$513 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay, 00000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Awesome

This was by far the most fantastic vacation I have ever been on. We went with a group and everyone... See full review

  • Fire Red
  • Mar 24, 2014
Honeymoon paradise

The resort was great always stuff going on whether it was in the pool or on the beach or at night.... See full review

  • chadntracey
  • May 19, 2013
Royal treatment for couples at breathtaking Montego Bay all inclusive

The Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island is a Caribbean outpost for couples 18-and-older. A dragon boat shuttles guests between the British Manor themed resort to its Asian-inspired private island, where a secluded beach, Thai restaurant, and tasty libations create the ultimate escape. Back at the Manor, relax by the pool, unwind at the fitness center, explore colorful sea life with a snorkel or scuba dive, or indulge in a massage. Eight restaurants create intimate dining experiences. At night, wind down with bonfire beach parties and live music or visit a British pub.

Highlights
  • Complimentary transfers to and from hotel included in room rate
  • Private island
  • Land and water sports
  • "Stay at one, play at three" program
  • Full-service spa and fully equipped fitness centre
  • Swim-up Crystal Lagoon Suites
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
Location
The all-inclusive resort is set on northern Jamaica shoes, east of Montego Bay and within convenient reach to Sangster International Airport.
Rooms

The 197 luxurious rooms and suites offer tropical Jamaican d?cor in a variety of floor plans. Some are located oceanfront while others look out over tropical gardens. Swim-up suites feature personal butler service and some with private patio with views of Crystal Lagoon and the garden. All rooms feature air conditioning, four-poster king-size beds, cable TV, iPod clock radio, hairdryer, phone, safe deposit box, coffee- and tea-making facilities, and iron/ironing board. Suites come with extra amenities, including special concierge service, stocked in-room bar and robes. Some units come with private balcony and whirlpool tub. Accessible units are available. Guests begin the day with continental breakfast in the unit or at the Tea Room.

Features

A number of outstanding dining establishments at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort tempt guests with a variety of international dishes. Take a short boat ride to Royal Thai for crispy spring rolls and spiced beef. For a torch-lit dinner by the sea, visit the Regency for gilled Caribbean lobster (in season) or rack of lamb in a rosemary and garlic marinade. Cricketer's Pint, a British-style pub, is open late.

This chic resort offers several convenient services such as Wi-Fi access, airport shuttle service, taxi service and laundry services. Guests can take bracing dips in the pool or work out at the fitness center on site


Sandals Cay, an Asian themed private island, provides a second vacation for the price of one. Sail or kayak to the island, or take the short trip in a dragon boat.  The island includes a secluded private beach, gourmet Thai restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi, swim-up bar, entertainment and spa services.  Don't miss the island bonfire beach parties.


The "Stay at one, play at three" program allows guests to enjoy facilities, including restaurants, at sister resort, Sandals Montego Bay and Sandals Carlyle. The resorts are within minutes of each other and complimentary transportation is provided.

Dining
Diners choose from eight restaurants, including an English pub, across the Sandals resorts offering tasteful global cuisines. Within Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island, diners feast on Jamaican buffet at Bamboo Shack, Caribbean a la carte cuisine at Eleanor's, French a la carte dishes at Le Jardinier, Thai specialties at Royal Thai, English favourites at The Cricketers and international meals at The Regency Suite. Filling snacks are also available at Mariner's Beach Grill and Bella Napoli Pizzeria. Guests can also cap the day sipping cocktails in one of the five bars in the resort.
Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (4 mi./6.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bob Marley Performance Center (7.7 mi./12.4 km)
  •  Martha Brae River rafting (14.2 mi./22.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Property-wide high-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).
  • Conference room for up to 48 people
Policies and fees
  • See Sandals Resorts Representative upon airport arrival
  • Check with property directly for more accessible facilities

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

Beachfront Grande Luxe GB
The sights and sounds of waves caressing the powdery white sand comes as standard in these well-appointed and superbly located rooms. Strategically placed right along the shores of the perfectly blue Caribbean Sea and boasting either a large balcony or patio, this slice of luxury, gives new meaning to the phrase a room with a view. Spread across the first, second and third floors, the rooms are conveniently located close to almost all the resorts activities and facilities, and feature a stately four-poster bed, 42 inch plasma TV. Formerly: Royal Grande Luxe Beachfront Room View: View of beach and ocean
Caribbean Grande Luxe Poolside RG
Bordered by lush island flora, these rooms offer equal measures of old-world charm and island magic. Each is exquisitely decorated with mahogany furnishings, a majestic king bed, plasma screen and an elegant en suite bathroom complete with marble tiles and large whirlpool tub. Access to the semi-private Caernarvon pool adds a final touch of luxury. Formerly: Royal Grande Luxe Semi-Private Poolview Room View: Pool view manicured lawns & garden
Royal Sanctuary Grande Luxe GL
Offering striking views of the resorts manicured lawns and well- tended gardens brimming with exotic butterfly orchids, fishtail palms and ginger lilies, these rooms are perfect for those to looking to be close to Mother Nature. Offering guests the best of both worlds, these Royal Grande Luxe Rooms boast large balconies or patios and are located just a short stroll from the beach and the tranquillity of the Red Lane Spa. Inside guests will experience hand-carved, four-poster beds draped in the finest linens and large plasma TVs. Formerly: Royal Grande Luxe Room View: Manicured lawns & garden
Kensington Cove Honeymoon Beachfront Club Level Room HB
Featuring stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, these rooms, located on the first to third floors of the much sought after Kensington building provide the perfect escape for those craving a private getaway. Exquisitely furnished with hand-carved, four- poster mahogany king beds, whirlpool tubs, its the meeting place of luxury, privacy and island charm. Formerly: Royal Honeymoon Luxury Beachfront Concierge Room Room View: Ocean, Beach and East Pool
Beachfront Honeymoon Walkout Club Level Room WB
Taking just a few steps from your patio will see you upon the shores of our stunning beach where crystal clear waters await. These elegantly furnished rooms are located on the first floor of the Windsor and Balmoral Buildings and boast stately four-poster king beds, plasma TVs and a fully-stocked bar. Attentive concierge service is the frosting on top of this slice of beach-side paradise. Formerly: Honeymoon Concierge Beachfront Walkout Room Room View: Beach
Royal Sanctuary Beachfront 1BR Butler Suite RS
These beachfront, butler suites are among the most sought-after in the entire resort. Occupying prime position on the propertys white sand beach, these elegant one-bedroom suites feature a majestic king bed dressed in the finest linens, contemporary marble bathroom with lighted vanity, an intimate sitting area and two state-of-the-art plasma televisions. All suites have either a large patio or balcony, offering uninterrupted views of the ocean. Formerly: Royal Beachfront One Bedroom Suite with Butler Service Room View: Ocean, Beach and/or East Pool
Crystal Lagoon Honeymoon 1BR Butler Suite w/Private Stairway PS
With its own private stairway entrance to the resorts crystal lagoon, this one-of-a-kind butlered suite offers unparalleled privacy. This large one bedroom suite features an expansive living room complete with 42 inch plasma TV, a well-sized bedroom with its own 42 inch plasma TV and an elegant bathroom boasting a whirlpool bath and a walk-in shower. Overhead reading lamps located on either side of the mahogany king bed make catching up with your favourite novel possible any time of day or night, while the large bay window to the bathroom lets in a refreshing island breeze and an abundance of natural light. Formerly: Grande Romeo & Juliet Honeymoon Private Lagoon Access One Bedroom Crystal Lagoon Suite Room View: Crystal Lagoon
Royal Sanctuary 1BR Butler Suite RW
Located directly on the resorts stunning shoreline, these elegant one-bedroom suites comprise of luxurious king size bed adorned with Egyptian cotton linen, contemporary marble bathroom with lighted vanity, an intimate living area and two state-of-the-art plasma televisions. These suites come complete with either a large patio or balcony, offering delightful views of the East Pool and glimpses of the Caribbean Sea. Formerly: Royal Waters Edge One Bedroom Suite with Butler Service Room View: East pool and partial ocean/beach

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 3.2 mi

Dining

The Cricketers
(Air-Conditioned, Indoor Dining) Type of Cuisine: English Pub Fare Breakfast (a-la-carte) 8:00 am - 11:00am Dinner (a-la-carte): 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm Dress Code: Resort Casual
Royal Thai
(Indoor Dining, not air-conditioned) Type of Cuisine: Thai Offering an authentic Thai experience on our own private island. Guests are requested to be at Watersports pier 15 minutes before seating for transportation on the 40 ft. Wayang Doll. Dinner: 6:00 pm & 8:00 pm Dress Code: Resort Casual (Reservations are required)
Bamboo Shack
(Outdoor Jamaican Buffet with island jerk and Salad Bar) Lunch: 12:00 noon - 3:00 pm Dress Code: Resort Casual
Regency Suite
(Indoor or Outdoor dining) Type of Cuisine: International Breakfast (buffet): 7:30am - 10:30am Lunch (buffet): 12:30pm - 2:00pm Dinner (a-la-carte): 6:00pm - 9:30pm Dress code: Resort Casual
The Pavilion
(Outdoor Dining) Type of Cuisine: Jamaican Dinner (a-la-carte): 6:00pm - 9:00pm Dress Code: Resort Evening Attire
Le Jardinier
(Outdoor dining) Type of Cuisine: French Dinner (a-la-carte): 6:00pm - 10:00pm Dress Code: Resort Evening Attire. (Reservations are required)
Mariner's Beach Grill
Local Beach grill offering Jamaican specialties, light lunch, midnight snacks Lunch: 10:00am- 6:00pm Midnight snacks: 10.00pm-3:00am Dress code: Resort Casual
Tea Room
Continental Breakfast: 4:00 am - 7:00 am Dress Code: Resort Casual
Room Service
24-Hour room service is available to all suite concierge and butler level guests.
Dine Around Montego Bay
Complimentary transfers with full exchange privileges to Sandals Carlyle and Sandals Montego Bay offering a total of 11 additional dining options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 22, 2009

Almost Paradise

Spent most of the days on the pristine beaches. Grounds were beautifully kept, and the staff at the resort was fantastic. they made you feel very comfortable, and always there to help. My wife and I have been to numerous resorts in the Yucatan Peninsula, and will definetely come back to the Sandals Royal Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson Valley, NY
Apr 16, 2009

Great place!

This is a beautiful resort! my husband and I had a great time here. Our room over looked the ocean. It was quieter then I expected (which I thought was a good thing.) One draw back to this resort, is that it is 10 minutes from the airport, so there are a lot of planes that fly overhead. But we got used to that, and it was not too disruptive. There are quite a few amenities included, which is great. The water is beautiful, and overall the staff is very friendly and helpful. We had never been to Sandles Resorts before, but are looking forward to going back to one as soon as we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dunn's River Falls is a great excursion! The drawback is that the drive is about 90 minutes from the hotel... but completely worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 30, 2009

Nice Resort but not luxury

My husband and I stood in Sandals Royal Carribean from March 27 - March 30. Overall, I thought the resort was nice but not as luxurious as I imagined. The lobby area was pretty but small, and gloomy. When I arrived to my room, I was disappointed on how small, dark and dingy it was. The bathroom curtains were cheap looking, the lamp shades had holes in them and the ceiling fan looked very old and was dirty. The hot water took a while to warm up. The french restaurant service was below average, staff took very long to refill my drink and serve our dinner. However, I enjoyed the Thai Restaurant and received excellent service and food. The landscape and resort grounds is very tropical and like a garden of eden. I have to say my favorite part of the resort were the surrounding grounds, pools, and bars. On my last day, I had to leave the resort at 5:30a.m and all the lights were off. I had no choice but to walk down the stairs in the dark with my belongings. I suggest keeping some lighting on for clients who have early or very late flights. Housekeeping was good but very slow. I had to remind the housekeeper three times to clean my room and each day I had to ask for my room to be cleaned. The hot food was good but very limited selections. The pastries and deserts were also limited and did not taste very fresh and good, except for the ice cream, which was creamy and delicious. The cocktails and drinks were excellent and the drinks were above standards and I can taste the quality in the liquors. If I have to pick one of the best highlights of the resort, I would say the swim up pool and tropical drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, TX
Mar 22, 2009

Not really worth the $$

If you like laying on the beach drinking dirty bananas (several of the bartenders make pretty tasty ones) and beer, this place fits the bill. The Beach Grill provides a tasty and quick bite to eat while you are swimming. Oddly enough, the food and service on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday was not as good as that on Thursday and Friday. The resort was beautiful. There was rarely anything out of place such as dirt on sidewalks, and other plant debris. At night the place gets even better. I feel that we paid for much more than we got. I know that this is the way it is at all-inclusives, but this seemed to be overkill, so come hungry and thirsty so that you can get your money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Split the cost of transportation to Negril with another couple. They charge by vehicle as opposed to per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avilla
Oct 28, 2008

great vacation

The sun was hot and the drinks were great. THere is an island that they can take you to, not far from the inland, and we were almost the only ones out there. THere is a pool, hot tub and a swim up bar on the island. So we stayed there for a lot of the vacation. Again, I think it was the best ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are four restaurants on property, however if you want, Sandals shuddles to the other Sandal's resorts for a changeup on dining. Great plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 27, 2008

Couple Friendly

The resort was a great place and they were very friendly people :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Like going home

I love this place and if I could get this deal with a better room I would go twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a 10 minute shuttle to Sandles Montego bay and get 4 more restrants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Browns Mills
Jul 5, 2008

FUN IN THE SUN

This was our 2nd visit to the Sandals RC. We enjoyed it even more this time around as repeat visitors we were treated to even more amentities. We got a free room upgrade, had a fabulous private dinner with filet minon and gigantic shrimp. They also treated us with an huge bottle of Rum! The only complaint that we had was the water in the bathroom was really low pressure and sometimes the toilet did not flush properly. But overall we had a fabulous time. Check out the pub, it's cool in there, open really late, and the bartenders are great with a deck of cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 21, 2007

Wonderful adult get-away!

Staff SUPER friendly! Non-motor sports great, beach sports great, very shallow in some areas, so not the best snorkeling right off the beach. Jellyfish were stinging people in the water in September. Most people just kept to the many pools and were very happy there. Superb food. Nice pub with singing waiters in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Because this was a Sandals, you had a pass to go to other Sandals on the island at any time. The Montego Bay Sandals was only 5 minutes away by free shuttle bus. The food at THAT Sandals was also FABULOUS! They also had deep water, motorized sports right off the beach and no jellyfish in September.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 24, 2007

Very clean and friendly resort

The Sandals Royal Caribbean resort was very nice. The welcoming and registration was most helpful and friendly upon arrival. The entire staff always was friendly and helpful. The resort grounds were kept very clean as well as the deluxe room where we stayed. The facilities and amenities were great. The selection of watersports activities was very good. We went sailing and kayaking. This resort is primarily for couples. The all-inclusive option was good; however, the food seemed to be average. Nightly entertainment was good. I would definitely like to return to the resort in the future and I would highly recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay at a Sandals resort in Montego Bay, you have the option of visiting the other Sandals resorts for additional dining and recreational options. The transfer shuttles are frequent and at no additional charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top