$496 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
294 reviews
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Fantastic escape

We had our 40th birthday celebration amongst friends and we were so happy we chose this place. The... See full review

  • Chopper23
  • Apr 28, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ankeny, Iowa
Dec 8, 2010

Our Honeymoon in Jamaica

The hotel was very nice. We had to laugh because we had read previous reviews that talk about how awful the construction was, and we noticed this in our room, but I can't imagine how someone would let this ruin their trip. I can deal with a little bit of plaster on some tile, it's not the end of the world. The decorating of this hotel was awesome, very modern and swank. The construction was iffy at times, but we had a good laugh about it. I feel like Jamaicans are a lot more laid back then Americans so they're ok with these little 'mistakes'The food was ok, we ate at the seaside grill the first day and never went back. It was pretty bad, so I thought every place would be bad, but that was not the case. The breakfast at the World Cafe every morning was one of the highlights of my day, it was SO GOOD! So much to choose from! Our favorite dinner place was Oceana. Shoud Out to [...], she was the best server EVER. We went there several times. The setting was amazing and the food was also AWESOME.Pools were all very nice. We spent a lot of time poolside with all of the great drinks that were offered. My favorite was the Jamaican Smile. The swim up bar was nice. It seems like nobody was every swimming in the pools, but just laying beside them which I can't understand since the pools were SO nice.Some people complained about walking from St. James to the places to eat. This blew my mind when I got there and saw how short the distance actually was. I'm not sure how these people manage daily life if they can't survive a 1\4 mile walk to dinner.The beach was also nice, plenty of chairs, though the beach was a little rocky, not that this is the fault of the staff by any means. They were out there every day picking up seaweed and moss and rocks so they were doing what they could.The staff was our favorite part of the trip. Everyone was BEYOND nice. My husband and I are from the midwest, and thought we were home to some of the kindest people here, but I think Jamaica one upped us.We took 2 tours while there, a montego bay shopping tour as well as a zip line tour. Both were very much worth it. The zip line tour is for sure only for people that are adventerous though because even just the trip to the place TO zip line was a little scary. The shopping was great though, I'm glad we took a guided tour rather than went by ourselves. You can get some really good deals at the craft market, but its kind of an annoying place to shop because every single person tries to pull you into their shop.Overall a great honeymoon. We spent 7 days there and really had a good time. I don't think we would go back just because there are so many other places in the world to see, but if someone is looking into it, ignore all of the 'bad' reviews. Americans are just spoiled and picky. You'll have a great time if you let yourself, wherever you go really. Don't let an uneven drywall seam destroy your Jamaican vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana was our favorite. It was a quiet romantic spot with GREAT food. Right by the pool with a view of the ocean, couldn't get any better.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knava1219
Houston
Jul 24, 2012

A great vacation spot

Our reservation was for St. James, but we were bumped to Wild Orchid. We enjoyed our stay. The staff could have been friendlier. It was our first time doing an all inclusive, the food and drink selections were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try not to buy anything from the hotel, everything is priced really high, especially the sunscreen.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ft myers fl
Nov 20, 2010

secrets st james - good but not best

we spent 5 days in the preferrered club of the secrets st james. rooms are perfect, service slow to very slow. rooms are not made up until 3 pm, even if you ask the concierge to arrange earlier timing. service personel generally lazy and uninterested but waiters in restaurants are great. location of hotel perfect but all you see is the fenced hotel area. the hotel could be situated anywhere in the world; because the staff was jamaican you knoew where you were.....other than that no interaction with locals. prices for spa, spcial dinners or other-than-housewine extremly exorbitant. a 6.99 bottle of chateau st michelle sells for 52 dollars as "special" - regular price 68.-. thats ridiculous. all in all a nice vacation, but wont go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jan 3, 2011

Beautiful location

Very nice location, new beautiful facility. Waiting staff need to be more attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Oct 11, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

Very well traveled and have never experienced the high level of customer service as we did at Secrets St. James. The associates at this resort are amazing! The only suggestion is the unrealistic 'dress code' for the men. With the lack of air conditioning at the restaurants, why do the men have to wear long pants and collared shirts and the women can go in shorts and tank tops? At least offer one or two casual options per night so the men can relax as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fe24
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Secrets st james Jamaica

the hotel was amazing! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was beautiful! The beach was perfect! We loved it! Wish they had better transportation to get to know the city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles, ca
Nov 29, 2010

great location. great price

great location, food and amenities. need to improve in room service. our room was missing trash can, iron board, clock and slippers. food and restaurant option were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

great selection of food for dinner, must try the japanese restaurant.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Jul 20, 2011

Everything was great!

We went to Jamaica for our honeymoon, and had a wonderful time. The staff, room, resort was all wonderful. I really didn't have any problems with anything during our stay. I see many reviews of people upset with dinner taking an hour or so... you're on vacation, in Jamaica. Sit back, enjoy the sunset and have a few drinks, no problems. The drive from the airport is really short, so you can start your fun right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moomoo mom
lubbock, texas
May 15, 2010

Great

relaxed by the ocean, little seaweed but otherwise beautiful! still have some kinks to work out since opening-fan did not work several lights would not come on, paint spilled by tub in room , still there, dust and fluffies in closet, never cleaned. excellent buffet, and table at himitsu was fabulous and the food too. great trip cpmpared to other all inclusives i have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book anything you want to do with Barrett Adventures from shopping to going snorkeling, she and her crew are fantastic, very private and personalized!

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moomoo mom
lubbock, texas
May 15, 2010

Great

relaxed by the ocean, little seaweed but otherwise beautiful! still have some kinks to work out since opening-fan did not work several lights would not come on, paint spilled by tub in room , still there, dust and fluffies in closet, never cleaned. excellent buffet, and table at himitsu was fabulous and the food too. great trip cpmpared to other all inclusives i have been to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book anything you want to do with Barrett Adventures from shopping to going snorkeling, she and her crew are fantastic, very private and personalized!

Back to menu Return to top