$397 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biker B
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Winter recovery trip

Secrets St James and the adjacent Wild Orchid are beautiful and located on man made beachs. The facility is only two years old and looks great. There are four large pool areas all adjacent to a beach. The food was great as was the nightly entertainment. The SPA was excellent, but a bit overpriced. We learned that they give massage demos daily on the grounds and then offer discounts for the SPA treatments. We only had two complaints. One, there was a big push when we arrived to get us to join the vacation club. The second complaint has to do with the wine. The white they serve is just ok, but the red is tasteless. They offer wine to buy but the bottles are pricy which they try to off set with $10 coupons. All in all, we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dive Buds
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 25, 2012

Best kept Secret

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of our stay; from room and selection of foods, to beach, entertainment and location in Montego Bay. The best kept secret was diving right from the resort, which they don't promote much. They have their own PADI shop and boat which takes you out to wall and coral diving in 10 minutes, with great visibility. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Friday is lobster night at World Cafe. The French restaurant, Bordeaux, was the best. Be sure to reserve a seating at the Teppanyaki table at Himitsu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taylor Girls
Business
Potomac, Maryland
Mar 20, 2012

Amazing girls getaway!!

From the moment we walked into the resort till the day we left we had nothing but fantastic service, meals, entertainment, and drinks! The beach service was fantastic and I've never seen a resort this clean. I would highly recommend the preferred club (which is where we stayed) We are already planning our trip for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Need a vacation
Business
PA
Mar 19, 2012

Should I book this vacation?

Picked a few reviews that stand out... "Very good, but less than expected" "felt nickel and dimed " "had to get down to the pool by 7am in order to secure a lounge chair" "no free Wi/Fi while lesser resorts include it" "Good place, good food, not ultra all inclusive" - it seemed like a lot of things were "upgrades" "Beautiful Hotel, but bad food"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucianam
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Looking forward to go back!

We LOVED the resort! Food was really good. They have a lot of variety! The propriety is nice and modern, service is excellent. All the employees are very friendly and try to please you as much as possible. Plenty of things to do in the hotel, they always try to keep you entertained during the day and night. Overall, is a great place to stay. Worth the money. You won't regret it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

look for jonas and laurie at Desires nightclub! you'll have a blast watching them dance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bridgeport, Ohio
Mar 16, 2012

Most beautiful resort

I cruised, stayed at a few other resorts which I enjoyed but this tops them all. Secrets St. James was beyond what we expected. The resort is just so beautiful beyond words, always something to do. Rooms were imaculate and lovely. Service was great, lots of good food and restaraunts. I definely will go back. It would be very hard to top this resort. It is more than a 5 star. such a top scale resort. Thank You

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

7 mile beach in negril

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tandg
Business
Bethpage, NY, USA
Mar 3, 2012

nice vacation

the hotel was very nice, staff was extremely friendly. the food was good with many choices. my only two complaints are that you had to get down to the pool by 7am in order to secure a lounge chair and umbrella. the later you went down the less likely to get chair.also there was a $15 per day charge for wi fi whereas in other resorts we stayed wi fi was free. one would think that for the price you pay for your room they could include wi fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michigan Sunseeker
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Very good, but less than expected

This was a second stay at a Secret's Resort - the last five years, we've chosen Palace properties. While this is a nice resort and the location is amazing, we felt nickel and dimed for things that we expect with the cost and level of Secrets. WI FI was unavailable anywhere on site without paying $10 per day. No cushions allowed on the beach unless you upgraded to preferred status. Certain liquors and foods were only available at extra cost. In addition, the staff was inconsistent - some were indifferent, others seemed annoyed at having to work and some were amazing. In contrast, Palace properties are just as nice, the people are amazing and everything is included - WIFI, calls to the US, top level liquor and foods, etc. Our previous experience with Secrets was better - something has changed. To summarize: excellent location, accommodations and the jerk chicken and fresh fruit carts available were amazing! It was simply less than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Skip shopping in the hotel or tourist areas - everything is available at the airport for much less cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
in Sagamore Hills
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 22, 2012

romantic getaway

Everything was beautiful. The food was great and the beaches perfect. I just wish the excursion we bought for 240 dollars was better. We were supposed to go shopping but were taken to an overpriced store. Imagine, coffee at 38 dollars a pound! We stopped for snacks and another rip off. We spent 15 dollars on two drinks and a bag of Doritos. We felt exploited on both counts. This was not the best of Jamaica. The staff at Secrets was very professional and accommodating. Sunsets were beautiful, the water pristine and the ambiance exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The entertainment on the resort was second to none. Enjoy as many shows as you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Married Mama
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Good place, good food, not ultra all inclusive

Our trip was very nice and relaxing. The water is very clear and pretty. There is decent snorkeling off the beach, if you swim out a little bit, with nice coral formations. There is very little fish life when snorkeling. The grounds are very pretty and kept nicely. There are 8 restaurants to chose from and the food is good to very good. There is plenty of variety for anyone's tastes really. We were not in a preferred building. I'm not sure if the experience there would be any different as restaurants, a couple pools, and bars are shared. But the concierge staff at St. James were not overly helpful. It is difficult to get change for tips so bring plenty of small bills with you. Tips may not be necessary but they definitely seemed expected. As such, there was not always the appreciation for getting one as there should have been. You had to call to confirm you airport transer-a local Jamaican call. You had to call from your room and it was $1 per minute. There was no free Wifi in St. James. The signal was so weak it was non-existent. You could pay for it. They had a secure wifi in the St James preferred where you had a password. But if I'm in an Ultra All inclusive--why in this day and time can't you have free wifi, free local calls or at least the concierge call for you. The rooms were very nice. The bed comfortable. But cleaning them seemed to be an issue. I do not think a broom or vacuum ever touched our floor. Our toilet didn't work properly, the shower didn't drain well and neither were cleaned. Basically they just changed whatever towels you left on the floor (which is where they asked you to put them). If you are looking for entertainment there isn't a lot. There is a house band that plays every night. They have some other groups come in. They have a beach party, etc. But if you are looking for big shows or anything like that---they don't have it. We are not big nightlife people so this did not concern us. Overall, we would go back but would check out Wild Orchid or the preferred and check the difference in price. We didn't let any of the above problems interfere with having a good time. But we think an ultra all inclusive should have a lot more amenities and definitely no tipping allowed. This was a nice, prettty place but take out the word "ultra".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good food. The french restaurant Bordeux was our favorite. The Japanese restuarant was also very good. We were not familiar w/Japanese cuisine but I would have gone back another night if we had time. There was not a "bad" place to eat. Good variety and good quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top