$438 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
225 reviews
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Fantastic escape

We had our 40th birthday celebration amongst friends and we were so happy we chose this place. The... See full review

  • Chopper23
  • Apr 28, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jlockhart
Arlington, Texas
Jul 1, 2012

Honeymoon

We stayed and had a wonderful time. Resort was gorgeous, food was good, service was slower than American service, but you're not in America. We would stay again. The spa is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a taxi for any excursions, cheaper and more flexible.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singlegirls
washington, dc
Feb 14, 2011

Nice hotel, not as fancy as expected

The hotel was pretty nice and we had a great time. I don't know if i would qualify it as ultra-luxury though, and it looks nicer on the website than it is. That said, especially for the price we paid it was good enough. The room was comfortable, the service was great and the pool bar was awesome. I was a little disappointed with the food, it wasn't that great - but that is sometimes an individual thing and a common problem amongst mass produced food. I thought it was similar to carnival cruise food, which i have not been impressed with. I thought royal carribean's food was way better but I know people who think the opposite so who knows? I really enjoyed the all inclusive and the food was definitely good enough to enjoy myself. I think my one complaint would be that the bars weren't open as much as we'd like. The pool bar closes at 5, and the bars by the water close at 7 I think it was so after dinner there is really only 1 bar you can go to. But that one bar is nice so its not a horrible thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1Bigcat
Dallas, Tx
Jan 20, 2013

Great Time

Staff extremely attentive, we had a great time and will extend our stay in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Jacob
Silver Spring, MD
Feb 19, 2013

Great weekend getaway

I had Monday off for President's day so I took the previous Thursday and Friday off to have a long weekend away. The resort was great. The staff is very happy and friendly. Some of the bars serve top shelf liquor, but all the bars have tasty drinks, esp if you like fruity rum drinks. For the restaurants, i recommend the French one. For lunch, stick to the jerk chicken guy that goes up and down the beach.. it tastes really good and keeps lunch light.. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate with my plans and it was cloudy and rainy most of Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. I heard there are a lot of great excursions to take, but i just stayed on the resort while there. Typically i do 1 or 2 excursions while on vacation, but then i'm normally at a place for a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
connecticut
Apr 1, 2010

The good and the bad

The hotel is not finished and they moved me to Wild Orchid which is not done neither. Most of the things they advertized are not in place. Some restaurants are not working yet. They booked my room twice, to me and to a staff member. Friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Vincent
Bensalem, Pa, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Fantastic getaway

Food was excellent. Accommodations were beautiful. Service was average. Great place to get away and unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out the french, and italian restaurants. Fantastic food.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW JERSEY
Sep 7, 2010

Secrets St james

HOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL AND THE LOCATIONS WAS GOOD. ALL THE RESTAURANTS WERE ON ONE SIDE OF PROPERTY WITH A WALK IF YOU WERE IN THE OTHER BUILDINGS.SPA WAS FABULOUS. ROOM SERVICE NOT GOOD WITH A VERY LIMITED MENU AND SPECIFICALLY BREAKFAST ONLY CONTINENTAL.POOL BARS DID NOT HAVE PREMIUM LIQUOR AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO GET SOME BRAND NAMES WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN STANDARD. THE SELECTION OF BEER WAS TERRIBLE.YOU ACTUALLY HAD TO GO INSIDE TO A BAR TO GET ANY BEER OTHER THAN RED STRIPE. VERY FRUSTRATING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awolf
New York
Aug 5, 2012

great vacation

Very clean and comfortable.worth the money.would return back and highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Souvenir shops at the resort are pricy, the shops on the way to the airport and in the airport were much more reasonable

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2010

Secrets, Montego Bay (Wild Orchid)

Secrets just opened up a week or so before I arrived, so they still had some kinks to work out, but overall I went on this vacation to relax and be pampered and that I did! They just seemed a bit low on wait staff and maids, but what can you expect from a new resort, but they were willing to take care of any issues you may have had right away. I have been to 4 other Secrets/Dreams resorts and loved them all! I expect this resort to be up to it's full potential very soon! Food/drinks were great! Activities at the resort were fun. Because I just went to relax, I stayed at the resort the whole time but loved every minute of it. The spa opened up while I was on my stay...wonderful!! Can't say enough great things about Secrets/Dreams resorts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Apr 3, 2010

Great Place, Excellent Food, A few kinks

This was a great hotel, but it needs time to work the kinks out. The check-in was a mess for many, we lucked out with only an hour wait. We talked to others that waited 8-9 hours to get a room. Room was OK. Some do not have good views. Pool area was great. Beach was pretty good, kind of rocky out in the water. Half of the resort was closed, gym, spa, tennis, etc. The food and drinks were great. Some of the best meals my wife and i have ever had. Drink selection was excellent. I tried a lot of different drinks because the top shelf stuff was available. Be sure to be specific on what you want. The bartneders will make anything you want. Lots of frozen drinks available too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to get the flyer that they put out each day. This tells you the list of activities and which restaurants are open each night.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search