$408 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

5 stars
Lot A59 Freeport, Freeport Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
295 reviews
Wonderful anniversary getaway

Our experience at Secrets St. James was wonderful! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, exquisite... See full review

  • Coach J's Wife
  • May 31, 2014
Fantastic escape

We had our 40th birthday celebration amongst friends and we were so happy we chose this place. The... See full review

  • Chopper23
  • Apr 28, 2014
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay sits out on a secluded Jamaican peninsula, with interiors decorated in a timeless British Colonial airbed canopies, candlelit tables and parlors decked out with flowers and floor-to-ceiling drapes. From the moment you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cool towel, the limitless extra touches keep on coming - free juices and drinks flow at bars like Barracuda, with its thatched cupola right next to the sand. Guests can take to the waves in a kayak, soak in an open-air Jacuzzi, or brush up on their Caribbean culinary skills with a cooking lesson. With access to ten restaurants spanning cuisines from Southeast Asia to Bordeaux, your taste buds certainly won't get bored.
Key facts
  • 350 suites with whirlpool tub and private balcony
  • 10 restaurants (some shared with sister resort Secrets Wild Orchid): Barefoot Grill, Blue Mountain, Bordeaux, Coco Cafe, El Patio, Himitsu, Oceana, Portofino, Seaside Grill, World Cafe
  • 1 swim-up bars: Manatees and Marlin
  • Bars throughout property, including Cuban-themed Piano Bar and Revive Spa Bar
  • Gaming room: video poker, slots, blackjack
  • Swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzis
  • Promenade shops
  • Sports on-site including pool volleyball, archery and bungee facilities
  • 24-hour room service
  • Secrets Spa
  • High-speed Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • 16,200-square-feet of conference space, plus business center
Neighborhood
Secrets St James may be literally in a world of its own, but Montego Bay is just a short walk inland, with Aqua Sol Theme Park and the water sports at Doctor's Cave right around the bay. You can reach the Sangster International Airport (MBJ) within 20 minutes, and if you've ever wanted to play on a championship golf course, there are five in the Montego Bay area, including the acclaimed Cinnamon Hill.
Hints and tips
Many facilities are shared with the neighboring Jamaican hotel, Secrets Wild Orchid, so be sure to check out the list of daily events and restaurants - like Oceana - here to review all of your options.

Preferred Club members get to dial up the luxury with private pools, concierge service and lounging at Secrets St James.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - JR_SUITE
Junior Suite Ocean View offers 1 King size bed or two Queen size beds with Jacuzzi for two, TV speaker with sound control in bathroom, furnished balcony or terrace, Air conditioning & ceiling fan, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Radio, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, Balcony / Terrace, Tea and coffee making facilities, Voicemail, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, Armoire. The size of the room is 52 sqm.
STANDARD - SUITE
Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean View offers King size bed or two Queen size beds with 54 m2, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone, The size of the room is 54 sqm.
MODERATE - SUITE
Preferred Club Master Suite offers King size bed with ocean front view, a living and dinning room, dinner table for four guests, cordless telephone/fax, small refrigerator and large balcony with a jacuzzi for two, furnished balcony or terrace, AC & ceiling fan, bathroom with double sink, hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, CD/DVD player, Flat screen cable TV, MP3 docking station, Electronic in room safe, scale, umbrella, complimentary minibar refreshed daily, desk with telephone and internet connection, Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, Doorbell, do not disturb light system, Nightstands with reading lamps and telephone. The size of the room is 108 sqm.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4597 -77.9498
Area served
Montego Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport.
Area description
Montego Bay, Northwest coast of Jamaica, Lot A59 Freeport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 2.3 mi

Dining

World Cafe
Main Buffet, International cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; Casual dress code.
Sea Side Grill
American and Tex Mex cuisine; Breakfast, lunch and dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Blue Mountain
Jamaican Caribbean cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
El Patio
Mexican cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code.
Bordeaux
Contemporary French; Dinner; Business casual elegance dress code.
Portofino
Italian Cuisine; dinner; casual elegance dress code
Himitsu
Pan-Asian cuisine; Dinner; casual elegance dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (295)

Ratings and reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Living Life Like It's Golden
Auburn, AL
Jul 9, 2012

Great Couples Getaway

My boyfriend and I went to Jamaica for a relaxing vacation. We had a lot of events going on and it was a great time to wind down. This was our 2nd trip to Jamaica. We stayed at Grand Palladium 2 years ago, but Secrets blew them out the water. The staff was great...excellent check in experience all the way down to housekeeping and room service were superb. No reservations required for dinner except for the Hibachi which was by far the best restaurant. Overall, the food was good. Jerk chicken man was great for lunch. It was just a great vacation. We only left the resort once for an excursion to rick's cafe which was good. The food at boardwalk village and rick's were great and resonably priced to be away from the resort and full of tourists. I would recommend the full day rick's cafe excursion because you get 4 hours at the beach in negril to do motorized watersports including jet skis, parasailing,etc and eat...then a few quick stops to shop for about an hour then on to rick's where the guys diving off the cliffs is amazing. They do tend to beg a bit much when they could probably get a lot more tips if they did more diving and less begging. Back to the hotel...we had a few issues with the A/C in the room because it operates according to patio/balcony or front doors being closed but maintanence readily came out and helped us resolve the air issues. Room service was good for late night snacks. Breakfast was good at world cafe but the options get repetitive after a few days...the mobile coffee man (starbucks on wheels) at breakfast was nice. Overall we would definitely recommend secrets to anyone wanting to relax for honeymooners or whatever becuase the staff catered to your needs and the resort wasn't overly crowded with kids running around everywhere like Palladium. Spa treatment was nice as well. Just a great time! We will be staying at Secrets next time we visit Jamaica and anywhere else in the Carribbean that they are located!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book a reservation for Hibachi...it was good

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katie b
new york, new york
Jul 9, 2012

Best Jamaica trip yet

the staff and the beach make this hotel beyond amazing! the food is great, lots of choices. the drinks are great. the grounds are amazing. you don't have to walk 15 min to the beach from your room. the room was so beautiful. my one complaint would have to be room service. there were 2 days were my room wasn't clean and we had to call and ask for it to be cleaned. and we never received any bathroom amenities i.e. shampoo, conditioner, shower gel. Nothing. for a 5 star resort that was beyond weird.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallas2727
Raleigh NC
Jul 7, 2012

Sub-luxury, but not bad

The overall hotel and facilities were very nice. We had problems with our in room coffee maker, and 3 complaints over 5 days couldn't seem to fix that. In general the room was upscale, but also heavily used and needed maintainence. The food would have been pleasant, but refridgerated items at the various restaurants had a foul "closed refridgerator" taste. Things like Butter, Desserts (Flan, Cake), etc. They had a slight "mildew-ish" taste that really ruined the dining experiance most nights for us who enjoy fine dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The "jamaican food" isn't very spicy to cater to boring americans tastebuds. If you want the real stuff, ask and they will do it right.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingfreeze
Sacramento
Jul 5, 2012

Great Get away

This was a great trip. I travel and vacation around the world, and the combination of location, comfort, amazing food, but the service and staff and their culture is amazing. That combination for me makes Jamaica one of my favorite destinations in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shanay L.
Bagram, Afghanistan by way of Atlanta, GA
Jul 5, 2012

Awesome Vacation

This was my first vacation. This place is absolutely beautiful. The only downfall is I had ants in my room near the balcony door all the time and the wifi sucked. The food is just ok but the entertainment was nice. The people are extremely nice. The beach is beautiful and the water is clear. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jlockhart
Arlington, Texas
Jul 1, 2012

Honeymoon

We stayed and had a wonderful time. Resort was gorgeous, food was good, service was slower than American service, but you're not in America. We would stay again. The spa is fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a taxi for any excursions, cheaper and more flexible.

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryan Latta
Texas
Jun 28, 2012

The perfect escape

We had the most amazing time. This hotel is amazing! When we arrived we were offered cool towels and a drink. Check in was quick and the room far exceeded my expectations. The staff was so friendly. Donna at the pool bar was our favorite. This truly was our favorite vacation and we are already planning our next trip. This place is paradise. I highly recommend it to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunn's River Falls is a must. Breathtaking!

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecretsVacationer
Maryland
Jun 17, 2012

Pure Paradise!!!

We recently traveled to Montego Bay, Jamaica during the week of June 11, 2012 for holiday. Everything about our stay at the Secrets, St. James resort was simply amazing!! The staff is plentiful and extremely friendly, check-in was swift, our room was plush and modern/yet intimate, our oceanfront view was breathtaking and the immaculate property grounds were inviting! The weather during this time of year is really nice...not overly hot - a few afternoon/ evening showers here and there but never too inconvenient as the water quickly dries. This was our first trip to Jamaica and we were pleasantly pleased with our experience while in Montego Bay. The resort is large enough so that you don't feel too closed in but not too big where you feel overwhelmed. Everything is in walking distance and there is also access to a small shuttle, which is run out of the spa area for those who may need a quick ride. The all-inclusive deal is the best aspect of the package because every single thing (except for a few select items - i.e. romantic dinners set on the beach, gift shops, and spa treatments which are separate) is absolutely FREE!! Unless you're on your honeymoon and really desire to have a romantic dinner, I wouldn't suggest spending your money on that but just take advantage of the outdoor seating of the many restaurants that are available on the property...there are 8 total I believe. The food is quite tasty and there's a variety - authentic Jamaican cuisine, Japanese/Hibachi style, Italian, Spanish and American. You really can't go wrong. Also, take advantage of the spa amenities if you have an affinity for the spa. We indulged in several treatments and they were heavenly. You also receive $200 in coupons upon your arrival, which can be used towards your spa treatments, the romantic dinners that I mentioned above and a few other things offered at the resort. I would recommend the Secrets, St. James resort without a bit of hesitation. If you are getting married (as apparently this is a very popular resort for weddings), a newlywed or just indulging in your annual holiday/vacation, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! Come ready to get pampered and to experience Jamaican hospitality and service!! And there's plenty of activities to do during your stay on the property that you need not worry about having to leave. However, if you want to, you can arrange it right on site. I hope this review will help those of you teetering on the fence of whether to click "submit" for your stay. Trust me on this...you'll love every moment!! For the resort management and staff, please know that your stellar service has not gone unnoticed as my family and I plan to visit the Secrets family hotels frequently. Looking forward to our next holiday.... ~ A New Secrets Resorts Vacationer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't forget to take advantage of all of the onsite entertainment - movies, club, beach dance classes, dinner concerts and so much more!! You never have to leave to be entertained...everything's right at your front door!

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chomps68
Pequannock, New Jersey
Jun 13, 2012

Top notch resort

Before I decided staying at Secrets I researched it exaustively. Well, am I glad I decided on this resort. The staff was fantastic, the room was great(toilet set up a little weird) but not a deal breaker, the resort was spotless and food was really good, better then expected being from the New York Area. Pool is awesome and the proximity to the airport was awesome. Big bonus, NO KIDS...Place is quiet yet enough to get rowdy if you like. All in all, I would definitly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Only Place you should make a reservation for dinner is the Japanese restaurant, all others nothing. Also, French one is only one you need long pants for..

Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay - Adults Only Unlimited Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashaaron
St. Louis, MO
Jun 3, 2012

Great vacation

Overall this was a great vacation. The food was good and we never went hungry. The room was very nice and the view was amazing! Always had towels and chairs available no matter the time of day. We would return to secrets resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top