$397 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymoon couple 28
Business
San Clemente, CA
May 7, 2012

The Most Romantic Trip of my Life!!!

I have never been treated this good anywhere. My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon here and the staff is remarkable. So friendly and fun! The most romantic vacation we have ever had! Can't wait to come back and visit time and time again. Best vacation ever. And the food was delicious which was a pleasant surprise. My only complaint was the room service was not great but the rest of it over compensated. The spa was delightful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pinktooth
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2012

Perfect

My husband and I spent 5 days in this piece of heaven! Right from the moment you step into the resort they treat you like royalty. They have 8 restaurants for dinner, 3 for lunch and 1 buffet style breakfast and don't forget the 24 hrs room service!! The staff goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Every room has a jacuzzi style bath tub and the rooms have canopy style romantic beds. Every night they have different live entertainment with the ocean in the backdrop and they have a night club inside the resort too!! I have convinced my co worker to get married there!! The sunsets are so romantic!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They try to sell you unlimited vacation deal in which you spend breakfast and about 2 hrs with them and they give you a spa package of a fast track through immigration. In my personal opinion it wasn't worth our time. ( Something like time share)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
saxjay
Business
nyc
Apr 27, 2012

Couples Retreat

The hotel was nice as well the staff. The best part was the food as there was a handful of restaurants to choose from. The only part you need to watch out for "all travelers", when or if you decide to go into town, the driver that takes you to the hip strip, make sure you make it clear what price your paying and confirm that with the person your booking it at front desk as its normally $20 a person, where they take you into town for shopping and scotches. The driver usually tries to pull some stunt where you have to pay them more once your on the road so you cant confirm anything with anyone. Especially since you don't have a phone handy. Otherwise, the hotel was great as this was my second trip to Jamaica, but first time to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeckyT
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 27, 2012

Great Vacation

Everything was wonderful. Staff was helpful, food was good. Couldn't of asked for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica15
Business
Western Pennsylvania
Apr 22, 2012

Fabulous vacation for our 5th anniversary

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. They even included a champagne breakfast in bed since we were celebrating our anniversary. The food was awesome!! I loved the beach. If you are looking for rough waves, then you won't like Secrets' beach. But if you are looking for calm waves in a bay setting, then you will love Secrets. The pools / pool bars were awesome!! There was always a lounge chair for you whether you were at the pool or ocean. We were there 4 nights. We loved every minute of it and had no problems. We found it very convenient that it was so close to the airport. Many resorts in Jamaica are long, bumpy rides from the airport. Overall wonderful experience!!! We hope to return soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There was wonderful entertainment every evening at the outdoor stage and the piano bar was great too!! We met some very interesting people and really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iheartqueens
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

It just keeps getting better!

Last year a girlfriend and I upgraded to the St. James Preferred and this March my husband and I upgraded to the Wild Orchid Preferred from the St. James check-in. If they have rooms available it's only $80 per day to upgrade and I believe it's worth it. Our first room overlooked the restaurants and the bay and when we went on our balcony before dinner it smelled like fryers and food - since we own a restaurant and smell like food all the time we were a little annoyed. Then we tried to go to bed at 8:30pm, since we are usually night owls because of our profession - we end up doing the opposite on vacation, then the live music outside began, it probably only went until 9:30 but it was not pleasant for us. The next day they moved us as soon as they could to the other side of the building over looking the sea, it was like night and day, super quiet and comfortable! The staff always went out of their way to make us feel important and make us comfortable. Loved having the bar and food in the lobby and being close to everything. Had a much better experience at the spa this time: go early if you want to use the hydrotherapy circuit but just make sure you ask for instructions and are finished and ready for your massage on time because they don't come and get you until they are ready to take you up to the massage room. The food was great for an-all inclusive, I wouldn't try to compare them to my favorite French and Italian places in NY but we did enjoy the restaurants that we made it to in the 8 days we were there. Did the Hibachi twice, loved the Sea Side Grill for lunch - the Jamaican pizza was delicious! Will definitely go again, if not here, to another AMR property. Ive been to a few Dreams in Mexico. Love that this one is less than 15 minutes from the airport! These resorts rock: no wristbands, no towel cards, no making dinner reservations everyday (except for hibachi).... plus so much more than any other all-inclusive that I've been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved rafting the Martha Brae River... we just wanted to do something relaxing, not too adventurous and not too far from the hotel. This was about a half hour drive and was a nice way to spend a morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biker B
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Winter recovery trip

Secrets St James and the adjacent Wild Orchid are beautiful and located on man made beachs. The facility is only two years old and looks great. There are four large pool areas all adjacent to a beach. The food was great as was the nightly entertainment. The SPA was excellent, but a bit overpriced. We learned that they give massage demos daily on the grounds and then offer discounts for the SPA treatments. We only had two complaints. One, there was a big push when we arrived to get us to join the vacation club. The second complaint has to do with the wine. The white they serve is just ok, but the red is tasteless. They offer wine to buy but the bottles are pricy which they try to off set with $10 coupons. All in all, we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dive Buds
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 25, 2012

Best kept Secret

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of our stay; from room and selection of foods, to beach, entertainment and location in Montego Bay. The best kept secret was diving right from the resort, which they don't promote much. They have their own PADI shop and boat which takes you out to wall and coral diving in 10 minutes, with great visibility. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Friday is lobster night at World Cafe. The French restaurant, Bordeaux, was the best. Be sure to reserve a seating at the Teppanyaki table at Himitsu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taylor Girls
Business
Potomac, Maryland
Mar 20, 2012

Amazing girls getaway!!

From the moment we walked into the resort till the day we left we had nothing but fantastic service, meals, entertainment, and drinks! The beach service was fantastic and I've never seen a resort this clean. I would highly recommend the preferred club (which is where we stayed) We are already planning our trip for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Need a vacation
Business
PA
Mar 19, 2012

Should I book this vacation?

Picked a few reviews that stand out... "Very good, but less than expected" "felt nickel and dimed " "had to get down to the pool by 7am in order to secure a lounge chair" "no free Wi/Fi while lesser resorts include it" "Good place, good food, not ultra all inclusive" - it seemed like a lot of things were "upgrades" "Beautiful Hotel, but bad food"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top