chefs put on a very entertaining cooking performance.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, KY
May 24, 2011

Loved It!!!

We were really relaxed and loved our stay. Food not so good except we would wait on the "Jerky Chicken" wagon everyday! We didnt upgrade but really didnt need to at all and wont next time....yes, next time!! All staff were really nice and helpful. We will most certain be going back. So beautiful! Stayed at the resort all the time...needed some down time. We normally went to Cancun but they will be seeing us back in Jamaica!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
bristow, va
May 17, 2011

Great getaway

Check in...we arrived at the hotel just before noon. They took us to the lobby and gave us drinks while we waited to check in. We only waited about ten minutes until we were in our room. Very smooth. The room...very clean and large. Toilet does have a door, however your spouse will hear everything...no big deal for us though. Pool...great...many open seats in the morning...we saw many open chairs as late as 11am. Beach...clear waters...plenty long to walk...beach is narrow. Restaurants...most restaurants are at wild orchid...the walk to them is NOT far at all...anyone that complains about the walk is just lazy. We loved hmitsu hibachi...they take reservations for that. We also ate at just the restaurant too and it was yummy. The pad Thai and sushi were great. Portofino...I had the pancake appetizer and it melted in my mouth...also had the chicken Parma which was very good. Bordeaux...we had the filet and stuffed chicken...yum. Blue mountain was not my fav. We ate at the buffet for lunch...many great options...pasta bar was a fav. Coffee is GREAT. Drinks...drank a lot of red stripe light...it's really not bad. Margaritaville...great time...wear your swimsuit if you go during the day. 60 bucks roundtrip and we talked the cabbie into giving us a tour of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
May 10, 2011

Secrets st James

Very nice resort quit nice beaches clean water .... Not much to do off the resort expensive take a cab or the free shuttle make sur u bring closed shoes and pants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nothing to buy

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Apr 18, 2011

Relaxing, Friendly, AMAZING!

We have stayed at a number of spectacular resorts over the past 13 yrs (including, The Wynn Las Vegas, Riu Resorts, Sandals, and more), but none tops this one. The rooms were amazing! Great views (2nd floor and up) and modern amenities. Beach was incredible with comfortable chairs and service. Plenty of food options for everyone. VERY friendly people/service... remember they are Jamaican, not American... meaning, they know how to relax and nothing is done too quickly, but remember, you are on vacation, so, RELAX! Great pools, plenty of activities for the busy bodies, spectacular sunsets! Not so much a complaint, but more a strong suggestion...although there is 24hr room service, they should have restaurants serving something all hours of the day or at least from 7am until 6pm... Restaurants closed at 11am and re-opened at 12 or 12:30pm... if you missed breakfast, you would have to wait in your room for room service or not eat until 12:30... Also lunch would close at 4pm and no food again until 6pm... I know it is silly, but on vacation, my stomach doesn't have a standard clock and if I am having fun, I don't want to stop to grab something to eat. Maybe just have a grill by the beach serving basics or an all day buffet with some basics. Bottom line; don't let any negative reviews deter you.... I am certain some people are just looking for things to be unhappy about or they genuinely just had bad luck! There are always things that we could point out, like the refrigerator in the room didn't get really cold, but come on, at least we have one :)... but overall, none of the little stuff was worth complaining about. I have already booked my mom to go with her friends because it was so spectacular and we are looking at dates for us to return next year! Enjoy your trip!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland mi
Apr 17, 2011

Beautiful relaxing vacation

Hotel was awesome, beach was gorgeous, and food was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When they say all inclusive they mean it! :)

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Apr 7, 2011

"Secrets" is the only way to go!

Employees were all friendly. The food was excellent, wide variety of restaurants. Beach and pools were beautiful! The beach chairs were not very comfortable, that is my only complaint. Other Secrets I have been to had padded chairs, these were kind of hard...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to bring collared shirts and pants for basically all the restaurants.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelodyofLife
Orlando, FL
Mar 17, 2011

Good Place not Great

Very Pretty resort. We had to wait a bit for check-in but they offered us drinks. The room was lovely. Great beach view from the balcony. The food in the restaurants was good. Not great. But service overall was good. There is only one restaurant that reservations were needed. We still had to wait about 20 minutes. My husband was upset over that but hey I say, we're on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Secrets patron
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2011

Beautiful Secrets resort

The resort was truly beautiful, but the food was not very good at all. I wished there was a buffet style option in addition to the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search